DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/692,647 filed on 03/15/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 07/10/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-64 are cancelled.
-Claims 65-90 are pending.
-Claims 65-69, 72-73, 76, 77, 80-90 are rejected.
-Claims 70, 71, 74, 75, 78, 79 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2022/119306, filed 09/16/2022.
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
6. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 14, filed on 07/10/2026, with respect to Claim Objections have been considered in light of applicant’s amendments.
The Claim objections pertaining Claims 65-68, 70-75, 77-81, 83-84 due to various reasons as previously presented in the most recent non-final rejection are withdrawn.
The office notes that applicant has not addressed suggestions made in objections to claims 85-90 as previously presented, and applicant’s non-response to the objections to claims 85-90 is treated as applicant choosing not to incorporate the steps of each respective method of independent claims recited, into the claims 85-90, and therefore to formalize claims 85-90 status as being dependent upon respective independent claims 65, 72, 80 as recited within the claims 85-90.
While applicant has not addressed objections to Claims 65, 72, 74, 80 as pertains to recitations “from/to”, to advance prosecution applicant’s response to objections to “and/or” which addresses identical objections made to “from/to”, are utilized as applicant’s formal interpretation for recitation of “and/or” and “from/to” as recited in applicant’s claims, i.e. (see page 14 of applicant’s response) “'and/or' covers embodiments having element A alone, element B alone, or elements A and B taken together”, where the office accordingly applies element A is representative of “and” and element B is representative of “or” as applicable to “and/or”, and separately element A is representative of “from” and element B is representative of “to” as applicable to “from/to”.
Should applicant contend otherwise regarding recitations “from/to” applicant should respond as appropriate.
7. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 14, filed on 07/10/2026, with respect to Rejection of claims Under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been considered in light of applicant’s amendments. The rejections under 35 USC § 112 of claims 65-90 as previously presented in the most recent non-final rejection are withdrawn.
8. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 14, filed on 07/10/2026, with respect to Rejection of claims Under 35 U.S.C § 101 have been considered in light of applicant’s amendments. The rejections under 35 USC § 101 of claims 86, 88, 90 as previously presented in the most recent non-final rejection are withdrawn.
9. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 15-18, filed on 07/10/2026, with respect to Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent Claims have been considered, and are moot for the same reasons noted above, and are not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Objections
10. Claims 65, 68, 70, 72, 73, 74, 75 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Claims 65, 72 all recite instances of terms “the selected mapping” for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the selected at least one mapping”) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “selected mapping”. Using claim 65 as an example representing similar features in claim 72, claim 65 recites “selecting which appears to provide antecedent basis for “the” “mapping” “selected”, and to avoid any questions raised about antecedent basis “the selected mapping” is interpreted as intended to represent “the” “mapping” “selected”, finding antecedent basis in “selecting The same interpretation is applied to “the selected mapping” in claim 72.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Should applicant contend otherwise and for verification, applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Claims 68, 70, 72, 73, 74, 75, recite instance of the following acronyms “PC5” or “Uu” or “Qos”.
The examiner requests and requires applicant to spell out the acronyms “PC5” or “Uu” in the subject claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
12. Claims 65-69, 72-73, 80-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda et al. (US 20230180313 A1) i.e. “Freda” in view of Pan (US 20220210847 A1) i.e. “Pan”.
Regarding Claim 65. (Currently Amended) Freda teaches: A method in a first terminal device (Freda – FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 […] one or more procedures for establishing a Uu session via a relay WTRU. FIG. 8 illustrates an example procedure of establishing a Uu session via a relay WTRU; ¶0214 […] At 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers. Specifically, the remote WTRU may receive, in a Uu RRC reconfiguration message, a Uu bearer configuration (e.g., containing the configuration of PDCP, SDAP only) in addition to the associated RLC bearer configuration […]; ¶0277 […] a relay WTRU performing a Uu connection procedure triggered by a remote WTRU;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0199 i.e. 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, i.e. the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers reads on: A method in a first terminal device),
wherein functions as a relaybetween the first terminal device and a network node (Freda – FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0199 i.e. a Uu session via a relay WTRU reads on: wherein a second terminal device functions as a relay between the first terminal device, Furthermore Per FIG. 8 Step 807 from network via Relay WTRU reads on: and a network node),
the method comprising: receiving(Freda – FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 see above; ¶0218 […] a remote WTRU may determine whether or not to initiate a relay/association link with a relay WTRU and/or initiate SL bearer configuration procedure(s) based on one or more factors/triggers, such as: […] measurements of the SL at the remote/relay WTRU; QoS of the Uu flows/bearers configured at the remote WTRU […];
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0214 […] At 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers) reads on: the method comprising: receiving, a configuration. Furthermore per ¶0218 i.e. a remote WTRU may determine whether or not to initiate a relay/association link with a relay WTRU and/or initiate SL bearer configuration procedure(s) based on one or more factors/triggers, such as: QoS of the Uu flows/bearers configured at the remote WTRU reads on: for a service or flow , where Furthermore Per FIG. 8 Step 807 from network i.e. via Relay WTRU and per ¶0218 i.e. a remote WTRU may determine whether i.e. to initiate a relay/association link with a relay WTRU reads on: by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device)
wherein the configuration comprises: a set of mappings comprising: a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel; and a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel and associates at least the first radio bearer or a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the second RLC channel (Freda FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0251 […] A relay/remote WTRU may relay/map all Uu RRC signaling (e.g., SRB0, SRB1, SRB2) to the one or more dedicated SL-SRB/DRB (e.g., SL RLC bearer). For example, a remote WTRU may map SRB0 to one SL RLC bearer, and SRB1/SRB2 to a second SL RLC bearer. Alternatively, a remote WTRU may map SRB0 Uu messages to a first SL RLC bearer, SRB1 Uu RRC messages to a second SL RLC bearer, and SRB2 Uu RRC messages to a third RLC bearer. Alternatively, the remote WTRU may map SRB0, SRB1, and SRB2, all to the same SL RLC bearer […];
