DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0134889 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”).
In reference to claim 1, Zhang discloses a structure which meets the claim. Fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang disclose a display panel which comprises a first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) and a second display region (A) that surrounds at least part of the first display region (B). The display panel comprises a light-emitting layer (11) and an optical filter layer (13). The light-emitting layer (11, 113) comprises a plurality of light-emitting units (113). The optical filter layer (13) comprises a plurality of optical filter structures (13), and the plurality of light-emitting units (113) are arranged corresponding to the plurality of optical filter structures (13). The plurality of optical filter structures (13) comprise a first optical filter structure (131) located in the first display region (B) and a second optical filter structure (132) located in the second display region (A). The first optical filter structure (131) comprises a first color resist unit (131], and the second optical filter structure (132) comprises a second color resist unit (132). A filtered color (green) of the first color resist unit (131) and a filtered color (green) of the second color resist unit (132) are both green and therefore the same. Zhang discloses (p. 6, paragraph 78) that the light transmittance of the first optical filter structure (131) is greater than the light transmittance of the second optical filter structure (132) due to the thickness of the first optical filter structure (131) being smaller than the thickness of the second optical filter structure (132).
With regard to claim 2, fig. 21 shows that the second optical filter structure (132) further comprises a second black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (132)) surrounding the second color resist unit (132). Fig. 21 also shows that the first optical filter structure (131) comprises a first structure with the first color resist unit (131) and a first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) surrounding the first color resist unit (131). The thickness of the first color resist unit (131) is less than the thickness of the second color resist unit (132).
Fig. 21 also shows that the first optical filter structure (131) comprises a second structure with the first color resist unit (131) and a first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) surrounding the first color resist unit (131). The width of the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) is less than a width of the second black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (132)).
In reference to claim 10, in fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang, it is understood that there is at least two of the first structure and at least two of the second structure since the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) is an array of a multitude of pixels.
With regard to claim 11, fig. 21 shows that the first display region (B) has three first optical filter structures: (131 or G – green), (R – red), and (B – blue) with any two adjacent first optical filter structures being different from the other by their respective color filters.
In reference to claim 19, Zhang discloses a structure which meets the claim. Fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang disclose a display device which comprises a first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) and a second display region (A) that surrounds at least part of the first display region (B). The display panel comprises a light-emitting layer (11) and an optical filter layer (13). The light-emitting layer (11, 113) comprises a plurality of light-emitting units (113). The optical filter layer (13) comprises a plurality of optical filter structures (13), and the plurality of light-emitting units (113) are arranged corresponding to the plurality of optical filter structures (13). The plurality of optical filter structures (13) comprise a first optical filter structure (131) located in the first display region (B) and a second optical filter structure (132) located in the second display region (A). The first optical filter structure (131) comprises a first color resist unit (131], and the second optical filter structure (132) comprises a second color resist unit (132). A filtered color (green) of the first color resist unit (131) and a filtered color (green) of the second color resist unit (132) are both green and therefore the same. Zhang discloses (p. 6, paragraph 78) that the light transmittance of the first optical filter structure (131) is greater than the light transmittance of the second optical filter structure (132) due to the thickness of the first optical filter structure (131) being smaller than the thickness of the second optical filter structure (132).
With regard to claim 20, Zhang discloses a photosensitive element in the form of a camera (p. 6, paragraph 83).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang and as further evidenced by Ding et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0302217 A1, hereinafter “Ding”).
In reference to claim 15, fig. 21 shows that the first optical filter structures comprises a first-color optical filter structure (B or R) with a filtered color of a first color (blue or red) and a second-color optical filter structure (G) with a filtered color of a second color (green). Ding discloses that the viewing-angle brightness attenuation speed or luminance decay of blue light is greater than that of red and green light such that: red decay < green decay < blue decay (p. 4, paragraph 60). Thus in fig.21 of Zhang, the viewing-angle brightness attenuation speed or luminance decay of an optical filter structure corresponding to the first color (blue or red) is greater than a viewing-angle brightness attenuation speed or luminance decay of a same optical filter structure corresponding to the second color (green). The light transmittance of the first-color optical filter structure (B or R) is greater than the light transmittance of the second-color optical filter structure (G) since the thickness of optical filter structure (B or R) is less than the thickness of the second-color optical filter structure (G).
