DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15, 17, 19-20, 22, 24 are objected to because of the following reasons:
For claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17, 19-20, 22, 24, to improve clarity, Examiner recommends the usage of parentheses instead of double commas to indicate abbreviation, for example, to use “sounding reference signal (SRS)” instead of “sounding reference signal, SRS,”, to use “rank indicator (RI)” instead of “rank indicator, RI,” and so on.
For claims 2, 9, the term “MIMO” is an abbreviation as thus the full words, phrases which describe what such abbreviation stands for should be included for at least the first occurrence of such abbreviation in a set of claims.
For claim 4, to improve clarity, Examiner recommends to amend the claim language from “wherein the wireless device is configured to” to “wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to configure the wireless device to” to clearly indicate that it’s the processing circuitry that perform the functional step and not some unknown hardware component of the wireless device (which would raise 112 issues since then the claim language would impose no limits as to a particular structure for performing the claimed invention; hence the claims may cover all devices for/ways for performing the claimed functions. As thus, there is a failure to provide a clear-cut indication of claim scope because the functional language is not sufficiently precise and definite, resulting in no boundaries on the claim limitation.)
For claim 6, 13, based on the claim formatting (indentations), Examiner knows that the phrase “one of:” only applies to “a second number of SRS ports less than an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for the first upcoming communication; and a second RI value less than an actual RI value determined by the wireless device based on the first measurement”, however to improve clarity, Examiner recommends Applicants to use similar formatting as claims 18, 23 when describing such information, for example, to amend the claim language in claim 6, 13 as follow:
“one of[[:]] a second number of SRS ports less than an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for the first upcoming communication[[;]] and a second RI value less than an actual RI value determined by the wireless device based on the first measurement;”
Specifically to remove the colon after “one of” and to remove the semicolon between “upcoming communication” and “and a second RI”.
For claims 5, 12, to improve clarity, similar amendments are also recommended, specifically to remove colon after “one of that” and to remove semicolon between “no longer detected” and “and the overheating condition”.
For claims 17, 22, to improve clarity, similar amendments are also recommended, specifically to remove colon after “one of” and to remove semicolon between “no longer detected” and “and the overheating condition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-16, 19-21, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang, US 20220022223.
For claim 1. Yang teaches: A wireless device configured to communicate with a network node, the wireless device comprising: processing circuitry configured to: (Yang, fig 8, paragraph 136-139, 153, UE include processor and transceiver to communicate with BS)
detect a condition related to one of energy consumption and overheating at the wireless device; (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 52, UE determines overheating status at the UE)
in response to the detected condition, indicate one of a first number of sounding reference signal, SRS, ports and a first rank indicator, RI, value; (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 52, based on the overheating status, UE transmit to BS an indication related to the transmission rank, the indication include a number of UL reference signal ports; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 51, UL reference signal is SRS)
the first number of SRS ports being less than an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for a first upcoming communication; (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 54, the indication transmitted by the UE indicates fewer reference signal ports than those included in the configuration; paragraph 51-52, BS configures the UE with a transmission rank (number of ports) for communication)
and the first RI value being less than an actual RI value determined by the wireless device based on a first measurement. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 54, the indication transmitted by the UE indicates fewer reference signal ports (lower transmission rank) than those included in the configuration; paragraph 51-52, based on channel measurements, BS configures the UE with a transmission rank (number of ports) for communication; the channel measurements can be performed by BS as discussed in paragraph 51 or by the UE as discussed in paragraph 102-104; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2)
For claim 2. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value is configured to cause the network node to reduce a number of the plurality of MIMO layers for the first upcoming communication (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 56-57, based on the indication transmitted to BS, UE receives an UL grant from BS, the UL grant includes a reduced transmission rank; paragraph 51, transmission rank is a number of MIMO layers) without the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value notifying the network node of the detected condition. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 53, the indication from the UE may be transmitted implicitly or explicitly, furthermore, both implicit and explicit indication notify the BS of a number of ports and not the overheating status of the UE)
For claim 3. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine that the detected condition no longer exists; and in response at least to determining that the detected condition no longer exists, indicate one of an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for a second upcoming communication and an actual RI value determined by the wireless device based on a second measurement. (Yang, paragraph 55, once the overheating status is reset (no longer exists), UE increases the number of layers (increase the transmission rank, increase the number of ports), UE then transmit another indication to the BS, the indication includes a number of ports for communication; also see paragraph 146 for more details; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 106, the number of ports is determined based on channel measurement by the UE)
For claim 4. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the wireless device is configured to remain in radio resource control, RRC, connected mode as long as the condition persists. (Yang, paragraph 53, implicit that UE is in RRC connected mode during the overheating since the indication is transmitted in a RRC message)
For claim 7. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to adapt at least one scheduled Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, transmission based on the detected condition, the adapting of the at least one scheduled PUSCH transmission corresponding to one of: omitting a PUSCH transmission; and transmitting a second PUSCH layer that includes a Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS, layer. (Yang, paragraph 44, when UE enter power saving mode (due to overheating), UE indicates that it would prefer to transmit UL data (on the PUSCH) on fewer layers by transmitting SRS on fewer layers; transmitting on fewer layers is omitting a transmission on some layers)
