DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/692,647 filed on 03/15/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 03/15/2024, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-64 are cancelled.
-Claims 65-90 are pending.
-Claims 65-69, 72-75, 77, 80-90 are rejected.
-Claims 70, 71, 76, 78, 79 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2022/119306, filed 09/16/2022.
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/15/2024, 07/07/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 65-68, 70-75, 77-81, 83-90 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Claims 65-68, 74, 75, 80, 83, 84 all recite several instances of terms “and/or”. Utilization of “/” in the terms “and/or” can be interpreted as “and” and “or” as being equivalent substitutes for each other, or as “and” or “or” utilized possibly in the alternative, or possibly even as both “and” and “or” as considered together, etc. Questions are raised as to what applicant’s objective is for the terms “and/or”, including which one of many possible interpretations resulting from the utilization of “/” in the terms “and/or” is the objective of the applicant. For the purposes of examination limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to utilize descriptive word recitations in place of “/”, to appropriately address questions raised and avoid any potential issues with reflecting applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Claims 65-67, 70-75, 77-81, 83, recite the following acronyms “PC5” or “Uu”.
The examiner requests and requires applicant to spell out the acronyms “PC5” or “Uu” in the subject claim language.
C. Claims 65, 69, 72, 76, 77, 80 all recite instances of terms “the selected at least one mapping” for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the selected at least one mapping” ) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “selected at least one mapping”. Using claim 65 as an example representing similar features in claim 72 and claim 80, claim 65 recites “selecting at least one mapping from the plurality of mappings” which appears to provide antecedent basis for “the” “at least one mapping” “selected”, and to avoid any questions raised about antecedent basis “the selected at least one mapping” is interpreted as intended to represent “the” “at least one mapping” “selected”, finding antecedent basis in “selecting at least one mapping from the plurality of mappings”. The same interpretation is applied to claim 80, where there are two separate recitations of “the selected at least one mapping” each presented in the alternative (i) firstly with respect to “[…] a first configuration[…]” and “[…] wherein the first configuration comprises […] ” and/or (ii) secondly with respect to “[…] a second configuration […]” and “[…] wherein the second configuration comprises […]”.
The same interpretation is also utilized regarding dependent claims 69, 76, 77, depending from claim 65 and claim 72 as applicable, respectively.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
D. Regarding Claim 65 and Claim 72:
Utilizing Claim 65 as an example reciting similar features presented in the alternative, Claim 65 recites: “wherein the configuration comprises: one or more PC5-Radio Link Control, RLC, channels, one or more Quality of Service, QoS, requirements or parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device, and/or a plurality of mappings each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels”,
where limitations in items listed below:
(i) “one or more PC5-Radio Link Control, RLC, channels”,
(ii) “one or more Quality of Service, QoS, requirements or parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device”, and
(iii) “a plurality of mappings each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels”,
are noted as limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” and are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight.
The office action notes that significant questions about antecedence may be raised pertaining to recitation “the plurality of mappings” as referenced in subsequent recitation “selecting at least one mapping from the plurality of mappings for the service or flow; and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow over the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping”, in a case when either limitations in item (i) or item (ii) referenced above are applied in the alternative, and limitations in item (iii) introducing “a plurality of mappings” as referenced above, are not applied and not required.
As such, in the case when the limitations in item (iii) introducing “a plurality of mappings” as referenced above, are not applied and not required, questions may be raised as to where the limitations “the plurality of mappings” as referenced above find antecedence.
Claim 72 which similarly recites “comprises at least one of: one or more Uu/PC5-Radio Link Control, RLC, channels, one or more Quality of Service, QoS, requirements or parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a third link between the second terminal device and the network node or the third terminal device, and a plurality of mappings each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels” where similarly limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight, is (i.e. Claim 72 is) also subject to the same questions raised regarding antecedence pertaining to “the plurality of mappings”.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
E. Claims 65, 72, 74, 80 all recite several instances of terms “from/to”. Utilization of “/” in the terms “from/to” can be interpreted as “from” and “to” as being equivalent substitutes for each other, or as “from” or “to” utilized possibly in the alternative, or possibly even as both “from” and “to” as considered together, etc. Questions are raised as to what applicant’s objective is for the terms “from/to”, including which one of many possible interpretations resulting from the utilization of “/” in the terms “from/to” is the objective of the applicant. For the purposes of examination limitations separated by a recitation “from/to” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to utilize descriptive word recitations in place of “/”, to appropriately address questions raised and avoid any potential issues with reflecting applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
F. Regarding Claim 70, and Claim 80 - Claim 70 recites “the plurality of comprise” and claim 80 recites “a plurality of each between […]”, where to avoid questions of ambiguity, claim 70 is interpreted as intended to possibly recite “the plurality of” mappings comprise […]” and claim 80 is interpreted as intended to possibly recite “a plurality of” mappings “each between […]”, based upon related claim recitations and claim subject matter utilized in other claims presented.
Should applicant contend otherwise and for verification, applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
G. Regarding claims 71, 79 , these claims recite the terms “first PC5-RLC channel is to be mapped" which is not a positively cited claim language. Language that suggests or makes optional/intended use (for example, “so that”; “thereby”; “capable of”; “adapted to”; “able to”; “enable to”; “can be”; “may be”; “should be”; “….able”; “combinable”; “configurable”) but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claims optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04). [Note: the limitation recites after “to be” clause is not given patentable weight because it is optional for the positively processing steps. The term may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. A similar alternative term such as a positive action verb to perform the function without any unnecessary ambiguity is suggested.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify applicant’s objective for the referred to claim language.
