DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 03/15/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected and claim 15 is objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gilson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0127911 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gilson teaches
A method implemented by a gateway (Gilson [0001-0003]: method by a gateway), the method comprising:
receiving, from a device and over a direct connection with the device (Gilson [0003] and [0026]: receive from a user device; Gilson fig. 3 303 gateways receiving messages directly from devices 301), a structure identifier associated with a structure in which the gateway is located (Gilson [0063]: outgoing gateway message a version of the received message which includes gateway information table with identifying information; Gilson [0099] and table 3: gateway information table associated with a geographical location);
storing the structure identifier (Gilson [0098]: gateway information table for storing information corresponding to gateways);
sending, to a computer system and over a data network, a first request for a configuration of a plurality of architectural coverings located within the structure, wherein the first request includes the structure identifier (Gilson [0063]: outgoing gateway message to a network server (computer system) a version of the received message which includes an identifier of the gateway (sent over a network); Gilson [0099] and table 3: gateway information table associated with a geographical location);
receiving, from the computer system and over the data network, a first response to the first request, wherein the first response comprises the configuration and indicates that the gateway is associated with at least a first architectural covering of the plurality of architecture coverings (Gilson [0127]: server transmitting to the gateways (gateway receiving response from the network server (computer system)); [0134]: “The network server 305 may send configuration instructions to the gateways in a similar manner as in step 509”; Gilson [0037-0038] and [0052-0054]: network server instructions to gateway include information regarding the gateway’s communication with a user device; [0024]: “The user device may also be a household device such as window blinds” (the user device being window blinds; i.e. gateway is associated with the architectural covering (blinds), associated can be to any degree)); and
establishing a connection with the first architectural covering based on the configuration (Gilson [0024]: “The user device may also be a household device such as window blinds”; Gilson [0037-0038] and [0052-0054]: network server instructions to gateway include information regarding the gateway’s communication with a user device, “subset of gateways may be selected for forwarding messages from the user device”- showing that the network server configuration instructions are responsible for the connection between the gateway and architectural covering/user device).
Regarding claim 2, Gilson teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), further comprising:
receiving, from the device and over the direct connection with the device, a gateway identifier of the gateway ([0042]: user device identifier; gateway uses the user device identifier for forwarding priority (identifying gateway priority), it is being seen as a naming convention as the cited identifier contains the information required by the claim; [0056]: “the gateway may obtain and store information associated with the received message. For example, the gateway may extract, from the received message, header data (e.g., an identifier of the user device that sent the message”); and
storing the gateway identifier, wherein the first request further comprises the gateway identifier, and wherein the first response indicates that the configuration is associated with the gateway identifier (Gilson [0056] and [0059]: “the gateway may obtain and store information associated with the received message; [0039]: delivering data from the user devices to the network server 305).
Regarding claim 9, Gilson teaches
A gateway (Gilson [0001-0003]: gateway) comprising:
one or more processors (Gilson fig. 2); and one or more memories storing computer-readable instructions that (Gilson [0051]: gateway memory), upon execution by the one or more processors (Gilson [0026] and fig. 2), configure the gateway to:
receive, from a device and over a direct connection with the device (Gilson [0003] and [0026]: receive from a user device; Gilson fig. 3 303 gateways receiving messages directly from devices 301), a structure identifier associated with a structure in which the gateway is located (Gilson [0063]: outgoing gateway message a version of the received message which includes gateway information table with identifying information; Gilson [0099] and table 3: gateway information table associated with a geographical location);
store the structure identifier (Gilson [0098]: gateway information table for storing information corresponding to gateways);
send, to a computer system and over a data network, a first request for a configuration of a plurality of architectural coverings located within the structure, wherein the first request includes the structure identifier (Gilson [0063]: outgoing gateway message to a network server (computer system) a version of the received message which includes an identifier of the gateway (sent over a network); Gilson [0099] and table 3: gateway information table associated with a geographical location);
receive, from the computer system and over the data network, a first response to the first request, wherein the first response comprises the configuration and indicates that the gateway is associated with at least a first architectural covering of the plurality of architecture coverings (Gilson [0127]: server transmitting to the gateways (gateway receiving response from the network server (computer system)); [0134]: “The network server 305 may send configuration instructions to the gateways in a similar manner as in step 509”; Gilson [0037-0038] and [0052-0054]: network server instructions to gateway include information regarding the gateway’s communication with a user device; [0024]: “The user device may also be a household device such as window blinds” (the user device being window blinds; i.e. gateway is associated with the architectural covering (blinds), associated can be to any degree)); and
establish a connection with the first architectural covering based on the configuration (Gilson [0024]: “The user device may also be a household device such as window blinds”; Gilson [0037-0038] and [0052-0054]: network server instructions to gateway include information regarding the gateway’s communication with a user device, “subset of gateways may be selected for forwarding messages from the user device”- showing that the network server configuration instructions are responsible for the connection between the gateway and architectural covering/user device).