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 8 step 807 and ¶0214 i.e. the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers and per ¶0251 i.e. remote WTRU may relay/map all Uu RRC signaling (e.g., SRB0, SRB1, SRB2) to the one or more dedicated SL-SRB/DRB (e.g., SL RLC bearer) reads on: wherein the configuration comprises: a set of mappings per ¶0251 i.e. map all Uu RRC signaling (e.g., SRB0, SRB1, SRB2) to i.e. the one or more dedicated SL-SRB/DRB (e.g., SL RLC bearer) or i.e. a remote WTRU may map SRB0 to i.e. one SL RLC bearer reads on: comprising: a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel and per ¶0251 i.e. map all Uu RRC signaling (e.g., SRB0, SRB1, SRB2) or i.e. map SRB0 reads on: and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow. Furthermore per ¶0251 i.e.to the one or more dedicated SL-SRB/DRB (e.g., SL RLC bearer) to i.e. one SL RLC bearer reads on: with the first RLC channel, and per ¶0251 i.e. and SRB1/SRB2 to a second SL RLC bearer reads on: and a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel, where per ¶0251 i.e. SRB1/SRB2 reads on: and associates at least the first radio bearer or a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow per ¶0251 i.e. SRB1/SRB2 to a second SL RLC bearer reads on: with the second RLC channel );
selecting set of mappings for the service or flow (Freda - FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0306 […] A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer based on one or more of the following: a (pre)configured mapping of Uu QoS profile to SL QoS profile; a (pre)configured mapping of a Uu QoS profile to SL bearer; a (pre)configured mapping of a Uu bearer configuration or bearer ID to a SL bearer configuration or bearer ID; the determination is made implicitly from the mapping of Uu QoS profile and/or Uu bearer to SL RLC bearer observed/determined by the WTRU from the DL transmissions; the mapping may depend on the SL measurements/characteristics at the remote/relay WTRU such as the CBR, the CSI measurements, the SL RSRP measurements, etc.; the buffer status/occupancy and/or relaying delay at the relay WTRU, possibly determined by the remote WTRU based on status reports from the relay to the remote WTRU; and/or, the measurements of the channel quality of Uu at the relay WTRU;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer based on i.e. the mapping may depend on the SL measurements/characteristics at the remote/relay WTRU reads on: selecting at least one a mapping from the plurality set of mappings for the service or flow),
wherein the selecting is based on:
at least a first condition or measurement for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (Freda - FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0306 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer based on i.e. the mapping may i.e. depend on the SL measurements/characteristics at the remote/relay WTRU reads on: wherein the selecting is based on: at least a first condition or measurement i.e. such as the CBR, the CSI measurements, i.e. the SL RSRP measurements reads on: for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device ),
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
ii) at least a second condition or measurement for a second link between the first terminal device and the network node (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow overan RLC channel identified by the selected mapping(Freda Fig. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0301 […] a SL RLC bearer may be configured for either/both relayed and non-relayed traffic. […] the WTRU may be configured to transmit both relayed and non-relayed traffic on an RLC sidelink bearer. Specifically, the WTRU may be configured with, and/or determine, a SL bearer for non-relayed transmissions (e.g., SL data service), for which the SL bearer may have an RLC sidelink bearer that may also be used for Uu service data. […] the WTRU may map data from both Uu QoS flows and/or a Uu PDCP entity as well as a SL QoS flows and/or a SL PDCP entity to the same SL RLC bearer. The WTRU may include an identifier along with the PDU (e.g., at the PDCP layer, or in an adaptation layer) indicating whether a PDCP PDU contains data from a Uu bearer/Uu QoS flows or SL bearer/SL QoS flows.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0301 i.e. the WTRU may be configured to transmit both relayed and non-relayed traffic on an RLC sidelink bearer reads on: and transmitting per ¶0301 i.e. the WTRU may map data from both Uu QoS flows and/or a Uu PDCP entity as well as a SL QoS flows and/or a SL PDCP entity to the same SL RLC bearer. The WTRU may include an identifier along with the PDU (e.g., at the PDCP layer, or in an adaptation layer) indicating whether i.e. a PDCP PDU contains data from a Uu bearer/Uu QoS flows or SL bearer/SL QoS flows reads on: one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow i.e. WTRU may map data from both Uu QoS flows and/or a Uu PDCP entity as well as a SL QoS flows and/or a SL PDCP entity to the same SL RLC bearer reads on: over an RLC channel , where per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer reads on: identified by the selected mapping).
While Freda teaches: a set of mappings comprising: a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel; and a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel and associates at least the first radio bearer or a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the second RLC channel as noted above, where per ¶0251 a remote WTRU may map SRB0 to one SL RLC bearer, and SRB1/SRB2 to a second SL RLC bearer etc. i.e. map to i.e. one SL RLC bearer and a second SL RLC bearer implies respective a RLC channel, assuming arguendo i.e. Freda implies a RLC channel, and therefore i.e.
Freda does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. italicized portions of claim limitations): radio link control (RLC) channel;
Pan teaches: a set of mappings comprising: a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel; and a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel and associates at least the first radio bearer or a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the second RLC channel (Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 […] For L2 UE-to-Network Relay, for uplink ¶0719 The Uu adaptation layer at Relay UE supports UL bearer mapping between ingress PC5 RLC channels for relaying and egress Uu RLC channels over the Relay UE Uu path. For uplink relaying traffic, the different end-to-end RBs (SRB, DRB) of the same Remote UE and/or different Remote UEs can be subject to N:1 mapping and data multiplexing over one Uu RLC channel; ¶0774 […] an example of association between Uu SRBs, PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels according to one embodiment. In FIG. 21, each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), and each PC5 RLC channel could be associated with one Uu RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 2 shown in FIG. 21). Thus, each Uu RLC channel will be associated with one Uu SRB (i.e. as the mapping 3 shown in FIG. 21). With the mapping information, gNB can know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received. Similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received. Similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 21 and ¶0774 i.e. association between Uu SRBs, PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels reads on: a set of mappings. Furthermore per ¶0774 i.e. each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), and each PC5 RLC channel could be associated with one Uu RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 2 shown in FIG. 21). Thus, each Uu RLC channel will be associated with one Uu SRB (i.e. as the mapping 3 shown in FIG. 21) where FIG. 21 depicts PC RLC Channel S0 reads on: comprising: a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel, i.e. PC RLC Channel S0 mapped to uu SRB0 reads on: and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel. Furthermore FIG. 21 depicts PC RLC Channel S1 reads on: and a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel and per FIG. 21 i.e. i.e. uu PC RLC Channel S1 mapped to uu SRB1 reads on: and associates at least a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the second RLC channel);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with teachings of Pan, since Pan enables supporting device-to-network relay communication in a wireless communication system in an effective manner where mapping information, allows a gNB to know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received (Pan - ¶0774).
