DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
1. Claims 25-42 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner is withdrawing the restriction requirement mailed on 4/23/2026 in view of applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 26 recites “the substrate comprises electrically insulating fibers”. The limitation does not further limit the limitation reciting “electrically insulating nanofibers on the substrate” as recited in claim 25 from which it depends from.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 25-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perju et al. (Integration of laser-induced carbon nanofibers into miniaturized analytical systems for development of point of care devices; Master Thesis, September 2019).
Claims 25, 26 and 29. Perju et al. teach a method of forming a carbon nanofiber electrode (method of making carbon nanofiber electrode (CNF); see page 30), the method comprising:
providing an electrically insulating porous substrate (filter paper, inherently comprised of pores and insulating; see page 33);
forming a mat of electrically insulating nanofibers on the substrate by electrospinning, wherein the electrically insulating nanofibers comprise an organic polymer (forming mat of nanofibers on the filter paper by electrospinning comprising Matrimid 5218 (polyimide thermoplastic resin; see section 4.2.1 on page 32); and
forming an electrode comprising electrically conductive carbon nanofibers in the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers by laser-induced carbonization of the electrically insulating nanofibers (carbonization of Matrimid 5218 nanofibers to form electrode
comprising carbon nanofibers; see section 4.3).
Claim 27. Perju et al. teach performing a hydrophilic surface treatment on the substrate prior to forming the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers on the substrate (filter paper is treated with oxygen plasma (hydrophilic treatment) prior to collection nanofibers on there; see page 33).
Claim 28. Perju et al. teach the electrically insulating nanofibers are formed by electrospinning of a spinning solution comprising the organic polymer and a metal-containing substance (electrospinning solution comprising Matrimid 5218 and Fe(Acac)3; see section 4.2.1).
Claim 30. Perju et al. teach the method further comprises performing a hydrophilic surface treatment on the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers after forming the carbon nanofiber electrode (nanofiber mat together with CNF are treated with oxygen plasma to improve their wettability; see section 4.4.1).
Claim 31. Perju et al. teach the method further comprises functionalizing the carbon nanofiber electrode by one or more of adsorbing, absorbing and embedding, in the carbon nanofiber electrode, one or more of a catalyst, an ion exchanger, quantum dots, a redox mediator, a conducting polymer, a functional biocompatible polymer, an electrochemically active group, and a functional group configured to bind or immobilize a target substance (functionalizing LCNF with silver nanoparticles which is modified with antibodies for detection; see Fig 59 and page 74).
Claim 32. Perju et al. teach forming one or more hydrophobic barriers in the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers, wherein the one or more hydrophobic barriers define a channel extending through the carbon nanofiber electrode (wax barrier create hydrophobic barrier through the mat to define channel; see Fig 16 and section 4.4.2).
Claim 33. Perju et al. teach the one or more hydrophobic barriers are formed by placing a transfer sheet comprising a corresponding pattern of wax on the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers and melting the wax to transfer the pattern of wax into the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers at least in part (pattern of the channel is printed on plastic sheet, melt the wax and transfer the wax channel onto the nanofiber mat; see Fig 16 and section 4.4.2).
Claim 34. Perju et al. teach attaching one or both of a water-impermeable and electrically insulating cover sheet to the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers (double sided adhesive tape is added to the nanofiber mat; see section 4.4.3).