Regarding claim 10, Gilson teaches
The gateway of claim 9 (the limitations of parent claim 9 as indicated above), wherein the execution of the computer-readable instructions further configure the gateway to:
include a gateway identifier of the gateway in the first request (Gilson [0042]: user device identifier; gateway uses the user device identifier for forwarding priority (identifying gateway priority), it is being seen as a naming convention as the cited identifier contains the information required by the claim; [0056]: “the gateway may obtain and store information associated with the received message. For example, the gateway may extract, from the received message, header data (e.g., an identifier of the user device that sent the message”); and
store the configuration in local memory of the gateway (Gilson [0056] and [0059]: “the gateway may obtain and store information associated with the received message; [0039]: delivering data from the user devices to the network server 305).
Regarding claim 16, Gilson teaches
One or more computer-readable media storing computer-readable instructions (Gilson fig. 2) that, upon execution on a gateway (Gilson [0002-0003]), cause the gateway to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a device and over a direct connection with the device, a structure identifier associated with a structure in which the gateway is located (Gilson [0003] and [0026]: receive from a user device; Gilson fig. 3 303 gateways receiving messages directly from devices 301; Gilson [0063]: outgoing gateway message a version of the received message which includes gateway information table with identifying information; Gilson [0099] and table 3: gateway information table associated with a geographical location);
storing the structure identifier (Gilson [0098]: gateway information table for storing information corresponding to gateways);
sending, to a computer system and over a data network, a first request for a configuration of a plurality of architectural coverings located within the structure, wherein the first request includes the structure identifier (Gilson [0063]: outgoing gateway message to a network server (computer system) a version of the received message which includes an identifier of the gateway (sent over a network); Gilson [0099] and table 3: gateway information table associated with a geographical location);
receiving, from the computer system and over the data network, a first response to the first request, wherein the first response comprises the configuration and indicates that the gateway is associated with at least a first architectural covering of the plurality of architecture coverings (Gilson [0127]: server transmitting to the gateways (gateway receiving response from the network server (computer system)); [0134]: “The network server 305 may send configuration instructions to the gateways in a similar manner as in step 509”; Gilson [0037-0038] and [0052-0054]: network server instructions to gateway include information regarding the gateway’s communication with a user device; [0024]: “The user device may also be a household device such as window blinds” (the user device being window blinds; i.e. gateway is associated with the architectural covering (blinds), associated can be to any degree)); and
establishing a connection with the first architectural covering based on the configuration (Gilson [0024]: “The user device may also be a household device such as window blinds”; Gilson [0037-0038] and [0052-0054]: network server instructions to gateway include information regarding the gateway’s communication with a user device, “subset of gateways may be selected for forwarding messages from the user device”- showing that the network server configuration instructions are responsible for the connection between the gateway and architectural covering/user device).
Regarding claim 17, Gilson teaches
The one or more computer-readable media of claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, from the device and over the direct connection with the device, a gateway identifier of the gateway ([0042]: user device identifier; gateway uses the user device identifier for forwarding priority (identifying gateway priority), it is being seen as a naming convention as the cited identifier contains the information required by the claim; [0056]: “the gateway may obtain and store information associated with the received message. For example, the gateway may extract, from the received message, header data (e.g., an identifier of the user device that sent the message”); and
storing the gateway identifier, wherein the first request further comprises the gateway identifier, and wherein the first response indicates that the configuration is associated with the gateway identifier (Gilson [0056] and [0059]: “the gateway may obtain and store information associated with the received message; [0039]: delivering data from the user devices to the network server 305).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, 13-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0127911 A1) in view of Ansari (Pub. No.: US 2021/0218571 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Gilson teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), further comprising:
storing the configuration (Gilson [0056] and [0059]: “the gateway may obtain and store information associated with the received message),
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach wherein the configuration identifies a set of the plurality of architectural coverings to be controlled via the gateway and a mapping of the set to spaces within the structure.