Regarding Claim 66. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 65,
furthermore Pan teaches: wherein the first RLC channel is a sidelink RLC channel between the first terminal device and the second terminal device(Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 See claim 65; ¶0719 See claim 65; ¶0774 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 21 and per ¶0774 i.e. each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), FIG. 21 depicts between Remote UE and relay UE side i.e. PC RLC channel S0 mapped to uu SRB0 i.e. depicts PC RLC channel S0 reads on: the first RLC channel is a sidelink RLC channel i.e. FIG. 21 depicts between Remote UE and relay UE side reads on: between the first terminal device and the second terminal device),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the second RLC channel is an RLC channel between the first terminal device and the network node (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda in view of Pan, further with teachings of Pan, since Pan enables supporting device-to-network relay communication in a wireless communication system in an effective manner where mapping information, allows a gNB to know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received (Pan - ¶0774).
Regarding Claim 67. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 65,
wherein the first mapping associates only the first radio bearer with only the first RLC channel (Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 See claim 65; ¶0719 See claim 65; ¶0774 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 21 and per ¶0774 i.e. each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), FIG. 21 depicts between Remote UE and relay UE side i.e. PC RLC channel S0 mapped to uu SRB0 reads on: wherein the first mapping associates only the first radio bearer with only the first RLC channel),
the first mapping associates at least the first radio bearer and a third radio bearer with the first RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the first mapping associates the first radio bearer with i) the first RLC channel and ii) at least the second RLC channel or a third RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda in view of Pan, further with teachings of Pan, since Pan enables supporting device-to-network relay communication in a wireless communication system in an effective manner where mapping information, allows a gNB to know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received (Pan - ¶0774).
Regarding Claim 68. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 65,
furthermore Freda teaches: whereinthe selecting is based on at least a first threshold and the first condition or measurement for the first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (Freda - FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0153 a derivation or mapping may further depend on one or more of the following: Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) ;¶0225 […]the WTRU may be configured with a release condition for each configured Uu bearer, QoS flow, or QoS quantity (e.g., 5QI), where such a release condition may be in terms of a measurement disclosed herein (e.g., CBR). For example, a WTRU may be configured with a threshold CBR; ¶0233 For the conditions relating to or defined by measurements of sidelink (CBR, CR, SL RSRP, SL CQI, etc.), in one example, the remote WTRU in RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE may be configured with a threshold CBR, above which a remote WTRU may release the PC5-RRC connection; ¶0306 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer based on i.e. the mapping may depend on the SL measurements/characteristics at the remote/relay WTRU i.e. such as the CBR, the SL RSRP measurements i.e. per ¶0233 be configured with a threshold CBR reads on: the selecting is based on at least a first threshold and the first condition or measurement per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer reads on: for the first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device),
and the at least one first condition or measurement comprising:
a short term radio channelcondition (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
metric (Freda - FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0306 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer based on i.e. the mapping may depend on the SL measurements/characteristics at the remote/relay WTRU i.e. such as the CBR reads on: and the at least one first condition or measurement comprising: a short term congestion metric),
a Layer-1measurement (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a QoSmetric (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a buffer status (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a power headroom or power efficiency (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a mobility status of the first terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a location of the first terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a need for a link reconfiguration (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 69. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 65,
furthermore Freda teaches: wherein the method further comprises transmitting, to the second terminal device, a mapping indication indicating the selected(Freda FIG. 8 & ¶0215 […] At 808, the remote WTRU may trigger a SL RRC configuration message to configure the RLC bearers associated with the Uu bearers configured by the network. The remote WTRU may derive the RLC bearer configuration to be provided to the relay WTRU from the configuration provided by the network;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0215 At 808, the remote WTRU may trigger a SL RRC configuration message i.e. FIG. 8 for the Relay WTRU reads on: wherein the method further comprises transmitting, to the second terminal device, where per ¶0215 i.e. a SL RRC configuration message to configure the RLC bearers associated with the Uu bearers configured by the network reads on: a mapping indication indicating the selected mapping).
Regarding Claim 72. (Currently Amended) Freda teaches A method in a second terminal device serving as a relay for a first terminal device towards a network node(Freda – FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 See claim 65; ¶0214 See claim 65; ¶0277 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0199 i.e. 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, i.e. the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers where FIG. 8 Step 807 from network via Relay WTRU reads on: A method in a second terminal device serving as a relay i.e. At 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, the remote WTRU may receive reads on: for a first terminal device where FIG. 8 Step 807 from network reads on: towards a network node),
the method comprising: receiving, from the network nodefirst configuration for a service or flow relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device (Freda FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0253 […] a relay WTRU may map all messages received from the remote WTRU over one of the SL RLC bearers for Uu signaling to a Uu RLC bearer for signaling. This Uu RLC bearer may be a new RLC bearer (e.g., Uu RLC bearer corresponding to Relay-SRB0, Relay-SRB1, Relay-SRB2). The relay WTRU may establish this Uu RLC bearers upon reception of an reconfiguration from the network. For example, a relay WTRU may inform the network that it is acting as a relay (e.g., by transmitting SLWTRUInformation following the establishment of the first PC5-RRC connection with a remote WTRU for relaying purposes) and may then receive the configuration of the Uu RLC bearers for Relay-SRB0/1/2 from the network in a reconfiguration message. Alternatively, a relay WTRU may use its existing SRB0/1/2 configuration for transmitting both its own RRC messages as well as any RRC messages received from a SL RLC bearer with a remote WTRU;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0253 i.e. a relay WTRU may inform the network that it is acting as a relay (e.g., by transmitting SLWTRUInformation following the establishment of the first PC5-RRC connection with a remote WTRU for relaying purposes) and may then i.e. receive the configuration of the Uu RLC bearers for Relay-SRB0/1/2 from the network in a reconfiguration message reads on: the method comprising: receiving, from the network nodefollowing the establishment of the first PC5-RRC connection with a remote WTRU for relaying purposes) and may then receive the configuration of the Uu RLC bearers for Relay-SRB0/1/2 reads on: for a service or flow relayed by the second terminal device i.e. as a result of i.e. the PC5 connection and the i.e. corresponding mapping at the WTRU (See claim 65)),
