DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-15 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0009902).
I. Regarding claims 1-9, Sato teaches a composition comprising: 2-10 wt% of poly(phenylene ether)-polysiloxane block copolymer (0005 and 0088) and 55-75 wt% a first poly(phenylene ether) (0005 and 0088). Sato teaches that the poly(phenylene ether)-polysiloxane can be a block copolymer (0009) comprising reaction product comprising a second polyphenylene ether and a poly(phenylene ether)-polysiloxane block copolymer (claim 1) comprising on average 20-80 siloxane repeat units (0018) and the reaction product comprising 2-7 wt% siloxane units and 93-98 wt% phenylene ether repeat units (0034). Sato teaches that all of the poly(phenyl ether)s and the phenylene ether block may comprise poly(2,6-dimethyl-1,4-phenylene ether) (see Table 1), wherein the first poly(phenylene ether) has an intrinsic viscosity of 0.2-0.5 deciliter per gram (0039), and that the polysiloxane block has a formula identical to that in claims 2, 4, 9 and 12 (see Sato at claims 2 and 10 in particular). Sato further teaches the composition including 1-5 wt% of a hydrogenated block copolymer (0088) which can be polystyrene-poly(ethylene/butylene)-polystyrene (Table 1), and 5-25 wt% of a flame retardant (0005), which is bisphenol A bis(diphenyl phosphate) (Table 1), and reinforcing filler (0005) which may be 0.5 wt% carbon black (Table 11) and may include 0 wt% of adhesion promoters and addition polymer as they are not required or disclosed in the Examples. Sato fails to teach an exemplary embodiment with each component present in the range as claimed.
However, Sato teaches that the composition can include all the claimed components (see above), and Sato teaches the components may be present in ranges overlapping the claimed ranges (see above), as well as the polymers having intrinsic viscosities overlapping the claimed ranges. Furthermore, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, Sato makes obvious the claimed compositions.
II Regarding claims 10-15, Sato makes obvious the composition of claims 1, 12 and 13 (see above). Furthermore, Sato teaches an article, such as an electrical enclosure (see Sato at claim 1 and 0093), made by injection molding, blow molding etc. (0093) comprising the composition (see Sato at claim 1). Therefore, Sato also makes obvious claims 10-15.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are pending.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 6, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717