However, Ansari, in the analogous art of gateway device communications, teaches
wherein the configuration identifies a set of the plurality of architectural coverings to be controlled via the gateway (Ansari [0036] and [0087]: architectural coverings (endpoint devices) controlled by the gateway (such as controlled window blinds)) and a mapping of the set to spaces within the structure (Ansari [0245-0248]: map builder for spaces within the structure (location)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Ansari and have the configuration identify a set of the plurality of architectural coverings to be controlled via the gateway and a mapping of the set to spaces within the structure. Doing so would provide managed services for supporting and managing the emerging digital home including providing a gateway appliance that can offer managed services to its users to include incorporation of a causation and correlation engine abilities that enable broader services for users (Ansari [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Gilson teaches
The gateway of claim 10 (the limitations of parent claim 10 as indicated above),
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach wherein the configuration identifies a plurality of spaces within the structure and a set of architectural coverings per space to be controlled via the gateway.
However, Ansari, in the analogous art of gateway device communications, teaches
wherein the configuration identifies a plurality of spaces within the structure and a set of architectural coverings per space to be controlled via the gateway (Ansari [0036] and [0087]: architectural coverings (endpoint devices) controlled by the gateway (such as controlled window blinds); Ansari [0245-0248]: map builder for spaces within the structure (location)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Ansari and have the configuration identify a set of the plurality of architectural coverings to be controlled via the gateway and a mapping of the set to spaces within the structure. Doing so would provide managed services for supporting and managing the emerging digital home including providing a gateway appliance that can offer managed services to its users to include incorporation of a causation and correlation engine abilities that enable broader services for users (Ansari [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Gilson modified by Ansari teaches
The gateway of claim 11 (the limitations of parent claim 11 as indicated above), wherein the execution of the computer-readable instructions further configure the gateway to:
Upon initial examination Gilson appears to be silent regarding the remainder of the limitations of claim 13.
However, Ansari, in the analogous art of gateway device communications, teaches
receive, from the device, another device, or the computer system, a second request to control an operation of a first set of architectural coverings associated with a first space within the structure (Ansari [0036], [0101], and [0087]: gateway receiving control information regarding architectural coverings);
determine, based on the configuration, first architectural coverings that belong to the first set (Ansari [0034]: endpoint device associated with the gateway (belonging to the first set); further, [0253]: talks about a group builder process to group items together, i.e. different endpoint devices);
establish a connection with each one of the first architectural coverings (Ansari [0034]: communications with endpoint devices by the gateway); and
send, to the first architectural coverings, a command to perform the operation (Ansari [0034]: bidirectional communication with endpoint devices; [0299-00230] and [0253]: gateway sending commands).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Ansari and have architectural coverings belonging to a set and receive a request to control operations of a set of coverings. Doing so would provide managed services for supporting and managing the emerging digital home including providing a gateway appliance that can offer managed services to its users to include incorporation of a causation and correlation engine abilities that enable broader services for users (Ansari [0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Gilson modified by Ansari teaches
The gateway of claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above),
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach wherein the connections with the first architectural coverings are established simultaneously and wherein the command is sent to one of the first architectural coverings sequentially.
However, Ansari, in the analogous art of gateway device communications, teaches
wherein the connections with the first architectural coverings are established simultaneously (Ansari [0245]: When enabled, the gateway will be able to communicate simultaneously) and wherein the command is sent to one of the first architectural coverings sequentially (Ansari [0175]: according to a schedule or priority basis (sequentially)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Ansari and have the connections with the first architectural coverings are established simultaneously and wherein the command is sent to one of the first architectural coverings sequentially. Doing so would provide managed services for supporting and managing the emerging digital home including providing a gateway appliance that can offer managed services to its users to include incorporation of a causation and correlation engine abilities that enable broader services for users (Ansari [0028]).
