DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application number 18/690,316 filed on 03/08/2024, in which claims 16, 18-21, and 23-30 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.EP21196184.2 filed on 09/10/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/08/2024 has been received but has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 16, 18-21, 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over (US 20130207452 A1) to Gilles et al. (hereinafter Gilles).
Regarding claim 16, Gilles discloses A device for controlling a deceleration system of a vehicle, comprising: (Gilles Paragraph 0009: “The hydraulic assembly further comprises at least one pressure adjusting device for adjusting for each individual brake circuit the central hydraulic pressure generated by the pressure generator independently of the driver.”) (Gilles Paragraph 0078: “The hydraulic pressure generated by the pressure generator 116 in this case corresponds to the vehicle deceleration that is desired by the driver and communicated via the brake pedal 128.”) an input port configured to receive a fluidic main deceleration request; and an output port configured to supply an electric deceleration demand to the deceleration system, wherein the device is operatively configured to: generate the electric deceleration demand according to the fluidic main deceleration request, generate a fluidic deceleration demand according to the fluidic main deceleration request, and supply the fluidic deceleration demand to the deceleration system via an output port of the device. (Gilles Paragraph 0079: “In the event of a service braking operation in the regenerative mode, a triggering of the pressure generator 116 by means of the control electronics 136 is effected only if the deceleration request of the driver exceeds the vehicle deceleration achievable in the generator mode (for example in the event of a sudden re-pressing of the brake pedal 128 during an already previously initiated service braking operation). In this situation the control electronics 136 generate trigger signals for the pressure generator 116, which during the generator mode are geared to the supplementary generation of a hydraulic pressure at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112 (front axle and/or rear axle). A first deceleration component therefore results from the generator mode, while a second deceleration component goes back to the actuation of at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112. The control electronics 136 ensure that both deceleration components together correspond to the deceleration value for the service braking operation that is requested by the driver at the brake pedal 128.”)
Regarding claim 18, Gilles discloses The device according to claim 16, wherein the device is configured to: receive an electric input signal via an input port of the device, and generate the electric deceleration demand according to the electric input signal. (Gilles Paragraph 0006: “In a regenerative vehicle brake system, during a service braking operation the master cylinder is likewise hydraulically uncoupled from the brake circuits. Decelerating of the vehicle is effected in this case by means of a generator that charges a vehicle battery.”)
Regarding claim 19, Gilles discloses The device according to claim 16, wherein the device is configured to: process a deceleration force distribution and/or a decelerator actuator blending and/or a one pedal driving mode. (Gilles Paragraph 0038: “For a regenerative vehicle brake system a third control unit may further be provided for the regenerative braking mode. The third control unit is designed to trigger the pressure generator in the regenerative braking mode in order to build up a hydraulic brake pressure independently of the driver. The build-up of the hydraulic brake pressure at the wheel brakes may be effected during a generator mode ("blending").”)
Regarding claim 20, Gilles discloses The device according to claim 16, wherein the device is configured as a modular unit comprising a housing. (Gilles Paragraph 0012: “The pressure adjuster may comprise one or more valve devices.”) (Gilles Paragraph 0068: “The brake system 100 according to FIG. 1 further comprises a pressure adjuster 134 for adjusting for each individual brake circuit the hydraulic pressure generated centrally by the pressure generator 116.”)