For claim 8. Yang teaches: A method implemented by a wireless device that is configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising: (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 51-57)
detecting a condition related to one of energy consumption and overheating at the wireless device; (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 52, UE determines overheating status at the UE)
in response to the detected condition, indicating one of a first number of sounding reference signal, SRS, ports and a first rank indicator, RI, value; (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 52, based on the overheating status, UE transmit to BS an indication related to the transmission rank, the indication include a number of UL reference signal ports; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 51, UL reference signal is SRS)
the first number of SRS ports being less than an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for a first upcoming communication; (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 54, the indication transmitted by the UE indicates fewer reference signal ports than those included in the configuration; paragraph 51-52, BS configures the UE with a transmission rank (number of ports) for communication)
and the first RI value being less than an actual RI value determined by the wireless device based on a first measurement. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 54, the indication transmitted by the UE indicates fewer reference signal ports (lower transmission rank) than those included in the configuration; paragraph 51-52, based on channel measurements, BS configures the UE with a transmission rank (number of ports) for communication; the channel measurements can be performed by BS as discussed in paragraph 51 or by the UE as discussed in paragraph 102-104; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2)
For claim 9. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Yang further teaches: wherein the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value is configured to cause the network node to reduce a number of the plurality of MIMO layers for the first upcoming communication (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 56-57, based on the indication transmitted to BS, UE receives an UL grant from BS, the UL grant includes a reduced transmission rank; paragraph 51, transmission rank is a number of MIMO layers) without the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value notifying the network node of the detected condition. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 53, the indication from the UE may be transmitted implicitly or explicitly, furthermore, both implicit and explicit indication notify the BS of a number of ports and not the overheating status of the UE)
For claim 10. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Yang further teaches: further comprising: determining that the detected condition no longer exists; and in response at least to determining that the detected condition no longer exists, indicating one of an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for a second upcoming communication and an actual RI value determined by the wireless device based on a second measurement. (Yang, paragraph 55, once the overheating status is reset (no longer exists), UE increases the number of layers (increase the transmission rank, increase the number of ports), UE then transmit another indication to the BS, the indication includes a number of ports for communication; also see paragraph 146 for more details; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 106, the number of ports is determined based on channel measurement by the UE)
For claim 11. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Yang further teaches: wherein the wireless device is configured to remain in radio resource control, RRC, connected mode as long as the condition persists. (Yang, paragraph 53, implicit that UE is in RRC connected mode during the overheating since the indication is transmitted in a RRC message)
For claim 14. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Yang further teaches: further comprising adapting at least one scheduled Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, transmission based on the detected condition, the adapting of the at least one scheduled PUSCH transmission corresponding to one of: omitting a PUSCH transmission; and transmitting a second PUSCH layer that includes a Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS, layer. (Yang, paragraph 44, when UE enter power saving mode (due to overheating), UE indicates that it would prefer to transmit UL data (on the PUSCH) on fewer layers by transmitting SRS on fewer layers; transmitting on fewer layers is omitting a transmission on some layers)
For claim 15. Yang teaches: A network node configured to communicate with a wireless device using a plurality of Multiple-Input Multiple-Output, MIMO, layers, the network node comprising: processing circuitry configured to: (Yang, fig 9, paragraph 158-161, 174, BS include processor and transceiver to communicate with UE)
receive an indication of one of a first number of sounding reference signal, SRS, ports and a first rank indicator, RI, value, (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 52, BS receives from UE an indication related to the transmission rank, the indication include a number of UL reference signal ports; also see paragraph 163-172 for more details from BS’s perspective; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 51, UL reference signal is SRS)
the first number of SRS ports being less than an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for a first upcoming communication, (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 54, the indication transmitted by the UE indicates fewer reference signal ports than those included in the configuration; paragraph 51-52, BS configures the UE with a transmission rank (number of ports) for communication)
the first RI value being less than an actual RI value associated with a first measurement of the wireless device; (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 54, the indication transmitted by the UE indicates fewer reference signal ports (lower transmission rank) than those included in the configuration; paragraph 51-52, based on channel measurements, BS configures the UE with a transmission rank (number of ports) for communication; the channel measurements can be performed by BS as discussed in paragraph 51 or by the UE as discussed in paragraph 102-104; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2)
and reduce a number of the plurality of MIMO layers for the first upcoming communication in response to the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value, (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 56-57, based on the indication transmitted to BS, UE receives an UL grant from BS, the UL grant includes a reduced transmission rank; paragraph 51, transmission rank is a number of MIMO layers)