Regarding claim 18, Gilson teaches
The one or more computer-readable media of claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), wherein the operations further comprise:
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach storing the configuration, wherein the configuration identifies a set of the plurality of architectural coverings to be controlled via the gateway and a mapping of the set to spaces within the structure.
However, Ansari, in the analogous art of gateway device communications, teaches
storing the configuration, wherein the configuration identifies a set of the plurality of architectural coverings to be controlled via the gateway and a mapping of the set to spaces within the structure (Ansari [0036] and [0087]: architectural coverings (endpoint devices) controlled by the gateway (such as controlled window blinds); Ansari [0245-0248]: map builder for spaces within the structure (location)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Ansari and have the configuration identify a set of the plurality of architectural coverings to be controlled via the gateway and a mapping of the set to spaces within the structure. Doing so would provide managed services for supporting and managing the emerging digital home including providing a gateway appliance that can offer managed services to its users to include incorporation of a causation and correlation engine abilities that enable broader services for users (Ansari [0028]).
Claims 4-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0127911 A1) in view of Wesley (EP 3793173 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Gilson teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), further comprising:
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach the remaining limitations of claim 4.
However, Wesley, in the analogous art of architectural structure coverings, teaches
receiving, from the device and over the direct connection with the device, a second request for proximity metrics of architectural coverings, wherein the second request comprises the structure identifier; (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area)
receiving, from the first architectural covering, a first broadcast signal, wherein the first broadcast signal indicates the structure identifier and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: “receives a broadcast signal transmitted by an architectural structure covering that is located in an area. The broadcast signal includes an identifier (ID) of the architectural structure covering (e.g., the name and/or the type of the architectural structure covering from the informational data about this covering). The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area”);
determining a first proximity metric based on the first broadcast signal, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering (Wesley cl. 1: determining proximity of a plurality of architectural structure coverings using broadcast signal); and
sending, to the device, a second response to the second request, wherein the second response comprises the first proximity metric and an indication that the first proximity metric is associated with the first architectural covering identifier (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: “The broadcast signal includes an identifier (ID) of the architectural structure covering (e.g., the name and/or the type of the architectural structure covering from the informational data about this covering). The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Wesley and proximity metrics based on the broadcast signal and having an identifier of the architectural coverings. Doing so would allow a user to more directly interact with the coverings and/or control the coverings without needing to move back and forth among the coverings to identify the control pairings between the user device and the coverings (Wesley pg. 3 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 5, Gilson modified by Wesley teaches
The method of claim 4 (the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above),
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach the remaining limitations of claim 5.
However, Wesley, in the analogous art of architectural structure coverings, teaches
wherein the first proximity metric is determined based on a plurality of received signal strength indicators (RSSIs) that correspond to broadcast signals of the first architectural covering (Wesley pg. 12 paragraph 2: “measures the power present in the received signal to generate a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value. The RSSI value is then smoothed to obtain relative proximity”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Wesley and have the first proximity metric is determined based on a plurality of received signal strength indicators (RSSIs) that correspond to broadcast signals of the first architectural covering. Doing so would allow a user to more directly interact with the coverings and/or control the coverings without needing to move back and forth among the coverings to identify the control pairings between the user device and the coverings (Wesley pg. 3 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 6, Gilson modified by Wesley teaches
The method of claim 4 (the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above), further comprising:
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach the remaining limitations of claim 6.
However, Wesley, in the analogous art of architectural structure coverings, teaches
receiving, from a second architectural covering, a second broadcast signal, wherein the second broadcast signal indicates a different structure identifier (Wesley pg. 12 paragraph 2: the broadcast signals 226 (e.g., upon opening the UI application) and receives the broadcast signal 226 from each of the architectural structure coverings 204-210 (different coverings corresponding to a different broadcast signal)); and
filtering out information about the second architectural covering from information to include in the second response (Wesley pg. 12 paragraph 2: selectively scans for the broadcast signals 226 (filtering information about the second architectural covering from information); pg. 17 paragraph 2: the method 400 includes authenticating or filtering an edifice identifier at operation 416 so that only coverings that are associated with the edifice are listed).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Wesley and receiving, from a second architectural covering, a second broadcast signal, wherein the second broadcast signal indicates a different structure identifier and filter out information about the second architectural covering. Doing so would allow a user to more directly interact with the coverings and/or control the coverings without needing to move back and forth among the coverings to identify the control pairings between the user device and the coverings (Wesley pg. 3 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 7, Gilson teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), further comprising:
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach the remaining limitations of claim 7.