wherein thefirst configuration comprisesa set of mappings comprising:
i) a first mapping that maps a first PC5 radio link control (RLC) channel with a first Uu RLC channel (Freda FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0253 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0253 i.e. a relay WTRU may map all messages received from the remote WTRU over i.e. one of the SL RLC bearers for Uu signaling to a Uu RLC bearer for signaling. This Uu RLC bearer may be a new RLC bearer (e.g., Uu RLC bearer corresponding to Relay-SRB0, Relay-SRB1, Relay-SRB2) reads on: wherein the first configuration comprises: i.e. one of the SL RLC bearers for Uu signaling to a Uu RLC bearer reads on: a set of mappings i.e. one of the SL RLC bearers for Uu signaling to a Uu RLC bearer for signaling. This Uu RLC bearer may be a new RLC bearer (e.g., Uu RLC bearer corresponding to Relay-SRB0, Relay-SRB1, Relay-SRB2 reads on: i) a first mapping that maps furthermore i.e. one of the SL RLC bearers for Uu signaling reads on: a first PC5 radio link control (RLC) channel to furthermore i.e. to a Uu RLC bearer for signaling reads on: a first Uu RLC channel );
and ii) a second mapping (Freda FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0253 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0253 one of the SL RLC bearers for Uu signaling to a Uu RLC reads on: and ii) a second mapping i.e. as applied to the one of the SL RLC bearers );
selectingset of mappings in thefirst configuration for the service or flow (Freda FIG. 1E & ¶0069 […] The source, relay, and/or destination may be any type of entity, such as a WTRU; ¶0306 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 1E depicting relay 192 as a WTRU and per ¶0069 i.e. relay, i.e. may be any type of entity, such as a WTRU and per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer based on i.e. the mapping may depend on the SL measurements/characteristics at the remote/relay WTRU reads on: selecting a mapping from the plurality set of mappings for the service or flow),
wherein the selecting is based on:
i) at least a first condition or measurement for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device
(Freda FIG. 1E & ¶0069 See above; ¶0306 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 1 E & ¶0069 as applied to a relay that is a WTRU, per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer based on i.e. the mapping may i.e. depend on the SL measurements/characteristics at the remote/relay WTRU reads on: wherein the selecting is based on: at least a first condition or measurement i.e. such as the CBR, the CSI measurements, i.e. the SL RSRP measurements reads on: for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device),
ii) at least a second condition or measurement for a second link between the first terminal device and the network node (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
iii) at least a third condition or measurement for a third link between the second terminal device and the network node (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
and transmittingat least a first Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Unit(PDU)of the first terminaldevice carrying the service or flow oveat least a Uu RLC channel identified in the selected mapping (Freda FIG. 1 E & ¶0069 See above; Fig. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0301 See Claim 65; ¶0306 See Claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0069 & FIG. 1E as applied to a i.e. a relay that is a WTRU, i.e. Per ¶0301 i.e. the WTRU may be configured to transmit both relayed and non-relayed traffic on an RLC sidelink bearer reads on: and transmitting per ¶0301 i.e. the WTRU may map data from both Uu QoS flows and/or a Uu PDCP entity as well as a SL QoS flows and/or a SL PDCP entity to the same SL RLC bearer. The WTRU may include an identifier along with the PDU (e.g., at the PDCP layer, or in an adaptation layer) indicating whether i.e. a PDCP PDU contains data from a Uu bearer/Uu QoS flows or SL bearer/SL QoS flows reads on: one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) of the first terminal furthermore per ¶0301 i.e. WTRU may map data from both Uu QoS flows and/or a Uu PDCP entity as well as a SL QoS flows and/or a SL PDCP entity to the same SL RLC bearer reads on: over an RLC channel , where per FIG. 1E & ¶0069 applied to a relay that is a WTRU i.e. per ¶0306 i.e. A WTRU may determine the mapping of i.e. a Uu bearer or Uu QoS flow to SL RLC bearer reads on: over a Uu RLC channel identified in the selected mapping).
While Freda teaches a first mapping that maps a first PC5 radio link control (RLC) channel with a first Uu RLC channel as referenced above, where per ¶0253 i.e. RLC bearers and i.e. RLC bearer implies a RLC channel, assuming arguendo i.e. Freda implies a RLC channel, and therefore i.e.
Freda does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. italicized portions of claim limitations): radio link control (RLC) channel;
and furthermore,
Freda does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. italicized portions of claim limitations): mapping that maps at least the first PC5 RLC channel or a second PC5 RLC channel with at least the first Uu RLC channel or a second Uu RLC channel;
Pan teaches: a set of mappings comprising: i) a first mapping that maps a first PC5 radio link control (RLC) channel with a first Uu RLC channel; and ii) a second mapping that maps at least the first PC5 RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a second PC5 RLC channel with at least the first Uu RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a second Uu RLC channel;
(Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 See claim 65; ¶0719 See claim 65; ¶0774 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 21 and ¶0774 i.e. association between Uu SRBs, PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels i.e. Mapping 2 reads on: a set of mappings. Furthermore per ¶0774 i.e. each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), and each PC5 RLC channel could be associated with one Uu RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 2 shown in FIG. 21). Thus, each Uu RLC channel will be associated with one Uu SRB (i.e. as the mapping 3 shown in FIG. 21). Where per FIG. 21 Mapping 2 depicting any one of three mappings (1st to 3rd mappings) and depicting PC RLC Channel S0 which could be the first mapping relative to three mappings reads on: comprising: i) a first mapping that maps a first PC5 radio link control (RLC) channel, i.e. Mapping PC RLC Channel S0 mapped to Uu RLC Channel U0 reads on: with a first Uu RLC channel. Furthermore Per FIG. 21 Mapping 2 depicting any one of three mappings (1st to 3rd mappings) depicts PC RLC Channel S1 which could be a second mapping relative to three mappings reads on: and ii) a second mapping that maps at least a second PC5 RLC channel and per FIG. 21 i.e. PC RLC Channel S1 mapped to uu RLC Channe U1 reads on: a second Uu RLC channel);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with teachings of Pan, since Pan enables supporting device-to-network relay communication in a wireless communication system in an effective manner where mapping information, allows a gNB to know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received (Pan - ¶0774).
