DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saraf et al. (US 20200202850 A1) in view of Ramisetti et al. (US 20200107241 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saraf et al. teaches a method implemented by a device, the method comprising: determining a configuration of a plurality of architectural coverings located within a structure, wherein the configuration is associated with a structure identifier of the structure, and wherein the plurality of architectural coverings comprise a first architectural covering located within a space of the structure (Paragraph 20, 21, 31 , These passages teach determining and storing a network configuration of multiple access points within a structure, where each device is associated with specific locations (rooms/floors) and identifiable by assigned names tied to the structure); sending, to a gateway, a request for proximity metrics, wherein the request comprises the structure identifier (Paragraph 35, 47, These passages teach sending a query/request from a device or app to the gateway/access point to obtain information about device association within the structured network configuration); and presenting an indication of the first proximity at a user interface of the device (Paragraph 41, 47, These passages teach presenting the returned association information via a graphical or voice user interface).
Saraf et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering.
However, Ramisetti et al. teaches receiving, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering (Paragraph 37, 39, 46 , These passages teach receiving responses including signal strength (a proximity metric) from identified devices (device identifiers), where the signal strength directly indicates proximity between the gateway (thermostat) and the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering as taught by Ramisetti in the system of Saraf et al., so that it would enable the system to return quantified proximity information for identified devices within the determined structural configuration, thereby improving the accuracy and usefulness of the presented association information at the user interface.
Regarding claim 2, Saraf et al. teaches a second proximity metric and a second architectural covering identifier of a second architectural covering, wherein the second proximity metric indicates a second proximity between the gateway and the second architectural covering, wherein the configuration indicates that the first architectural covering and the second architectural covering are located within the space, and wherein the method further comprises: determining a third proximity metric between the gateway and the space based on the first proximity metric and the second proximity metric; and presenting an indication of the third proximity metric at the user interface (Paragraph 20, 21, 30, 31, 37, 42, These passages collectively teach storing for multiple devices respective signal strength values (proximity metrics) and device identifiers, associating multiple devices with a defined room-based configuration (space), analyzing the collected signal strength data to generate higher-level analytics reflecting the space as a whole, and presenting that derived information via the user interface ).
Regarding claim 3, Saraf et al. teaches presenting an indication of the second proximity at the user interface, wherein the indication of the first proximity and the indication of the second proximity are presented upon a selection of the space at the user interface, and wherein the space, the first architectural covering, and the second architectural covering are identified at the user interface based on the configuration (Paragraph 21, 31, 41-42, These passages teach that the user interface presents connection/proximity information for multiple devices relative to identified locations (spaces) based on stored configuration and connectivity data, such that when a user selects or views a particular location in the system diagram or list, the interface simultaneously identifies the space and associated devices and indicates their respective proximities ).
Regarding claim 4, Saraf et al. teaches the first proximity metric comprises a first average received signal strength indicator (RSSI) determined based on broadcast signals by the first architectural covering, and wherein the response comprises the averaged first average RSSI and an association between the first average RSSI and the first architectural covering identifier (Paragraph 30, 31, 37, 38, 42, These passages teach collecting signal strength measurements of devices connected to identified access points, generating processed statistics/analytics from that signal strength data, and providing results that associate the processed signal strength information with a specific identified access point/device).
Regarding claim 5, Saraf et al. teaches the response further comprises a second average RSSI and an association between the second average RSSI and a second architectural covering identifier of a second architectural covering, and wherein the method further comprises: determining, based on the configuration, that the first architectural covering and the second architectural covering are located within the space; determining a proximity metric of the space based on the first average RSSI and the second average RSSI; comparing the proximity metric of the space and a threshold value; and presenting, at the user interface, an indication that the space is within a connectivity range of the gateway based on the comparison (Paragraph 21, 30, 31, 37, 40, 42, These passages collectively teach that the system stores signal strength (RSSI) values associated with identified devices, uses configuration data linking devices/access points to defined spaces (e.g., rooms/floors) to determine that multiple devices are located within the same space, evaluates signal strength parameters (including multiple devices) against connectivity criteria to make routing decisions).
