DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 3/11/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR DUAL RAT SIDELINK CONNECTION BEWTEEN RADIO DEVICES
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 48 recites the limitation "the least two first radio communication paths" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 49 recites the limitation "the least two first radio communication paths" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 50 recites the limitation "the least two first radio communication paths" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 51 recites the limitation "the least two first radio communication paths" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 52 recites the limitation "the second SL” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 45-48, 53-59, 64, 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng et al (Pub No: 2020/0107236).
As to claim 45, Tseng teaches a method of communicating data between a first radio device and a second radio device, the method being performed by the first radio device (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1, a method for a UE_A and UE_B) and comprising:
establishing a first radio communication path between the first radio device and the second radio device, wherein the first radio communication path comprises a first radio access network (RAN) link between the first radio device and a first base station of a RAN for serving the first radio device (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1 Fig 12, a connection path is established between UE_A and UE_B via NR Uu interface and base station gNB) ;
establishing a second radio communication path between the first radio device and the second radio device, the second radio communication path being different from the first radio communication path, wherein the second radio communication path comprises a first sidelink (SL) between the first radio device and the second radio device (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1 Fig 7 Fig 12, establishing a PC5 connection between UE_A and UE_B that is a SL connection);
receiving a configuration message from the first base station, the configuration message being indicative of at least one criterion (Tseng, [0087]-[0089] Fig 1, receiving SL configuration data from the base station with implementation configuration criteria/state [0067-68]); and
communicating data between the first radio device and the second radio device using selectively at least one of the first radio communication path and the second radio communication path depending on the at least one criterion (Tseng, [0058] Fig 1 [067][0073-0074], SL data is communicated between UE_A and B using the SL path that is selectively configured/selected based on the configuration criterion/state).
As to claim 46, Tseng teaches wherein the establishing of the first radio communication path comprises establishing at least two first radio communication paths between the first radio device and the second radio device, wherein each of the at least two first radio communication paths comprises a first RAN link between the first radio device and the first base station (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1 Fig 12, a connection path is established between UE_A and UE_B via NR Uu interface and base station gNB. With a first link between UE_A and base station and second from base station to UE_B).
As to claim 47, Tseng teaches wherein the communicating of the data between the first radio device and the second radio device selectively uses at least one of the at least two first radio communication path and the second radio communication path depending on at least one criterion (Tseng, [0058] Fig 1 [067][0073-0074], SL data is communicated between UE_A and B using the SL path that is selectively configured/selected based on the configuration criterion/state).
As to claim 48, Tseng teaches wherein the first radio communication path, or at least one or each of the least two first radio communication paths, further comprises a second RAN link between the first base station and the second radio device (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1 Fig 12, a connection path is established between UE_A and UE_B via NR Uu interface and base station gNB. With a first link between UE_A and base station and second from base station to UE_B).
As to claim 53, Tseng teaches wherein the first radio device and the second radio device are in dual connectivity (DC), wherein a first connection of the DC uses the first radio communication path and a second connection of the DC uses the second radio communication path (Tseng, [0033] Fig 13A, the UE_A and UE_B are in Dual connectivity).
As to claim 54, Tseng teaches wherein the first radio device is configured with a split bearer for the communicating of the data between the first radio device and the second radio device (Tseng, [0072], configured with SRB1 and SRB2).
As to claim 55, Tseng teaches wherein the first radio communication path is associated with a first radio link control (RLC) entity of the first radio device, and the second radio communication path is associated with a second radio link control, RLC, entity of the first radio device (Tseng, [0163][0134] Table 9, the first patch is associated with RLC layer and the sidelink is associated with RLC entity).
As to claim 56, Tseng teaches wherein the communicating of the data uses the first radio communication path or the second radio communication path selectively per packet of the data (Tseng, [0058] Fig 1 [067][0073-0074], SL data is communicated between UE_A and B using the SL path that is selectively configured/selected based on the configuration criterion/state).
As to claim 57, Tseng teaches wherein the communicating of the data comprises at least one of: duplicating packets of the data at a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the first radio device according to the at least one criterion (Tseng, [0163], duplicating at the PDCP entity)
As to claim 58, Tseng teaches wherein the communicating of the data comprises at least one of: transmitting duplicates of the packets of the data on the first radio communication path and the second radio communication path until a first trigger event according to the at least one criterion occurs (Tseng, [0163], duplicating at the PDCP entity until a per packet reliability value becomes a certain value (trigger))
As to claim 59, Tseng teaches wherein the communicating of the data comprises at least one of: transmitting duplicates of the packets of the data on the first radio communication path and the second radio communication path until a second trigger event according to the at least one criterion occurs (Tseng, [0163], duplicating at the PDCP entity until a per packet priority value becomes a certain value (second trigger))
As to claim 64, Tseng teaches a method of controlling communicating of data between a first radio device and a second radio device, the method being performed by a first base station of a radio access network (RAN) serving the first radio device (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1, a method for a via a base station UE_A and UE_B) and comprising or initiating the steps of:
controlling establishing a first radio communication path between the first radio device and the second radio device, wherein the first radio communication path comprises a first RAN link between the first radio device and the first base station (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1 Fig 12, a connection path is established between UE_A and UE_B via NR Uu interface and base station gNB);
controlling establishing a second radio communication path between the first radio device and the second radio device, the second radio communication path being different from the first radio communication path, wherein the second radio communication path comprises a first sidelink (SL) between the first radio device and the second radio device (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1 Fig 7 Fig 12, establishing a PC5 connection between UE_A and UE_B that is a SL connection);
transmitting a configuration message from the first base station, the configuration message being indicative of at least one criterion (Tseng, [0087]-[0089] Fig 1, receiving SL configuration data from the base station with implementation configuration criteria/state [0067-68]); and
controlling communicating data between the first radio device and the second radio device using selectively at least one of the first radio communication path and the second radio communication path depending on the at least one criterion (Tseng, [0058] Fig 1 [067][0073-0074], SL data is communicated between UE_A and B using the SL path that is selectively configured/selected based on the configuration criterion/state).
