DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claims 1-6 & 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Per claims 1-6 & 8-10 remove the element numbers from the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-4,6,9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kenney et al. US2019/0360766.
Per claim 1 Kenney et al. teaches a cooler (10) for cooling power electronics (11, see fig.43), the cooler (10) comprising: a housing (20 & 22, see fig.43) for accommodating the power electronics (see fig.43) and a cooling fin arrangement (12(1), 12(2), 12(3) or 12(n), see fig.17 & 19) with a plurality of fins (12; [0094], [0097]) in a cooling channel (14) of the housing (see fig.43), wherein fluid can flow through the cooling fin arrangement ([0079]-[0081]) along a longitudinal axis (see fig.19), wherein the cooling fin arrangement (see fig.17 & 19) comprises a plurality of cooling fin sections (12(n) see fig.17 & 19), wherein adjacent cooling fin sections have different fin geometries (see fig.40) and wherein the cooling fin sections are fixedly connected to one another (see fig.40), wherein the fins (12) are positioned at an angle of attack relative to the longitudinal axis (see annotated fig.40) and the angle of attack differs in at least two adjacent cooling fin sections (see annotated fig.40).
Per claim 2 Kenney et al. teaches the cooler according to claim 1, wherein the cooling fin arrangement (12(n), see fig.17 & 19) is made of one piece (see fig.12; [0098]).
Per claim 3 Kenney et al. teaches the cooler according to claim 2, wherein the cooling fin arrangement (12(n); [0098]) is produced by forming a metal sheet into a turbulence plate ([0097]-[0098], [0125]).
Per claim 4 Kenney et al. teaches the cooler according to claim 1, wherein two respective adjacent cooling fin sections (12(n), see fig.12) are fixedly connected to one another by an intermediate section (74) of the cooling fin arrangement (see fig.11-12; [0136]).
Per claim 6 Kenney et al. teaches the cooler according to claim 1, wherein the cooling fin arrangement (12(n)) has a constant material thickness and/or a constant fin height (see fig.17 19 & 43, “Examiner notes that the “OR” statement requires one condition to be met and the figures shows the fins to have fin height”) and/or a constant period length.
Per claim 9 Kenney et al. teaches the cooler according to claim 1, wherein the fins (12) have a first length (see fig.40, “each sections have different lengths with the first section having longer lengths”) parallel to the longitudinal axis (see fig.40) and the first length decreases from one cooling fin section to the next cooling fin section (see fig.40).
Per claim 10 Kenney et al. teaches an arrangement (see fig.40 & 43) comprising a cooler (10) according to claim 1 and power electronics (11) comprising a plurality of power semiconductors (11) disposed on the housing (see fig.43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 5 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenney et al. US2019/0360766.
Per claim 5 Kenney et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the cooler according to claim 4, wherein, in at least one cooling fin section, the fins have a first length measured parallel to the longitudinal axis and the adjacent intermediate section has a second length measured parallel to the longitudinal axis, wherein the second length is greater than the first length.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second length be greater than the first length, because it enables effective cooling of the power electronics as it dissipates heat along the longitudinal length of the housing, thus ensuring effective cooling of the power electronics, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Per claim 8 Kenney et al. teaches the cooler according to claim 1, wherein the angle of attack decreases along a direction of flow from one cooling fin section to the next cooling fin section (see fig.40).
Kenney et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for wherein the angle of attack increases along a direction of flow from one cooling fin section to the next cooling fin section.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the angle of attack increase along a direction of flow from one cooling fin section to the next cooling fin section, because it enables effective cooling of the power electronics between sections, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Email Communication
4. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art of Kenney et al. does not teach an angle of attack relative to the longitudinal axis.
Examiner disagrees and asserts that the liquid flows from the inlet 16 to the outlet 18 in a longitudinal axis as shown in the annotated drawing above thus creating an angle of attack between the fins and the liquid flow. The line running through each fin is shown to create varying angles between at least two fin sections.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835