Regarding claim 21, Gilles discloses A deceleration system for a vehicle, comprising: (Gilles Paragraph 0009: “In the present disclosure a hydraulic assembly is provided for a vehicle brake system comprising at least two brake circuits and wheel brakes associated with the brake circuits.”) at least one first deceleration actuator configured to be actuated by an electric deceleration demand; at least one input unit configured to generate a fluidic main deceleration request according to at least one input value, wherein the deceleration system is configured to generate the electric deceleration demand for controlling the at least one first deceleration actuator according to the fluidic main deceleration request, (Gilles Paragraph 0079: “In the event of a service braking operation in the regenerative mode, a triggering of the pressure generator 116 by means of the control electronics 136 is effected only if the deceleration request of the driver exceeds the vehicle deceleration achievable in the generator mode (for example in the event of a sudden re-pressing of the brake pedal 128 during an already previously initiated service braking operation). In this situation the control electronics 136 generate trigger signals for the pressure generator 116, which during the generator mode are geared to the supplementary generation of a hydraulic pressure at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112 (front axle and/or rear axle). A first deceleration component therefore results from the generator mode, while a second deceleration component goes back to the actuation of at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112. The control electronics 136 ensure that both deceleration components together correspond to the deceleration value for the service braking operation that is requested by the driver at the brake pedal 128.”) the deceleration system further comprising: at least one second deceleration actuator configured to be actuated by a fluidic deceleration demand; wherein the deceleration system is configured to generate the fluidic deceleration demand for controlling the at least one second deceleration actuator according to the fluidic main deceleration request during a normal operating mode. (Gilles Paragraph 0079: “In the event of a service braking operation in the regenerative mode, a triggering of the pressure generator 116 by means of the control electronics 136 is effected only if the deceleration request of the driver exceeds the vehicle deceleration achievable in the generator mode (for example in the event of a sudden re-pressing of the brake pedal 128 during an already previously initiated service braking operation). In this situation the control electronics 136 generate trigger signals for the pressure generator 116, which during the generator mode are geared to the supplementary generation of a hydraulic pressure at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112 (front axle and/or rear axle). A first deceleration component therefore results from the generator mode, while a second deceleration component goes back to the actuation of at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112. The control electronics 136 ensure that both deceleration components together correspond to the deceleration value for the service braking operation that is requested by the driver at the brake pedal 128.”)
Regarding claim 23, Gilles discloses The deceleration system according to claim 21, wherein the at least one input unit is configured to generate an electric input signal according to at least one further input value, wherein the deceleration system is configured to generate the electric deceleration demand according to the electric input signal. (Gilles Paragraph 0006: “In a regenerative vehicle brake system, during a service braking operation the master cylinder is likewise hydraulically uncoupled from the brake circuits. Decelerating of the vehicle is effected in this case by means of a generator that charges a vehicle battery.”)
Regarding claim 24, Gilles discloses The deceleration system according to claim 21, wherein the at least one input value comprises an input value from one or more of a brake pedal, an accelerator pedal, a driver input device, or a control unit for autonomous driving. (Gilles Paragraph 0079: “In the event of a service braking operation in the regenerative mode, a triggering of the pressure generator 116 by means of the control electronics 136 is effected only if the deceleration request of the driver exceeds the vehicle deceleration achievable in the generator mode (for example in the event of a sudden re-pressing of the brake pedal 128 during an already previously initiated service braking operation). In this situation the control electronics 136 generate trigger signals for the pressure generator 116, which during the generator mode are geared to the supplementary generation of a hydraulic pressure at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112 (front axle and/or rear axle). A first deceleration component therefore results from the generator mode, while a second deceleration component goes back to the actuation of at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112. The control electronics 136 ensure that both deceleration components together correspond to the deceleration value for the service braking operation that is requested by the driver at the brake pedal 128.”)
Regarding claim 25, Gilles discloses The deceleration system according to claim 21, wherein the at least one first deceleration actuator comprises a brake unit, an endurance brake unit, a retarder, and/or an electric machine, and/or the at least one second deceleration actuator comprises a brake unit, a mechanical brake, or a friction brake. (Gilles Paragraph 0079: “In this situation the control electronics 136 generate trigger signals for the pressure generator 116, which during the generator mode are geared to the supplementary generation of a hydraulic pressure at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112 (front axle and/or rear axle). A first deceleration component therefore results from the generator mode, while a second deceleration component goes back to the actuation of at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112. The control electronics 136 ensure that both deceleration components together correspond to the deceleration value for the service braking operation that is requested by the driver at the brake pedal 128.”)
Regarding claim 26, Gilles discloses The deceleration system according to claim 21, wherein the deceleration system is configured to perform a deceleration force distribution and/or a blending operation between the at least one first deceleration actuator and the at least one second deceleration actuator, and/or to perform a one pedal driving mode. (Gilles Paragraph 0006: “Decelerating of the vehicle is effected in this case by means of a generator that charges a vehicle battery. If the driver requires a greater vehicle deceleration than the generator can deliver, the hydraulic pump generates a supplementary hydraulic pressure in the brake circuits. This process is referred to also as "blending".”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20130207452 A1) to Gilles et al. (hereinafter Gilles) in view of (US 20090118887 A1) to Minarcin et al. (hereinafter Minarcin).
Regarding claim 27, Gilles discloses claim 21, accordingly, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated above.
