DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on March 11, 2024 has been considered.
Examiner’s Note
Based on [0035] of the specification stating “a toroid surface can be a cylindrical surface”, Examiner will interpret cylindrical lenses as satisfying limitations for toroid lenses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 6, 18, 20, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 2, 18, and 33 recite the limitation “the plurality of lenses comprises at least one toroid lens.” However, claims 1, 17, and 32 recite the limitation “the plurality of lenses including at least one aspheric toroid lens.” An aspheric toroid lens is a specific type of toroid lens thus the aspheric toroid lens of claims 1, 17, and 32 would satisfy the limitation for the toroid lens of claims 2, 18, and 33 and claims 2, 18, and 33 broadens the scope of the claims. Thus claims 2, 18, and 33 fail to further limit the claims from which they depend. Claims 4, 6, and 20 depend from claims 2, 17, and 32. For the purposes of compact prosecution and based on the disclosure, Examiner will interpret the “at least one toroid lens” of claims 2, 18, and 33 as additional toroid lens to the aspheric toroid lens of claims 1, 17, and 32. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-14, 16-18, 27-30, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0278694 – hereinafter referred to as “Chuang”) in view of Fomenkov et al. (Laser-Produced Plasma Sources for High-Volume-Manufacturing EUV Lithography – cited by Applicant – hereinafter referred to as “Fomenkov”).
Regarding claim 1, Chuang teaches an optical module (Figure 1A anamorphic optics 113, [0039]) for passing an optical beam (beam 112), the optical module comprising:
a plurality of lenses (Figure 2A anamorphic optics 113 contains a plurality of lenses) through which the optical beam passes, the plurality of lenses including at least one aspheric toroid lens (Figure 2A acylindrical plano-convex lens 203, [0051]), the plurality of lenses placed relative to a linearly focused curtain of the optical beam (Figure 2A lenses are placed relative to elliptical beam 117 on containment structure 101, [0052]), the linearly focused curtain intersecting a region of interest ([0052] elliptical beam 117 intersects region of interest at containment structure 101); and
an optical mount apparatus in which the plurality of lenses is mounted (Figure 2A lenses of anamorphic optics 113 will inherently have an optical mount), an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light source ([0034] wavelengths of light at 120 nm are generated which are in the EUV range).
Chuang fails to teach the optical mount apparatus is arranged in or fixed to a wall of a chamber of the EUV light source such that an optical path is defined that passes through the EUV light source chamber and intersects the region of interest inside the chamber. However, Fomenkov teaches an apparatus for EUV lithography where the focusing optics of an EUV light source are fixed to the wall of chamber of the EUV light source (Figure 1 focusing optics mounted to vessel, page 4 vacuum vessel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module taught by Chuang to be is arranged in or fixed to a wall of a chamber of the EUV light source such that an optical path is defined that passes through the EUV light source chamber and intersects the region of interest inside the chamber as taught by Fomenkov in order to provide a stable optical arrangement and have the apparatus be under vacuum (Fomenkov page 4).
Regarding claim 2, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Chuang further teaches the plurality of lenses comprises at least one toroid lens (Figure 2A cylindrical lens 201, [0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Chuang further teaches the linearly focused curtain is formed from the optical beam passing through the plurality of lenses and to the region of interest inside the chamber ([0052] elliptical beam 117 is formed by beam 112 passing through lenses of anamorphic optics 113 and intersects region of interest at containment structure 101).
Regarding claim 10, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Chuang further teaches the aspheric toroid lens is the lens that is closest to the region of interest (Figure 2A acylindrical plano-convex lens 203 is closest to containment structure 101).
Regarding claim 11, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. The optical module of claim 1, wherein the at least one aspheric toroid lens is a single lens that is plano-convex ([0051] acylindrical plano-convex lens 203) , plano-concave, meniscus with one face being aspheric toroid, or meniscus with both faces being aspheric toroid.
Regarding claim 12, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Chuang further teaches the aspheric toroid lens is an acylindrical lens ([0051] acylindrical plano-convex lens 203).
Regarding claim 13, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Chuang further teaches the plurality of lenses is configured and arranged to thereby reduce optical aberrations such that their actual resolution is diffraction limited ([0051] acylindrical lens 203 may significantly reduce the optical aberration in the beam 112 so the beam size at the waist is diffraction limited).