Claim 35. Perju et al. teach method of manufacturing a sensor for performing an electrochemical measurement on a liquid sample (method of making electrochemical point of care device for electrochemical detection of dopamine; see section 5.5 and page 76), the method comprising:
forming a mat of electrically insulating nanofibers comprising two or more electrically conductive carbon nanofiber electrodes formed therein, wherein the two or more carbon nanofiber electrodes are electrically isolated from each other and the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers comprising the two or more electrically conductive carbon nanofiber electrodes (filter paper, inherently comprised of pores and insulating; see page 33 and forming mat of nanofibers on the filter paper comprising carbon working and reference electrodes; see section 4.2.1 on page 32) is formed by:
providing an electrically insulating porous substrate (filter paper, inherently comprised of pores and insulating; see page 33),
forming the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers on the substrate by electrospinning, wherein the electrically insulating nano-fibers comprise an organic polymer (forming mat of nanofibers on the filter paper by electrospinning comprising Matrimid 5218 (polyimide thermoplastic resin; see section 4.2.1 on page 32), and
forming the two or more electrodes comprising electrically conductive carbon nanofibers in the mat of electrically insulating nano-fibers by laser induced carbonization of the electrically insulating nanofibers (carbonization of Matrimid 5218 nanofibers to form electrodes comprising carbon nanofibers; see section 4.3 and Fig 43);
arranging the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers on an electrically insulating bottom cover sheet (double sided adhesive tape is added to the nanofiber mat; see section 4.4.3); and
providing one or more barrier structures configured to confine the liquid sample to a channel extending through the two or more carbon nanofiber electrodes in the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers (wax barrier create hydrophobic barrier through the mat to define channel to confine liquid therein; see Fig 16 and section 4.4.2).
Claims 36 and 41. Perju et al. teach a sensor for performing an electrochemical measurement on a liquid sample (electrochemical point of care device for electrochemical detection of dopamine; see section 5.5 and page 76), the sensor comprising:
an electrically insulating bottom cover sheet (filter paper, inherently comprised of pores and insulating; see page 33);
a mat of electrically insulating nanofibers arranged on the bottom cover sheet,
wherein the electrically insulating nanofibers comprise an organic polymer (forming mat of nanofibers on the filter paper comprising Matrimid 5218 (polyimide thermoplastic resin; see section 4.2.1 on page 32) and
two or more electrically conductive carbon nanofiber electrodes are formed in the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers, the two or more carbon nanofiber electrodes being electrically isolated from each other (carbon electrodes are formed in the mat and are isolated from each other; see Fig 43); and
one or more barrier structures configured to confine the liquid sample to a channel extending through the two or more carbon nanofiber electrodes in the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers (wax barrier create hydrophobic barrier through the mat to define channel to confine liquid therein; see Fig 16 and section 4.4.2).
Claim 37. Perju et al. teach the one or more barrier structures comprise one or more hydrophobic barriers in the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers, the one or more hydrophobic barriers defining the channel extending through the two or more carbon nanofiber electrodes (wax barrier create hydrophobic barrier through the mat to define channel extending into the electrodes; see Fig 16 and section 4.4.2).
Claim 38. Perju et al. teach the sensor comprises an electrically insulating top cover sheet and the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers is arranged between the bottom and top cover sheets (the device is complete sealed with plasma treatment (reads on electrically insulating top cover sheet) and mat is arranged between the bottom and top cover sheets (see Fig 48).
Claim 39. Perju et al. teach the top cover sheet completely covers the portions of the two or more carbon nanofiber electrodes arranged within the channel (the plasma treatment completely covers the electrodes arranged in the channel; see Fig 48).
Claim 40. Perju et al. teach comprising an adhesive tape arranged between the bottom cover sheet and the mat of electrically insulating nanofibers (double sided adhesive tape is added between the nanofiber mat and bottom cover; see section 4.4.3).
Claim 42. Perju et al. teach an average diameter of the electrically insulating nanofibers in the mat is between 200 nm and 350 nm (diameter of size 300 nm; see page 43).
Claim 43. Perju et al. teach one or both of the electrically insulating nanofibers and the carbon nanofibers are hydrophilic (nanofiber mat together with CNF are treated with oxygen plasma to improve their wettability; see section 4.4.1).
Claim 44. Perju et al. teach one or more of a catalyst, an ion exchanger, quantum dots, a redox mediator, a conducting polymer, a functional biocompatible polymer, an electrochemically active group, and a functional group configured to bind or immobilize a target substance is one or more of adsorbed, absorbed and embedded in some or all of the two or more carbon nanofiber electrodes (functionalizing LCNF with silver nanoparticles which is modified with antibodies for detection; see Fig 59 and page 74).
Conclusion
/GURPREET KAUR/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759