Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2022/059772 (US 2023/0338929 is used as the English language equivalent – all references are made to that document).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 11-17, WO 2022/059772 discloses an exhaust gas purifying catalyst comprising a substrate, an undercoat layer provided on the substrate, and a catalyst layer provided on the undercoat layer ([0022]). The WO reference teaches that the substrate is preferably silicon carbide ([0033]-[0036]), that the undercoat layer contains a Group 2 metal such as magnesium, calcium, strontium or barium ([0056]), and that the catalyst layer contains one or more noble metals, preferably platinum, palladium, and rhodium ([0079).
Regarding claims 2-3, the WO reference teaches that the undercoat layer does not contain a platinum group metal ([0075]).
Regarding claims 4-5, the WO reference teaches that the undercoat layer contains alumina in an amount of 60-95 mol % ([0050], [0056], [0057]).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 18-19, the WO reference teaches that the catalyst layer further contains an oxygen storage capacity inorganic oxide powder including cerium oxide and cerium zirconium based composite oxide ([0085], [0088], [0089]).
Regarding claim 10, the WO reference teaches an exhaust gas purification apparatus comprising the catalyst and a heating unit to electrically heat the catalyst ([0023]).
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/131545 (US 12,521,699 is used as the English language equivalent – all references are made to that document).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11-12, and 15-17, WO 2021/131545 discloses an exhaust gas purifying catalyst comprising a base material, a catalyst layer, and an intermediate layer arranged between the base material and the catalyst layer (column 2, lines 5-15). The WO reference teaches that the base material is silicon carbide (column 3, lines 45-60), that the catalyst layer contains a noble metal such as platinum, palladium, and rhodium (column 4, lines 20-35), and that the intermediate layer contains an alkaline earth metal such as barium or strontium (column 5, lines 35-67).
Regarding claims 2-3, the WO reference teaches that the intermediate layer contains substantially no platinum group metal (column 5, lines 35-50).
Regarding claim 4, the WO reference further teaches that the intermediate layer may further contain alumina (column 5, lines 50-67 and Examples).
Regarding claim 7, the WO reference further teaches that the catalyst layer may be a multi-layer structure of 2 or more layers, each having a platinum group metal (column 5, lines 15-22).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 18-19, the WO reference teaches that the catalyst layer may further contain an inorganic material with oxygen storage capacity such as cerium oxide or ceria/zirconia based composite oxide (column 4, lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 10, the WO reference teaches an exhaust gas purification apparatus including the catalyst composition and a heating unit to electrically heat the catalyst (column 7, lines 10-25).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (US 2014/0260214).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, and 11- 17, Xue et al. (US 2014/0260214) teaches a nitrogen oxide storage catalyst comprising a first layer on a substrate including ceria-alumina particles having an alkaline earth metal supported thereon and a second layer on the first layer ([0012]). Xue et al. teaches that the substrate may be or contain silicon carbide ([0052]), that the alkaline earth metal in the first layer includes magnesium, calcium, strontium, and barium ([0045]), and that the second layer includes the noble metals platinum, palladium, and rhodium ([0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Xue et al. teaches amounts of ceria, alumina, and alkaline earth metals which meet the ratio instantly claimed (see [0060], [0062], [0064], [0080], Table 1).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 18-19, Xue et al. teaches that the catalyst layer also includes ceria-alumina particles ([0012]), which would meet the oxygen storage capacity material required by the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/131545 as applied to claims 1 and 4 above.
The teachings of the WO reference are applied as above for claims 1 and 4.
The difference between the WO reference and the claims is that the WO reference does not disclose the molar ration between the alumina and alkaline earth metal in the intermediate layer, as required by claim 5.
However, the WO reference teaches that the purpose of the intermediate layer is to prevent metal migration from the noble metal containing catalyst layer to the base material during the high temperatures used during exhaust gas purification (column 2, lines 5-15). The WO reference further teaches that the intermediate layer has an appropriate thickness and specific surface area in order to provide an effective barrier layer (column 2, lines 20-25), which suggests that the composition of the intermediate layer is a result effective variable motivating one of ordinary skill to optimize the quantities of alumina and alkaline earth metal contained to provide an efficient catalyst composition. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that there the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/131545 as applied to claim 1 above.
The teachings of the WO reference are applied as above for claim 1.
The difference between the reference and the claims is that the reference broadly teaches “alkaline earth metals” but does not specifically teach magnesium, as required by claim 13, or calcium, as required by claim 14. The claims differ from the reference by reciting a specific species and a more limited genus than the reference. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select any of the species taught by the reference, including those of the claims, because an ordinary artisan would have the reasonable expectation that any of the species of the genus would have similar properties and, thus, the same use as the genus as a whole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742