With regard to claim 17, a thickness of the first color resist unit (B or R) of the first-color optical filter structure is less than a thickness of the first color resist unit (G) of the second-color optical filter structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang.
In reference to claim 2, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a fourth structure where the black matrix is not disposed around the first color resist unit (131). However Zhang discloses the desire to increase light transmissivity in the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) which is the same region that contains the first color resist unit (131). It would be obvious to implement a fourth structure by removing the first black matrix/light shielding layer (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) around the first color resist unit (131) in order to increase light transmissivity in the first display region (B) since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions ("obvious to try") with a reasonable expectation of success have been found to be obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Therefore claim 2 is not patentable over Zhang.
In reference to claim 3, fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang discloses that the thickness of the first optical filter structure (131) is less than the thickness of the second optical filter structure (132).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a fourth structure where the black matrix is not disposed around the first color resist unit (131). However Zhang discloses the desire to increase light transmissivity in the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) which is the same region that contains the first color resist unit (131). It would be obvious to remove the first black matrix/light shielding layer (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) around the first color resist unit (131) in order to increase light transmissivity in the first display region (B) since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions ("obvious to try") with a reasonable expectation of success have been found to be obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Therefore claim 3 is not patentable over Zhang.
In reference to claim 10, in fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang, it is understood that there is at least two of the first structure and at least two of the second structure since the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) is an array of a multitude of pixels.
Claim 2, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Park et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2006/0145578 A1, hereinafter “Park”).
In reference to claim 2, Zhang discloses a first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) and the first color resist unit (131).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a third structure where the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131))) surrounds the first color resist unit (131) such that the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) comprises a first hollow and a black matrix block, and the first hollow penetrates the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) and extends to the first color resist unit (131) in a direction from the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) to a center of the first color resist unit (131). However fig. 5 of Park discloses using light shielding layers in the shape of stripes which allow more light to pass. Zhang discloses the desire to increase light transmissivity in the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) which is the same region that contains the first color resist unit (131). It would be obvious to shape the first black matrix/light shielding layer (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) into stripes which form hollows (no black matrix/light shielding layer) that extend to the center of the first color resist unit (131) in order to increase light transmissivity in the first display region (B) since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions ("obvious to try") with a reasonable expectation of success have been found to be obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Therefore claim 2 is not patentable over Zhang and Park.
In reference to claim 4, Zhang discloses a first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) and the first color resist unit (131).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a third structure where the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131))) surrounds the first color resist unit (131) such that the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) comprises a first hollow and a black matrix block, and the first hollow penetrates the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) and extends to the first color resist unit (131) in a direction from the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) to a center of the first color resist unit (131). However fig. 5 of Park discloses using light shielding layers in the form of stripes which allow more light to pass. Zhang discloses the desire to increase light transmissivity in the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) which is the same region that contains the first color resist unit (131). It would be obvious to shape the first black matrix/light shielding layer (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) into stripes which forms alternating hollows (no black matrix/light shielding stripe) that extend to the center of the first color resist unit (131) and black matrix/light shielding stripes at the first color resist unit (131) in order to increase light transmissivity in the first display region (B) since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions ("obvious to try") with a reasonable expectation of success have been found to be obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Therefore claim 4 is not patentable over Zhang and Park.
In reference to claim 10, in fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang, it is understood that there is at least two of the first structure and at least two of the second structure since the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) is an array of a multitude of pixels.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Park as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Hyun al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0394964 A1, hereinafter “Hyun”).
In reference to claim 5, neither of the above references discloses that in the third structure, an opening area of the first hollow is negatively correlated (opening area gradually increases) to a distance from the third structure to a center of the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) in the device of Zhang constructed in view of Park. However fig. 10 of Hyun discloses (p. 8-9, paragraphs 148-154) that the light transmissivity of the display should gradually increase from the edge (SA1, SA2) of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) towards the center of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) in order to avoid the problem of a sudden luminance difference between the camera/photosensor region (DA1) and the surrounding display region (DA2). In view of Hyun, it would therefore be obvious to increase the opening area of the first hollow (region with no black matrix/light shielding stripe) and thus increase the light transmissivity from the edge of the second display region (A – display region - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) to a center of the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) in the device of Zhang constructed in view of Park.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hyun.