Gilles does not disclose The deceleration system according to claim 21, further comprising: an interface configured for connecting with at least one further deceleration system, wherein the interface is configured to generate a further deceleration system deceleration demand.
However, Minarcin does teach The deceleration system according to claim 21, further comprising: an interface configured for connecting with at least one further deceleration system, wherein the interface is configured to generate a further deceleration system deceleration demand. (Minarcin Paragraph 0030: “In response to operator input via the accelerator pedal 113 and brake pedal 112 as captured by the user interface 13, the HCP 5 and one or more of the other control modules determine torque commands to control the torque generative devices comprising the engine 14 and first and second electric machines 56 and 72 to meet the operator torque request at the output member 64 and transferred to the driveline 90. Based upon input signals from the user interface 13 and the hybrid powertrain including the ESD 74, the HCP 5 determines the operator torque request, a commanded output torque from the transmission 10 to the driveline 90, an input torque from the engine 14, clutch torques for the torque-transfer clutches C1 70, C2 62, C3 73, C4 75 of the transmission 10; and the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 56 and 72, respectively, as is described herein below.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilles to include The deceleration system according to claim 21, further comprising: an interface configured for connecting with at least one further deceleration system, wherein the interface is configured to generate a further deceleration system deceleration demand taught by Minarcin. This would have been for the benefit to provide a more efficient method for controlling regenerative braking and friction braking includes monitoring a vehicle operating point, determining a braking torque request, determining a regenerative braking motor torque ratio based upon the vehicle operating point wherein the regenerative braking motor torque ratio is non-linearly dependent on the vehicle operating point, and actuating the friction brake based upon the regenerative braking motor torque ratio and the braking torque request. [Minarcin Paragraph 0005]
7. Claim(s) 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20130207452 A1) to Gilles et al. (hereinafter Gilles) in view of (US 20180141441 A1) to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 28, Gilles discloses […] and wherein the vehicle is further configured to operate the deceleration system such that both the electric deceleration demand and the fluidic deceleration demand are generated from the same fluidic main deceleration request. (Gilles Paragraph 0079: “In the event of a service braking operation in the regenerative mode, a triggering of the pressure generator 116 by means of the control electronics 136 is effected only if the deceleration request of the driver exceeds the vehicle deceleration achievable in the generator mode (for example in the event of a sudden re-pressing of the brake pedal 128 during an already previously initiated service braking operation). In this situation the control electronics 136 generate trigger signals for the pressure generator 116, which during the generator mode are geared to the supplementary generation of a hydraulic pressure at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112 (front axle and/or rear axle). A first deceleration component therefore results from the generator mode, while a second deceleration component goes back to the actuation of at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112. The control electronics 136 ensure that both deceleration components together correspond to the deceleration value for the service braking operation that is requested by the driver at the brake pedal 128.”)
Gilles does not disclose A vehicle, comprising: a deceleration system according to claim 21, wherein the vehicle is configured as a commercial vehicle, a truck, a trailer, a bus and/or as a combination of a towing vehicle and a trailer, and/or the vehicle comprises a pure electric, a hybrid or a conventional powertrain,
However, Kim does teach A vehicle, comprising: a deceleration system according to claim 21, wherein the vehicle is configured as a commercial vehicle, a truck, a trailer, a bus and/or as a combination of a towing vehicle and a trailer, and/or the vehicle comprises a pure electric, a hybrid or a conventional powertrain, (Kim Paragraph 0004: “It is understood that the term “vehicle” or “vehicular” or other similar term as used herein is inclusive of motor vehicles in general such as passenger automobiles including sports utility vehicles (SUV), buses, trucks, various commercial vehicles, watercraft including a variety of boats and ships, aircraft, and the like, and includes hybrid vehicles, electric vehicles”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilles to include A vehicle, comprising: a deceleration system according to claim 21, wherein the vehicle is configured as a commercial vehicle, a truck, a trailer, a bus and/or as a combination of a towing vehicle and a trailer, and/or the vehicle comprises a pure electric, a hybrid or a conventional powertrain, taught by Kim. This would have been for the benefit to provide (i) confirming whether to enter a blending section where regenerative braking torque is reduced and friction braking torque is increased; (ii) determining a target reduced deceleration by a controller upon entering the blending section; (iii) reducing braking torque of a vehicle in response to the determined target reduced deceleration; and (iv) returning the braking torque of the vehicle to driver's request braking torque when the vehicle is being stopped to provide more efficiency when braking. [Kim Paragraph 0005]