Regarding Claim 73. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 72,
furthermore Pan teaches: wherein the second mapping maps only the first PC5 RLC channel with the first Uu RLC channel (Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 See claim 65; ¶0719 See claim 65; ¶0774 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Furthermore Per FIG. 21 Mapping 2 depicting i.e. any one of three mappings (1st to 3rd) depicts PC RLC Channel S0 which could be the first, or second or third mapping relative to three mappings reads on: the second mapping maps only the first PC5 RLC channel and per FIG. 21 i.e. PC RLC Channel S0 mapped to uu RLC Channe U0 reads on: with the first Uu RLC channel) ,
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the second mapping maps the first PC5 RLC channel and the second PC5 RLC channel with at least the first Uu RLC channel or the second Uu RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda in view of Pan, further with teachings of Pan, since Pan enables supporting device-to-network relay communication in a wireless communication system in an effective manner where mapping information, allows a gNB to know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received (Pan - ¶0774).
Regarding Claim 80. (Currently Amended) Freda teaches: A method in a network node (Freda – FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 See Claim 65; ¶0214 See claim 65; ¶0277 See Claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0199 i.e. 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, i.e. the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network reads on: A method in a network node in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers),
the method comprising: transmitting, to a first terminal device having a second terminal device as a relay towards the network node(Freda – FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 see Claim 65; ¶0218 See Claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0214 […] At 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) reads on: the method comprising: transmitting, to a first terminal device. Furthermore Per FIG. 8 Step 807 from network i.e. via Relay WTRU and per ¶0218 i.e. a remote WTRU may determine whether i.e. to initiate a relay/association link with a relay WTRU reads on: having a second terminal device as a relay towards the network node Furthermore per ¶0218 i.e. a remote WTRU may determine whether or not to initiate a relay/association link with a relay WTRU and/or initiate SL bearer configuration procedure(s) based on one or more factors/triggers, such as: QoS of the Uu flows/bearers configured at the remote WTRU reads on: for a service or flow , where Per ¶0214 […] At 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers) reads on: a first configuration for a service or flow, Furthermore Per FIG. 8 Step 807 from network i.e. via Relay WTRU reads on: relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device );
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
transmitting, to the second terminal device, a second configuration for the service or flow (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
(Freda FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0253 […] a relay WTRU may map all messages received from the remote WTRU over one of the SL RLC bearers for Uu signaling to a Uu RLC bearer for signaling. This Uu RLC bearer may be a new RLC bearer (e.g., Uu RLC bearer corresponding to Relay-SRB0, Relay-SRB1, Relay-SRB2). The relay WTRU may establish this Uu RLC bearers upon reception of an reconfiguration from the network. For example, a relay WTRU may inform the network that it is acting as a relay (e.g., by transmitting SLWTRUInformation following the establishment of the first PC5-RRC connection with a remote WTRU for relaying purposes) and may then receive the configuration of the Uu RLC bearers for Relay-SRB0/1/2 from the network in a reconfiguration message. Alternatively, a relay WTRU may use its existing SRB0/1/2 configuration for transmitting both its own RRC messages as well as any RRC messages received from a SL RLC bearer with a remote WTRU;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0253 i.e. a relay WTRU may inform the network that it is acting as a relay (e.g., by transmitting SLWTRUInformation following the establishment of the first PC5-RRC connection with a remote WTRU for relaying purposes) and may then i.e. receive the configuration of the Uu RLC bearers for Relay-SRB0/1/2 from the network in a reconfiguration message reads on: transmitting, to the second terminal device, a second configuration i.e. following the establishment of the first PC5-RRC connection with a remote WTRU for relaying purposes) and may then receive the configuration of the Uu RLC bearers for Relay-SRB0/1/2 reads on: for the service or flow i.e. as a result of i.e. the PC5 connection and the i.e. corresponding mapping at the WTRU (See claim 65)),
wherein the first configuration comprisesa first set of mappings comprising:
i) a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel;
and
ii) a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel and associates at least the first radio bearer(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a second radio bearer (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) carrying the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow with the second RLC channel (Freda FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0251 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 8 step 807 and ¶0214 i.e. the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers and per ¶0251 i.e. emote WTRU may relay/map all Uu RRC signaling (e.g., SRB0, SRB1, SRB2) to the one or more dedicated SL-SRB/DRB (e.g., SL RLC bearer) reads on: wherein the configuration comprises: a first set of mappings per ¶0251 i.e. map all Uu RRC signaling (e.g., SRB0, SRB1, SRB2) to i.e. the one or more dedicated SL-SRB/DRB (e.g., SL RLC bearer) or i.e. a remote WTRU may map SRB0 to i.e. one SL RLC bearer reads on: comprising: a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel per ¶0251 i.e. map all Uu RRC signaling (e.g., SRB0, SRB1, SRB2) or i.e. map SRB0 reads on: and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow. Furthermore per ¶0251 i.e. to the one or more dedicated SL-SRB/DRB (e.g., SL RLC bearer) to i.e. one SL RLC bearer reads on: with the first RLC channel, and per ¶0251 i.e. and SRB1/SRB2 to a second SL RLC bearer reads on: and a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel, where per ¶0251 i.e. SRB1/SRB2 reads on: and associates at least the first radio bearer or a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow per ¶0251 i.e. SRB1/SRB2 to a second SL RLC bearer reads on: with the second RLC channel ),
and
the second configuration comprises a second set of mappings comprising: i) a third mapping that maps a first PC5 RLC channel with a first Uu RLC channel (Freda FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0253 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per 0253 i.e. a relay WTRU may map all messages received from the remote WTRU over one of the SL RLC bearers for Uu signaling to a Uu RLC bearer for signaling. i.e. This Uu RLC bearer may be a new RLC bearer (e.g., Uu RLC bearer corresponding to Relay-SRB0, Relay-SRB1, Relay-SRB2) reads on: the second configuration comprises a second set of mappings: i.e. a new RLC bearer (e.g., Uu RLC bearer reads on: comprising: i) a third mapping that maps a first Uu RLC channel);
While Freda teaches: a first set of mappings comprising: i) a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel; and ii) a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel and associates at least the first radio bearer or a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the second RLC channel as noted above, where per ¶0251 a remote WTRU may map SRB0 to one SL RLC bearer, and SRB1/SRB2 to a second SL RLC bearer etc. i.e. map to i.e. one SL RLC bearer and a second SL RLC bearer implies respective a RLC channel, assuming arguendo i.e. Freda implies a RLC channel, and therefore i.e.
