DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Specie (a) directed to claims 20, 21, 32, 35, 50, 51, 60, 61 and 67 in the reply filed on 1/29/2026 is acknowledged.
The amended claims filed 5/12/2026 appear to have included claim 1 however this claim was previously withdrawn as discussed in the reply filed 1/29/2026. Therefore claim 1 will still be considered withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 21, 32, 35, 50 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carey (US Patent 5091339) in view of Ishihara et al. (US PG. Pub. 2017/0245365).
Regarding claim 20 – Carey teaches a component carrier (figs. 6(a)-13), comprising: a design layer (14 [column 8 line 49] Carey states, “polyimide layer 14”) having a stamped surface profile (see stamping shown in figures 6(a) and 6(b) [column 6 lines 51-53] Carey states, “FIG. 6b plate 40 is stamped against polyimide layer 14 until plate surface 46 contacts top polyimide surface 48”); an at least partially electroplated metallic base structure (100 [column 9 & 8 lines 10, 31 & 22-26] Carey states, “seed layer 100…seed layer 80 of 2500 angstroms copper…After via regions 20 and channel regions 22 are formed there are many ways of depositing an electrically conducting layer into the via and channel including electrolytic deposition, electroless deposition, evaporation, sputtering, and squeegeeing”) in at least one indentation (20/22) of the profiled design layer (14); and an electroplated electroplating structure (104 [column 9 lines 12-13] Carey states, “electrically conductive layer 104 is electrolytically deposited over second seed layer 100”) in the at least one indentation (20/22) on or above the metallic base structure (100; claimed structure shown in figures 6(a)-13); and at least one component (fig. 13, 120) mounted on the design layer by a connection structure (122 [column 10 lines 53-54] Carey states, “electrical component 120 containing conductive bumps 122”).
Carey does not teach wherein the connection structure is arranged such that a surface oriented toward the design layer is flush with or extends above, an outer surface of the design layer.
Ishihara teaches a component carrier (figs. 1-2 & 6D) wherein at least one component (fig. 6D, 51 [paragraph 0067] Ishihara states, “mounting an electronic component 51 on the surface treatment layers 110”) mounted on the design layer (104 [paragraph 0072] Ishihara states, “insulating layer 104”) by a connection structure (fig. 2, 110) wherein the connection structure (110) is arranged such that a surface oriented towards the design layer (104) is flush with or extends above, an outer surface of the design layer (104 [paragraph 0040] Ishihara states, “An upper surface (110a) of the surface treatment layer 110 protrudes to the outside from the second main surface 12 and is exposed from the second main surface 12”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the component carrier having at least one component mounted on the design layer by a connection structure as taught by Carey with the connection structure is arranged such that a surface oriented towards the design layer extends above an outer surface of the design layer as taught by Ishihara because Ishihara states, “since the upper surface (110a) of the surface treatment layer 110 protrudes to the outside from the second main surface 12, an external electronic component can be easily mounted via the surface treatment layer 110.” [paragraph 0047]. The connection structure being above the design layer allows for a larger surface area contact between the component bonding element and the connection structure improving the mechanical/electrical reliability.
Additionally in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given significant patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. “metallic base structure” & “plating structure”, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. “electroplated”. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 21 – Carey in view of Ishihara teach the component carrier according to claim 20, comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the electroplating structure (Carey; figs. 10c-13, 104) and the metallic base structure (100) form electrically conductive sub-structures of different depth or different length in the design layer (14; figure 11c shows the conductive sub-structures having different widths and depths);
wherein the electroplating structure and the metallic base structure form electrically conductive trace-type or via-type sub-structures;
wherein the electroplating structure and the metallic base structure form at least one electrically conductive sub-structure having a depth-to-diameter ratio of larger than 1;
wherein at least one sub-structure (fig. 10c, combination of layers 100 & 104) of the electroplating structure (104) and the metallic base structure (100) has tapering sidewalls (claimed structure show in figure 10a-10c);
wherein a roughness Ra of a surface of the design layer delimiting the surface profile is not more than 100 um wherein the design layer is arranged on an electrically conductive layer such that at least one surface portion of the electrically conductive layer is exposed with respect to the design layer at at least one of the indentations;
wherein the metallic base structure is arranged selectively on the at least one exposed surface portion of the electrically conductive layer and in the corresponding indentation of the design layer;
wherein at least a portion of the electroplating structure (fig. 10c, 104) is arranged on top of the metallic base structure (100);
wherein the metallic base structure comprises a bottom-sided sub-structure and a top-sided substructure; comprising an electrically conductive seed layer selectively lining indentations of the stamped design layer; comprising an electrically conductive seed layer at least partially between the metallic base structure and the electroplating structure.