Regarding claim 14, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Chuang further teaches the optical beam travels along an optical axis of the chamber (Figure 2A optical axis running through center of lenses of anamorphic optics 113), and the linearly focused curtain of the optical beam has a beam profile along a first axis perpendicular (Figure 1C waist diameter 2wx) to the optical axis of the chamber that is at least 10, at least 20, at least 30, at least 40, at least 50, or at least 60 times a beam profile along a second axis perpendicular to the optical axis (Figure 1C waist diameter 2wy) of the chamber within the region of interest inside the chamber (Figure 1C, [0047] waist diameter 2wx is 10 to 100 times waist diameter 2wy).
Regarding claim 16, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Chuang fails to teach the optical mount apparatus is arranged in a wall of the EUV light source chamber; and wherein the optical path passes through an optically-transparent window fixed within the chamber wall. However, Fomenkov teaches the optical mount apparatus is arranged in a wall of the EUV light source chamber (Figure 1 focusing optics are fixed to wall of vessel); and wherein the optical path passes through an optically-transparent window fixed within the chamber wall (Figure 1 light is passed through the intermediate focus aperture in wall of vessel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module taught by Chuang to be is is arranged in a wall of the EUV light source chamber; and wherein the optical path passes through an optically-transparent window fixed within the chamber wall as taught by Fomenkov in order to provide a stable optical arrangement and have the apparatus be under vacuum (Fomenkov page 4).
Regarding claim 17, Chuang teaches an illumination module (Figure 1A light source 100) for an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light source ([0034] wavelengths of light at 120 nm are generated which are in the EUV range), the illumination module comprising:
a light source (Figure 1A pump laser 111) configured to produce an optical beam (beam 112); and
an optical module (Figure 1A anamorphic optics 113, [0039]) configured to pass the optical beam (Figure 1A anamorphic optics passes beam 112, [0039]) and to focus the optical beam as a linear curtain at a region of interest (Figure 2A lenses focus beam 112 to elliptical beam 117 on containment structure 101, [0052]), the optical module comprising a plurality of lenses through which the optical beam passes and defining an optical path from the light source to the region of interest (Figure 2A lenses of anamorphic optics 113 pass beam 112 and define optical axis), the plurality of lenses including at least one aspheric toroid lens (Figure 2A acylindrical plano-convex lens 203, [0051]).
Chuang fails to teach the optical module is configured to pass the optical beam through a wall of or within a chamber of the EUV light source and to at a region of interest inside the chamber. However, Fomenkov teaches an apparatus for EUV lithography where the focusing optics of an EUV light source are fixed through a wall of chamber of the EUV light source (Figure 1 focusing optics mounted through a wall vessel, page 4 vacuum vessel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module taught by Chuang to be is arranged to pass the optical beam through a wall of or within a chamber of the EUV light source and to at a region of interest inside the chamber as taught by Fomenkov in order to provide a stable optical arrangement and have the apparatus be under vacuum (Fomenkov page 4).
Regarding claim 18, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Chuang further teaches the plurality of lenses comprises at least one toroid lens (Figure 2A cylindrical lens 201, [0051]).
Regarding claim 27, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Chuang further teaches the aspheric toroid lens is the lens that is closest to the region of interest (Figure 2A acylindrical plano-convex lens 203 is closest to containment structure 101).
Regarding claim 28, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Chuang further teaches the aspheric toroid lens is an acylindrical lens ([0051] acylindrical plano-convex lens 203).
Regarding claim 29, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Chuang further teaches the optical beam travels along an optical axis of the chamber (Figure 2A optical axis running through center of lenses of anamorphic optics 113), and the linearly focused curtain of the optical beam has a beam profile along a first axis perpendicular (Figure 1C waist diameter 2wx) to the optical axis of the chamber that is at least 10, at least 20, at least 30, at least 40, at least 50, or at least 60 times a beam profile along a second axis perpendicular to the optical axis (Figure 1C waist diameter 2wy) of the chamber within the region of interest inside the chamber (Figure 1C, [0047] waist diameter 2wx is 10 to 100 times waist diameter 2wy).