In reference to claim 6, in fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang, it is understood that a third optical filter structure (132) is located in the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) and comprising a third color resist unit (132) and a third black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (132)) surrounding the third color resist unit (132) since the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) is an array of pixels. A filtered color (green) of the third color resist unit (231) is the same as the filtered color (green) of the second color resist unit (132), and a thickness of the third color resist unit (132) is the same as a thickness of the second color resist unit (132).
Fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang do not explicitly disclose that in a direction from the second display region (A) to the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor), a distribution density of the third optical filter structure (132) decreases gradually. As noted above, the thickness of the first color resist unit (131) is less than the thickness of the second color resist unit (132) with the second color resist unit (132) being the same structure as the third color resist unit (132). Thus the second and third color resist units (132) block more light than the first color resist unit (131). Fig. 10 of Hyun discloses (p. 8-9, paragraphs 148-154) that the light transmissivity of the display should gradually increase from the edge (SA1, SA2) of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) towards the center of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) in order to avoid the problem of a sudden luminance difference between the camera/photosensor region (DA1) and the surrounding display region (DA2). In view of Hyun, it would therefore be obvious to decrease the distribution density of the third optical filter structure (132) and thus increase the light transmissivity from the edge of the second display region (A – display region - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) to a center of the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) in the device of Zhang.
With regard to claim 7, fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang do not explicitly disclose that in a direction from the second display region (A) to the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor), a distribution density of the first optical filter structure (131) increases gradually. As noted above, the thickness of the first color resist unit (131) is less than the thickness of the second color resist unit (132); thus the first color resist unit (131) transmits more light than the second and third color resist units (132). Fig. 10 of Hyun discloses (p. 8-9, paragraphs 148-154) that the light transmissivity of the display should gradually increase from the edge (SA1, SA2) of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) towards the center of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) in order to avoid the problem of a sudden luminance difference between the camera/photosensor region (DA1) and the surrounding display region (DA2). In view of Hyun, it would therefore be obvious to increase the distribution density of the first optical filter structure (131) while decreasing the distribution density (as discussed in the above rejection of claim 6) of the third optical filter structure (132) and thus increase the light transmissivity from the edge of the second display region (A – display region - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) to a center of the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) in the device of Zhang constructed in view of Hyun.
In reference to claim 8, fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang do not explicitly disclose that in a direction from the second display region (A) to the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor), that the first optical filter structure (131) and the third optical filter structure (132) are arranged alternately. The thickness of the first color resist unit (131) of the first optical filter structure (131) is less than the thickness of the third color resist unit (132) of the third optical filter structure (132). Fig. 10 of Hyun discloses (p. 8-9, paragraphs 148-154) that the light transmissivity of the display should gradually increase from the edge (SA1, SA2) of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) towards the center of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) in order to avoid the problem of a sudden luminance difference between the camera/photosensor region (DA1) and the surrounding display region (DA2). Fig. 10 of Hyun shows that this is done by alternately arranging light transmissive areas (TA1, TA2) with pixel areas (PA) in a checkerboard pattern. In view of Hyun, it would therefore be obvious to gradually alternately arrange the first optical filter structure (131) and the third optical filter structure (132) in a direction from the edge of the second display region (A – display region - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) to a center of the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor - fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang) in the device of Zhang constructed in view of Hyun.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hyun.
In reference to claim 9, fig. 21 of Zhang shows that the first optical filter structure (131) comprises a second structure with the first color resist unit (131) and a first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) surrounding the first color resist unit (131). The width of the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) is less than a width of the second black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (132)). Fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang do not explicitly disclose that in a direction from the second display region (A) to the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor), that the width of the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) gradually decreases. However Hyun discloses that the display region with the camera/photosensor should have a high light transmissivity in order to increase the sensitivity and accuracy of the camera/photosensor (p. 4, paragraph 65). Additionally fig. 10 of Hyun discloses (p. 8-9, paragraphs 148-154) that the light transmissivity of the display should gradually increase from the edge (SA1, SA2) of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) towards the center of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) in order to avoid the problem of a sudden luminance difference between the camera/photosensor region (DA1) and the surrounding display region (DA2). In view of the above, it would therefore be obvious to gradually decrease the width of the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) in a direction from the second display region (A) to the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) so as to gradually increase light transmissivity towards the center of the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Park as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Hyun.
