DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending and examined on the merits.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of this national stage entry of PCT/IN2022/050876 of Non-provisional Application No. 18/691,945, filed on 9/30/2022, which claims foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to Indian Patent Application No. IN202111044817, filing date 10/1/2021. The certified copy has been filed in the present application on 3/14/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/14/2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Drawings filed on 3/14/2024 are acknowledged and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 (claims 6-7 dependent thereof) recites the limitation ‘the isolated bacterial strain' in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of the ‘isolated bacterial strain’ in claim 5. Appropriate correction is suggested.
Regarding claim 5 (claim 6-7 dependent thereof), a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the limitation ‘bacterial cellulosic membrane/bio-cellulosic patches.’ Here it is noted that ‘bacterial cellulosic membrane’ is a narrow limitation while ‘bio-cellulosic patches’ is a broad limitation. A bio-cellulosic patch may include regular cellulose from plants and other cellulose sources as well. As such, the bacterial cellulose is narrower than bio-cellulosic patches. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. As such, it is unclear as to what exactly the applicant is claiming. Appropriate correction is suggested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trexler et al (US 9,314,531 B2, Date of Patent: Apr. 19, 2016, Examiner cited) {herein Trexler} in view of Li et al (2018, Wiley Online Library, Examiner cited) {herein Li}.
Claims 1-4 are drawn to a composition for antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches comprising:[a] bacterial cellulose (BC) membrane; [b] mupirocin in the range of 0.00018% to 0.033% taken from mupirocin stock solution of concentration 50 mg/ml dissolved in methanol; and [c] glycerol in the range of 1.0% to 3.0%; wherein [b] and [c] are loaded onto [a].
With respect to claim 1, Trexler teaches a biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane (column 2, lines 40-42) wherein the cellulose is comprised of bacterial cellulose (column 6, lines 45-50) . Said membrane comprises mupirocin (column 8, line 19). It is known by those of ordinary skill in the art that mupirocin is commonly prepared in methanol due to its high solubility in methanol. As such, it is the Examiner’s position that the mupirocin taught by Trexler would necessarily be taken from mupirocin stock solution that is dissolved in methanol. Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that mupirocin is loaded into the membrane as Trexler teaches the membrane comprises mupirocin (column 8, line 19). Trexler further teaches the cellulose that is used to make the hydrogel membrane can come from any source and can include commercial and non-commercial sources of cellulose (column 6, lines 37-39). Cellulose can be used from any microbial or bacterial source that produces it (column 6, lines 41-42). As such, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner position that the biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane taught by Trexler is the same as the antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches recited in the instant application as both membranes are comprised of bacterial cellulose and mupirocin.
With respect to claims 2-3, although the reference of Trexler does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 2 (wherein 500 pg mupirocin is loaded onto 3100 mg of the bacterial cellulose membrane), claim 3 (wherein 0.0162% mupirocin is loaded onto the bacterial cellulose membrane), MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the concentrations of mupirocin and bacterial cellulose depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at the concentrations for the application they intend on using the membrane. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious.
However, Trexler does not teach adding glycerol to the membrane (claim 1). Trexler does not teach the product of claim 4, wherein 2.5% glycerol is loaded onto the bacterial cellulose membrane (claim 4).
With respect to claims 1,4, Li teaches the preparation of bio-cellulosic patches comprising glycerol as the glycerol acts as a plasticizer, enhancing the membrane’s flexibility, toughness and durability (page 13, column 1, para 2). (page 110, column 2, para 2). Although the references of Trexler in view of Li does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 1 (mupirocin in the range of 0.00018% to 0.033% taken from mupirocin stock solution of concentration 50 mg/ml dissolved in methanol; and [c] glycerol in the range of 1.0% to 3.0%), claim 4 (wherein 2.5% glycerol is loaded onto the bacterial cellulose membrane), MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the concentrations of mupirocin and glycerol depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at the concentrations for the application they intend on using the membrane. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Trexler et al. of a biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane (column 2, lines 40-42) wherein the cellulose is comprised of bacterial cellulose (column 6, lines 45-50) or combine the teachings of Li et al of a process for the preparation of bio-cellulosic patches comprising glycerol (page 110, column 2, para 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to either use the teachings of Trexler et al or combine the teachings of Li because Li provides Trexler with the motivation to add glycerol to the biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane loaded with the mupirocin antibiotic as the glycerol would act as a plasticizer, enhancing the membrane’s flexibility, toughness and durability (page 13, column 1, para 2). One of ordinary skill in the art knowing the benefit of antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches/membranes based on the teachings of Trexler and Li would have a reasonable expectation of success that adding glycerol to the biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane containing mupirocin would result in the desired anti-bacterial bio-cellulosic patches/membrane as Li teaches that glycerol plays a key role in drug delivery by creating a moist environment that aids in the controlled, sustained release of antibiotics and can enhance the efficacy of antibiotics by helping to penetrate biofilms (page 13, column 1, para 2).
