DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application, filed on 3/7/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 40, 43, 50, 52-54 and 59 are rejected.
Claims 41-42, 44-45, 51 and 55-58 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 40-45) in the reply filed on 9/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 52 is objected to because of an informality.
Claim 52 recites “a plug in and opening of the housing”. For clarity, consider rephrasing the limitation to ‘a plug in an opening of the housing’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 43 recites “the plug”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claims. Consider reciting ‘a plug’ when introducing the plug in claim 43 or amending the claim dependency such that claim 43 depends on claim 42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40, 50 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loudermilk (US20200383664, cited in the 7/10/26 Information disclosure statement IDS).
With respect to claim 40, Loudermilk (US20200383664) teaches a device (an assembled Dual Swab Device 1 in [0042]) comprising
a housing (housing 2 in [0042]) including a first chamber (tube 2B in [0042]) and a second chamber (test chamber 2C in [0042]) in fluid communication with the first chamber (tube 2b) (see [0042], which recites “test chamber 2C is in fluid communication with tube 2B”);
a sample swab (strip swab assembly 5B in [0043]) configured to be received at least partially in the first chamber (tube 2B) (see [0043], which recites “strip swab assembly 5B is inserted into swab tube 2B”); and
a vent (opening/vent 20 in [0043]) configured to control flow of a fluid from the first chamber (tube 2B) to the second chamber (test chamber 2C) by releasing air pressure in at least one of the first chamber (tube 2B) and the second chamber generated in response to the sample swab (strip swab assembly) being received in the first chamber (tube 2B) (see [0043], which recites “air is vented from test chamber 2C into test swab tube 2B via a vent opening (see opening/vent 20 of FIG. 3, which provides flow communication for air venting between test chamber 2C and swab tube 2B) … while being inserted, pressure from the compressed swab forces saliva into test chamber 2C, air is vented from test chamber 2C via opening/vent 20 into swab tube 2B where it may escape out the top, thereby reducing “back pressure” experienced by the user pushing swab assemblies 5A and 5B into housing 2”).
With respect to claim 50, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40, wherein, in response to the releasing of the air pressure, the fluid is allowed to flow from the first chamber (tube 2B) to the second chamber (test chamber 2C) (see [0043]).
With respect to claim 53, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40, further comprising a probe (one or more strips 7 in [0043]) disposed in the second chamber (test chamber 2C) ( (see also [0043], which recites “fluids are introduced into test chamber 2C of housing 2 so that the presence or absence of one or more target analytes (e.g., drugs, disease markers, etc.) may be detected based on the particular characteristics of the one or more strips 7”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loudermilk (US20200383664) in view of Tan (US20110178427).
With respect to claim 52, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40 wherein the vent (opening/vent 20) includes an opening (vent opening in [0043]) of the housing (housing 2) (see [0043], which recites “air is vented from test chamber 2C into test swab tube 2B via a vent opening (see opening/vent 20 of FIG. 3, which provides flow communication for air venting between test chamber 2C and swab tube 2B”).
Loudermilk fails to teach or reasonably suggest that the vent includes a plug configured to allow air to pass therethrough.
In the analogous art of fluidic devices, Tan teaches a plug in (vent plug 900 a in [0064]) being configured to allow air to pass therethrough (see [0064], which recites “The vent plug location in each of these embodiments is such that no air can flow out of the flashback chamber 226 into the housing interior 220 without passing through the vent mechanism (900 a, b, c)”) (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as disclosed by Loudermilk such that the vent includes a plug in an opening of the housing, as disclosed by Tan, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the benefit of enabling air to pass through the vent while restricting passage of liquid through the vent (see [0063]-[0064] of Tan).
Claims 54 and 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loudermilk (US20200383664) in view of Fabra (US20130244241).
With respect to claim 54, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40.
Loudermilk fails to teach or suggest the housing further includes a third chamber in fluid communication with the first chamber.