the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value being associated with a condition related to one of energy consumption and overheating existing at the wireless device. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 52, based on the overheating status, UE transmit to BS an indication related to the transmission rank, the indication include a number of UL reference signal ports; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 51, UL reference signal is SRS)
For claim 16. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 15, and Yang further teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive an indication of one of an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for a second upcoming communication and an actual RI value determined by the wireless device based on a second measurement; and the indication of the one of the actual number of SRS ports and the actual RI value being based on the condition no longer existing at the wireless device. (Yang, paragraph 55, once the overheating status is reset (no longer exists), UE increases the number of layers (increase the transmission rank, increase the number of ports), UE then transmit another indication to the BS, the indication includes a number of ports for communication; also see paragraph 146 for more details; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 106, the number of ports is determined based on channel measurement by the UE; also see paragraph 167 for more details from BS’s perspective)
For claim 19. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 15, and Yang further teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: schedule a Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, transmission for the wireless device; (Yang, paragraph 44, BS schedule UL transmissions on the PUSCH) and one of: fail to receive the scheduled PUSCH transmission; and receive a PUSCH transmission that has been adapted from the scheduled PUSCH transmission based on the condition existing at the wireless device, the adapting of the scheduled PUSCH transmission corresponding to including a second PUSCH layer that includes a Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS. (Yang, paragraph 44, when UE enter power saving mode (due to overheating), UE indicates that it would prefer to transmit UL data (on the PUSCH) on fewer layers by transmitting SRS on fewer layers; UE transmitting on fewer layers means BS not receive a transmission on some layers)
For claim 20. Yang teaches: A method implemented by a network node that is configured to communicate with a wireless device using a plurality of Multiple-Input Multiple-Output, MIMO, layers, the method comprising: (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 51-57)
receiving an indication of one of a first number of sounding reference signal, SRS, ports and a first rank indicator, RI, value, (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 52, BS receives from UE an indication related to the transmission rank, the indication include a number of UL reference signal ports; also see paragraph 163-172 for more details from BS’s perspective; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 51, UL reference signal is SRS)
the first number of SRS ports being less than an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for a first upcoming communication, (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 54, the indication transmitted by the UE indicates fewer reference signal ports than those included in the configuration; paragraph 51-52, BS configures the UE with a transmission rank (number of ports) for communication)
the first RI value being less than an actual RI value associated with a first measurement of the wireless device; (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 54, the indication transmitted by the UE indicates fewer reference signal ports (lower transmission rank) than those included in the configuration; paragraph 51-52, based on channel measurements, BS configures the UE with a transmission rank (number of ports) for communication; the channel measurements can be performed by BS as discussed in paragraph 51 or by the UE as discussed in paragraph 102-104; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2)
and reducing a number of the plurality of MIMO layers for the first upcoming communication in response to the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value, (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 56-57, based on the indication transmitted to BS, UE receives an UL grant from BS, the UL grant includes a reduced transmission rank; paragraph 51, transmission rank is a number of MIMO layers)
the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value being associated with a condition related to one of energy consumption and overheating existing at the wireless device. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 52, based on the overheating status, UE transmit to BS an indication related to the transmission rank, the indication include a number of UL reference signal ports; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 51, UL reference signal is SRS)
For claim 21. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 20, and Yang further teaches: further comprising receiving an indication of one of an actual number of SRS ports usable by the wireless device for a second upcoming communication and an actual RI value determined by the wireless device based on a second measurement; and the indication of the one of the actual number of SRS ports and the actual RI value being based on the condition no longer existing at the wireless device. (Yang, paragraph 55, once the overheating status is reset (no longer exists), UE increases the number of layers (increase the transmission rank, increase the number of ports), UE then transmit another indication to the BS, the indication includes a number of ports for communication; also see paragraph 146 for more details; paragraph 53, the number of ports indicates transmission rank, for example 2 ports is transmission rank of 2; paragraph 106, the number of ports is determined based on channel measurement by the UE; also see paragraph 167 for more details from BS’s perspective)
For claim 24. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 20, and Yang further teaches: further comprising: scheduling a Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, transmission for the wireless device; (Yang, paragraph 44, BS schedule UL transmissions on the PUSCH) and one of: failing to receive the scheduled PUSCH transmission; and receiving a PUSCH transmission that has been adapted from the scheduled PUSCH transmission based on the condition existing at the wireless device, the adapting of the scheduled PUSCH transmission corresponding to including a second PUSCH layer that includes a Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS. (Yang, paragraph 44, when UE enter power saving mode (due to overheating), UE indicates that it would prefer to transmit UL data (on the PUSCH) on fewer layers by transmitting SRS on fewer layers; UE transmitting on fewer layers means BS not receive a transmission on some layers)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12, 17, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, US 20220022223 in view of Van Der Velde, US 20200106674.