H. Claims 72, 73, 77- 80 all recite several instances of terms “Uu/PC5-Radio Link Control, RLC” or “Uu/PC5-RLC”. Utilization of “/” in the terms “Uu/PC5-RLC” can be interpreted as “Uu” and “PC5-RLC” as being equivalent substitutes for each other, or as “Uu” or “PC5” utilized possibly in the alternative, or possibly even as both “Uu” and “PC5” as considered together, etc. Questions are raised as to what applicant’s objective is for the terms “Uu/PC5-RLC”, including which one of many possible interpretations resulting from the utilization of “/” in the terms “Uu/PC5-RLC” is the objective of the applicant. For the purposes of examination limitations separated by a recitation “Uu/PC5-RLC” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to utilize descriptive word recitations in place of “/”, to appropriately address questions raised and avoid any potential issues with reflecting applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
I. Regarding claims 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90 - the claim 85 recites “[…] operative to perform the method of claim 65”, the claim 86 recites “[…] perform the method of claim 65”, the claim 87 recites “[…] operative to perform the method of claim 72”, the claim 88 recites “[…] to perform the method of claim 72”, the claim 89 recites “[…] operative to perform the method of claim 80”, and the claim 90 recites “[…] to perform the method of claim 80”.
For clarity and consistency, the office action suggests applicant to incorporate specific steps and processes recited in respective methods of claim 65, claim 72, and claim 80, into claims 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 65-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Claims 65 and 80 both recite instances of terms “the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping” where “the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel” is recited for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel” ) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel”. Using claim 65 as an example representing similar features in claim 80, there appears to be no preceding recitation of “at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel” for provision of antecedent basis, and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel” in Claim 65 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
C. Claims 68 recites terms “the second link” for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the second link” ) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “second link”. There appears to be no preceding recitation of “second link” introduced for provision of antecedent basis including in claim 65 from which claim 68 depends, and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the second link” in Claim 68 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
E. Claim 72 recites terms “the at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping” where “the at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel” is recited for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel” ) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel”. There appears to be no preceding recitation of “at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel” for provision of antecedent basis, and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel” in Claim 72 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
F. Claim 75 (depending from Claim 72) recites terms “the plurality of mappings in the first configuration” where “the first configuration” is recited for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the first configuration” ) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “first configuration”. There appears to be no preceding recitation of “first configuration” for provision of antecedent basis (i.e. including in claim 72), and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the first configuration” in Claim 75 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
G. Regarding Claims 66-71, 73-79-81-90, which depend from respective independent claims 65, 72, 80, these claims (i.e. Claims 66-71, 73-79-81-90) are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph at least via dependency to the respective independent claims.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable.
Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 86, 88, 90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites, inter alia, “A computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon […]”. After close inspection, the Examiner respectfully notes that the disclosure, as a whole, does not specifically identify what may be included as computer readable storage medium and what is not to be included as “A computer readable storage medium”.
An Examiner is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during examination. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer-readable medium (also called machine-readable storage medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of a computer-readable medium, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal, per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter.
Therefore, given the silence of the disclosure and the broadest reasonable interpretation, the computer-readable medium of the claim may include transitory propagating signals. As a result, the claim pertains to non-statutory subject matter.
However, the Examiner respectfully submits a claim drawn to such a computer readable storage medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim i.e. as in “A” non-transitory “computer readable storage medium […]” . Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. For additional information, please see the Patents’ Official Gazette notice published February 23, 2010 (1351 OG 212).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
12. Claims 65-69, 72-75, 80-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20230073469 A1) i.e. “WANG” in view of PALADUGU (US 20220418015 A1) i.e. “PALADUGU”.
Regarding Claim 65. (New) WANG teaches: A method in a first terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 […] process of establishing an air interface data forwarding bearer […] After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE and registers with the core network, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session […] The base station performs data bearer configuration of the remote UE and air interface data forwarding bearer configuration of the relay UE; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. process of establishing an air interface data forwarding bearer reads on: A method where per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process i.e. the remote UE reads on: in a first terminal device),
having a second terminal device as a relay towards a network node
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a third terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
comprising: receiving, from the network node, the second terminal device, or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a control device,
a configuration (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0139 […] base station configures a Uu DRB and the mapping relationship between the Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer for the remote UE. The remote UE Uu DRB configuration includes at least one of the following: a bearer identifier, a mapping from a QoS flow/QFI/5QI to a DRB […] ; ¶0141 […] the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer includes the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB. The mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer includes at least one of the following: a bearer or logical channel identifier mapping or a bearer or logical channel priority mapping. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the remote UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message and forwarded by the relay UE to the remote UE. The remote UE establishes a Uu DRB (SDAP entity and PDCP entity) and a PC5 RLC bearer based on the base station configuration and sends a configuration complete message to the base station; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 Relay UE depicted and per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the remote UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message i.e. and forwarded by the relay UE reads on: having a second terminal device as a relay where per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station reads on: towards the network node through the relay UE. Furthermore per FIG. 7 & ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the remote UE is sent reads on: comprising: receiving, from the network node, the second terminal device, or a control device, where furthermore per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information reads on: a configuration i.e. from the base station to the remote UE)
