DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the recitation of Chem. 3, Chem. 6, Chem. 9, Chem. 10, and Chem. 21, causes confusion. Each of these formulas depicts multiple chemical structures. However, claim 5 also recites “the polymer of the formula (1)”, which the examiner interprets as one polymer. Do all of the structures need to be present in order for the limitation to be met? The examiner invites the applicant to clarify. For purposes of examination,
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A fluoropolyether group-containing polymer having silanol groups or hydrolyzable silyl groups, and having the general formula (1) below:
wherein Rf is a divalent fluorooxyalkylene group-containing polymer residue of the general formula (2) below:
wherein W is a fluoroalkylene group having one or more hydrogen atoms,
d is independently an integer of 1 to 3 per unit,
each of p, q, r, s, t, u and v is an integer of 0 to 450, p+q+r+s+t+u+v = 20 to 450, and each of these units may be linear or branched, each of recurring units shown in parentheses with p, q, r, s, t, u and v may be randomly bonded, and
a number-average molecular weight of the polymer residue is 6,000 to 30,000,
U is independently a divalent or trivalent organic group,
Z is independently a silalkylene structure or a silarylene structure,
Y is independently a divalent organic group,
R is independently an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms or a phenyl group,
X is independently a hydroxyl group or a hydrolyzable group,
n is independently an integer of 1 to 3 per bonding silicon atom, and
m is 1 or 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komori et al. (US 20130108876 as listed on IDS dated March 14, 2024) in view of Katayama et al. (US 20210024776 as listed on IDS dated March 14, 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Komori et al. disclose in Example 2 a fluoropolyether containing polymer having hydrolysable silyl groups having the formula shown below:
Wherein p/q = 0.9, p+q≈45 [0087-0090], thereby lying within the claimed ranges of general formula (1) of the instant claim wherein Rf is a divalent fluorooxyalkylene having the general formula (2) wherein d is 1, p is calculated to be about 21 and q is calculated to be about 24, r, s, t,u, and v is 0, p+q is about 45, U is a divalent organic group, Z is a silarylene structure, Y is a divalent organic group, X is a hydrolysable group, n is 3, and m is 1.
Komori et al. is silent on the number average molecular weight of the polymer residue as recited in the instant claim. Katayama et al. teach a fluorooxyalkylene group-containing polymer wherein the fluoroxyalkylene polymer residue has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 1,500 to 10,000 (claim 1, [0046]), thereby overlapping the claimed range. Katayama et al. offer the motivation that if the Mn is too low or too high, the resulting water/oil repellant of the cured film degrades in abrasion resistance, weather resistance, and/or alkali resistance [0046], Komuri et al. is also concerned with fluorooxyalkylene containing polymers forming a coating with water/oil repellency and good abrasion resistance and alkaline resistance [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the number average molecular weight of the fluorooxyalkylene polymer residue of Komuri et al. as taught by Katayama et al. with reasonable expectation that the water/oil repellency and abrasion and alkaline resistance would improve.
Regarding claim 2, Komuri et al. disclose the fluoropolyether group containing polymer in the formula shown above wherein U is a divalent aliphatic saturated hydrocarbon group having 4 carbon atoms and having an oxygen atom, thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Komuri et al. disclose the fluoropolyether group containing polymer in the formula shown above wherein Y is an alkylene group having 2 carbon atoms, thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Komuri et al. disclose the fluoropolyether group containing polymer in the formula shown above wherein X is an alkoxy group having 1 carbon atoms, thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Komuri et al. in view of Katayama et al. teach the fluoropolyether group containing polymer in the formula shown above, thereby lying within the claimed ranges of the first formula shown in Chem. 6 of the instant claim wherein p1 is calculated to be about 21 and q1 is calculated to be about 24 and p1+q1 = 45.
Katayama et al. teach the fluoroalkylene polymer residue has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 1,500 to 10,000 [0046], thereby overlapping the claimed range as rejected above. Katayama et al. offer the motivation that if the Mn is too low or too high, the resulting water/oil repellant of the cured film degrades in abrasion resistance, weather resistance, and/or alkali resistance [0046], Komuri et al. is also concerned with water/oil repellency and good abrasion resistance and alkaline resistance [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the number average molecular weight of the fluorooxyalkylene polymer residue of Komuri et al. as taught by Katayama et al. with reasonable expectation that the water/oil repellency and abrasion and alkaline resistance would improve.
R1, r2, r3, p2, q2, r4, r5, p3, q3, qs1, and qs2 are not required in formula Chem. 6 of the instant claim and are therefore rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Komuri et al. disclose the fluoropolyether group containing polymer of Example 2 is used to form a surface treatment agent and dip coated on glass slides to form a cured coating [0095-0096], thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, Komuri et al. does not disclose the fluoropolyether group containing polymer of Example 2 is used to treat a lens substrate.
However, Komuri et al. broadly teaches the fluoropolyether group containing polymer is used to form a coating for lenses [0059]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the surface treatment agent of Komuri et al. to surface treat a lens substrate as taught by Komuri et al.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763