Regarding claim 32 – Carey in view of Ishihara teach the component carrier according to claim 20, comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the component carrier (Carey; fig. 13) comprises a build-up (upper build-up 14) on one or both opposing sides of the profiled design layer (lower layer 14) with the metallic base structure (100) and the electroplating structure (104);
wherein the build-up (upper build-up 14) comprises at least one laminated printed circuit board layer stack (see stack shown in figure 13); comprising at least one component (120 [column 10 line 53-54] Carey states, “electrical component 120”) being electrically connected to the metallic base structure (100) and the electroplating structure (104).
Regarding claim 35 – Carey in view of Ishihara teach the component carrier according to claim 20, comprising at least one of the following features:
further comprising a further design layer (Carey; figs. 12-13, upper layer 14) having a further stamped surface profile (upper layer 14 is a duplicate layer and will have the stamped surface profile as shown in figure 13), a further at least partially electroplated metallic base structure (100) in at least one further indentation (20/22) of the profiled further design layer (upper layer 14), and a further electroplated electroplating structure (104) in the at least one further indentation (20/22) on or above the further metallic base structure (100; claimed structure show in figure 14);
wherein the further profiled design layer (upper layer 14) with the further metallic base structure (100) and the further electroplating structure (104) are arranged on the profiled design layer (lower layer 14) with the metallic base structure (100) and the electroplating structure (104; claimed structure shown in figure 13);
wherein the further metallic base structure and the further electroplating structure are connected in a landless way with the metallic base structure and the electroplating structure;
comprising two components arranged side-by-side at least partially on the design layer and being electrically coupled with each other by electrically conductive connection structures at or lateral from the design layer;
wherein at least one of the two components comprises pads having different pitch sizes being electrically coupled with the electrically conductive connection structures having different pitch sizes by connection structures having different dimensions;
wherein at least one first pad of the pads has a smaller pitch size than at least one second pad of the pads having a larger pitch size;
wherein the at least one first pad is electrically coupled with at least one first of the electrically conductive connection structures on the design layer; and
wherein the at least one second pad is electrically coupled with at least one second of the electrically conductive connection structures on a laminated printed circuit board layer stack apart from the design layer;
wherein the electroplating structure comprises three-dimensionally curved substructures;
wherein the indentations of the stamped design layer are at least partially filled with at least one wiring structure of the group consisting of:
a wiring structure having a bottom portion constituted by a bottom-sided portion of the metal base structure, wherein a top-sided portion of the metal base structure is formed directly on the bottom-sided portion, wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure is lined with a portion of a seed layer covering a top surface of the metal base structure as well as an exposed sidewall of the design layer, and wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure delimited by the portion of the seed layer is filled with at least a portion of the electroplating structure;
a wiring structure (see wiring structure shown in figure 10c) having a portion of a seed layer (80 [column 8 line 53-54] Carney states, “seed layer 80”) lining exposed sidewalls and an exposed bottom surface of the design layer (14), wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure is filled with at least a portion of the electroplating structure (104);
a wiring structure having a bottom portion constituted by a bottom-sided portion of the metal base structure, wherein a top-sided portion of the metal base structure is formed directly on the bottom-sided portion, wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure is lined with a portion of a seed layer covering a top surface of the metal base structure as well as an exposed sidewall and an exposed horizontal wall of the design layer, wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure delimited by the portion of the seed layer is filled with at least a portion of the electroplating structure, and wherein the assigned indentation has a step;
configured as at least partially plate-shaped laminate-type component carrier; wherein at least a portion of the metallic base structure protrudes beyond the design layer and thereby forms at least one protruding metal structure for electric connection with an electronic periphery; wherein the electroplating structure protrudes beyond the design layer.
