Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 06/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al., US 2012/0261830.
Chu et al. shows the invention as claimed including a micromechanical component, comprising:
A substrate 702 (see fig. 7a and paragraph 0043);
At least one first oxide layer 704 arranged on the substrate 702 (see fig. 7B and paragraph 0044);
An etch stop layer 712a arranged directly on the at least one first oxide layer (see paragraph 0046); and a further wiring level 714 (see paragraph 0046) arranged on a bottom side of the etch stop layer (see figure 7J-1 and its description)
Concerning dependent claims 17-18, note that Chu et al. discloses that the further wiring level is used to electrically connect electrical parts or components and is located in cavity produced by etching (see fig. 7J-1).
With respect to dependent claim 19, note that one element of the wiring level is formed directly on a bottom side of the etch stop layer (see, for example, figs. 7d-7e).
Concerning dependent claims 20-21, note that in Chu et al. and when giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, a portion of the further wiring level in combination with a partially removed etch stop layer can be considered a reference capacitance (see, for example, figs. 7d-7f).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Chu et al. discloses wherein the further wiring level is formed at least partially in a planar manner within a lateral etch channel (see fig. 7E where the further wiring layer is formed underlying raised edge portions of the etch stop layer 712).
As to dependent claims 23-25, note that when giving the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation note that the reference capacitance is at least partially arranged within a cavern region (see region below underlying sides of etch stop layer 712), at least a portion of the wiring level extends below a cavern region (see further wiring layer disposed in figs. 7E-7F) and the thickness of the etch stop layer is defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al., US 2012/0261830 in view of Romo et al., U.S. Patent 6,516,671.
Chu et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose where the mems device is a pressure, acceleration, or rotation rate sensor. However, Romo et al. discloses that typical MEMS devices can include acceleration or pressure sensors (see, for example, col. 1-lines 14-24). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Chu et al. to be used as either a pressure or acceleration sensor, for example, because Romo et al. shows that these sensors are conventional mems devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2015/0360937 and US 2019/0002277 disclose the state of the art in MEMS sensors.
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
August 21, 2026