DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on 3/7/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-15 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites “computer-readable storage medium…” but the term “computer-readable storage medium”, given its broadest reasonable interpretation read in light of the specification, does not exclude transitory forms of computer-readable media such as signals, e.g. The claim(s) is/are directed to a signal per se, mere information in the form of data, a contract between two parties, or a human being.
Therefore, the claim encompasses non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 20210258864 (hereinafter referred to as Jeong).
Consider claim 1, Jeong teaches a method performed by a second network node (see at least ¶ [0119], Fig. 5, “…master NF…”) (14) for handling a network function, NF instance in a communication network (see at least ¶ [0118], Fig. 5), the method comprising
receiving (301) from a first network node (see at least ¶ [0122], Fig. 5, “…other NF instance…”), a register request for the NF instance, wherein the register request comprises an NF profile of the NF instance (see at least ¶ [0118], Fig. 5, “…an NF set may be newly created or added, or configuration information of an NF set may be updated at operation 501…” and see at least ¶ [0119], “…The master NF may perform a process for registering the profile of the NF set to which it belongs with the NRF (or SCP) at operation 502. … the service request may include the identifier (ID) of the NF set to be registered and NF set profile. The NF set profile may include identifiers of NF instances belonging to the NF set…”); and
including (302), with the proviso that the NF profile of the NF instance does not contain an indication of an NF Set ID, an NF Set ID to the NF profile of the NF instance (see at least ¶ [0120], “…The NRF may use the received information to store the profile of the NF set and generate resources for this at operation 503. Thereafter, the resource for the NF set profile can be identified by the NF set ID…” and see at least ¶ [0122], “…The NRF may deliver the NF set profile to other NF instances belonging to the NF set to notify the created/updated set profile at operation 505. Here, the NRF may use an NF status notify or NF set status notify service…”).
Consider claim 7, Jeong teaches a second network node (see at least ¶ [0119], Fig. 5, “…master NF…”) (14) for handling a network function, NF, instance in a communication network, wherein the second network node is configured to:
receive from a first network node (see at least ¶ [0122], Fig. 5, “…other NF instance…”), a register request for the NF instance, wherein the register request comprises an NF profile of the NF instance (see at least ¶ [0118], Fig. 5, “…an NF set may be newly created or added, or configuration information of an NF set may be updated at operation 501…” and see at least ¶ [0119], “…The master NF may perform a process for registering the profile of the NF set to which it belongs with the NRF (or SCP) at operation 502. … the service request may include the identifier (ID) of the NF set to be registered and NF set profile. The NF set profile may include identifiers of NF instances belonging to the NF set…”); and
include, with the proviso that the NF profile of the NF instance does not contain an indication of an NF Set ID, an NF Set ID to the NF profile of the NF instance (see at least ¶ [0120], “…The NRF may use the received information to store the profile of the NF set and generate resources for this at operation 503. Thereafter, the resource for the NF set profile can be identified by the NF set ID…” and see at least ¶ [0122], “…The NRF may deliver the NF set profile to other NF instances belonging to the NF set to notify the created/updated set profile at operation 505. Here, the NRF may use an NF status notify or NF set status notify service…”).
Consider claim 15, Jeong teaches a second network node (see at least ¶ [0119], Fig. 5, “…master NF…”) handling a network function, NF, instance in a communication network, wherein the second network node comprises processor circuitry and a memory for storing instructions executable by said processor circuitry (see at least ¶ [0174], “…The one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium are configured to be executable by one or more processors of an electronic device…”), and
whereby the processing circuitry is operative to receive from a first network node (see at least ¶ [0122], Fig. 5, “…other NF instance…”), a register request for the NF instance, wherein the register request comprises an NF profile of the NF instance (see at least ¶ [0118], Fig. 5, “…an NF set may be newly created or added, or configuration information of an NF set may be updated at operation 501…” and see at least ¶ [0119], “…The master NF may perform a process for registering the profile of the NF set to which it belongs with the NRF (or SCP) at operation 502. … the service request may include the identifier (ID) of the NF set to be registered and NF set profile. The NF set profile may include identifiers of NF instances belonging to the NF set…”); and
include, with the proviso that the NF profile of the NF instance does not contain an indication of an NF Set ID, an NF Set ID to the NF profile of the NF instance (see at least ¶ [0120], “…The NRF may use the received information to store the profile of the NF set and generate resources for this at operation 503. Thereafter, the resource for the NF set profile can be identified by the NF set ID…” and see at least ¶ [0122], “…The NRF may deliver the NF set profile to other NF instances belonging to the NF set to notify the created/updated set profile at operation 505. Here, the NRF may use an NF status notify or NF set status notify service…”).