for a service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0141 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE and registers with the core network, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: for a service or flow such as with i.e. QOS information, associated with i.e. the PDU session to the base station. Furthermore, per ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE reads on: relayed by the second terminal device , per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: from/to the first terminal device ),
wherein the configuration comprises: one or more PC5-Radio Link Control, RLC, channels (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
one or more Quality of Service, QoS, requirements or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
and/or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a plurality of mappings each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow and at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the one or more PC5-RLC channels (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0141 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0141 i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer includes the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: wherein the configuration comprises: a plurality of mappings , where individually i.e. between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer or i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer or i.e. between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels );
selecting at least one mapping from the plurality of mappings for the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0141 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0141 i.e. The remote UE establishes a Uu DRB (SDAP entity and PDCP entity) and a PC5 RLC bearer based on the base station configuration reads on: selecting at least one mapping from the plurality of mappings and per ¶0141 i.e. sends a configuration complete message to the base station, where the foregoing is applied i.e. per ¶0134 to i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE i.e. when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: for the service or flow);
and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow over the at least one PC5-RLC
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
Uu-RLC
channel in the selected at least one mapping (WANG FIG. 2 & ¶0059 […] For an L2 UE-to-Network relay, the remote UE can maintain the RRC connected state with the base station through the relay UE.; ¶0063 […] The data packet is mapped by the remote UE from a Uu bearer to a PC5 RLC bearer between the remote UE and the relay UE based on a configured mapping relationship to transmit to the relay UE; ¶0068 […] Specifically, first, the upper layer of the remote UE generates a data packet, maps the data packet or Uu RRC signaling or a Uu RRC message to the PDCP entity of the corresponding Uu DRB/SRB based on 5G Uu QoS processing rules and/or bearer configuration, and performs Uu PDCP layer operations such as header compression, encryption, completion guarantee, and packet encapsulation. Next, the remote UE maps a Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer between the remote UE and the relay UE. Next, after mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer based on a mapping relationship which is configured by the base station or pre-configured or predefined, between the Uu bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer, the remote UE performs RLC/MAC/physical (PHY) layer processing and transmits the data packet to the relay UE through a sidelink resource; ¶0134 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data, combined with FIG. 2 & ¶0063 i.e. The data packet is mapped by the remote UE from a Uu bearer to a PC5 RLC bearer between the remote UE and the relay UE based on a configured mapping relationship to transmit to the relay UE and furthermore per ¶0068 i.e. Next, after mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer based on a mapping relationship which is configured by the base station or pre-configured or predefined, between the Uu bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer, the remote UE performs RLC/MAC/physical (PHY) layer processing and transmits the data packet to the relay UE reads on: and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow i.e. through a sidelink resource, where per ¶0068 i.e. mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer reads on: over the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel where the packet from remote UE is mapped per ¶0068 mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer and therefore i.e. over the at least one PC5-RLC Channel and/or Uu-RLC channel (See FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 depicting PC5-RLC to uu-RLC mapping). Furthermore per ¶0068 i.e. based on a mapping relationship which is configured by the base station combined with the ¶0141 i.e. The remote UE establishes a Uu DRB (SDAP entity and PDCP entity) and a PC5 RLC bearer based on the base station configuration reads on: in the selected at least one mapping ).
While WANG teaches: transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) as noted herein above, combining teachings of WANG from an embodiment associated with FIG. 7 with an embodiment with overlapping teachings associated with FIG. 2, assuming arguendo that:
WANG i.e. in a single embodiment i.e. FIG. 7 does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs);
PALADUGU which also teaches: comprising: receiving, from the network node(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), the second terminal device(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a control device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), a configuration; wherein the configuration comprises: a plurality of mappings each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow and at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the one or more PC5-RLC channels (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0140 […] configuring a sidelink interface (e.g., PC5) adaptation layer for a relay service[…] 700 includes a remote UE 705, a relay UE 710, and a network entity 715 ; ¶0158 […] reference number 760, the network entity 715 may transmit, […] an indication of the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers); ¶0159 […] reference number 765, the network entity 715 may transmit, to the remote UE 705, an indication of the bearer identifier information. The network entity 715 may transmit the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 via an RRC message […] the network entity 715 may transmit the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs; FIG. 9 & ¶0169 […] a remote UE 905, a relay UE 910, and a network entity 915 […] the relay connection setup may include one or more (or all) of the steps described above in connection with FIG. 7; ¶0170 […] reference number 925, the remote UE 905 may obtain or identify traffic that is to be transmitted to the network entity 915 via the relay UE 910. […] the