However, Wesley, in the analogous art of architectural structure coverings, teaches
monitoring, at predefined time intervals, broadcast signals of the first architectural covering identifier (Wesley pg. 11 paragraph 2 and pg. 16 paragraph 1: broadcast signals are monitored over a predefined period of time/time interval);
receiving, from the device, a second request for proximity metrics of architectural coverings (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: “receives a broadcast signal transmitted by an architectural structure covering that is located in an area”); and
generating, after receiving the second request, a first proximity metric based on the broadcast signals, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a proximity of the gateway and the first architectural covering (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: “receives a broadcast signal transmitted by an architectural structure covering that is located in an area. The broadcast signal includes an identifier (ID) of the architectural structure covering (e.g., the name and/or the type of the architectural structure covering from the informational data about this covering). The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area”); and
sending, to the device, a second response to the second request, wherein the second response comprises the first proximity metric (Wesley cl. 1: determining proximity of a plurality of architectural structure coverings using broadcast signal; pg. 19 paragraph 1: The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Wesley and monitoring, at predefined time intervals, broadcast signals of the first architectural covering identifier a second request for proximity metrics of architectural coverings and generating, after receiving the second request, a first proximity metric based on the broadcast signals, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a proximity of the gateway and the first architectural covering and sending, to the device, a second response to the second request, wherein the second response comprises the first proximity metric. Doing so would allow a user to more directly interact with the coverings and/or control the coverings without needing to move back and forth among the coverings to identify the control pairings between the user device and the coverings (Wesley pg. 3 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 8, Gilson modified by Wesley teaches
The method of claim 7 (the limitations of parent claim 7 as indicated above), further comprising:
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach the remaining limitations of claim 8.
However, Wesley, in the analogous art of architectural structure coverings, teaches
receiving, from the computer system, a third request for proximity metrics of architectural coverings (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area); and
generating, after receiving the third request, a second proximity metric based on the broadcast signals (Wesley cl. 1: determining proximity of a plurality of architectural structure coverings using broadcast signal); and
sending, to the computer system, a third response to the third request, wherein the third response comprises the second proximity metric (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: “The broadcast signal includes an identifier (ID) of the architectural structure covering (e.g., the name and/or the type of the architectural structure covering from the informational data about this covering). The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Wesley and receive, from the computer system, a third request for proximity metrics of architectural coverings; and generating, after receiving the third request, a second proximity metric based on the broadcast signals; and sending, to the computer system, a third response to the third request, wherein the third response comprises the second proximity metric. Doing so would allow a user to more directly interact with the coverings and/or control the coverings without needing to move back and forth among the coverings to identify the control pairings between the user device and the coverings (Wesley pg. 3 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 19, Gilson teaches
The one or more computer-readable media of claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), wherein the operations further comprise:
Gilson does not appear to teach the remainder of the limitations for claim 16.
However, Wesley, in the analogous art of architectural structure coverings, teaches
receiving, from the device and over the direct connection with the device, a second request for proximity metrics of architectural coverings, wherein the second request comprises the structure identifier (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area);
receiving, from the first architectural covering, a first broadcast signal, wherein the first broadcast signal indicates the structure identifier and a first architectural covering identifier of the first architectural covering (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: “receives a broadcast signal transmitted by an architectural structure covering that is located in an area. The broadcast signal includes an identifier (ID) of the architectural structure covering (e.g., the name and/or the type of the architectural structure covering from the informational data about this covering). The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area”);
determining a first proximity metric based on the first broadcast signal, wherein the first proximity metric indicates a proximity between the gateway and the first architectural covering (Wesley cl. 1: determining proximity of a plurality of architectural structure coverings using broadcast signal); and
sending, to the device, a second response to the second request, wherein the second response comprises the first proximity metric and an indication that the first proximity metric is associated with the first architectural covering identifier (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: “The broadcast signal includes an identifier (ID) of the architectural structure covering (e.g., the name and/or the type of the architectural structure covering from the informational data about this covering). The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Wesley and proximity metrics based on the broadcast signal and having an identifier of the architectural coverings. Doing so would allow a user to more directly interact with the coverings and/or control the coverings without needing to move back and forth among the coverings to identify the control pairings between the user device and the coverings (Wesley pg. 3 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 20, Gilson modified by Wesley teaches
The one or more computer-readable media of claim 19 (the limitations of parent claim 19 as indicated above),
Upon initial examination Gilson does not appear to teach the remaining limitations of claim 20.
