DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I drawn to a polymeric nanoparticle formulation in the reply filed on 20 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that search for the polymeric nanoparticle of Group I would necessarily overlap with the search of non-elected Group II as the method of group II requires the formulation of Group I. This is not found persuasive because establishment of a search burden is not a requirement for restriction of an application filed under 35 U.S.C. 371. As such, arguments concerning burden of examination are not sufficient to overcome the restriction requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 20 April 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of a species of divinyl monomer bearing an aromatic ring of (2-nitro-1,3-phenylene)bis(methylene) diacrylate; a species of piperazine divinyl monomer of 1,4-bis(acryloyl)piperazine; a species of amino alcohol monomer of 6-amino-1-hexanol; and a species of polymer having a 50% divinyl monomer : 50% amine alcohol mole ratio in the reply filed on 20 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Francisco et al. (Methods, 31 December 2020, Vol. 190, 13-25 cited on Applicant’s IDS filed 8 March 2024).
Claim 1 is drawn to a polymeric nanoparticle formulation for targeted delivery of mRNA to cells comprising a polymer made of divinyl monomers bearing an aromatic ring, piperazine containing divinyl monomers, and amino alcohol monomers, wherein the polymer is complexed with mRNA to form the nanoparticles.
Claim 2 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the divinyl monomer bearing an aromatic ring is (2-nitro-1,3-phenylene)bis(methylene) diacrylate (Applicant’s elected species).
Claim 3 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the piperazine divinyl monomer is 1,4-bis(acryloyl)piperazine (Applicant’s elected species).
Claim 4 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the amino alcohol monomer is 6-amino-1-hexanol.
Francisco et al. teach polymeric nanoparticles for the delivery of mRNA (Abstract). Francisco et al. further teach nanoparticles comprising the polymer P1E28 complexed with mRNA (Fig. 5, pg. 19 left column last paragraph), wherein P1E28 comprises (2-nitro-1,3-phenylene)bis(methylene) diacrylate, 1,4-bis(acryloyl)piperazine, and 6-amino-1-hexanol (Table on pg. 24, Fig. 5B).
As such, claims 1-4 are anticipated.
Claim 5 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the molar ratio per repeating unit of the polymer is 50% divinyl monomers:50% amino alcohol.
Francisco et al. further teach forming the polymer by combining 50µL of P1, 50µL of bisacrylamide monomer, and 100µL of the amine alcohol, wherein each monomer solution had a concentration of 1.6M (Pg. 14 left column last paragraph), corresponding to a molar ratio of 50% divinyl monomers : 50% amino alcohol.
As such, claim 5 is anticipated.
Claim 6 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the molar ration per repeating unit of the polymer of any of the divinyl monomers varies between 5% and 45%.
Francisco et al. further teach forming the polymer by combining 50µL of P1, 50µL of bisacrylamide monomer, and 100µL of the amine alcohol, wherein each monomer solution had a concentration of 1.6M (Pg. 14 left column last paragraph), corresponding to a molar ratio for each divinyl monomer of 25%.
As such, claim 6 is anticipated.
Claim 7 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the mass ratio of mRNA to polymer is between 1:5 and 1:200.
Claim 8 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the mass ratio of mRNA: polymer is 1:100.
Francisco et al. further teach mass ratios of mRNA to polymer of 1:0.1 to 1:100 (Fig 5C), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claims 7-8 is anticipated.
Claim 9 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the nanoparticles have an average size between 200 and 600 nm.
Francisco et al. further teach the nanoparticles having an average size of 405±242 nm (pg. 17 right column second paragraph), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 9 is anticipated.
Claim 10 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the nanoparticles have a zeta potential between +5 and +25 mV.
Francisco et al. further teach the nanoparticles having a zeta potential of +12.7±8.6 mV (pg. 17 right column second paragraph), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 10 is anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blersch et al. (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 20 December 2019, Vol. 59, 1985-1991 cited on Applicant’s IDS filed 8 March 2024) in view of Islam et al. (Biomater Sci, 2015, Vol. 3, 1519-1533).
Claim 1 is drawn to a polymeric nanoparticle formulation for targeted delivery of mRNA to cells comprising a polymer made of divinyl monomers bearing an aromatic ring, piperazine containing divinyl monomers, and amino alcohol monomers, wherein the polymer is complexed with mRNA to form the nanoparticles.
Claim 2 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the divinyl monomer bearing an aromatic ring is (2-nitro-1,3-phenylene)bis(methylene) diacrylate (Applicant’s elected species).
Claim 3 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the piperazine divinyl monomer is 1,4-bis(acryloyl)piperazine (Applicant’s elected species).
Claim 4 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the amino alcohol monomer is 6-amino-1-hexanol.
Blersch et al. teach polymeric nanoparticle formulations for the delivery of RNA (Abstract), further teaching nanoparticles formed of the polymer P1E28 comprising (2-nitro-1,3-phenylene)bis(methylene) diacrylate, 1,4-bis(acryloyl)piperazine, and 6-amino-1-hexanol (Fig. 1B; “Synthesis of polymers with photocleavable moieties” on pgs. 2-3 of the SI). Blersch et al. further teach complexing the nanoparticles with siRNA (“High-throughput complexation of NPs with siRNAs” on pgs. 4-5 of the SI).
