DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/14/2024 and 8/1/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the job settings read in S1410 are not the image data, which is the object of the job, read in S1413) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner recommends to further clarify the language of the claims to make clear their invention. Simplifying language to better teach their intended invention should teach away from the prior art.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 7-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Takenaka et al. (US 20160006887 A1, published: 1/7/2016).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches an image processing device (the copy control unit 410 reads image data from the scanner unit 2070, performs image processing on the read image data by an image processing control unit, and outputs the image data subjected to the image processing to the printer unit 2095 [Takenaka, 0073]) comprising:
an operation panel configured to accept an user instruction regarding image processing, and display multiple history buttons that include information about previously completed image processing (as illustrated in FIG. 8, the call screen 800 includes history specifying buttons 801a to 801c and a job setting confirmation list 802. The history specifying buttons 801a to 801c are buttons used by the user to specify a history to be called which are previously performed [Takenaka, 0081]);
a storage unit configured to store image data handled in the previously completed image processing (an image forming apparatus includes a first storage unit configured to store an operation history for each user [Takenaka, 0009]); and
a controller configured to, when the multiple history buttons are displayed on the operation panel, via a displayed history button among the multiple history buttons, allow access to corresponding image data which was handled in the previously completed image processing, is stored in the storage unit and corresponds to the displayed history button (the scanner unit 2070, the printer unit 2095, and the operation unit 2012 are individually connected to the controller unit 2000, and the controller unit 2000 is connected to a network transmission unit, such as the LAN 2011 [Takenaka, 0033]. In the example in FIG. 8, the last history, the second last history, and the third last history are respectively called by operations of a “history 1” button 801a, a “history 2” button 801b, and a “history 3” button 801c [Takenaka, 0081]. The job setting confirmation list 802 displays contents of the job setting regarding each history. When any of the history specifying buttons 801a to 801c is selected, and an OK button 803 is pressed, the history of the job setting stored in the setting DB 430 is called, and the history of the called job setting is reflected to the copy job setting screen 700 [Takenaka, 0082]. The administrator can register and display an operation history of the individual setting or the device setting [Takenaka, 0096]; [Takenaka, FIG. 8]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated in FIG. 8, 3 different selectable history buttons are displayed, that, upon selected, will display the corresponding history).
Claim 2. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein the information about the previously completed image processing displayed on the history button includes text or a symbol image related to at least one out of type of image processing, processing conditions, date and time of processing, user name, and communication destination (in FIG. 12, a history number, color, double-sided, finishing, and a type of document are described as examples of setting information stored in the operation history data 1221, however, the operation history data 1221 can store other setting items related to a job [Takenaka, 0071]).
Claim 4. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein the corresponding image data accessed via the displayed history button is image data handled in the previously completed image processing falling under any one of types of image processing including copying, scanning, and printing (scanner unit 2070, and outputs the image data subjected to the image processing to the printer unit 2095 [Takenaka, 0073]. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the call screen 800 includes history specifying buttons 801a to 801c and a job setting confirmation list 802. The history specifying buttons 801a to 801c are buttons used by the user to specify a history to be called which are previously performed [Takenaka, 0081]).
Claim 7. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to allow the corresponding image data accessed via the displayed history button to be used in image processing of an identical type to image processing displayed on the history button but performed under different processing conditions from those displayed on the displayed history button (when the user having the administrator authority logs in to the apparatus, the setting mode selection screen 1100 illustrated in FIG. 11 is displayed to prompt the user to select whether the setting item is used as the individual setting or the device setting to perform the operation. In other words, the user is caused to select an operation history of either the individual setting or the device setting to use [Takenaka, 0093]).
Claim 8. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to, in response to the history button being no longer able to be displayed, delete the corresponding image data in the storage unit from the storage unit (in FIG. 12, the CPU 2001 deletes the operation history data 1221 stored in the device setting storage area 1220 [Takenaka, 0147]).
Claim 9. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to, in response to the corresponding image data stored in the storage unit is accessed via the displayed history button, cause the operation panel to not display other image data stored in the storage unit ([Takenaka, FIG. 5B]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated).