One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to make and use the claimed antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches because Trexler provides the basic antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches and its uses and methods of making. While Li provides the teaching of bio-cellulosic patches comprising the culturing of Komagataeibacter hansenii in media consisting of glycerol (page 110, column 2, para 2). Therefore there would be a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the above invention. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (2018, Wiley Online Library, Examiner cited) {herein Li} in view of Trexler et al (US 9,314,531 B2, Date of Patent: Apr. 19, 2016, Examiner cited) {herein Trexler}.
Claims 5-7 are drawn to a process for the preparation of the composition for antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches as claimed in claim 1, wherein the steps comprising:(a) culturing the isolated bacterial strain of Komagataeibacter hansenii (MBS-8) designated as MTCC 13036 in M5 medium comprising glucose 0.5%, glycerol 4%, peptone 0.5%, yeast extract 0.25%, disodium hydrogen phosphate 0.27%, citric acid 0.015% having pH in the range of 5.5 to 6.2 at a temperature ranging from 28 to 30 °C for a period of 7 to 9 days under static conditions to obtain a bacterial cellulose membrane/bio-cellulosic (BC) patch on the surface of the medium; (b) The BC membrane obtained in step [a] was washed with boiled 1N NaOH having a temperature in the range of 80 to 90°C for a period of 1 to 2 hr. and then washed with a weak acid followed by washing with distilled water for 2-3 times until the pH becomes neutral; (c) the washed BC membrane obtained in step [b] was dipped in distilled water and autoclaved at a temperature of 115 to 120 degree C for 15 to 20 minutes to obtain a sterilized BC membrane; (d) the sterilized bacterial cellulose membrane was weighed and then compressed by hands between two acrylic plates for the removal of 50-60% of their water content to obtain a drained BC membrane; (e) the drained BC membrane obtained in step [d] was soaked in potassium phosphate buffered solution having pH 7.4 containing mupirocin in the range of 50 to 1000 microgram and glycerol in the range of 0.5 to 5.0% for a duration of 24 to 48 hours at room temperature to assure complete absorption of the drug onto the membrane; and (f) after the drug absorption, the antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches/membranes obtained were dried at temperature ranging from 30 to 40 °C in a ventilated oven for 10 to 16 hours to obtain the desired antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches/membranes.
With respect to claim 5, Li teaches a process for the preparation of bio-cellulosic patches comprising the culturing of Komagataeibacter hansenii JR-02 in media consisting of glucose, glycerol, citric acid, yeast extract, peptone (page 110, column 2, para 2) and Na2HPO4 (page 109, column 2, para 2). Cultivation took place at 28C for 7 days (page 109. Column 2, para 4) under static conditions to obtain the bacterial cellulose (page 109, column 1, para 1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Komagataeibacter hansenii JR-02 could be substitutes for Komagataeibacter hansenii MBS-8 as both strains produce cellulose. MPEP 2143.I.B states “The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.” Li further teaches the cellulose material was rinsed in 0.1N NaOH at 100C for 30min (page 110, column 1, para 3). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that NaOH at 100C is the same as NaOH boiling as 100C is the temperature at which liquid boils. Next, the cellulose products were washed acetic acid (table 1) and then deionized water repeatedly until the pH of the water became neutral. Additionally, the samples were freeze-dried or oven-dried at 105C in petri dishes (page 110, column 2, para 1). Since the samples were freeze-dried or oven-dried at 105C in petri dishes, it is the Examiner’s position that said samples are sterilized since it is known by those of ordinary skill in that art that 105C is an effective temperature to kill most microbial contaminants. Regarding the recitation ‘(d) the sterilized bacterial cellulose membrane was weighed and then compressed by hands between two acrylic plates for the removal of 50-60% of their water content to obtain a drained BC membrane’ within the instant application claim 5, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that one could compress the BC between two acrylic plates to remove 50-60% of the water content as said method of removing water from cellulose materials is routinely done as it is well-known in the art that the utilization of acrylic prohibits the sticking of the cellulose materials during the drying process. Furthermore, it is the Examiner’s position that the bacterial cellulose taught by Li is drained, as it would be free of water after being freeze-dried or oven dried.
With respect to claim 7, Li teaches the cellulose products were washed with acetic acid (table 1). The presence of acetic acid in the basal media could limit organic acid production and accumulation of bacteria and keep the culture in the optimal condition for BC production (page 114, column 1, para 2). In addition, adding acetate buffer in culture media was also an effective method to improve BC production (page 114, column 1, para 2). As such, it is the Examiner’s position that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art to substitute glacial acetic acid for acetic acid as one of ordinary skill in the art would expect glacial acid to better limit organic acid production and accumulation of bacteria due to its high purity, thereby improving the production of BC. MPEP 2143.B. recites, ‘the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.’