Freda does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. italicized portions of claim limitations): radio link control (RLC) channel;
and furthermore,
Freda also does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. italicized portions of claim limitations): a mapping that maps a first PC5 RLC channel with a first Uu RLC channel; and
ii) a fourth mapping that maps at least the first PC5 RLC channel or a second PC5 RLC channel with at least the first Uu RLC channel or a second Uu RLC channel.
Pan teaches: a first set of mappings comprising: i) a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel; and ii) a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel and associates at least the first radio bearer(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a second radio bearer (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
carrying the service (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
flow (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
with the second RLC channel (Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 See claim 65; ¶0719 See claim 65; ¶0774 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 21 and ¶0774 i.e. association between Uu SRBs, PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels i.e. Mapping 1 reads on: a first set of mappings. Furthermore per ¶0774 i.e. each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), and each PC5 RLC channel could be associated with one Uu RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 2 shown in FIG. 21). Thus, each Uu RLC channel will be associated with one Uu SRB (i.e. as the mapping 3 shown in FIG. 21) where FIG. 21 depicts PC RLC Channel S0 reads on: comprising: i) a first mapping that identifies at least a first radio link control (RLC) channel and, i.e. PC RLC Channel S0 mapped to uu SRB0 reads on: associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel. Furthermore FIG. 21 depicts PC RLC Channel S1 reads on: and ii) a second mapping that identifies at least a second RLC channel and per FIG. 21 i.e. i.e. uu PC RLC Channel S1 mapped to uu SRB1 reads on: and associates at least a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the second RLC channel);
And Pan furthermore also teaches: a second set of mappings comprising: i) a third mapping that maps a first PC5 RLC channel with a first Uu RLC channel; and ii) a fourth mapping that maps at least the first PC5 RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a second PC5 RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) with at least the first Uu RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a second Uu RLC channel (Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 See claim 65; ¶0719 See claim 65; ¶0774 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 21 and ¶0774 i.e. association between Uu SRBs, PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels i.e. mapping 2 reads on: a second set of mappings. Furthermore per ¶0774 i.e. each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), and each PC5 RLC channel could be associated with one Uu RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 2 shown in FIG. 21). Thus, each Uu RLC channel will be associated with one Uu SRB (i.e. as the mapping 3 shown in FIG. 21) where per FIG. 21 depicts uu PC RLC S0 mapped to uu RLC Channel U0 reads on: a third mapping where per FIG. 21 depicts uu PC RLC S0 reads on: that maps a first PC5 RLC channel per FIG. 21 depicts i.e. uu PC RLC S0 i.e. mapped to uu RLC Channel U0 reads on: with a first Uu RLC channel, furthermore Per FIG. 21 i.e. uu PC RLC S0 i.e. mapped to uu RLC Channel U0 reads on: and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first RLC channel. Furthermore FIG. 21 depicts PC RLC Channel S1 mapped to Uu RLC Channel U1 reads on: and ii) a fourth mapping Furthermore FIG. 21 depicts PC RLC Channel S1 reads on: that maps at least a second PC5 RLC channel and per FIG. 21 i.e. i.e. PC RLC Channel S1 i.e. mapped to Uu RLC Channel U1 reads on: with at least a second Uu RLC channel);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with teachings of Pan, since Pan enables supporting device-to-network relay communication in a wireless communication system in an effective manner where mapping information, allows a gNB to know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received (Pan - ¶0774).
Regarding Claim 81. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 80,
furthermore Pan teaches: wherein the first RLC channel is a sidelink RLC channel between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 See claim 65; ¶0719 See claim 65; ¶0774 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 21 and per ¶0774 i.e. each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), FIG. 21 depicts between Remote UE and relay UE side i.e. PC RLC channel S0 mapped to uu SRB0 i.e. depicts PC RLC channel S0 reads on: the first RLC channel is a sidelink RLC channel i.e. FIG. 21 depicts between Remote UE and relay UE side reads on: between the first terminal device and the second terminal device),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the second RLC channel is an RLC channel between the first terminal device and the network node (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda in view of Pan, further with teachings of Pan, since Pan enables supporting device-to-network relay communication in a wireless communication system in an effective manner where mapping information, allows a gNB to know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received (Pan - ¶0774).
Regarding Claim 82. (Previously Presented) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 80,
Furthermore Freda teaches: wherein the first configuration is transmitted to the first terminal device via the second terminal device (Freda – FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 see Claim 65; ¶0218 See Claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0214 […] At 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers) reads on: wherein the first configuration is transmitted to the first terminal device, Furthermore Per FIG. 8 Step 807 from network i.e. via Relay WTRU reads on: via the second terminal device).
Regarding Claim 83. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 80,
furthermore Pan teaches: wherein the first mapping associates only the first radio bearer with only the first RLC channel (Pan FIG. 21 & ¶0718 See claim 65; ¶0719 See claim 65; ¶0774 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 21 and per ¶0774 i.e. each Uu SRB could be associated with one PC5 RLC channel (i.e. as the mapping 1 shown in FIG. 21), FIG. 21 depicts between Remote UE and relay UE side i.e. PC RLC channel S0 mapped to uu SRB0 reads on: wherein the first mapping associates only the first radio bearer with only the first RLC channel),
the first mapping associates at least the first radio bearer and a third radio bearer with the first RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the first mapping associates the first radio bearer with i) the first RLC channel and ii) at least the second RLC channel or a third RLC channel (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda in view of Pan, further with teachings of Pan, since Pan enables supporting device-to-network relay communication in a wireless communication system in an effective manner where mapping information, allows a gNB to know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Relay UE could know a RRC message received from gNB is to be sent on which PC5 RLC channel based on which Uu RLC channel on which this RRC message is received, and similarly, the Remote UE could know a RRC message received from the Relay UE is sent on which Uu SRB based on which PC5 RLC channel on which this RRC message is received (Pan - ¶0774).