Claim 10. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches further comprising: an authentication management unit configured to grant each user authorization for image processing based on results of user authentication, wherein the controller is configured to allow a user granted authorization by the authentication management unit to access image data stored in the storage unit associated with the user via one or more of the multiple history button (an individual setting and a device setting of an operation history are appropriately registered, deleted, and displayed according to a customized setting and a user authentication state [Takenaka, 0167]).
Claim 11. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches further comprising: an authentication management unit configured to grant each user authorization for image processing based on results of user authentication, wherein for a user granted authorization by the authentication management unit, the controller is configured to allow both the user's own history button and another user's history button to be displayed, and do not allow the user to access further image data in the storage unit associated with the other user via the multiple history buttons (the administrator uses a button of an individual setting 1101 when selecting a mode for performing the operation using the setting item as the individual setting. The administrator uses a button of a device setting 1102 when selecting a mode for performing the operation using the setting item as the device setting [Takenaka, 0095]. An individual setting and a device setting of an operation history are appropriately registered, deleted, and displayed according to a customized setting and a user authentication state [Takenaka, 0167]. When a reference request of an operation history is made from the host computer 11 to the image forming apparatus 200, the CPU 2001 obtains an operation history according to a customized setting and a user authentication state from the host computer 11 and transmits the obtained operation history to the host computer 11 [Takenaka, 0168]).
Claim 12: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein in response to an operation on the displayed history button, the controller is configured to perform image processing on the corresponding image data which is obtained from the storage unit without being obtained from outside the storage unit (when any of the history specifying buttons 801a to 801c is selected, and an OK button 803 is pressed, the history of the job setting stored in the setting DB 430 is called, and the history of the called job setting is reflected to the copy job setting screen 700 [Takenaka, 0082]).
Claim 13: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to, in response to (i) image processing being interrupted before completion, and (ii) image data has already been obtained at a time of the image processing being interrupted, store the obtained image data in the storage unit, and generate a history button corresponding to the obtained image data (an individual setting and a device setting of an operation history are appropriately registered, deleted, and displayed according to a customized setting and a user authentication state [Takenaka, 0167]).
Claim 14: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein the operation panel is configured to accept, from the user, a deletion operation with respect to one of the multiple history buttons, and in response to the deletion operation, delete the one of the multiple history buttons and the image data corresponding to the one of the multiple history buttons from the storage unit (in FIG. 12, the CPU 2001 deletes the operation history data 1221 stored in the device setting storage area 1220 [Takenaka, 0147]).
Claim 15: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 11. Takenaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to, in response to the user granted authorization selecting the another user's history button, permit access to image processing setting conditions associated with the another user's history button, while not allowing the user granted authorization to access the further corresponding image data associated with the another user's history button (the administrator uses a button of an individual setting 1101 when selecting a mode for performing the operation using the setting item as the individual setting. The administrator uses a button of a device setting 1102 when selecting a mode for performing the operation using the setting item as the device setting [Takenaka, 0095]. An individual setting and a device setting of an operation history are appropriately registered, deleted, and displayed according to a customized setting and a user authentication state [Takenaka, 0167]. When a reference request of an operation history is made from the host computer 11 to the image forming apparatus 200, the CPU 2001 obtains an operation history according to a customized setting and a user authentication state from the host computer 11 and transmits the obtained operation history to the host computer 11 [Takenaka, 0168]).
Claim 16: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 6. Takenaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to, in response to the corresponding image data accessed via the displayed history button being used for a different type of image processing, apply settings of the image processing displayed on the displayed history button to setting items that are common to both the image processing displayed on the displayed history button and the different type of image processing, and apply predetermined initial settings to setting items that are not common (the administrator uses a button of an individual setting 1101 when selecting a mode for performing the operation using the setting item as the individual setting. The administrator uses a button of a device setting 1102 when selecting a mode for performing the operation using the setting item as the device setting [Takenaka, 0095]. An individual setting and a device setting of an operation history are appropriately registered, deleted, and displayed according to a customized setting and a user authentication state [Takenaka, 0167]).