remote UE 905 may receive, from an upper layer, a PDCP PDU to be relayed to the network entity 915 via the relay UE 910. The remote UE 905 may identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU. The remote UE 905 may identify a remote UE bearer identifier associated with the radio access radio bearer (e.g., based at least in part on the mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifier described above). The remote UE 905 may identify a remote UE identifier (e.g., a remote UE index) associated with the remote UE 905. The remote UE 905 may generate a PC5 adaptation layer header based at least in part on the remote UE bearer identifier and the remote UE identifier. […] The remote UE 905 may append the PC5 adaptation layer header to the PDCP PDU. The remote UE 905 may transfer the PDCP PDU (with the PC5 adaptation layer header) to lower layer(s) for transmission to the relay UE 910 over the appropriate PC5 RLC channel. A PDCP PDU with an adaptation layer header may be referred to herein as an adaptation layer PDU NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0159 […] reference number 765, the network entity 715 may transmit, to i.e. via an RRC message reads on: comprising: receiving, from the network node, where per ¶0159 i.e. the network entity 715 may transmit, to the remote UE 705, i.e. an indication of the bearer identifier information i.e. which per ¶0158 is i.e. the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers) reads on: a configuration . Furthermore where per ¶0169 where FIG. 9 incorporates steps of FIG. 7 and per ¶0170 i.e. The remote UE 905 may identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU i.e. identify a remote UE bearer identifier associated with the radio access radio bearer (e.g., based at least in part on the mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifier described above) associated with per ¶0159 i.e. the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs reads on: wherein the configuration comprises: a plurality of mappings which per ¶0158 is i.e. the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers). Furthermore, where per ¶0159 i.e. the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 i.e. as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs reads on: each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow where The remote UE 905 may transfer the PDCP PDU (with the PC5 adaptation layer header i.e. for transmission to the relay UE 910 over the appropriate PC5 RLC channel reads on: and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels i.e. the bearer associated with the bearer identifiers (i.e. as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs), and mapping information corresponds or maps to the appropriate PC5 PLC channel utilized);
furthermore specific to this rejection and in combination PALADUGU teaches: and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow over the at least one PC5-RLC
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
Uu-RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0159 See above ; FIG. 9 & ¶0169 See above; ¶0170 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0170 i.e. The remote UE 905 may identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU and i.e. The remote UE 905 may append the PC5 adaptation layer header to the PDCP PDU. The remote UE 905 may transfer the PDCP PDU (with the PC5 adaptation layer header) to lower layer(s) for transmission to the relay UE 910 over the appropriate PC5 RLC channel reads on: and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow . Furthermore per ¶0170 i.e. identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU, where i.e. remote UE 905 may transfer the PDCP PDU (with the PC5 adaptation layer header) to lower layer(s) for transmission to the relay UE 910 over the appropriate PC5 RLC channel reads on: over the at least one PC5-RLC channel where per ¶0170 i.e. the appropriate PC5 RLC channel utilized is based on per ¶0170 i.e. identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU which correlated to FIG. 7 & ¶0159 i.e. the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs reads on: in the selected at least one mapping ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG with teachings of PALADUGU, since PALADUGU provides signaling for configuration of the adaptation layer (e.g., the PC5 adaptation layer and/or the Uu adaptation layer), configuration of radio bearer mappings, privacy and security support, and traffic routing, as a result, a Layer 2 relay service is configured to handle QoS requirements, one or more remote UEs, various service coverage and connection states, and mappings of radio bearers, RLC channels, and in this way, efficiency of Layer 2 relaying is improved and conformance with QoS requirements and/or security requirements is improved (PALADUGU - ¶0139).
Regarding Claim 66. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 65,
furthermore WANG teaches: wherein the configuration further comprises: one or more Uu-RLC channels (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65; ¶0141 See Claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0141 i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer includes the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: wherein the configuration further comprises: , per ¶0141 where individually i.e. between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer or i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer or i.e. between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: one or more Uu-RLC channels i.e. uu DRB or channels for RLC purposes of mapping to PLC RLC bearer );
and furthermore PALADUGU teaches: wherein the configuration further comprises: one or more Uu-RLC channels (PALAGULU FIG. 7 & ¶0145 […] The remote UE may include a remote UE bearer identifier (e.g., identifying the radio bearer associated with the traffic) in the PC5 adaptation layer. Therefore, the relay UE may be enabled to identify the remote UE bearer identifier and map the traffic to a correct Uu RLC channel to be transmitted to a network entity; ¶0158 See claim 65 ; ¶0159 see claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0159 reference number 765, the network entity 715 may transmit, to the remote UE 705, i.e. an indication of the bearer identifier information i.e. which per ¶0158 in parallel is configured in the relay as well and is i.e. the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers) and per ¶0145 i.e. The remote UE may include a remote UE bearer identifier in the PC5 adaptation layer from which i.e. the relay UE is based upon the same bearer identifier i.e. enabled to identify the remote UE bearer identifier and map the traffic to a correct Uu RLC channel i.e. the UE bearer identifiers and mapping information pertaining to the remote UE bearer identifiers that maps to a correct Uu RLC channel reads on: wherein the configuration further comprises: one or more Uu-RLC channels ),
one or more QoS requirements or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a second link between the first terminal device and the network node ,
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a plurality of mappings each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow and at least one of the one or more Uu-RLC channels (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG in view of PALADUGU , further with the teachings of PALADUGU, since PALADUGU provides signaling for configuration of the adaptation layer (e.g., the PC5 adaptation layer and/or the Uu adaptation layer), configuration of radio bearer mappings, privacy and security support, and traffic routing, as a result, a Layer 2 relay service is configured to handle QoS requirements, one or more remote UEs, various service coverage and connection states, and mappings of radio bearers, RLC channels, and in this way, efficiency of Layer 2 relaying is improved and conformance with QoS requirements and/or security requirements is improved (PALADUGU - ¶0139).