Regarding Claim 84. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 80,
furthermore Freda teaches: wherein the method further comprises receiving, from the first terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the second terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
information on the service or flow
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
one or more other relayed or non-relayed services or flows (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
and (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the second configuration (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
is determined based on the information (Freda FIG. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0213 […] at 806b, the remote WTRU may initiate Uu RRC signaling for a connection request, connection resume, or resume operation (e.g., for the case where the WTRU is resuming an RRC connection which was previously established and active via Uu); ¶0214 See claim 65; ¶0277 […] The relay WTRU 902 may indicate at 918 (e.g., to the network node 903) that the connection request/resume is triggered by a connection from the remote WTRU 901 (e.g., by providing an indication/information with a cause value).;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 9 & Step 919 FIG. 8 & ¶0213 Step 806 b i.e. at 806b, the remote WTRU may initiate Uu RRC signaling for a connection request, connection resume, or resume operation (e.g., for the case where the WTRU is resuming an RRC connection which was previously established and active via Uu) reads on: wherein the method further comprises receiving, from the second terminal device information on the service or flow, and per ¶0214 i.e. At 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers reads on: and the first configuration is determined based on the information).
Regarding Claim 85. (Previously Presented) Freda teaches: A first terminal device (Freda – FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 See claim 65; ¶0214 See claim 65; ¶0277 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0199 i.e. 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, i.e. the remote WTRU reads on: A first terminal device may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers)), comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (Freda FIG. 1.B WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 1.B WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132 reads on: comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor)
whereby the first terminal device is operative to perform the method of claim 65 (See the rejection of Claim 65, Claim 85 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 65, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 65 applies similarly to Claim 85. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 86. (Currently Amended) Freda teaches: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon (Freda FIG. 1.B WTRU & ¶0037 See claim 85; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 1.B WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132 reads on: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon), the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor in a first terminal device((Freda FIG. 1.B WTRU & ¶0037 See claim 85; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 1.B WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory reads on: the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor in a first terminal device, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132),
causing the first terminal device to perform the method of claim 65(See the rejection of Claim 65, Claim 86 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 65, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 65 applies similarly to Claim 86. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 87. (Previously Presented) Freda teaches: A second terminal device (Freda – FIG. 1.E., FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 See claim 65; ¶0214 See claim 65; ¶0277 See claim 65; ¶0069
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0199 i.e. 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, i.e. the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers) a configuration for the Uu DRBs and corresponding mapping to SL RLC bearers where FIG. 8 Step 807 from network via Relay WTRU reads on: A second terminal),
comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (Freda FIG. 1.E, FIG. 1.B, WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the a relay which is a WTRU per FIG. 1E and ¶0069, FIG. 1.B WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132 reads on: comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor)
whereby the second terminal device is operative to perform the method of claim 72 (See the rejection of Claim 72, Claim 87 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 72, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 72 applies similarly to Claim 87. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 88. (Currently Amended) Freda teaches: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon (Freda FIG. 1.E, FIG. 1.B, WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the a relay which is a WTRU per FIG. 1E and ¶0069, FIG. 1.B WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132 reads on: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon), the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor in a second terminal device(Freda FIG. 1.E, FIG. 1.B, WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the a relay which is a WTRU per FIG. 1E and ¶0069, FIG. 1.B WTRU and depicts transceiver 120 & ¶0037 […] the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, reads on: the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor in a second terminal device ),
causing the second terminal device to perform the method of claim 72 (See the rejection of Claim 72, Claim 88 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 72, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 72 applies similarly to Claim 88. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 89. (Previously Presented) Freda teaches: A network node or control device, comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (Freda – FIG. 1.B, FIG. 1C FIG. 3 FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 See claim 65; ¶0214 See claim 65; ¶0277 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0199 i.e. 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, i.e. the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network reads on: A network node or control device in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers); Network node is well known in prior art to comprise a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor See prior art Pan FIG. 2, FIG. 3, ¶0037 Access network 210; ¶0039 […] instructions performed by processor 230, memory 232; ¶0047 […] communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314. The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300 which also reads on: comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor)
whereby the network node or control device is operative to perform the method of claim 80(See the rejection of Claim 80, Claim 89 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 80, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 80 applies similarly to Claim 89. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 90. (Currently Amended) Freda teaches: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon, the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor in a network node or control device, causing the network node or control device (Freda – FIG. 1.B, FIG. 1C, FIG. 8, FIG. 9 & ¶0199 See claim 65; ¶0214 See claim 65; ¶0277 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0199 i.e. 807, following completion of the Uu RRC signaling in 806a and/or 806b, i.e. the remote WTRU may receive (e.g., from the network in dedicated signaling over the relayed Uu bearers); Network node is well known in prior art to comprise a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor - See prior art Pan FIG. 2, FIG. 3 ¶0037 Access network 210; ¶0039 […] instructions performed by processor 230, memory 232; ¶0047 […] communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314. The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308 reads on: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300 which also reads on: the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor in a network node or control device, causing the network node or control device )
to perform the method of claim 80 (See the rejection of Claim 80, Claim 90 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 80, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 80 applies similarly to Claim 90. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
13. Claims 76, 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda in view of Pan, further in view of Rao et al. (US 20240187935 A1) i.e. “Rao”.
