DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/691,858 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding claims 1-11 and 23, the copending claims disclose the same curable organopolysiloxane composition as presently claimed except that the copending claims further recite organopolysiloxane resin containing a siloxane unit expressed by M unit and Q unit. However, in light of the open language of the present claims, i.e. comprising, it is clear that the present claims are open to the inclusion of additional ingredients including organopolysiloxane resin containing a siloxane unit expressed by M unit and Q unit as disclosed in the copending claims. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, given that the copending claims do not disclose acryl group or methacryl group in compound (A), it is clear that the compound (A) does not include an organic group having an acryl group or methacryl group.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is amended to recite “component (A) does not include an organic group having an acryl group or methacryl group”. The cited phraseology clearly signifies a “negative” or “exclusionary” limitation for which the applicants have no support in the original disclosure. Negative limitations in a claim which do not appear in the specification as filed introduce new concepts and violate the description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph, Ex Parte Grasselli, Suresh, and Miller, 231 USPQ 393, 394 (Bd. Pat. App. and Inter. 1983); 783 F. 2d 453.
The insertion of the above phraseology as described above positively excludes acryl group and methacryl group, however, there is no support in the present specification for such exclusions. While the present specification is silent with respect to the use of acryl group and methacryl group, is noted that as stated in MPEP 2173.05(i), the “mere absence of a positive recitation is not the basis for an exclusion.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2019/084397) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 5789485).
Regarding claim 21, Ogawa discloses a curable polyorganosiloxane composition (abstract) comprising 50.9 to 62.8 wt% of siloxane based polymer containing a chain organopolysiloxane with two or more alkenyl groups in each molecule, i.e. component A, (0019, 0021, 0026, 0037, table 3), 1 to 50 wt% of acrylate monomer such as 2 ethylhexyl acrylate or isononyl acrylate, i.e. radical reactive component of monofunctional or polyfunctional vinyl monomer B1 (0099, table 3) and 0.1 to 10 wt% of a radical polymerization photoinitiator (0075, 0077, table 3).
Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1 but fails to disclose B2.
Kobayashi discloses curable silicon composition comprising organopolysiloxane having at least two alkenyl groups per molecule (col. 1, lines 39-44) and 1 to 150 weight parts of component B having the same compound (col. 1, lines 44-45, col. 3, lines 15-20) as claimed in present claim to obtain oil resistant and wear resistant coatings (col. 1, lines 5-8, col. 7, lines 25-50).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the specific component B of Kobayashi in the composition of Ogawa to obtain oil resistant and wear resistant coatings. Given that Ogawa discloses A in an amount of 50.9 to 62.8 wt% and Kobayashi discloses B2 in an amount of 1 to 150 weight parts, it is clear that the sum of A and B2 would be more than 50 mass%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kobayashi’s siloxane modified acrylic polymer is directed to providing oil resistant and wear resistant hard coating while Ogawa teaches a cured body having excellent properties in light or double curable, physical tensile and elongation. However, applicants’ are reminded that according to MPEP 2141.01 (a), a reference may be relied on as a basis for rejection of an applicants’ invention if it is “reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor is concerned.” A reasonably pertinent reference is further described as one which “even though it may be in a different field of endeavor, it is one which, because of the matter with which it deals, logically would have commended itself to an inventor’s attention in considering his problem.” Kobayashi is, therefore, a reasonably pertinent reference, because it teaches curable silicon composition comprising organopolysiloxane having at least two alkenyl groups per molecule and 1 to 150 weight parts of component B having the same compound as claimed in present claim to obtain oil resistant and wear resistant coatings, which is a function especially pertinent to the invention at hand.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787