Regarding claim 50 – Carney teaches a component carrier (figs. 6(a)-13) in the form of a laminate-type component carrier (The preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.), the component carrier, comprising: an electrically conductive layer (100 [column 9 & 8 lines 10, 31 & 22-26] Carey states, “seed layer 100…seed layer 80 of 2500 angstroms copper…After via regions 20 and channel regions 22 are formed there are many ways of depositing an electrically conducting layer into the via and channel including electrolytic deposition, electroless deposition, evaporation, sputtering, and squeegeeing”); a stamped design layer (14 [column 8 & 6 lines 49 & 42-43] Carey states, “polyimide layer 14… Fig. 6a die stamp plate 40”) arranged on the electrically conductive layer (100) and having a surface profile with at least one indentation (20/22) so that at least one surface portion of the electrically conductive layer (100) is exposed with respect to the design layer (14); and an electroplated filling medium (104 [column 9 lines 12-13] Carey states, “electrically conductive layer 104 is electrolytically deposited over second seed layer 100”) at least partially filling the at least one indentation (20/22, claimed structure shown in figures 6(a)-13).
In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. “component carrier”, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. “laminate-type”. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 51 – Carey teaches the component carrier according to claim 50, comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the electroplated filling medium (fig. 10c, 104) comprises a metallic base structure (100) in the at least one indentation (20/22);
wherein the electroplated filling medium (fig. 10c, 104) comprises an electroplating structure (discussed in the rejection to claim 50 above) in the at least one indentation (20/22) on or above the metallic base structure (100);
comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the design layer has an adhesion of more than 600 Nm;
wherein the design layer has a temperature resistance between 200°C and 300°C;
wherein the design layer comprises material of a flame retardancy class 4;
wherein the design layer comprises material having a glass-transition temperature between 120°C and 200°C;
wherein the design layer has a Modulus below a glass-transition temperature of 1000 MPa to 14000 MPa;
wherein the design layer has a Modulus above a glass-transition temperature of 60 MPa to 800 MPa;
wherein the design layer has a thermal expansion coefficient below a glass-transition temperature of 10 ppm/K to 40 ppm/K;
wherein the design layer has a thermal expansion coefficient above a glass-transition temperature of 50 ppm/K to 100 ppm/K;
wherein the design layer is formed with at least one of the following properties:
a fracture strain below a glass-transition temperature of at least 2%,
a chemical shrinkage below 3 %,a moisture absorption below 0,1%, and
a desmear rate of more than 0,006 g/min;
wherein the design layer comprises a fully cured polymer based on at least one of the following group comprising epoxies, acrylates, polyphenylenether, polyimide, polyamide, polyetheretherketon poly(p-phenylene ether) (PPE), Bisbenzocyclobutene (BCB), or Polybenzoxabenzole (PBO);
wherein the design layer comprises polymer- or oligomer-based building blocks, wherein at least one of the building blocks is based on one of the above-mentioned polymers;
wherein at least one of the building blocks has at least one functional group covalently bond to another one of the least one building block; wherein the at least one functional group is selected from one of the group consisting of:
a thiol group selected from the group of 3-mercaptopropionates, 3-mercaptoacetates, thioglycolates and alkylthiols, or
a double bond selected from the group of acrylates, methyl acrylates, vinyl ethers, allyl ethers, propenyl ethers, alkenes, dienes, unsaturated esters and allyl triazines, allyl isocyanates and N-vinyl amides;
wherein the design layer comprises a prepolymer having at least one photoinitiator, contained in an amount of 0.1 wt.% to 10 wt.%.