Consider claims 2, 8 (depends on at least claims 1, 7), Jeong discloses the limitations of claims 1, 7 as applied to claim rejection 1, 7 above and further discloses:
Jeong teaches wherein the included NF Set ID is a unique identity in the communication network (see at least ¶ [0095], “…an identifier that can identify the corresponding NF set (NF set ID or ID of the NF instance that manages NF set information…” and see at least ¶ [0096], “…identified by an AMF set ID or an ID of the NF that manages information for each set…”).
Consider claims 4, 10 (depends on at least claims 1, 7), Jeong discloses the limitations of claims 1, 7 as applied to claim rejection 1, 7 above and further discloses:
Jeong teaches wherein the NF set ID identifies one or more NF instances that have access to a same context data (see at least ¶ [0095], “…an identifier that can identify the corresponding NF set (NF set ID or ID of the NF instance that manages NF set information…” and see at least ¶ [0096], “…identified by an AMF set ID or an ID of the NF that manages information for each set…”).
Consider claims 5, 11 (depends on at least claims 1, 7), Jeong discloses the limitations of claims 1, 7 as applied to claim rejection 1, 7 above and further discloses:
Jeong teaches providing (303) the included NF set ID to a discovery process for discovery NF instances in the communication network (see at least ¶ [0019], “…receiving, from a service communication proxy (SCP) entity, a network function (NF) discovery request message including first information associated with a target SCP entity, and transmitting, to the SCP entity, an NF discovery response message including second information associated with the target SCP entity based on the first information…”).
Consider claims 6, 12 (depends on at least claims 1, 7), Jeong discloses the limitations of claims 1, 7 as applied to claim rejection 1, 7 above and further discloses:
Jeong teaches wherein the NF instance is for an NF comprising one or more of the following: Session Management Function, SMF, Access Management Function, AMF, Authentication Service Function, AUSF, Policy Control Function, PCF, Unified Data Manager, UDM, Network Repository Function, NRF, and Network Exposure Function, NEF (see at least ¶ [0057], “…the NF may be at least one entity among an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, a session management function (SMF) entity, and a network slice selection function (NSSF) entity. However, embodiments of the disclosure may be equally applied even when an NF is actually implemented as an instance (e.g., AMF instance, SMF instance, or NSSF instance)…”).
Consider claim 13 (depends on at least claim 1), Jeong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Jeong teaches a computer program product comprising instructions, which, when executed on at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry the method according to claim 1, as performed by the second network node (see at least ¶ [0174], “…The one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium are configured to be executable by one or more processors of an electronic device…”).
Consider claim 14 (depends on at least claim 1), Jeong discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Jeong teaches a computer-readable storage medium, having stored there on a computer program product comprising instructions which, when executed on at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out the method according to claim 1, as performed by the second network node (see at least ¶ [0174], “…The one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium are configured to be executable by one or more processors of an electronic device…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20210258864 (hereinafter referred to as Jeong) in view of US Patent No.: 10509638 (hereinafter referred to as Gala).
Consider claim 3, 9 (depends on at least claim 1, 7), Jeong discloses the limitations of claim 1, 7 as applied to claim rejection 1, 7 above and further discloses:
Jeong disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Jeong does not particularly disclose wherein the included NF Set ID comprises a string of numbers and/or letters out of a specific string series for the second radio network node to use. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Gala, which teaches wherein the included NF Set ID comprises a string of numbers and/or letters out of a specific string series for the second radio network node to use (see Gala, at least Col. 6, Line 15-18, “…the container ID (304) may be a string of characters (e.g., letters, numbers, symbols, etc.) that may be used to uniquely identify…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Jeong disclosed invention, and have wherein the included NF Set ID comprises a string of numbers and/or letters out of a specific string series for the second radio network node to use, as taught by Gala, thereby, to provide a systems management service for standardizing systems management functionality and interfacing in a single, unified architecture, as discussed by Gala, (see at least Col. 2, Line 48-50).
Conclusion
/CHUONG A NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645