However, Li does not teach antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches (claim 5). Li does not teach a) culturing the isolated bacterial strain of Komagataeibacter hansenii (MBS-8) designated as MTCC 13036 in M5 medium comprising glucose 0.5%, glycerol 4%, peptone 0.5%, yeast extract 0.25%, disodium hydrogen phosphate 0.27%, citric acid 0.015% having pH in the range of 5.5 to 6.2 (c) the washed BC membrane obtained in step [b] was dipped in distilled water and autoclaved at a temperature of 115 to 120 degree C for 15 to 20 minutes to obtain a sterilized BC membrane; (e) the drained BC membrane obtained in step [d] was soaked in potassium phosphate buffered solution having pH 7.4 containing mupirocin in the range of 50 to 1000 microgram and glycerol in the range of 0.5 to 5.0% for a duration of 24 to 48 hours at room temperature to assure complete absorption of the drug onto the membrane; and (f) after the drug absorption, the antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches/membranes obtained were dried at temperature ranging from 30 to 40 °C in a ventilated oven for 10 to 16 hours to obtain the desired antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches/membranes (claim 5). Li does not teach wherein culturing of the isolated bacterial strain MTCC 13036 is done at a temperature of 28 °C for 8 days (claim 6). Trexler does not teach wherein the weak acid is glacial acetic acid (claim 7).
With respect to claims 5-6, Trexler teaches a process for the preparation of biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane (column 2, lines 40-42) wherein the cellulose is comprised of bacterial cellulose (column 6, lines 45-50). Said membrane comprises mupirocin, which is an antibiotic (column 8, line 19). The membrane was soaked in PBS for 48 hrs (column 30, line 39). It is known by those of ordinary skill in the art that mucin is commonly prepared in methanol due to its high solubility in methanol. As such, it is the Examiner’s position that the mupirocin taught by Trexler would necessarily be taken from mupirocin stock solution that is dissolved in methanol. Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that mupirocin is loaded into the membrane as Trexler teaches the membrane comprises mupirocin (column 8, line 19). Furthermore, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that the biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane taught by Trexler is the same as the antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches recited in the instant application since both membranes are comprised of bacterial cellulose and mupirocin. Although the references of -----Trexler in view of Li do not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5 (M5 medium comprising glucose 0.5%, glycerol 4%, peptone 0.5%, yeast extract 0.25%, disodium hydrogen phosphate 0.27%, citric acid 0.015% having pH in the range of 5.5 to 6.2… autoclaved at a temperature of 115 to 120 degree C for 15 to 20 minutes… mupirocin in the range of 50 to 1000 microgram and glycerol in the range of 0.5 to 5.0%... dried at temperature ranging from 30 to 40 °C for 10 to 16 hours…), claim 6 (culturing of the isolated bacterial strain MTCC 13036 is done at a temperature of 28 °C for 8 days), MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the concentration of components of the media, concentration of mupirocin and glycerol, temperature and time of drying the BC and cultivation of the isolated bacterial strain depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at the concentration of components of the media, concentration of mupirocin and glycerol, temperature and time of drying the BC and bacterial cultivation temperature and duration for the application they intend on using the antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches/membranes. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Li et al. of a process for the preparation of bio-cellulosic patches comprising the culturing of Komagataeibacter hansenii in media consisting of glucose, glycerol, citric acid, yeast extract, peptone (page 110, column 2, para 2) and Na2HPO4 (page 109, column 2, para 2) or combine the teachings of Trexler because Trexler teaches a process for the preparation of biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane (column 2, lines 40-42) wherein the cellulose is comprised of bacterial cellulose (column 6, lines 45-50) and mupirocin (column 8, line 19).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to either use the teachings of Li et al. by itself or combine the teachings of Trexler because Trexler provides the motivation for Li to add mupirocin to the BC as said antibiotic is effective to either prevent or treat infection in the wound area, surrounding tissues, or systemically (column 7, lines 61-63). One of ordinary skill in the art knowing the benefit of mupirocin in BC based on the teachings of Li and Trexler would have a reasonable expectation that adding mupirocin to BC would allow for the controlled delivery of mupirocin to tissues that are covered with the BC (Trexler: column 7, lines 30-35). Additionally, mupirocin would be released overtime, resulting in a longer period of time for antibiotic delivery and more effective healing of infected tissues (Trexler: column 7, lines 30-35).
One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to make and use the claimed antibacterial bio-cellulosic patches because Li provides the basic bio-cellulosic patches/membranes and its uses and methods of making it. Whereas, Trexler provides the teaching of a process for the preparation of biocompatible cellulose hydrogel membrane (column 2, lines 40-42) wherein the cellulose is comprised of bacterial cellulose (column 6, lines 45-50) and comprises mupirocin (column 8, line 19). Therefore there would be a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the above invention. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim 1-7 are rejected.
No claims are in condition for allowance.
/ERICA NICOLE JONES-FOSTER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/MANJUNATH N RAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1656