Regarding claim 6, Saraf et al. teaches determining, based on the configuration, a subset of architectural coverings from the plurality of architectural coverings; determining, from the response, the smallest average RSSI associated with an architectural covering of the subset; and comparing the smallest average RSSI to a threshold RSSI; and determining that all architectural coverings of the subset are connected with the gateway based on the comparison of the smallest average RSSI and the threshold RSSI (Paragraph 30, 31, 37, 42, 47, These passages teach storing configuration and connectivity data including signal strength for connected devices, selecting devices based on configuration, evaluating their signal strength against decision criteria, and determining whether the devices are connected to the gateway).
Regarding claim 7, Saraf et al. teaches generating an order of the architectural coverings of the subset based on RSSIs that correspond to the subset; and presenting, at the user interface, proximity indications between the gateway and the architectural coverings of the subset, wherein the proximity indications are listed based on the order (Paragraph 31, 37, 40–42, These passages teach that signal strength values corresponding to connected devices are stored and evaluated by the processor and that the user interface presents a list of devices with their associated access point).
Regarding claim 8, Saraf et al. teaches the space is a first space, and wherein the method further comprises: determining, based on the configuration, that a first subset of the plurality of architectural coverings is associated with the first space, wherein the first subset comprises the first architectural covering; determining, based on the configuration and from the response, first proximity metrics that correspond to the first subset, wherein the first proximity metrics comprise the first proximity metric of the first architectural covering; determining a first average proximity metric of the first space based on the first proximity metrics; and presenting, at the user interface, an indication that the first space is within a connectivity range of the gateway based on the first average proximity (Paragraph 21, 30, 31, 40, 41, These passages teach identifying specific physical locations (e.g., rooms/floors) as spaces, using stored configuration and connectivity data to determine which devices are associated with an access point corresponding to a given space, collecting signal strength/performance data for those devices as proximity-related metrics, analyzing that data to generate aggregated statistics representative of that space, and presenting at a user interface information indicating connectivity of that space relative to the gateway).
Regarding claim 9, Saraf et al. teaches determining, based on the configuration, that a second subset of the plurality of architectural coverings is associated with a second space; determining, based on the configuration and from the response, second proximity metrics that correspond to the second subset; determining a second average proximity metric of the second space based on the first proximity metrics; and presenting, at the user interface, an indication that the second space is within the connectivity range of the gateway based on the second average proximity (Paragraph 21, 31, 37, 38, 40, 41, These passages collectively teach using stored network configuration data and location-identified access points to determine device subsets associated with specific spaces, utilizing connectivity data including signal strength as proximity metrics for those subsets, generating aggregated analytics such as statistical metrics for those spaces, and presenting connectivity information at a user interface indicating that a given space is within range of the gateway or extender).
Regarding claim 10, Saraf et al. teaches generating an order of the first space and the second space based on the first average proximity metric and the second average proximity metric, wherein the indication that the first space is within the connectivity range and the indication that the second space is within the connectivity range are presented based on the order (Paragraph 30, 31, 40-42, These passages teach collecting and analyzing signal strength/connectivity data for multiple access points (corresponding to different spaces), determining relative connection characteristics for those spaces, and presenting indications of device connectivity by access point in a user interface).
Regarding claim 11, Saraf et al. teaches determining, based on the configuration, that a second subset of the plurality of architectural coverings is associated with a second space; determining, based on the configuration and from the response, second proximity metrics that correspond to the second subset; determining a second average proximity metric of the second space based on the first proximity metrics; and presenting, at the user interface, an indication that the second space is outside of the connectivity range of the gateway based on the second average proximity (Paragraph 20, 21, 24, 30, 31, 37, 38, 40, These passages collectively teach that the system stores configuration data associating access points with specific rooms (spaces), receives connectivity and signal strength data for devices connected to those access points, analyzes that data to generate performance statistics (including aggregated proximity-related information for devices in a given space), and presents connectivity status via a user interface indicating when devices are out of range of the gateway).
Regarding claim 12, Saraf et al. teaches determining, based on the configuration, that a second subset of the plurality of architectural coverings is associated with a second space; determining, based on the configuration, that the response excludes information about a proximity of the gateway with at least a second architectural covering of the second subset; and presenting, at the user interface, an indication that the second space is outside of the connectivity range of the gateway (Paragraph 21, 24, 25, 31, 40-42, These passages teach that stored configuration and connectivity data associate subsets of devices with specific spaces (rooms/floors), identify which devices are not connected or out of range of the gateway (thus excluding proximity/connectivity information for that subset), and present this association and absence of connectivity at the user interface).