Regarding Claim 67. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 65,
furthermore WANG teaches: wherein the plurality of mappings comprise at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): a mapping between one radio bearer and one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65; ¶0141 See Claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0141 i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer includes the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: wherein the plurality of mappings comprise at least one of a mapping between one radio bearer and one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel),
a mapping between more than one radio bearer and one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a mapping between one radio bearer and more than one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 68. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 65,
(NOTE: Claim 68 depends from claim 65, and the claim 68 limitations associate with and recite “the first link” which is presented in the alternative in claim 65, and therefore the limitations in claim 68 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein the at least one mapping is selected based on at least one condition or measurement for the first link (NOTE: Claim 68 depends from claim 65, and the claim 68 limitations associate with and recite “the first link” which is presented in the alternative in claim 65, and therefore the limitations in claim 68 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required)
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the second link (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
at least one threshold associated with the at least one condition or measurement,
the at least one condition or measurement comprising:
one or more short term radio channel conditions (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
one or more short term congestion metrics(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
one or more Layer-1 measurements(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
one or more QoS metrics(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a buffer status(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a power headroom or power efficiency(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a mobility status of the first terminal device(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a location of the first terminal device(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a need for a link reconfiguration(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
(NOTE: Claim 68 depends from claim 65, and the claim 68 limitations associate with and recite “the first link” which is presented in the alternative in claim 65, and therefore the limitations in claim 68 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required)
Regarding Claim 69. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 65,
furthermore PALADUGU teaches: further comprising: transmitting, to the second terminal device, a mapping indication indicating the selected at least one mapping (PALAGULU FIG. 7 & ¶0145 […] The remote UE may include a remote UE bearer identifier (e.g., identifying the radio bearer associated with the traffic) in the PC5 adaptation layer. Therefore, the relay UE may be enabled to identify the remote UE bearer identifier and map the traffic to a correct Uu RLC channel to be transmitted to a network entity; ¶0158 See claim 65 ; ¶0159 see claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0145 The remote UE may include a remote UE bearer identifier (e.g., identifying the radio bearer associated with the traffic) in the PC5 adaptation layer reads on: further comprising: transmitting, to the second terminal device, a mapping indication . Furthermore per ¶0145 i.e. Therefore, the relay UE may be enabled to identify the remote UE bearer identifier and map the traffic to a correct Uu RLC channel to be transmitted reads on: indicating the selected at least one mapping i.e. required to map the remote terminal traffic selected (i.e. mapping selected by remote terminal via the radio bearer associated with the traffic and associated mapping received in 765) for transmittal to the relay to a network entity ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG in view of PALADUGU , further with the teachings of PALADUGU, since PALADUGU provides signaling for configuration of the adaptation layer (e.g., the PC5 adaptation layer and/or the Uu adaptation layer), configuration of radio bearer mappings, privacy and security support, and traffic routing, as a result, a Layer 2 relay service is configured to handle QoS requirements, one or more remote UEs, various service coverage and connection states, and mappings of radio bearers, RLC channels, and in this way, efficiency of Layer 2 relaying is improved and conformance with QoS requirements and/or security requirements is improved (PALADUGU - ¶0139).
Regarding Claim 72. (New) WANG teaches: A method in a second terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 […] process of establishing an air interface data forwarding bearer […] After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE and registers with the core network, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session […] The base station performs data bearer configuration of the remote UE and air interface data forwarding bearer configuration of the relay UE; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. process of establishing an air interface data forwarding bearer reads on: A method where per ¶0134 i.e. The base station performs data bearer configuration of the remote UE and air interface data forwarding bearer configuration i.e. of the relay UE reads on: in a second terminal device)
serving as a relay for a first terminal device towards a network node
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a third terminal device(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
comprising: receiving, from the network node(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a control device(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), a second configuration (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0137 […] Optionally, the base station configures the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer. The mapping relationship may further include the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the downlink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between the uplink PC5 RLC bearer and the relay BH bearer. The mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer includes at least one of the following: a bearer or logical channel identifier mapping of a relay Uu BH bearer and a PC5 RLC bearer, a bearer or logical channel priority mapping of a relay Uu BH bearer and a PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between the Uu bearer of the remote UE and a PC5 RLC bearer, or the mapping relationship between a 5QI or a QFI and a PC5 RLC bearer or logical channel priority; ¶0138 […] The preceding configuration information from the base station to the relay UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message. The relay UE establishes a relay BH bearer based on the base station configuration and sends a response message to the base station; ¶0141 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 Relay UE depicted and per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information i.e. from the base station i.e. to the remote UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message i.e. and forwarded by the relay UE reads on: serving as a relay for a first terminal device where per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station and per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information i.e. from the base station i.e. to the remote UE reads on: towards a network node per ¶0141 i.e. through the relay UE. Furthermore per FIG. 7 & ¶0138 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the relay UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message reads on: comprising: receiving, from the network node or a control device , where furthermore per ¶0138 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the relay UE reads on: a second configuration i.e. from the base station to the relay UE being the second with respect to in addition to per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information i.e. from the base station i.e. to the remote UE )
for a service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0141 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE and registers with the core network, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: for a service or flow , where per ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE reads on: relayed by the second terminal device , per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: from/to the first terminal device ),
wherein the second configuration comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): one or more Uu/PC5-Radio Link Control, RLC, channels(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
one or more Quality of Service, QoS, requirements or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a third link between the second terminal device and the network node or the third terminal device (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
and a plurality of mappings each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0141 See above; ¶0137 See above; ¶0138 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0138 i.e. the base station configures the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer. The mapping relationship may further include the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the downlink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between the uplink PC5 RLC bearer and the relay BH bearer reads on: and a plurality of mappings, where individually i.e. the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, or i.e. the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the downlink PC5 RLC bearer, or i.e. and the mapping relationship between the uplink PC5 RLC bearer and the relay BH bearer reads on: each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels i.e. relay BH bearer corresponds to the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels i.e. uu RLC channel associated with PC5-RLC and mapped to PLC-RLC bearer (also - See FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 depicting PC5-RLC to uu-RLC mapping));