In reference to claim 9, fig. 21 of Zhang shows that the first optical filter structure (131) comprises a second structure with the first color resist unit (131) and a first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) surrounding the first color resist unit (131). The width of the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) is less than a width of the second black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (132)). Fig. 4, 20, and 21 of Zhang do not explicitly disclose that in a direction from the second display region (A) to the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor), that the width of the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) gradually decreases. However Hyun discloses that the display region with the camera/photosensor should have a high light transmissivity in order to increase the sensitivity and accuracy of the camera/photosensor (p. 4, paragraph 65). Additionally fig. 10 of Hyun discloses (p. 8-9, paragraphs 148-154) that the light transmissivity of the display should gradually increase from the edge (SA1, SA2) of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) towards the center of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) in order to avoid the problem of a sudden luminance difference between the camera/photosensor region (DA1) and the surrounding display region (DA2). In view of the above, it would therefore be obvious to gradually decrease the width of the first black matrix (note unlabeled black blocks on sides of (131)) in a direction from the second display region (A) to the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) so as to gradually increase light transmissivity towards the center of the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hyun.
In reference to claim 18, fig. 21 of Zhang discloses that the first display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) comprises a light-transmissive display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor). Zhang does not explicitly disclose a transitional display region is located between the light-transmissive display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) and the second display region (A) with the light transmittance of the transitional display region being less than light transmittance of the light-transmissive display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor).
However fig. 10 of Hyun discloses (p. 8-9, paragraphs 148-154) that the light transmissivity of the display should gradually increase from the edge (SA1, SA2) of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) towards the center of the camera/photosensor region (DA1) in order to avoid the problem of a sudden luminance difference between the camera/photosensor region (DA1) and the surrounding display region (DA2). In view of Hyun, it would therefore be obvious to implement a transitional region between the light-transmissive display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor) and the second display region (A) which has a light transmittance less than the light transmittance of the light-transmissive display region (B – transparent display region with camera/photosensor).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: in the examiner’s opinion, it would not be obvious to implement a display panel that comprises a first display region and a second display region that surrounds it, a light emitting layer with a plurality of light emitting units and an optical filter layer with a plurality of optical filter structures, such that the plurality of optical filter structures has a first optical filter structure in the first display region and a second optical filter structure in the second display region, such that the first optical filter structure comprises a first color resist unit and the second optical filter structure comprises a second color resist unit with a filtered color of the first color resist unit being the same as the filtered color of the second color resist unit, such that light transmittance of the first optical filter structure is greater than light transmittance of the second optical filter structure, in combination with the suggested second structure with the first color resist unit and a first black matrix surrounding it such that a width of the first black matrix is less than a width of a second black matrix surrounding the second color resist unit and the specific color resist units at a preset distance from the center of the first display region with the suggested black matrix widths as described by the applicant in claim 12.
In the examiner’s opinion, it would also not be obvious to implement a display panel that comprises a first display region and a second display region that surrounds it, a light emitting layer with a plurality of light emitting units and an optical filter layer with a plurality of optical filter structures, such that the plurality of optical filter structures has a first optical filter structure in the first display region and a second optical filter structure in the second display region, such that the first optical filter structure comprises a first color resist unit and the second optical filter structure comprises a second color resist unit with a filtered color of the first color resist unit being the same as the filtered color of the second color resist unit, such that light transmittance of the first optical filter structure is greater than light transmittance of the second optical filter structure, in combination with the suggested first-color optical filter structure with a filtered color of a first color and a second-color optical filter structure with a filtered color of a second color and the specific black matrix and hollow structure of the first-color optical filter structure as described by the applicant in claim 16.
Conclusion
/KEVIN QUINTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893