Blersch et al. do not teach the RNA being mRNA.
Islam et al. teach biomaterials for mRNA delivery (Title) including polymeric nanoparticles (pgs. 7-9), further teaching mRNA as a safe genetic material for gene-based therapy as well as having predictable, consistent protein expression kinetics (Pg. 1 first paragraph). Islam et al. further teach many delivery strategies for siRNA exhibiting a promising foundation for mRNA delivery technologies (Pgs. 1-2 bridging paragraph) and polymeric nanoparticles showing great potential for mRNA delivery (Pg. 9 first paragraph) with multiple examples of polymeric nanoparticle delivery systems presented in Table 2 (Pg. 23).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Blersch et al. to comprise mRNA as taught by Islam et al. It would have been obvious to combine the known polymeric nanoparticle for the delivery of RNA with the known delivery of mRNA via polymeric nanoparticles for gene-based therapy to yield the predictable result of an mRNA delivery system for gene-based therapy with consistent protein expression kinetics, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on all of the foregoing, claims 1-4 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 5 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the molar ratio per repeating unit of the polymer is 50% divinyl monomers:50% amino alcohol.
Claim 6 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the molar ration per repeating unit of the polymer of any of the divinyl monomers varies between 5% and 45%.
Blersch et al. further teach the polymer being synthesized from 25µL of P1, 25µL of bisacrylamide monomer, and 50µL of the amine alcohol, wherein each monomer solution had a concentration of 1.6 M (“Synthesis of polymers with photocleavable moieties” on pgs. 2-3 of the SI), corresponding to a 50% divinyl monomer:50% amino alcohol molar ratio, with each of the divinyl monomers having a 25% molar ratio, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claims 5-6 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 7 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the mass ratio of mRNA to polymer is between 1:5 and 1:200.
Blersch et al. further teach the mass ratio of RNA to the polymer between 1:12.5 and 1:50 (SI pg. 2 first paragraph), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 7 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 8 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the mass ratio of mRNA: polymer is 1:100.
Blersch et al. do not teach a mass ratio of RNA to polymer of 1:100.
However, Blersch et al. teach optimization of the ratio of RNA:polymer (SI pg. 2), further teaching the ratio having a direct impact on the bioefficacy of the nanoparticle (Fig. S5B), indicating the ratio of RNA:polymer as a result-effective variable.
And, as discussed by MPEP 2144.05, “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical” (see also In re Aller (220 F.2d 454)): “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation…” Indeed, as further discussed by the court, “[s]uch experimentation is no more than the application of the expected skill of the [ordinarily skilled artisan] and failure to perform such experiments would, in our opinion, show a want of the expected skill”; see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2005): “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” and “[o]nly if the ‘results of optimizing a variable’ are ‘unexpectedly good’ can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range” (quoting In re Antonie (559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977))).
In the instant case, the mass ratio of mRNA:polymer is clearly a result-effective variable, determining the bioefficacy of the nanoparticles. Accordingly, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal mass ratio of mRNA:polymer in order to best achieve the desired results.
As such, claim 8 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 9 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the nanoparticles have an average size between 200 and 600 nm.
Blersch et al. further teach 90% of the nanoparticles having a size range between 100 and 500 nm (Pg. 1986 left column third paragraph), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 9 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 10 is drawn to the formulation of claim 1, wherein the nanoparticles have a zeta potential between +5 and +25 mV.
Blersch et al. further teach in Fig. S3E the P1E28 nanoparticles having a zeta potential of about +20 mV, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 10 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8, and 11 of copending Application No. 17/611,278 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of Application No. ‘278 recites a nanoparticle library of formulations for controlled release of RNA wherein the formulations comprise: polymeric nanoparticles comprising photocleavable linker monomers; amine monomers; and bisacrylamide monomers; wherein the nanoparticles are complexed with RNA, rendering instant claim 1 obvious.
Claim 2 of Application No. ‘278 recites the formulation of claim 1, wherein the photocleavable linker is (2-nitro-1,3-phenylene)bis(methylene) diacrylate, rendering instant claim 2 obvious.
Claim 3 of Application No. ‘278 recites the formulation of claim 1, wherein the bisacrylamide monomer is bisacryloylpiperazine, rendering instant claim 3 obvious.
Claim 4 of Application No. ‘278 recites the formulation of claim 1, wherein the amine monomer is selected from a group including 3-amino-1-propanol, 4-amino-1-butanol, 5-amino-1-pentanol, and 6-amino-1-hexanol, rendering instant claim 4 obvious.
Claim 6 of Application No. ‘278 recites the formulation of claim 2, wherein the molar ratio of the polymer is 25(P1):25(bisacrylamide):50(amine), rendering instant claims 5-6 obvious.
Claim 7 of Application No. ‘278 recites the formulation of claim 1, wherein 90% of the nanoparticles have a size range between 100 and 500 nm, rendering instant claim 9 obvious.
Claim 8 of Application No. ‘278 recites the formulation of claim 1, wherein 20% of the nanoparticles have a zeta potential above 20 mV, rendering instant claim 10 obvious.
Claim 11 of Application No. ‘278 recites the formulation of claim 1, wherein the weight ratio of mRNA:NP varies between 1:5 and 1:100, rendering instant claims 7-8 obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/PAUL HOERNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611