selecting at least one mapping from the plurality of mappings in the second configuration for the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0141 See above; ¶0138 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0138 i.e. The relay UE establishes a relay BH bearer reads on: selecting at least one mapping from the plurality of mappings and per ¶0138 i.e. based on the base station configuration reads on: in the second configuration as applied i.e. per ¶0134 to i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE i.e. when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: for the service or flow. );
and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units, PDUs of the first terminal device, carrying the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow over the at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping (WANG FIG. 2 & ¶0059 See claim 65; ¶0068 See claim 65; ¶0069 […] The relay UE receives and parses the data packet from the remote UE, identifies that the data packet is the data packet to be forwarded to the base station, identifies the remote UE Uu bearer to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to be forwarded to the relay air interface bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station; ¶0085 […] a manner in which the relay UE maps the data packets to relay Uu BH bearers includes at least one of the following: the relay UE maps a data packet to a relay Uu BH bearer based on a mapping relationship, which is configured by the base station or pre-configured or predefined, between a PC5 RLC bearer and a relay Uu BH bearer ; ¶0091 […] a manner in which the base station maps the Uu bearer of the remote UE to the relay bearer between the base station and the relay UE includes at least one of the following: the base station maps the remote UE Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated to forwarding the Uu bearer data of the remote UE; the base station maps the Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) of the remote UE to a Uu RLC bearer associated with a relay UE PDU session dedicated for data forwarding ; ¶0134 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data combined with FIG. 2 & ¶0069 i.e. The relay UE receives and parses the data packet from the remote UE, identifies that the data packet is the data packet to be forwarded to the base station, identifies the remote UE Uu bearer to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to be forwarded to the relay air interface bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station, and furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. the base station maps the remote UE Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated to forwarding the Uu bearer data of the remote UE, or, i.e. the base station maps the Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) of the remote UE to a Uu RLC bearer associated with a relay UE PDU session dedicated for data forwarding reads on: and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units, PDUs of the first terminal device, carrying the service or flow, where per ¶0069 i.e. identifies the remote UE Uu bearer to which the data packet belongs and per ¶0085 i.e. the relay UE maps a data packet to a relay Uu BH bearer based on a mapping relationship, which is configured by the base station reads on: over the at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel where the relay receives data packet from remote UE mapped to per ¶0068 mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer i.e. therefore over i.e. the Uu/PC5-RLC channel. Furthermore, per ¶0085 i.e. based on a mapping relationship, which is configured by the base station combined with the ¶0138 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the relay UE reads on: in the selected at least one mapping).
While WANG teaches: transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) as noted herein above, combining teachings of WANG from an embodiment associated with FIG. 7 with an embodiment with overlapping teachings associated with FIG. 2, assuming arguendo that:
WANG i.e. in a single embodiment i.e. FIG. 7 does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs);
PALADUGU which also teaches: receiving, from the network node or a control device, a second configuration for a service or flow relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device; wherein the second configuration comprises at least one of: a plurality of mappings each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0158 […] reference number 760, the network entity 715 may transmit, to the relay UE 710, an indication of the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers). The network entity 715 may transmit the bearer identifier information to the relay UE 710 via an RRC message. For example, the network entity 715 may transmit the bearer identifier information to the relay UE 710 as part of the relay configuration. The relay UE 710 may maintain the mapping of remote UE bearer identifiers to PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels; ¶0162 […] remote UE 705, the relay UE 710, and/or the network entity 715 may use the configuration of the identifiers and corresponding mapping information described above to communicate using an adaptation layer […] ; ¶0163 […] The relay UE 710 may use the identifiers and corresponding mapping information to generate a PC5 adaptation layer header from a Uu adaptation layer header received from the network entity 715 and to route traffic to the correct PC5 RLC channel. […] the relay UE 710 may use the identifiers and corresponding mapping information to generate a Uu adaptation layer header from a PC5 adaptation layer header received from the remote UE 705 and to route traffic to the correct Uu RLC channel; FIG. 9 & ¶0170 See claim 65; ¶0172 […] reference number 935, the relay UE 910 may identify an appropriate Uu RLC channel to transmit the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on. For example, the relay UE 910 may use the bearer identifier information (e.g., the mapping of remote UE bearer identifiers to PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels) to identify a Uu RLC channel associated with the remote UE bearer identifier that was included in the PC5 adaptation layer header. As shown by reference number 940, the relay UE 910 may transmit, to the network entity 915, the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & reference number 760, the network entity 715 may transmit, to the relay UE 710, an indication of the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers) reads on: receiving, from the network node or a control device, a second configuration . Furthermore where per FIG. 9 & ¶0172 i.e. the relay UE 910 may transmit, to the network entity 915, the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel reads on: for a service or flow relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device, where per FIG. 7 & ¶0158 […] reference number 760, the network entity 715 may transmit, to the relay UE 710, an indication of the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers) reads on: wherein the second configuration comprises at least one of: a plurality of mappings. Furthermore, where per ¶0172 i.e. to identify a Uu RLC channel associated with the remote UE bearer identifier i.e. the relay UE 910 may use the bearer identifier information (e.g., the mapping of remote UE bearer identifiers to PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels) reads on: each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels);
furthermore specific to this rejection and in combination PALADUGU teaches: and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units, PDUs of the first terminal device, carrying the service (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or flow over the at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0158 See above; ¶0162 See above; ¶0163 […] See above; FIG. 9 & ¶0172 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0172 i.e. As shown by reference number 940, the relay UE 910 may transmit, to the network entity 915, the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel reads on: and transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units, PDUs of the first terminal device, carrying the service or flow . Furthermore per ¶0170 i.e. the appropriate PC5 RLC channel pertaining to the remote UE is correlated to per ¶0172 i.e. (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel to transmit the PDCP PDU reads on: over the at least one Uu/PC5-RLC channel where per ¶0172 i.e. the relay UE 910 may use the bearer identifier information (e.g., the mapping of remote UE bearer identifiers to PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels) to identify a Uu RLC channel associated with the remote UE bearer identifier and furthermore per FIG. 9 & ¶0172 i.e. the relay UE 910 may transmit, to the network entity 915, the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel reads on: in the selected at least one mapping ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG with teachings of PALADUGU, since PALADUGU provides signaling for configuration of the adaptation layer (e.g., the PC5 adaptation layer and/or the Uu adaptation layer), configuration of radio bearer mappings, privacy and security support, and traffic routing, as a result, a Layer 2 relay service is configured to handle QoS requirements, one or more remote UEs, various service coverage and connection states, and mappings of radio bearers, RLC channels, and in this way, efficiency of Layer 2 relaying is improved and conformance with QoS requirements and/or security requirements is improved (PALADUGU - ¶0139).
