DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1 to 4, 6, 7 and 10 to 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Yamatane et al (jp2006273630).
The Yamatani et al reference teaches a method of growing a silicon ingot, note, entire reference. Molten silicon is contacted with a seed crystal at the bottom of a crucible and cooled from the seed in an upward direction to create an ingot, note, translation. Prior to contact with the molten silicon, the silicon seed crystals are oxidized to create a oxide film on a surface of the seeds. The oxide layer thickness is less than 10 um, note translation.
With regards to claim 2 and 11, the Yamatani et al reference teaches directional solidification of silicon on an oxidized seed, note translation and figures.
With regards to claim 3, the Yamatani et al reference teaches oxidizing the silicon seeds prior to contact with the molten silicon, note translation.
With regards to claim 4, the Yamatani et al reference teaches using an oxidizing atmosphere and thermally to create the oxide layer, note , translation.
With regards to claim 6, the Yamatani et al reference teaches using an oxidizing atmosphere of oxygen, dry, create the oxide layer, note , translation.
With regards to claim 7, the Yamatani et al reference teaches the oxide layer thickness less than 10 um to almost zero.
With regards to claim 12, the Yamatani et al reference teaches the oxide layer to be silicon oxide, note translation.
With regards to claim 13, the Yamatani et al reference teaches oxidizing the entire seed surface, note translation.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamatani et al (jp2006273630).
The Yamatani et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the specific oxidization steps. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable oxidizing steps in the Yamatani et al reference in order to grow a uniform thin oxide layer.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamatani et al (jp2006273630) in view of Pihan et al (2016/01085648).
The Yamatani et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the specific seed step up in the bottom of the crucible. However, the Pihan et al reference teaches directional solidification of silicon from a melt with seeds at the bottom of a crucible, and setup with an upper face to the melt, note, para 0017 and 0018. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Yamatani et al reference by the teachings of the Pihan et al reference to set the seeds in a upward facing in order to have a uniform seed front creating a uniform ingot.
With regards to claim 9, the Yamatani reference teaches oxidizing the seeds in the crucible, note translation.
With regards to claims 18 and 20, the Pihan et al reference teaches the tiling of the seeds in a square or rectangle, note figures.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamatani et al (jp2006273630).
The Yamatani et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the specific oxidization parameters. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable oxidizing parameters in the Yamatani et al reference in order to grow a uniform thin oxide layer.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamatani et al (jp2006273630).
The Yamatani et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the specific oxidization atmosphere. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable oxidizing atmosphere in the Yamatani et al reference in order to grow a uniform thin oxide layer without impurities from the process.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamatani et al (jp2006273630).
The Yamatani et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the specific oxidization of the crucible. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable oxidizing of the crucible in the Yamatani et al reference in order to lower impurities and create a non-stick coating.
Examiner’ Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714