Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 36-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Apple (Enhanced DCI-based power saving adaptation).
Regarding claims 36, 45 and 52-55, Apple discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) configured to operate in a radio access network (RAN), the method comprising: receiving, from a RAN node, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring configuration that includes respective parameters for a plurality of PDCCH monitoring states, including first and second PDCCH monitoring states (see at least sections 21.1-2.2); while operating in the first PDCCH monitoring state, receiving from the RAN node an indication of the second PDCCH monitoring state; entering the second PDCCH monitoring state upon receiving the indication (see at least section 2.2); receiving and attempting to decode a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission from the RAN node; selectively exiting the second PDCCH monitoring state based on whether decoding of the PDSCH transmission was successful, wherein the selectively exiting comprises: remaining in the second PDCCH monitoring state in response to the decoding of the PDSCH transmission being successful; and exiting the second PDCCH monitoring state and entering the first PDCCH monitoring state in response to the PDSCH decoding being unsuccessful (see at least section 2.4).
Regarding claims 37 and 46. Apple discloses a method wherein: the indication is received in downlink control information (DCI); and the DCI also includes scheduling information for the PDSCH transmission (see at least section 2.4).
Regarding claims 38 and 47. Apple discloses a method wherein the first PDCCH monitoring state is a default PDCCH monitoring state (see at least section 2.1).
Regarding claims 39 and 48. Apple discloses a method wherein the PDCCH monitoring configuration is applicable to one of the following: only the cell in which the PDCCH monitoring configuration was received; or a plurality of cells served by the RAN node, including the cell in which the PDCCH monitoring configuration was received (see at least section 2.2).
Regarding claims 40 and 49. Apple discloses a method wherein the parameters for each of the PDCCH monitoring states includes one or more of the following: a skipping duration to refrain from PDCCH monitoring; and a search space set group (SSSG) to use for PDCCH monitoring (see at least section 2.1).
Regarding claims 41 and 50. Apple discloses a method further comprising transmitting hybrid ARQ (HARQ) feedback having a value that indicates whether the decoding of the PDSCH transmission was successful or unsuccessful (see at least section 2.4).
Regarding claim 42. Apple discloses a method wherein exiting the second PDCCH monitoring state and entering the first PDCCH monitoring state occurs a predetermined delay after transmitting the HARQ feedback (see at least section 2.3).
Regarding claim 43. Apple discloses a method wherein entering the first PDCCH monitoring state occurs at the first symbol of the first slot after transmitting the HARQ feedback (see at least section 2.1).
Regarding claim 44. Apple discloses a method wherein the second PDCCH monitoring state includes a skipping duration; and remaining in the second PDCCH monitoring state is until the end of the skipping duration; and selectively exiting the second PDCCH monitoring state further comprises, at the end of the skipping duration, exiting the second PDCCH monitoring state and entering the first PDCCH monitoring state (see at least sections 2.3-2.4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476