Regarding claim 30, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Chuang further teaches the optical beam is a continuous wave light beam ([0034] pump laser 111 includes one or more continuous wave lasers).
Regarding claim 32, Chuang teaches an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light source (Figure 1A, [0034] light source 100 is a EUV light source generating light at a wavelength of 120 nm) comprising:
an optical module (Figure 1A anamorphic optics 113, [0039]) for passing an optical beam (beam 112), the optical module comprising:
a plurality of lenses (Figure 2A anamorphic optics 113 contains a plurality of lenses) through which the optical beam passes, the plurality of lenses including at least one aspheric toroid lens (Figure 2A acylindrical plano-convex lens 203, [0051]), the plurality of lenses placed relative to a linearly focused curtain of the optical beam (Figure 2A lenses are placed relative to elliptical beam 117 on containment structure 101, [0052]), the linearly focused curtain intersecting a region of interest ([0052] elliptical beam 117 intersects region of interest at containment structure 101); and
an optical mount apparatus in which the plurality of lenses is mounted (Figure 2A lenses of anamorphic optics 113 will inherently have an optical mount).
Chuang fails to teach a chamber comprising a plurality of walls that together define a cavity, wherein a region of interest is defined inside the cavity and wherein the optical mount apparatus is arranged in or fixed to a wall of a chamber such that an optical path is defined that intersects the region of interest inside the chamber. However, Fomenkov teaches an apparatus for EUV lithography with a chamber comprising a plurality of walls that together define a cavity (Figure 1 vacuum vessel, page 4), the focusing optics of an EUV light source are fixed to the wall of chamber of the EUV light source (Figure 1 focusing optics mounted to vessel, page 4 vacuum vessel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module taught by Chuang to provide a chamber with a plurality of walls and have the optical mount be is arranged in or fixed to a wall of a chamber of the EUV light source such that an optical path is defined that passes through the EUV light source chamber and intersects the region of interest inside the chamber as taught by Fomenkov in order to provide a stable optical arrangement and have the apparatus be under vacuum (Fomenkov page 4).
Regarding claim 33, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 32. Chuang further teaches the plurality of lenses comprises at least one toroid lens (Figure 2A cylindrical lens 201, [0051]).
Regarding claim 34, Chuang and Fomenkov teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 32. Chuang further teaches an illumination module (Figure 1A illumination source 100, [0039]) comprising a light source (Figure 1A pump laser 111) configured to produce the optical beam (beam 112) and the optical module (anamorphic optics 113) configured to receive the produced optical beam from the light source (Figure 1A anamorphic optics 113 receive beam 112 from pump laser 111).
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0278694) in view of Fomenkov (Laser-Produced Plasma Sources for High-Volume-Manufacturing EUV Lithography) as applied to claims 2 and 18 above, and further in view of Gross et al. (Handbook of Optical Systems Volume 3 Aberration Theory and Correction – hereinafter referred to as “Gross”), and in further view of Ryu (Internation Publication No. WO 2007/108589).
Regarding claim 4, Chuang and Fomenkov teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 2. Chuang further teaches the at least one toroid lens comprises a first plano-concave cylindrical lens (Figure 2A lens 201 is a plano-concave cylindrical lens, [0051]), and
the at least one aspheric toroid lens is a single lens that is plano-convex ([0051] acylindrical plano-convex lens 203), plano- concave, meniscus with one face being aspheric toroid, or meniscus with both faces being aspheric toroid; and
Chuang and Fomenkov fail to teach a second plano-concave cylindrical lens. However, Gross teaches spitting a lens element as a zero power operation in order to optimize the optical system and improve performance (pages 378-379). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module taught by Chuang and Fomenkov by splitting the first plano-concave cylindrical lens into two plano-concave cylindrical lenses as taught by Gross in order optimize the optical system and improve performance (Gross pages 378-379).