Regarding claim 13, Saraf et al. teaches a device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing computer-readable instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, configure the device to: determine a configuration of a plurality of architectural coverings located within a structure, wherein the configuration is associated with a structure identifier of the structure, and wherein the plurality of architectural coverings comprise a first architectural covering located within a space of the structure (Paragraph 20, 21, 31 , These passages teach determining and storing a network configuration of multiple access points within a structure, where each device is associated with specific locations (rooms/floors) and identifiable by assigned names tied to the structure); send, to a gateway, a request for proximity metrics, wherein the request comprises the structure identifier (Paragraph 35, 47, These passages teach sending a query/request from a device or app to the gateway/access point to obtain information about device association within the structured network configuration); and present an indication of the first proximity at a user interface of the device.
Saraf et al. does not explicitly teach receive, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering.
However, Ramisetti et al. teaches receive, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering (Paragraph 37, 39, 46 , These passages teach receiving responses including signal strength (a proximity metric) from identified devices (device identifiers), where the signal strength directly indicates proximity between the gateway (thermostat) and the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering as taught by Ramisetti in the system of Saraf et al., so that it would enable the system to return quantified proximity information for identified devices within the determined structural configuration, thereby improving the accuracy and usefulness of the presented association information at the user interface.
Regarding claim 14, Saraf et al. teaches the gateway is a first gateway, and wherein the execution of the computer-readable instructions further configure the device to: present, at the user interface, a first field for inputting a first gateway identifier of the first gateway; receive first user input at the first field, wherein the first user input indicates the first gateway identifier; and send the first gateway identifier to the first gateway (Paragraph 20, 26, 35, 41, 43, 47, 50, These passages teach a gateway/router as a distinct access point, a user interface (web/app/voice) that presents interactive input functionality for identifying a specific access point by name, receiving user-provided input identifying that gateway, and transmitting the resulting text command to the gateway/access point for processing).
Regarding claim 15, Saraf et al. teaches the execution of the computer- readable instructions further configure the device to: send, to a computer system, the structure identifier, the first gateway identifier, and the response; receive, from the computer system, a control indication that the space and the first architectural covering are to be controlled via the first gateway; and present the control indication at the user interface (Paragraph 30, 31, 35, 37, 38, 41, These passages collectively teach that the gateway/router executes computer-readable instructions to send network configuration and connectivity information (including identifiers of the location/structure and associated access point) to a cloud server computer system, receive or implement server-based control determinations regarding which access point controls a device in a particular space, and present that control information to the user via a graphical or voice user interface ).
Regarding claim 16, Saraf et al. teaches the execution of the computer- readable instructions further configure the device to: receive, from the computer system prior to sending the response, the configuration (Paragraph 31, 35, 38, 47, These passages teach that the gateway/router executes instructions that receive configuration-related data and commands from an external computer system (e.g., server or voice processing engine) before processing and providing a response).
Regarding claim 17, Saraf et al. teaches the execution of the computer- readable instructions further configure the device to: present, at the user interface, a second field for adding a second gateway within the structure; receive second user input at the second field, wherein the second user input indicates that the second gateway is to be added; present, at the user interface, a third field for inputting a second gateway identifier of the second gateway; receive third user input at the third field, wherein the third user input indicates the second gateway identifier; and send the second gateway identifier to the second gateway (Paragraph 21, 28-30, 33, 35, These passages teach that executable instructions configure the WiFi network through a user interface that allows user interaction and identification of access points by assigned names, and that the gateway/router communicates configuration information to other network devices via wired or wireless interfaces).
Regarding claim 18, Saraf et al. teaches the request, the response, and the space are a first request, a first response, and a first space, respectively, and wherein the execution of the computer-readable instructions further configure the device to: send, to the second gateway, a second request for proximity metrics, wherein the second request comprises the structure identifier; receive, from the second gateway, a second response to the second request; send, to a computer system, the structure identifier, the first gateway identifier, the first response, the second gateway identifier, and the second response; receive, from the computer system, a first control indication that the first space and the first architectural covering are to be controlled via the first gateway and a second control indication that a second space within the structure and a second architectural covering located within the second space are to be controlled via the second gateway; and present the first control indication and the second control indication at the user interface (Paragraph 20, 30–31, 37–38, 41, 47, These passages collectively teach a system with multiple gateways associated with specific spaces, execution of stored instructions to send and receive multiple queries/responses between devices and different gateways, forwarding collected identifiers and responses to a remote computer system for processing and generation of control decisions that determine which space/device is handled by which gateway, and presenting those resulting control indications at a user interface).