Claim 17: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka further teaches wherein the controller is configured to cause the operation panel to display the displayed history button in a history region on a home screen in which a menu region for accepting user instructions regarding image processing and the history region are displayed side by side on the operation panel, and the controller is configured to, in response to the displayed history button being selected on the home screen, cause the operation panel to transition to a history use screen for setting conditions for new image processing using the image data handled in the previously completed image processing corresponding to the displayed history button (in the example in FIG. 8, the last history, the second last history, and the third last history are respectively called by operations of a “history 1” button 801a, a “history 2” button 801b, and a “history 3” button 801c [Takenaka, 0081]. When any of the history specifying buttons 801a to 801c is selected, and an OK button 803 is pressed, the history of the job setting stored in the setting DB 430 is called, and the history of the called job setting is reflected to the copy job setting screen 700 [Takenaka, 0082]; [Takenaka, FIG. 8]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated the home screen contains history buttons, that when selected launches history).
Claim 18: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 17. Takenaka further teaches wherein the history use screen displays one or more use-type buttons for changing a type of image processing (in the example in FIG. 8, the last history, the second last history, and the third last history are respectively called by operations of a “history 1” button 801a, a “history 2” button 801b, and a “history 3” button 801c [Takenaka, 0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka et al. (US 20160006887 A1, published: 1/7/2016), in view of Kusumoto et al. (US 20170245939 A1, published: 8/31/2017).
Claim 3: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 2. Takenaka does not teach wherein the processing conditions include at least one out of image quality and page layout.
However, Kusumoto teaches wherein the processing conditions include at least one out of image quality and page layout (a method of registering the image data and the image quality data thereof in the database such as the skin history database inside the server, but as another method, the image quality may preliminarily be determined for an image to be registered in the skin history database [Kusumoto, 0634]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the image processing device operation panel to display and select history button invention of Takenaka to include the history processing of image quality data features of Kusumoto.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to include as much data as necessary with history information to best serve users. The more data that can be associated with history data makes it easier for users to access.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka et al. (US 20160006887 A1, published: 1/7/2016), in view of Akimoto (US 9736223 B2, published: 8/15/2017).
Claim 5. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka does not teach wherein the controller is configured to allow the corresponding image data accessed via the displayed history button to be used in new image processing.
However, Akimoto teaches wherein the controller is configured to allow the corresponding image data accessed via the displayed history button to be used in new image processing (a second setting unit configured to read out the destination included in the transmission history information which has been stored in the storage and set the destination as a destination of image data of a new transmission job; a restricting unit configured to restrict transmission to a destination which is different from an authenticated user [Akimoto, Claim 9]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the image processing device operation panel to display and select history button invention of Takenaka to include the history processing to create new image processing features of Akimoto.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow users to created new image processing features from within the history. Such would make it easier to use details from past history files to apply to new files.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka et al. (US 20160006887 A1, published: 1/7/2016), in view of Chiba (US 20210314454 A1, published: 10/7/2021).
Claim 6. (Currently Amended): Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 1. Takenaka does not teach wherein the controller is configured to allow the corresponding image data accessed via the displayed history button to be used in a different type of image processing than a type of image processing displayed on the displayed history button.
However, Chiba teaches wherein the controller is configured to allow the corresponding image data accessed via the displayed history button to be used in a different type of image processing than a type of image processing displayed on the displayed history button (display the different settings recognizable to the user if there is a difference between the setting values corresponding to the history button and the setting values corresponding to the document attribute of the document corresponding to the history button when the history button was selected [Chiba, Claim 18]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the image processing device operation panel to display and select history button invention of Takenaka to include the history processing to create different types of image processing features of Chiba.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow users to create different types of image processing features right in history. Such would allow users to use historic features when creating different types of image processing.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka et al. (US 20160006887 A1, published: 1/7/2016), in view of Inoue (US 20180217797 A1, published: 8/2/2018).
Claim 19: Takenaka teaches the image processing device according to claim 18. Takenaka does not teach wherein the controller is configured to, in response to one of the one or more use-type buttons being selected, select a type of new image processing corresponding to the selected use-type button.
However, Inoue teaches wherein the controller is configured to, in response to one of the one or more use-type buttons being selected, select a type of new image processing corresponding to the selected use-type button (upon detecting the pressing of the application button 501 by the user, the image processing apparatus 1 displays a “copy” screen 700 illustrated in FIG. 7A on the touch panel 200 [Inoue, 0075]; [Inoue, 0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the image processing device operation panel to display and select history button invention of Takenaka to include the selection buttons features of Inoue.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to select different functions based on button type.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172