Regarding Claim 73. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 72,
furthermore WANG teaches: wherein the plurality of mappings in the second configuration comprise at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a mapping between one PC5-RLC channel and one Uu/PC5-RLC channel (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See claim 72; ¶0138 See claim 72 ¶0141 See claim 72; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0138 i.e. the base station configures the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer. The mapping relationship may further include the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the downlink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between the uplink PC5 RLC bearer and the relay BH bearer reads on: wherein the plurality of mappings in the second configuration and per ¶0138 i.e. the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, or i.e. the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the downlink PC5 RLC bearer comprise at least one of: a mapping between one PC5-RLC channel and one Uu/PC5-RLC channel i.e. relay BH bearer corresponds to the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels i.e. uu RLC bearer or channel associated with PC5-RLC bearer or channel and mapped to PLC-RLC bearer or channel (also - See FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 depicting PC5-RLC to uu-RLC mapping)),
a mapping between more than one PC5-RLC channel and one Uu/PC5- RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a mapping between one PC5-RLC channel and more than one Uu/PC5-RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 74. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 72,
furthermore WANG teaches: further comprising: receiving, from the network node or the control device, a first configuration for the service or flow relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See claim 65; ¶0139 See claim 65; ¶0141 See claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 Relay UE depicted and per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the remote UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message i.e. and forwarded by the relay UE reads on: further comprising: receiving, from the network node or the control device, a first configuration where per FIG. 7 & ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE and registers with the core network, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: for a service or flow such as with i.e. QOS information, associated with i.e. the PDU session to the base station. Furthermore, per ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE reads on: relayed by the second terminal device , per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: from/to the first terminal device),
wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): one or more PC5-Radio Link Control, RLC, and/or Uu-RLC channels(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
one or more Quality of Service, QoS, requirements or parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
and a plurality of mappings each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0141 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0141 i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer includes the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: wherein the configuration comprises: a plurality of mappings , where individually i.e. between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer or i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer or i.e. between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels );
and forwarding the first configuration to the first terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See claim 65; ¶0139 See claim 65; ¶0141 See claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 Relay UE depicted and per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the remote UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message i.e. and forwarded by the relay UE reads on: and forwarding the first configuration to the first terminal device ).
Regarding Claim 75. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 72,
furthermore WANG teaches: wherein the plurality of mappings in the first configuration comprise at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a mapping between one radio bearer and one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; ¶0141 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0141 i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer includes the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: a mapping between one radio bearer and one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel),
a mapping between more than one radio bearer and one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a mapping between one radio bearer and more than one PC5-RLC and/or Uu- RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 80. (New) WANG teaches: A method in a network node or a control device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See claim 65 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. process of establishing an air interface data forwarding bearer reads on: A method where per ¶0134 i.e. The base station performs data bearer configuration reads on: in a network node or a control device ),
comprising: transmitting, to a first terminal device having a second terminal device as a relay towards the network node
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a third terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a first configuration (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65; ¶0139 See claim 65; ¶0141 See claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the remote UE is sent reads on: comprising: transmitting, to a first terminal device, where furthermore per FIG. 7 Relay UE depicted and per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the remote UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message i.e. and forwarded by the relay UE reads on: having a second terminal device as a relay where per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station reads on: towards the network node through the relay UE. Furthermore, per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information reads on: a first configuration i.e. from the base station to the remote UE)
for a service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow relayed by the second terminal device from/to the first terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0141 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE and registers with the core network, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: for a service or flow , where per ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE reads on: relayed by the second terminal device , per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: from/to the first terminal device );
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
transmitting, to the second terminal device, a second configuration(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See above; ¶0137 See claim 72; ¶0138 See claim 72; ¶0141 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 7 & ¶0138 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the relay UE is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message reads on: comprising: transmitting, to the second terminal device, where furthermore per ¶0138 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the relay UE reads on: a second configuration i.e. from the base station to the relay UE being the second with respect to in addition to per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information i.e. from the base station i.e. to the remote UE )
for the service flow (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; ¶0141 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE and registers with the core network, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: for a service or flow),
wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): one or more PC5-Radio Link Control, RLC, channels(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