Regarding claim 19, Saraf et al. teaches the execution of the computer- readable instructions further configure the device to: send, to the first gateway, the first control indication and at least a first portion of the configuration; and send, to the second gateway, the second control indication and at least a second portion of the configuration (Paragraph 20, 30, 37, 47, 50, These passages teach a WiFi network including multiple gateways/access points and a processor that configures and reconfigures individual access points by sending control commands and configuration-related information to specific access points).
Regarding claim 20, Saraf et al. teaches one or more computer-readable media storing computer-readable instructions that, upon execution on a device, cause the device to perform operations comprising: determining a configuration of a plurality of architectural coverings located within a structure, wherein the configuration is associated with a structure identifier of the structure, and wherein the plurality of architectural coverings comprise a first architectural covering located within a space of the structure (Paragraph 20, 21, 31 , These passages teach determining and storing a network configuration of multiple access points within a structure, where each device is associated with specific locations (rooms/floors) and identifiable by assigned names tied to the structure); sending, to a gateway, a request for proximity metrics, wherein the request comprises the structure identifier (Paragraph 35, 47, These passages teach sending a query/request from a device or app to the gateway/access point to obtain information about device association within the structured network configuration); and presenting an indication of the first proximity at a user interface of the device.
Saraf et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering.
However, Ramisetti et al. teaches receiving, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering (Paragraph 37, 39, 46 , These passages teach receiving responses including signal strength (a proximity metric) from identified devices (device identifiers), where the signal strength directly indicates proximity between the gateway (thermostat) and the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from the gateway, a response to the request, wherein the response comprises a first proximity metric and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a first proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering as taught by Ramisetti in the system of Saraf et al., so that it would enable the system to return quantified proximity information for identified devices within the determined structural configuration, thereby improving the accuracy and usefulness of the presented association information at the user interface.
Allowable Subject Matter
The applicant could consider adding concepts directed to the direct-connection setup mode in which the device establishes a short-range wireless connection (e.g., BLUETOOTH or BLUETOOTH Low Energy) with the gateway prior to the gateway joining a local area network, and transmits both a structure identifier and a gateway identifier for storage at the gateway. The claim could further incorporate that each architectural covering periodically transmits broadcast signals (e.g., advertisement beacons) at predetermined intervals, the broadcast signals including the structure identifier, a covering identifier, covering type/model information, battery level, MAC address, and real-time position information (e.g., extension/retraction position, vane tilt angle, light transmission percentage), and that the gateway filters broadcasts based on the structure identifier to exclude neighboring structures and generates proximity metrics by measuring and smoothing RSSI values over a time window. Additional concepts could include that the device maps covering identifiers to space identifiers from the configuration and computes per-space proximity metrics (e.g., averages or other statistical measures), compares those metrics and/or worst-case covering metrics to one or more threshold values to determine whether a space is within a connectivity range, ranks or sorts spaces and coverings based on proximity, and presents expandable graphical indications including connectivity strength bars and real-time animated covering position states. The claim could also reflect sending the collected proximity information to a remote computer system that automatically assigns gateways to spaces and/or coverings based on both proximity and load balancing considerations (e.g., grouping coverings in the same space to the same gateway while balancing total coverings per gateway), and that the gateway, upon later connecting to a LAN, requests and receives only the configuration portion corresponding to its assigned spaces and establishes direct bidirectional connections using one or more radios that distribute connections according to a least-loaded-per-space algorithm. Further refinements could include periodic monitoring and reporting of updated proximity metrics to detect connectivity degradation over time and trigger reassignment or user notifications, as well as supporting sequential or parallel command transmission over multiple radios to create substantially synchronous operation of multiple coverings within a space.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Benoliel et al. (US 20200128385 A1)
Zhao et al. (US 20210037104 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464