Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication No. WO 2019/124514 A1; utilizing United States Patent Publication No. US 2021/0054231 A1 as an English language equivalent), hereinafter Shibayama, in view of Yamashita et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2015/0064909 A1), hereinafter Yamashita; utilizing Pyridinium-P-Toluenesulfonate (PPTS) CAS NO: 24057-28-1 by NRS Laboratories as a teaching reference.
4. Regarding Claims 14-24, Shibayama teaches (Abstract) a siloxane resin composition for forming a cured film, therein a photocurable silicon-containing coating film-forming composition. Shibayama teaches (Paragraphs [0201 and 0207], Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) the siloxane resin composition comprising a polysiloxane, therein Synthesis Example 18. Shibayama teaches (Paragraph [0208], Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) the siloxane resin composition comprising an organic salt, therein pyridinium p-toluenesulfonate (PPTS). Shibayama teaches (Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) the siloxane resin composition comprising a solvent, therein propylene glycol ethyl ether (PGEE), propylene glycol methyl ether acetate (PGMEA), and propylene glycol methyl ether (PGME). Shibayama teaches (Paragraph [0208], Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) wherein a pH value in a 1.0% by mass aqueous solution of the organic salt is 5.21, therein pyridinium p-toluenesulfonate (PPTS). Herein, the teaching reference teaches that the pKa of pyridinium p-toluenesulfonate (PPTS) is 5.21. Shibayama teaches (Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) wherein a content of the organic salt is 5.00 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the polysiloxane. Herein, Shibayama teaches 2 grams of polysiloxane Synthesis Example 18 and 0.1 of pyridinium p-toluenesulfonate (PPTS), thus 0.1/2 x 100 = 5 parts by mass of an organic salt based on 100 parts by mass of the polysiloxane. Shibayama teaches (Paragraph [0208], Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) wherein the organic salt is an organic salt composed of an organic acid having a structure represented by general formula (2) of the present application and an amine, therein pyridinium p-toluenesulfonate (PPTS). Herein, the teaching reference teaches the chemical structure of pyridinium p-toluenesulfonate (PPTS). Shibayama teaches (Paragraph [0208], Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) wherein the amine is an aromatic amine, therein pyridinium p-toluenesulfonate (PPTS). See teaching reference. Shibayama teaches (Paragraph [0208], Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) wherein the organic acid having a structure represented by general formula (2) of the present application is an organic acid comprising benzenesulfonic acid. Shibayama teaches (Paragraphs [0201 and 0207-0208], Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) wherein the heterocyclic amine or the aromatic amine is an amine comprising pyridine. Shibayama teaches (Paragraphs [0201]) the siloxane resin composition further comprises a photopolymerizable compound, therein methyltriethoxysilane. Shibayama teaches (Paragraph [0133]) wherein the polysiloxane has an aromatic group and/or a substituted aromatic group in a side chain group, therein Shibayama teaches a crosslinking agent which comprises an aromatic group. Shibayama teaches (Paragraph [0173]) wherein the cured film is a permanent film, wherein the cured film acts as a protective film for the substrate. Shibayama teaches (Paragraph [0057]) a cured film obtained by curing the resin composition for forming a cured film.
5. However, Shibayama fails to explicitly disclose the siloxane resin composition comprising a photosensitizer. That said, Shibayama does teach (Paragraphs [0005-0006]) the siloxane resin composition may comprise a photo-radical polymerization initiator, which the present application describes as a type of photosensitizer. Furthermore, Shibayama fails to explicitly disclose the photosensitizer is a photopolymerization initiator or a quinone diazide compound. Furthermore, Shibayama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the photosensitizer is a photopolymerization initiator. Furthermore, Shibayama fails to explicitly disclose a content of each of benzene, toluene, xylene, aniline, styrene, and naphthalene in the resin composition is less than 1 ppm. Furthermore, Shibayama fails to explicitly disclose wherein in the cured film there is an atomicity ratio of N to Si as measured by a scanning electron microscope (SEM-EDX) is 0.005 or more and 0.200 or less. Furthermore, Shibayama fails to explicitly disclose wherein in the cured film there is an atomicity ratio of at least one atom selected from S, P, and F to Si is 0.005 or more and 0.200 or less.
6. Shibayama teaches (Claim 11, Paragraphs [0201 and 0207-0208], Table 4, particularly Experimental Example 35) a siloxane resin composition comprising a polysiloxane, an organic salt, and a solvent used for making semiconductor devices. Yamashita teaches (Claim 24, Paragraphs [0108, 0120, 0163, 0203-0205, 0223, 0238]) a siloxane resin composition comprising a polysiloxane, an organic salt, therein an acid scavenger, and a solvent used for making semiconductor devices. Yamashita teaches (Paragraphs [0170-0195]) the siloxane resin composition comprising a photosensitizer, therein a radical photopolymerization initiator. Yamashita teaches (Paragraphs [0170-0195]) the siloxane resin composition comprising a photopolymerization initiator. Yamashita teaches (Paragraphs [0131 and 0170-0195]) the radical photopolymerization initiator initiates crosslinking reactions which improve the stability of the film.
7. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified Shibayama in view of Yamashita wherein the siloxane resin composition comprises a photosensitizer; and the siloxane resin composition comprising a photopolymerization initiator. Doing so would initiate crosslinking reactions which improve the stability of the film, as understood by Yamashita.
8. Shibayama in view of Yamashita teaches all limitations of Claim 14 of the present application and Yamashita teaches a crosslinking agent comprising an aromatic ring which may introduce an aromatic ring into the polysiloxane. Paragraph [0141] of Yamashita teaches the crosslinking agent comprises as little as 0.001% of the total solids. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the sia content of each of benzene, toluene, xylene, aniline, styrene, and naphthalene in the resin composition is less than 1 ppm. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A) states: “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
9. Shibayama in view of Yamashita teaches all limitations of Claim 23 of the present application. Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A) states: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).” Given Shibayama in view of Yamashita teaches all limitations of Claim 23 with regards to structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established that in the cured film there is an atomicity ratio of N to Si as measured by a scanning electron microscope (SEM-EDX) is 0.005 or more and 0.200 or less; and in the cured film there is an atomicity ratio of at least one atom selected from S, P, and F to Si is 0.005 or more and 0.200 or less.
Conclusion
/RICHARD DAVID CHAMPION/Examiner, Art Unit 1737