Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a second electrical connection (1212) between source regions (S) of the first and second ambipolar, gate all around, semiconductor-based transistors” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first-type material" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 discloses “a first-type channel structure” but fails to explicitly disclose “a first type material”. The examiner is not clear if the "the first-type material" is referring back to the channel structure or another material layer.
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first-type " in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11 discloses “a first-type channel structure” but fails to explicitly disclose “a first type”. The examiner is not clear if the "the first-type" is referring back to the channel structure or another material layer.
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 discloses “a second electrical connection (1212) between source regions (S) of the first and second ambipolar, gate all around, semiconductor-based transistors”.
Specification [0023] describes Figure 12 illustrates an ambipolar GAA inverter.
Figure 12 does not show “a second electrical connection (1212) between source regions (S) of the first and second ambipolar, gate all around, semiconductor-based transistors”. Figure 12 shows an electrical connection between the gate regions.
The examiner is not clear if the electrical connection is between the source regions or the gate region.
Due to the two 112(b) rejections applied to claim 11 the examiner will not be applying prior art to claims 11-19 because there is a great deal of confusion as to the proper interpretations of limitations in the claims. MPEP 2173.06 II discloses “where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In reSteele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0043997) in view of Dewey et al. (US 2020/0335501).
Lee disclose a substrate (120) (fig. 5); a first-type channel structure (131) located on the substrate, the first-type channel structure having a gate region (under gate 160), a source region (under 143), and a drain region (under 144); a second-type material (132) located on an entire external surface of the gate region (under 160)(fig. 5) of the first-type channel structure (131), but not on the source region (under 143) and the drain region (under 144); a dielectric material (151) the second-type material (132) on an entire external surface of the gate region; a gate electrode (160) located on the dielectric material (151); a source electrode (143) located on the source region; and a drain electrode (144) located on the drain region, wherein the first-type material is one of n-type [ 0071, n-type] and the second-type material is another of the p-type [0071, p-type].
Lee fails to disclose the gate all around transistor and the dielectric surrounding (the first and) second material.
Dewey et al. disclose the gate all around architecture [0001] in the gate around architecture the dielectric would surronde the channel structure.
The combination of Lee and Dewey would result in the dielectric surrounding channel structure (ie the first and second material).
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (using a gate all around transistor), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (the GAA structure would enable a reduction in channel length [Dewey 0001]).
Regarding claim 4, Dewey disclose the gate region comprises: plural fins (nanowires/nanorod) extending from the source region to the drain region[0047].
Regarding claim 5, Dewey disclose each fin of the plural fins is a nanorod (nanowire) [0047].
Regarding claim 10, Lee disclose NiO [0072].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 2, 3, 6-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter, as the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest: the channel structure is made of a Ga2O3 material that includes a single layer of undoped Ga2O3 and a single layer of n- doped Ga2O3 (claims 2-3) each nanorod has a central region comprising the first-type material fully enclosed by the second-type material (claim 6) a flat layer of Ga2O3, wherein the plural fins are distributed on top of the flat layer of Ga2O3 so that dome-shaped fins and flat fins are formed, wherein each of the dome-shaped fins includes (1) a corresponding fin of the plural fins and (2) a portion of the flat layer of Ga2O3, and each flat fin includes another portion of the flat layer of Ga2O3 (claims 7-9) ambipolar, gate all around, semiconductor-based transistor, the method comprising: providing a first substrate; growing a first-type channel structure on the first substrate, the first-type channel structure having a gate region, a source region, and a drain region; etching the gate region to form plural fins depositing a second-type material on all but one portion of the gate region of the first-type channel structure, but not on the source region and the drain region; forming a dielectric material to surround the second-type material on all but one portion of the gate region depositing a gate electrode on the dielectric material, a source electrode on the source region, and a drain electrode on the drain region; forming a second substrate on the first-type channel structure; removing the first substrate; and depositing the second-type material on the one portion of the gate regionso that an entire external surface of the gate region are covered by the second-type material, wherein the channel structure is made of a Ga2O3 material.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817