Regarding Claim 76. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 72,
furthermore Freda teaches: transmittingand thefirst PDCPPDUis transmitted after the timer expires (Freda FIG. 1 E & ¶0069 See above; Fig. 8 & FIG. 9 & ¶0301 See Claim 65; ¶0306 See Claim 65; ¶0333 […] access barring parameters may be determined based on information derived from sidelink by the remote WTRU and/or provided by the peer (e.g., relay) WTRU. A remote WTRU may determine one or more access barring parameters for Uu access via a relay WTRU based on information provided by the relay WTRU. The access parameters may include one or more of the following, and may each be associated with an access identity provide by upper layers: whether an access is barred at a given time; value of a barring timer; range over which to select a random number to determine the barring timer, or whether the access is allowed;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per 0333 i.e. access barring parameters may be determined based on information derived from sidelink by the remote WTRU and/or provided by the peer (e.g., relay) WTRU reads on: transmitting, a mapping indication; where per ¶0333 i.e. access barring parameters for Uu access via a relay WTRU based on information provided by the relay WTRU. The access parameters may include one or more of the following: whether an access is barred at a given time; value of a barring timer reads on: and starting a timer when the mapping indication is transmitted; furthermore i.e. whether an access is barred at a given time; value of a barring timer or whether the access is allowed reads on: and the first PDCP PDU is transmitted after the timer expires )
Freda in view of Pan does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. italicized portions of claim limitations): transmittingindicating the selected ;
Rao teacheswherein the method further comprises: transmittingand thefirst PDCPPDUis transmitted after the timer expires (Rao - ¶0136 […] the relay WTRU may send information on start/end timing and/or time duration with respect to a reference time slot for performing an action, as described in an earlier section, including the start/end of using a configuration or preconfiguration (e.g., LCH/MAC, adaptation layer mapping, egress RLC channel) at the relay WTRU […] the relay WTRU may send information on the start/end timing associated with suspending and/or resuming transmissions over one or more RLC channels on PC5 link; ¶0178 […] The remote WTRU may send the indication to the relay WTRU in at least one of the adaptation layer header, the adaptation layer control PDU and/or other signaling. Regarding the adaptation layer header, for example, the indication may be included within the adaptation layer header, which may be appended to the PDCP PDUs associated with the radio bearers
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per 0136 i.e. the relay WTRU may send information on start/end timing and/or time duration with respect to i.e. adaptation layer mapping, egress RLC channel reads on: wherein the method further comprises: transmitting a mapping indication indicating the selected , where furthermore per ¶0136 i.e. the relay WTRU may send information i.e. associated with suspending and/or resuming transmissions over one or more RLC channels on PC5 link reads on: and starting a timer when the mapping indication is transmitted, and furthermore as applied to per ¶0178 PDCP PDUs transmitted reads on: and the, where this information includes per ¶0136 i.e. resuming transmissions over one or more RLC channels on PC5 link reads on: after the timer expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda in view of Pan with teachings of Rao, since Rao enables adaptive QoS when mapping/multiplexing from one or more E2E radio bearers to one or more PC5 RLC channels, where adaptive QoS refers to the ability to flexibly change the configuration at one or more layers of the protocol stack including mapping at adaptation layer, LCH/MAC configuration and/or RLC channel configuration for ensuring QoS in different hops and/or E2E QoS (Rao ¶0141).
Regarding Claim 77. (Currently Amended) Freda in view of Pan teaches: The method of claim 72,
Freda in view of Pan does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. italicized portions of claim limitations): a channel that is not included in the selectedis suspended or deactivated.
Rao teaches: whereina channel that is not included in the selected (Rao - ¶0136 See claim 76;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per 0136 i.e. the relay WTRU may send information on start/end timing and/or time duration with respect to i.e. adaptation layer mapping, egress RLC channel reads on: wherein, where furthermore per ¶0136 i.e. the relay WTRU may send information i.e. associated with suspending and/or resuming transmissions over one or more RLC channels on PC5 link reads on: that is not included in the selected, and furthermore where this information includes per ¶0136 i.e. the start/end timing associated with suspending reads on: is suspended or deactivated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda in view of Pan with teachings of Rao, since Rao enables adaptive QoS when mapping/multiplexing from one or more E2E radio bearers to one or more PC5 RLC channels, where adaptive QoS refers to the ability to flexibly change the configuration at one or more layers of the protocol stack including mapping at adaptation layer, LCH/MAC configuration and/or RLC channel configuration for ensuring QoS in different hops and/or E2E QoS (Rao ¶0141).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 70, 71, 74, 75, 78, 79 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 70. (New) The method of claim 65, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “whereinthe first RLC channel is a channel dedicated for the service or flow, the second RLC channel is a non-dedicated channel that is sharable between the service or flow and a non-relayed service or flow, the first RLC channel has a priority, the second RLC channel has a priority, selecting a mapping from the set of mappings comprises selectinga mapping from the set of mappings based onthe priority of the firstRLC channel andthe priority of the second RLC channel,and theof the first RLC channel is higher than theof the second RLC channel when a QoS of the service or flow is prioritized over power efficiency of the first terminal device, or theof the first RLC channel is lower than theof the second RLC channel when the power efficiency of the first terminal device is prioritized over the QoS of the service or flow”.
Regarding Claim 71. (New) The method of claim 65, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “whereinselecting a mapping from the set of mappings comprises selecting the first mapping, the first RLC channel is a channel dedicated for the service or flow, and the method further comprises, after selecting the first mapping and transmitting one or more PDCP PDUs carrying the service or flow over the first RLC channel identified by the first mapping: selecting the second mapping; and transmitting one or more further PDCP PDUs carrying the service or flow over the second RLC channel identified by the second mapping
Regarding Claim 74. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 72, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s):”wherein the method further comprises receiving, from the network nodesecond configuration for the service or flow relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device, the second configuration comprises a second set of mappings comprising: a third mapping that identifies at least the first PC5 RLC channel and associates at least a first radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the first PC5 RLC channel; and a fourth mapping that identifies at least the second PC5 RLC channel and associates at least the first radio bearer or a second radio bearer carrying the service or flow with the second PC5 RLC channel, and the method further comprises forwarding thesecond configuration to the first terminal device”.
Regarding Claim 75. (Currently Amended) The methodof claim 74, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s):” wherein the third mapping associates only the first radio bearer with only the first PC5 RLC channel, the third mapping associates at least the first radio bearer and a third radio bearer with the first PC5 RLC channel, or the third mapping associates the first radio bearer with i) the first PC5 RLC channel and ii) at least the second PC5 RLC channel or a third PC5 RLC channel”.
Regarding Claim 78. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 72, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s):” wherein the first PC5 RLC channel is dedicated for the service or flow, the second PC5 RLC channel is sharable between the service or flow and another non- relayed service or flow, the first PC5 RLC channel has a priority, the second PC5 RLC channel has a priority, selecting a mapping from the set of mappings comprises selecting a mapping from the set of mappings based on the priority of the first PC5 RLC channel and the priority of the second PC5 RLC channel”.
Regarding Claim 79. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 72, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s):” wherein selecting a mapping from the set of mappings comprises selecting the first mapping, the first PC5 RLC channel is a channel dedicated for the service or flow, the second PC5 RLC channel is sharable between the service or flow and another non- relayed service or flow, and the method further comprises, after selecting the first mapping and transmitting one or more PDCP PDUs carrying the service or flow over the first PC5 RLC channel identified by the first mapping: selecting the second mapping; and transmitting one or more further PDCP PDUs carrying the service or flow over the second PC5 RLC channel identified by the second mapping”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALICK A SOHRAB whose telephone number is (571)272-4347. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414