Chuang, Fomenkov, and Gross fail to teach the second plano-concave cylindrical lens and the aspheric toroid lens are fixed in position relative to each other and moveable together relative to the first plano-concave cylindrical lens. However, Ryu teaches a laser beam delivery system with cylindrical lenses (Figure 4) where a cylindrical lens is moved relative to other lenses in the system (Figure 4 lens 8 is moved from position 8A to 8B) in order to adjust the length and width of linearly focused beam ([38]-[40]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module taught by Chuang, Fomenkov, and Gross such that the the second plano-concave cylindrical lens and the aspheric toroid lens are fixed in position relative to each other and moveable together relative to the first plano-concave cylindrical lens based on the teachings of Ryu in order to adjust the length and width of the linearly focused beam (Ryu [38]-[40]).
Regarding claim 20, Chuang and Fomenkov teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 18. Chuang further teaches the at least one toroid lens comprises a first plano-concave cylindrical lens (Figure 2A lens 201 is a plano-concave cylindrical lens, [0051]), and
the at least one aspheric toroid lens is a single lens that is plano-convex ([0051] acylindrical plano-convex lens 203), plano- concave, meniscus with one face being aspheric toroid, or meniscus with both faces being aspheric toroid; and
Chuang and Fomenkov fail to teach a second plano-concave cylindrical lens. However, Gross teaches spitting a lens element as a zero power operation in order to optimize the optical system and improve performance (pages 378-379). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination system taught by Chuang and Fomenkov by splitting the first plano-concave cylindrical lens into two plano-concave cylindrical lenses as taught by Gross in order optimize the optical system and improve performance (Gross pages 378-379).
Chuang, Fomenkov, and Gross fail to teach the second plano-concave cylindrical lens and the aspheric toroid lens are fixed in position relative to each other and moveable together relative to the first plano-concave cylindrical lens. However, Ryu teaches a laser beam delivery system with cylindrical lenses (Figure 4) where a cylindrical lens is moved relative to other lenses in the system (Figure 4 lens 8 is moved from position 8A to 8B) in order to adjust the length and width of linearly focused beam ([38]-[40]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination system taught by Chuang, Fomenkov, and Gross such that the the second plano-concave cylindrical lens and the aspheric toroid lens are fixed in position relative to each other and moveable together relative to the first plano-concave cylindrical lens based on the teachings of Ryu in order to adjust the length and width of the linearly focused beam (Ryu [38]-[40]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the best prior art of record, Chuang and Fomenkov, teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 2.
Chuang further teaches the at least one toroid lens comprises a first plano-concave cylindrical lens (Figure 2A lens 201 is a plano-concave cylindrical lens, [0051]), and
the at least one aspheric toroid lens is a single lens that is plano-convex ([0051] acylindrical plano-convex lens 203), plano- concave, meniscus with one face being aspheric toroid, or meniscus with both faces being aspheric toroid; and the linearly focused curtain of the optical beam is focused along an axis of the chamber (Figure 2A beam 112 is focused along an axis to elliptical beam 117 at containment structure 101);
Chuang and Fomenkov fail to teach a second plano-concave cylindrical lens. However, Gross teaches spitting a lens element as a zero power operation in order to optimize the optical system and improve performance (pages 378-379). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination system taught by Chuang and Fomenkov by splitting the first plano-concave cylindrical lens into two plano-concave cylindrical lenses as taught by Gross in order optimize the optical system and improve performance (Gross pages 378-379).
Chuang, Fomenkov, and Gross fail to teach or reasonably suggest, alone or in combination, “the first plano-concave cylindrical lens has a radius of curvature along the axis that is -19 mm to -25 mm; the second plano-concave cylindrical lens has a radius of curvature along the axis that is -31 mm to -39 mm; and the aspheric toroid lens has a base radius of curvature along the axis that is -26 mm to -32 mm” in combination with the intervening limitations of the claims.
Moreover, modifying the system to satisfy such a condition would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed since such a modification would have unpredictable results on the overall optical system.
As such, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach the cumulative details of claim 6, specifically the limitation: “the first plano-concave cylindrical lens has a radius of curvature along the axis that is -19 mm to -25 mm; the second plano-concave cylindrical lens has a radius of curvature along the axis that is -31 mm to -39 mm; and the aspheric toroid lens has a base radius of curvature along the axis that is -26 mm to -32 mm”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shklover et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0272275) teaches an optical module for focusing EUV light into a linear focus using cylindrical lenses similar to the instant invention.
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872