For claim 5. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: and the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value being transmitted separately from the UAI and while the prohibit timer is running. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 53, the indication from the UE may be transmitted implicitly or explicitly, the implicit indication is clearly transmitted separately from the UAI, the explicit indication is also transmitted separately from the UAI when using media access control-control element (MAC-CE) or a channel state information (CSI) report for transmission; paragraph 51, implicit that a timer is running since UE exits the power-saving mode (which UE enters when detect overheating) after a predefined time)
Yang doesn’t teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: indicate the overheating condition to the network node via User Equipment Assistance Information, UAI; trigger a prohibit timer based on the indication of the overheating condition via UAI; while running, the prohibit timer being configured to prohibit the wireless device from indicating one of that: the overheating condition is no longer detected; and the overheating condition is still detected;
Van Der Velde from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: indicate the overheating condition to the network node via User Equipment Assistance Information, UAI; trigger a prohibit timer based on the indication of the overheating condition via UAI; while running, the prohibit timer being configured to prohibit the wireless device from indicating one of that: the overheating condition is no longer detected; and the overheating condition is still detected; (Van Der Velde, fig 1, paragraph 176, in the event of sensing an overheating event, the UE signals to the network that an event has been sensed and provides overheating assistance information to the network via UEAssistanceInformation; fig 1-2, paragraph 207-210, when UE sends overheating assistance to the network, it starts the prohibit timer and it can only provide further details of a change (regarding the overheating situation) after the timer’s expiry)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Van Der Velde into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for UE communicating to BS (network node) when an overheating condition is detected, and Van Der Velde suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique UE signaling to network node that an overheating condition has been detected and UE starts a prohibit timer so that it can only provide further details of a change (regarding the overheating situation) to the network node after the timer’s expiry to avoid too frequent reporting of changes (Van Der Velde, fig 1-2, paragraph 207-210) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 12. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Yang further teaches: and the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value being transmitted separately from the UAI and while the prohibit timer is running. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 53, the indication from the UE may be transmitted implicitly or explicitly, the implicit indication is clearly transmitted separately from the UAI, the explicit indication is also transmitted separately from the UAI when using media access control-control element (MAC-CE) or a channel state information (CSI) report for transmission; paragraph 51, implicit that a timer is running since UE exits the power-saving mode (which UE enters when detect overheating) after a predefined time)
Yang doesn’t teach: further comprising: indicating the overheating condition to the network node via User Equipment Assistance Information, UAI; triggering a prohibit timer based on the indication of the overheating condition via UAI; while running, the prohibit timer being configured to prohibit the wireless device from indicating one of that: the overheating condition is no longer detected; and the overheating condition is still detected;
Van Der Velde from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: further comprising: indicating the overheating condition to the network node via User Equipment Assistance Information, UAI; triggering a prohibit timer based on the indication of the overheating condition via UAI; while running, the prohibit timer being configured to prohibit the wireless device from indicating one of that: the overheating condition is no longer detected; and the overheating condition is still detected; (Van Der Velde, fig 1, paragraph 176, in the event of sensing an overheating event, the UE signals to the network that an event has been sensed and provides overheating assistance information to the network via UEAssistanceInformation; fig 1-2, paragraph 207-210, when UE sends overheating assistance to the network, it starts the prohibit timer and it can only provide further details of a change (regarding the overheating situation) after the timer’s expiry)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Van Der Velde into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for UE communicating to BS (network node) when an overheating condition is detected, and Van Der Velde suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique UE signaling to network node that an overheating condition has been detected and UE starts a prohibit timer so that it can only provide further details of a change (regarding the overheating situation) to the network node after the timer’s expiry to avoid too frequent reporting of changes (Van Der Velde, fig 1-2, paragraph 207-210) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 17. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 15, and Yang further teaches: and the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value being received separately from the UAI and while the prohibit timer is running. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 53, the indication from the UE may be transmitted implicitly or explicitly, the implicit indication is clearly transmitted separately from the UAI, the explicit indication is also transmitted separately from the UAI when using media access control-control element (MAC-CE) or a channel state information (CSI) report for transmission; paragraph 51, implicit that a timer is running since UE exits the power-saving mode (which UE enters when detect overheating) after a predefined time; also see paragraph 163-172 for more details from BS’s perspective)