In the analogous art of fluidic devices, Fabra teaches a housing (cartridge housing 102 in [0112]) includes a third chamber (storage chamber in [0112]) in fluid communication with a first chamber (transfer chamber in [0112], which recites “the transfer chamber may align its inlet port to a second outlet port along the top of cartridge housing 102 to draw in another liquid stored in another storage chamber. This procedure may be repeated as many times as desired depending on the protocol necessary for the particular molecular test”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as disclosed by Loudermilk by incorporating a third chamber as disclosed by Fabra such that the housing further includes a third chamber in fluid communication with the first chamber with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of enabling fluid to be selectively transferred between chambers for performing a protocol of a particular test (see [0112] of Fabra).
With respect to claim 59, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40.
Loudermilk fails to teach that the vent is hydrophobic and is configured to retain the fluid in the second chamber.
In the analogous art of analytical devices, Fabra teaches a hydrophobic vent configured to retain fluid in a chamber (see [0050], which recites “vent/suction ports 212 is … allows the port to be either vented to atmosphere, or pressurized. The various ports may include a hydrophobic material … so as to prevent leakage through the ports in the absence of any applied pressure”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as disclosed by Loudermilk such that the vent is hydrophobic as disclosed by Fabra with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of preventing leakage of fluid through the vent in absence of applied pressure (see [0050] of Fabra).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41-42, 44-45, 51 and 55-58 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In addition, claim 43 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 41, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40, wherein the housing (housing 2) includes a first opening (top of swab tube 2B, see [0052]) (see [0043], which recites “there is not a seal present at the top of swab tube 2B while swab assembly 5B is being inserted”) in fluid communication with the first chamber (tube 2B) and a second opening (opening/passage 23 in [0043]) in fluid communication with the second chamber (test chamber 2C);
wherein the sample swab (strip swab assembly 5B) is configured to seal the first opening (top of swab tube 2B).
Loudermilk fails to teach or reasonably suggests a flow path through the housing via the first opening, the first chamber, the second chamber and the second opening and wherein the vent is positioned in the second opening.
With respect to claim 43, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40.
Loudermilk fails to teach or reasonably suggests a base station configured to selectively activate the vent to contain or release the air pressure by covering or uncovering the plug, respectively.
With respect to claim 44, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40.
Loudermilk fails to teach or reasonably suggests the housing further includes a third chamber in fluid communication with the first chamber, and
wherein the vent is configured to control flow of the fluid from the first chamber to the third chamber, or
wherein the device further includes an additional vent configured to control flow of the fluid from the first chamber to the third chamber.
With respect to claim 45, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40.
Loudermilk fails to teach or reasonably suggest the housing further includes a channel between the second chamber and a second opening of the housing, wherein a length of a flow path through the channel is greater than a straight-line distance between the second chamber and the second opening.
With respect to claim 51, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40.
Loudermilk fails to teach or reasonably suggest that the housing further includes a first opening at a first end and a second opening at a second end, a channel being disposed between the second chamber and the second opening, the channel being configured to collect excess fluid from the first chamber in response to the flow of the fluid from the first chamber to the second chamber.
With respect to claim 55, Loudermilk in view of Fabra teaches the device of claim 54.
Loudermilk in view of Fabra fails to teach or reasonably suggest that the vent is configured to control, at least in part, flow of the fluid from the first chamber to the third chamber.
With respect to claim 56, Loudermilk in view of Fabra teaches the device of claim 54.
Loudermilk in view of Fabra fails to teach or reasonably suggest an additional vent that is configured to control, at least in part, flow of the fluid from the first chamber to the third chamber.
With respect to claim 57, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40.
Loudermilk fails to teach or reasonably suggest a base station configured to activate the vent to release the air pressure, wherein the vent is a plug including a cover on the plug, and the base station is configured to remove the cover on the plug to release the air pressure.
With respect to claim 58, Loudermilk teaches the device of claim 40.
Loudermilk fails to teach or reasonably suggest a base station configured to activate the vent to release the air pressure, wherein the vent is a plug including a cover on the plug, and wherein the base station is configured to remove the cover on the plug to release the air pressure in response to the sample swab being received in the first chamber.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BORTOLI/Examiner, Art Unit 1797