Regarding claim 29, Gilles discloses […] receiving a fluidic main deceleration request; generating an electric deceleration demand according to the fluidic main deceleration request; generating a fluidic deceleration demand according to the fluidic main deceleration request; controlling at least one first deceleration actuator according to the electric deceleration demand, and controlling at least one second deceleration actuator according to the fluidic deceleration demand. (Gilles Paragraph 0079: “In the event of a service braking operation in the regenerative mode, a triggering of the pressure generator 116 by means of the control electronics 136 is effected only if the deceleration request of the driver exceeds the vehicle deceleration achievable in the generator mode (for example in the event of a sudden re-pressing of the brake pedal 128 during an already previously initiated service braking operation). In this situation the control electronics 136 generate trigger signals for the pressure generator 116, which during the generator mode are geared to the supplementary generation of a hydraulic pressure at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112 (front axle and/or rear axle). A first deceleration component therefore results from the generator mode, while a second deceleration component goes back to the actuation of at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112. The control electronics 136 ensure that both deceleration components together correspond to the deceleration value for the service braking operation that is requested by the driver at the brake pedal 128.”)
Gilles does not disclose A method for controlling a deceleration system, comprising the steps of:
However, Kim does teach A method for controlling a deceleration system, comprising the steps of: (Kim Paragraph 0008: “The present disclosure relates to a braking control method”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilles to include A method for controlling a deceleration system, comprising the steps of: taught by Kim. This would have been for the benefit to provide (i) confirming whether to enter a blending section where regenerative braking torque is reduced and friction braking torque is increased; (ii) determining a target reduced deceleration by a controller upon entering the blending section; (iii) reducing braking torque of a vehicle in response to the determined target reduced deceleration; and (iv) returning the braking torque of the vehicle to driver's request braking torque when the vehicle is being stopped to provide more efficiency when braking. [Kim Paragraph 0005]
Regarding claim 30, Gilles discloses […] receiving a fluidic main deceleration request; generating an electric deceleration demand according to the fluidic main deceleration request; generating a fluidic deceleration demand according to the fluidic main deceleration request; and controlling at least one first deceleration actuator according to the electric deceleration demand; and controlling at least one second deceleration actuator according to the fluidic deceleration demand. (Gilles Paragraph 0079: “In the event of a service braking operation in the regenerative mode, a triggering of the pressure generator 116 by means of the control electronics 136 is effected only if the deceleration request of the driver exceeds the vehicle deceleration achievable in the generator mode (for example in the event of a sudden re-pressing of the brake pedal 128 during an already previously initiated service braking operation). In this situation the control electronics 136 generate trigger signals for the pressure generator 116, which during the generator mode are geared to the supplementary generation of a hydraulic pressure at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112 (front axle and/or rear axle). A first deceleration component therefore results from the generator mode, while a second deceleration component goes back to the actuation of at least two of the wheel brakes 106, 108, 110, 112. The control electronics 136 ensure that both deceleration components together correspond to the deceleration value for the service braking operation that is requested by the driver at the brake pedal 128.”)
Gilles does not disclose A computer product comprising a non-transitory computer- readable medium having stored thereon program code which, when executed by a data processing unit, carries out the acts of:
However, Kim does teach A computer product comprising a non-transitory computer- readable medium having stored thereon program code which, when executed by a data processing unit, carries out the acts of: (Kim Paragraph 0017: “In another embodiment, the present invention provides a brake controller for use with a vehicle. The brake controller includes a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing code to be executed by the processor.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilles to include A computer product comprising a non-transitory computer- readable medium having stored thereon program code which, when executed by a data processing unit, carries out the acts of: taught by Kim. This would have been for the benefit to provide (i) confirming whether to enter a blending section where regenerative braking torque is reduced and friction braking torque is increased; (ii) determining a target reduced deceleration by a controller upon entering the blending section; (iii) reducing braking torque of a vehicle in response to the determined target reduced deceleration; and (iv) returning the braking torque of the vehicle to driver's request braking torque when the vehicle is being stopped to provide more efficiency when braking. [Kim Paragraph 0005]
Conclusion
/K.J.H./Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664