DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-4 in the reply filed on March 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatanaka et al. (JP 2008-061583 A).
Translation provided by applicant on IDS dated March 13, 2024.
With respect to Claim 1, Hatanaka et al. teaches a method of producing a fermented seasoning, such as soy sauce, from seawater, [0044] wherein the fermentation comprises lactic acid from a natural source, i.e. it need not be added externally. [0046] Hatanaka et al. teaches that the exact amount of lactic acid can be controlled by the salinity, and teaches specific embodiments of the invention comprising 4.02%, 4.5%, and 5-6% lactic acid. [0143] Therefore, Hatanaka et al. anticipates the invention recited in claim 1.
With respect to Claim 2, Hatanaka et al. teaches that the seasoning is extracted from the moromi mash. [0042] Therefore, Hatanaka et al. anticipates Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka et al. (JP 2008-061583 A) in view of Kawashima et al. (US 2020/0115673 A1).
With respect to Claim 3, Hatanaka et al. teaches the invention recited in claim 2, as described above, but is silent to the type of lactic acid bacterium used to ferment the product.
Kawashima et al. teaches a method for producing lactic acid bacteria. [0010] Kawashima et al. teaches that a specific bacterium that can be used in the invention is Tetragenococcus halophilus [0038] and that the bacterium of the invention can be used in the production of soy sauce moromi. [0041]
Hatanaka et al. and Kawashima et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they teach lactic acid fermentation and products thereof. Where Hatanaka et al. teaches the production of soy sauce using salt water and lactic acid bacteria, Kawashima et al. teaches specific bacteria and methods for cultivation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Hatanaka et al. in view of Kawashima et al. to have produced a soy sauce wherein the bacterium used for fermentation is Tetragenococcus halophilus, thereby rendering claim 3 obvious.
With respect to Claim 4, Hatanaka et al. in view of Kawashima et al. teaches the invention recited in claim 3, as described above, but are both silent to the turbidity of the soy sauce. The method of production taught by Hatanaka et al. in view of Kawashima et al. is substantially identical to the method of production recited in the instant claims, and the composition taught by Hatanaka et al. in view of Kawashima et al. is substantially identical to the composition recited in the instant claims. MPEP 2112.01 I states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teachings of Hatanaka et al. in view of Kawashima et al. to produce the composition recited in claim 3, wherein the turbidity is 500 ppm or more, thereby rendering claim 4 obvious.
Conclusion
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791