As to claim 65, Tseng teaches a first radio device for communicating data between the first radio device and a second radio device, the first radio device comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1, a system for a UE_A and UE_B), configure the processor to control the first radio device:
establish a first radio communication path between the first radio device and the second radio device, wherein the first radio communication path comprises a first radio access network (RAN) link between the first radio device and a first base station of a RAN for serving the first radio device (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1 Fig 12, a connection path is established between UE_A and UE_B via NR Uu interface and base station gNB);
establish a second radio communication path between the first radio device and the second radio device, the second radio communication path being different from the first radio communication path, wherein the second radio communication path comprises a first sidelink (SL) between the first radio device and the second radio device (Tseng, [0043][0053][0057] Fig 1 Fig 7 Fig 12, establishing a PC5 connection between UE_A and UE_B that is a SL connection);
receive a configuration message from the first base station, the configuration message being indicative of at least one criterion (Tseng, [0087]-[0089] Fig 1, receiving SL configuration data from the base station with implementation configuration criteria/state [0067-68]); and
communicate data between the first radio device and the second radio device using selectively at least one of the first radio communication path and the second radio communication path depending on the at least one criterion (Tseng, [0058] Fig 1 [067][0073-0074], SL data is communicated between UE_A and B using the SL path that is selectively configured/selected based on the configuration criterion/state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to claim 45 above, and further in view of Wu et al (Pub No: 2021/0392628).
As to claim 49, Tseng teaches the limitations of claim 45.
Tseng does not explicitly teach the first radio communication path, or at least one or each of the least two first radio communication paths, further comprises: a backhaul link between the first base station and a second base of the RAN
However, Wu teaches wherein the first radio communication path, or at least one or each of the least two first radio communication paths, further comprises: a backhaul link between the first base station and a second base of the RAN (Wu, Fig 1#134, a backhaul link between base stations), and a second RAN link between the second base station and the second radio device for serving the second radio device (Wu, Fig 2, a second link between the second UE and BS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a second base station and backhaul link” as taught by Wu in the system of Tseng, so that it would be an example of a wireless communication system that supports multi-radio access technology (Wu [0035]).
As to claim 50, Tseng teaches the limitations of claim 45.
Tseng does not explicitly teach the first radio communication path, or at least one or each of the least two first radio communication paths, further comprises: a second RAN link between the first base station and a relay radio device, and a second SL between the relay radio device and the second radio device
However, Wu teaches wherein the first radio communication path, or at least one or each of the least two first radio communication paths, further comprises: a second RAN link between the first base station and a relay radio device (Wu, Fig 1, from a base station to another UE between the destination UE), and a second SL between the relay radio device and the second radio device (Wu, Fig 1, a link (SL) between a relay UE and destination UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a relay between UE and base station” as taught by Wu in the system of Tseng, so that it would be an example of a wireless communication system that supports multi-radio access technology (Wu [0035]).
As to claim 51, Tseng teaches the limitations of claim 45.
Tseng does not explicitly teach the first radio communication path, or at least one or each of the least two first radio communication paths, further comprises: a backhaul link between the first base station and a second base of the RAN.
However, Wu teaches wherein the first radio communication path, or at least one or each of the least two first radio communication paths, further comprises: a backhaul link between the first base station and a second base of the RAN (Wu, Fig 1#134, a backhaul link between base stations), and a second RAN link between the second base station and a relay radio device, and a second SL between the relay radio device and the second radio device (Wu, Fig 2, a second link between the second UE and BS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a second base station and backhaul link” as taught by Wu in the system of Tseng, so that it would be an example of a wireless communication system that supports multi-radio access technology (Wu [0035]).
As to claim 52, Tseng teaches the limitations of claim 45.
Tseng does not explicitly teach at least one or each of the first SL and the second SL further comprises at least two SL-based hops.
However, Wu teaches wherein at least one or each of the first SL and the second SL further comprises at least two SL-based hops (Wu, Fig 2, the SL has 2 hops 220, 210, 215).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a 2 hop sidelink” as taught by Wu in the system of Tseng, so that it would be an example of a wireless communication system that supports multi-radio access technology (Wu [0035]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 60-63 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lovlekar et al (Pub No: 2020/0260463) [0173]
Tseng et al (Pub No: 2020/0045674) Fig 1-8
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469