Claim(s) 60-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carey in view of Nakai et al. (US PG. Pub. 2011/0300307).
Regarding claim 60 – Carey teaches the component carrier according to claim 20, wherein the design layer is a fully cured resin ([column 7 lines 51-52] Carey states, “photoimagible polyimide layers 14a and 14b are fully cured”), but fails to teach wherein the design layer further comprises filler particles in an amount of 1 wt.% to 10 wt.%.
Nakai teaches wherein the design layer (fig. 4, 106 [paragraph 0043] Carey states, “solder resist 106”) further comprises filler particles (62 [paragraph 0046] Nakai states, “Filler 62 is made of silica-type filler”) in an amount of 1 wt.% to 10 wt%.([paragraph 0046] Naka states, “Solder resist 106 (insulation layer) is made by adding approximately 2-60 wt.% filler 62 to resin 61”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the component carrier having a design layer as taught by Carey with the design layer further comprising filler particles in an amount of 1-10wt% as taught by Nakai because Nakai states, “the requirements of lower CTE (coefficient of thermal expansion) of solder resist 106 are satisfied in a printed wiring board.” [paragraph 0046]. Fillers, such as silica, within the design layer will help in thermal management and will improve the mechanical strength of the layer.
Regarding claim 61 – Carey in view of Nakai teach the component carrier according to claim 60, comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the chloride content of the resin is below 30 ppm;
wherein the filler particles comprise inorganic fillers, wherein the inorganic fillers are in a crystalline state;
wherein the filler particles have a size of less than 0.1 pm;
wherein the filler particles (fig. 4, 62) comprise Talcum, Zeolite or fused SiO2 ([paragraph 0049] Nakai states, “As for silica, at least one from among ground silica, spherical silica, fused silica and crystalline silica is preferred to be used”);
wherein the filler particles are of plasma etchable material;
wherein the design layer (fig. 4, 106) comprises less than 95% filler particles ([paragraph 0046] Naka states, “Solder resist 106 (insulation layer) is made by adding approximately 2-60 wt.% filler 62 to resin 61”).
Claim(s) 67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carey in view of Ishihara et al. as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Goodelle et al. (US Patent 6894400).
Regarding claim 67 – Carey in view of Ishihara teach the component carrier according to claim 20, but fail to teach wherein the design layer has a modulus of elasticity below a glass-transition temperature in a fully cured stage of 1000 MPa to 14000 MPa; wherein the design layer has a modulus of elasticity above a glass-transition temperature in a reflow state of 60 MPa to 800 MPa.
Goodelle teaches a component carrier (fig. 3) wherein the design layer (34 [column line ] Goodelle states, “underfill material, 34”) has a modulus of elasticity below a glass-transition temperature in a fully cured stage of 1000 MPa to 14000 MPa ([column 3 lines 43-45] Goodelle states, “The cured underfill composition should have an Elastic modulus below its T.sub.g in the range from 2 GPa to 10 GPa”); wherein the design layer (34) has a modulus of elasticity above a glass-transition temperature in a reflow state of 60 MPa to 800 MPa ([claim 1] Goodelle states, “said underfill material has A) an elastic modulus at temperatures above the glass transition temperature, T.sub.g, of said underfill material between about 100 and 300 MPa”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the component carrier having a design layer as taught by Carey in view of Ishihara with the design layer having an elastic modulus below a glass transition temperature of 1000 MPa to 14000 MPa and an elastic modulus above a glass transition temperature of 60 MPa to 800 MPa as taught by Goodelle because Goodelle states, “By use of an underfill material having the specified properties in packages employing large dies, the integrity of both the solder bumps and the die are maintained despite the substantial increase in stress produced relative to smaller packages” [column 3 lines 14-18]. This epoxy material when used in the design layer will reduce stress and strain between the component carrier and the component.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20-21, 32, 35, 50-51, 60-61 and 67 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847