However, Wesley, in the analogous art of architectural structure coverings, teaches
wherein the first proximity metric is determined based on a plurality of received signal strength indicators (RSSIs) that corresponds to broadcast signals of the first architectural covering (Wesley pg. 12 paragraph 2: “measures the power present in the received signal to generate a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value. The RSSI value is then smoothed to obtain relative proximity”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Wesley and have the first proximity metric is determined based on a plurality of received signal strength indicators (RSSIs) that correspond to broadcast signals of the first architectural covering. Doing so would allow a user to more directly interact with the coverings and/or control the coverings without needing to move back and forth among the coverings to identify the control pairings between the user device and the coverings (Wesley pg. 3 paragraph 1).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0127911 A1) in view of Ansari (Pub. No.: US 2021/0218571 A1) further in view of Wesley (EP 3793173 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Gilson modified by Ansari teaches
The gateway of claim 11 (the limitations of parent claim 11 as indicated above), wherein the execution of the computer-readable instructions further configure the gateway to:
Upon initial examination Gilson modified by Ansari does not appear to teach the remaining limitations of claim 12.
However, Wesley, in the analogous art of architectural structure coverings, teaches
receive, from the computer system, a second request for proximity metrics of architectural coverings (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area);
generate, after receiving the second request, second proximity metrics corresponding to one or more architectural coverings of the plurality of architectural coverings (Wesley pg. 19 paragraph 1: “receives a broadcast signal transmitted by an architectural structure covering that is located in an area. The broadcast signal includes an identifier (ID) of the architectural structure covering (e.g., the name and/or the type of the architectural structure covering from the informational data about this covering). The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area”); and
send, to the computer system, a second response to the second request, wherein the second response comprises the second proximity metrics (Wesley cl. 1: determining proximity of a plurality of architectural structure coverings using broadcast signal; pg. 19 paragraph 1: The user device can use the ID in a look-up of a data store that contains information about groups of architectural structure coverings (e.g., a data structure that associates each group ID, with information about area, and information about any architectural structure coverings belonging to the group and located in the area). Based on the look-up, the user device can determine the group to which the architectural structure covering belongs and the corresponding area).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Gilson and Ansari to incorporate the teachings of Wesley and receive a request for proximity metrics and send a response comprising the proximity metrics. Doing so would allow a user to more directly interact with the coverings and/or control the coverings without needing to move back and forth among the coverings to identify the control pairings between the user device and the coverings (Wesley pg. 3 paragraph 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 15 in part recites: “the gateway comprises first radio and a second radio, and wherein the execution of the computer-readable instructions further configure the gateway to: receive, from the device, another device, or the computer system, a second request to control an operation of architectural coverings associated with the plurality of spaces; determine that first architectural coverings located within a first space are to be connected with the gateway via the first radio; determine that second architectural coverings located within a second space are to be connected with the gateway via the second radio; determine that third architectural coverings of located within a third space are to be connected with the gateway via the first radio based on a determination the first radio has the least number of connections; and send, to the first architectural coverings, the second architectural coverings, and the third architectural coverings, a command to perform the operation”. This in combination with the rest of the limitations from the claims in which 15 is dependent on differentiate from found prior art.
Conclusion
The following art not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Dawes et al (Pub. No.: US 2023/0086344 A1) discloses a gateway used to control a system for architectural coverings (sensors for windows).
Hu (Pub. No.: US 2020/0169861 A1) teaches a server connected to a gateway for controlling architectural components.
/R.E.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412