Yang doesn’t teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive an indication of the overheating condition via User Equipment Assistance Information, UAI; the UAI being associated with a prohibit timer that, while running, is configured to prevent communication that one of: the overheating condition is no longer detected; and the overheating condition still detected;
Van Der Velde from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive an indication of the overheating condition via User Equipment Assistance Information, UAI; the UAI being associated with a prohibit timer that, while running, is configured to prevent communication that one of: the overheating condition is no longer detected; and the overheating condition still detected; (Van Der Velde, fig 1, paragraph 176, in the event of sensing an overheating event, the UE signals to the network that an event has been sensed and provides overheating assistance information to the network via UEAssistanceInformation, fig 1 clearly shows that the network node receives the overheating assistance information; fig 1-2, paragraph 207-210, when UE sends overheating assistance to the network, it starts the prohibit timer and it can only provide further details of a change (regarding the overheating situation) after the timer’s expiry)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Van Der Velde into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for UE communicating to BS (network node) when an overheating condition is detected, and Van Der Velde suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique UE signaling to network node that an overheating condition has been detected and UE starts a prohibit timer so that it can only provide further details of a change (regarding the overheating situation) to the network node after the timer’s expiry to avoid too frequent reporting of changes (Van Der Velde, fig 1-2, paragraph 207-210) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 22. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 20, and Yang further teaches: and the indication of one of the first number of SRS ports and the first RI value being received separately from the UAI and while the prohibit timer is running. (Yang, fig 3, paragraph 53, the indication from the UE may be transmitted implicitly or explicitly, the implicit indication is clearly transmitted separately from the UAI, the explicit indication is also transmitted separately from the UAI when using media access control-control element (MAC-CE) or a channel state information (CSI) report for transmission; paragraph 51, implicit that a timer is running since UE exits the power-saving mode (which UE enters when detect overheating) after a predefined time; also see paragraph 163-172 for more details from BS’s perspective)
Yang doesn’t teach: further comprising receiving an indication of the overheating condition via User Equipment Assistance Information, UAI; the UAI being associated with a prohibit timer that, while running, is configured to prevent communication that one of: the overheating condition is no longer detected; and the overheating condition still detected;
Van Der Velde from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: further comprising receiving an indication of the overheating condition via User Equipment Assistance Information, UAI; the UAI being associated with a prohibit timer that, while running, is configured to prevent communication that one of: the overheating condition is no longer detected; and the overheating condition still detected; (Van Der Velde, fig 1, paragraph 176, in the event of sensing an overheating event, the UE signals to the network that an event has been sensed and provides overheating assistance information to the network via UEAssistanceInformation, fig 1 clearly shows that the network node receives the overheating assistance information; fig 1-2, paragraph 207-210, when UE sends overheating assistance to the network, it starts the prohibit timer and it can only provide further details of a change (regarding the overheating situation) after the timer’s expiry)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Van Der Velde into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for UE communicating to BS (network node) when an overheating condition is detected, and Van Der Velde suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique UE signaling to network node that an overheating condition has been detected and UE starts a prohibit timer so that it can only provide further details of a change (regarding the overheating situation) to the network node after the timer’s expiry to avoid too frequent reporting of changes (Van Der Velde, fig 1-2, paragraph 207-210) in the analogous art of communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13, 18, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462