one or more Quality of Service, QoS, requirements or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a first link between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
and a plurality of each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65; ¶0141 See Claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0141 i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a PC5 RLC bearer includes the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: and a plurality of possibly mappings (see Claim objections), where individually i.e. between a Uu DRB and a bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer or i.e. the mapping relationship between a Uu DRB and an uplink PC5 RLC bearer or i.e. between a downlink PC5 RLC bearer and a Uu DRB reads on: each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels ), from which the first terminal device selects at least one mapping for the service or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65; ¶0141 See Claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0141 i.e. The remote UE establishes a Uu DRB (SDAP entity and PDCP entity) and a PC5 RLC bearer i.e. based on the base station configuration reads on: from which the first terminal device selects at least one mapping for the service or flow and sends a configuration complete message to the base station),
in order to transmit one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow over the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping(WANG FIG. 2 & ¶0059 See claim 65; ¶0063 See claim 65; ¶0068 See claim 65; ¶0134 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data combined with FIG. 2 & ¶0063 i.e. The data packet is mapped by the remote UE from a Uu bearer to a PC5 RLC bearer between the remote UE and the relay UE based on a configured mapping relationship to transmit to the relay UE and furthermore per ¶0068 i.e. Next, after mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer based on a mapping relationship which is configured by the base station or pre-configured or predefined, between the Uu bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer, the remote UE performs RLC/MAC/physical (PHY) layer processing and transmits the data packet to the relay UE reads on: in order to transmit one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow through a sidelink resource, where per ¶0068 i.e. mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer reads on: over the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel per ¶0068 i.e. based on a mapping relationship which is configured by the base station combined with the ¶0141 i.e. The remote UE establishes a Uu DRB (SDAP entity and PDCP entity) and a PC5 RLC bearer based on the base station configuration reads on: in the selected at least one mapping ),
wherein the second configuration comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), one or more QoS requirements or parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a third link between the second terminal device and the network node or the third terminal device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), and a plurality of mappings each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; ¶0141 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; ¶0137 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; ¶0138 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0138 i.e. the base station configures the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer. The mapping relationship may further include the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the downlink PC5 RLC bearer, and the mapping relationship between the uplink PC5 RLC bearer and the relay BH bearer reads on: and a plurality of mappings, where individually i.e. the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the bi-directional PC5 RLC bearer, or i.e. the mapping relationship between the relay BH bearer and the downlink PC5 RLC bearer, or i.e. and the mapping relationship between the uplink PC5 RLC bearer and the relay BH bearer reads on: each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels i.e. relay BH bearer corresponds to the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels (See claim 72)) from which the second terminal device selects at least one mapping in the second configuration for the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; ¶0141 See Claim 65 & See Claim 72; ¶0138 See Claim 72;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0138 i.e. The relay UE establishes a relay BH bearer reads on: from which the second terminal device selects at least one mapping and per ¶0138 i.e. based on the base station configuration reads on: in the second configuration as applied i.e. per ¶0134 to i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE i.e. when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session reads on: for the service or flow. ),
in order to transmit one or more PDCP PDUs of the first terminal device, carrying the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow over the at least one Uu/PC5- RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping (WANG FIG. 2 & ¶0059 See claim 65; ¶0068 See claim 65; ¶0069 See claim 72; ¶0085 See claim 72 ; ¶0091 See claim 72 ; ¶0134 see Claim 72; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data combined with FIG. 2 & ¶0069 i.e. The relay UE receives and parses the data packet from the remote UE, identifies that the data packet is the data packet to be forwarded to the base station, identifies the remote UE Uu bearer to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to be forwarded to the relay air interface bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station, and furthermore per ¶0091 i.e. the base station maps the remote UE Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated to forwarding the Uu bearer data of the remote UE, or, i.e. the base station maps the Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) of the remote UE to a Uu RLC bearer associated with a relay UE PDU session dedicated for data forwarding reads on: in order to transmit one or more PDCP PDUs of the first terminal device, carrying the service or flow, where per ¶0069 i.e. identifies the remote UE Uu bearer to which the data packet belongs and per ¶0085 i.e. the relay UE maps a data packet to a relay Uu BH bearer based on a mapping relationship, which is configured by the base station reads on: over the at least one Uu/PC5- RLC channel where the relay receives data packet from remote UE mapped to per ¶0068 mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer i.e. therefore over i.e. the Uu/PC5-RLC channel. Furthermore, per ¶0085 i.e. based on a mapping relationship, which is configured by the base station combined with the ¶0138 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the relay UE reads on: in the selected at least one mapping).
While WANG teaches: transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) as noted herein above, combining teachings of WANG from an embodiment associated with FIG. 7 with an embodiment with overlapping teaching associated with FIG. 2, assuming arguendo that:
WANG i.e. in a single embodiment i.e. FIG. 7 does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): transmitting one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs);
PALADUGU which also teaches: comprising: transmitting, to a first terminal device having a second terminal device as a relay towards the network node
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a third terminal device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a first configuration (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0140 See claim 65; ¶0158 See claim 65; FIG. 9 & ¶0169 See claim 65 ; ¶0170 See claim 65 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0159 […] reference number 765, the network entity 715 may transmit, to i.e. via an RRC message reads on: comprising: transmitting, to a first terminal device per FIG. 7 & ¶0140 i.e. a relay service[…] 700 includes a remote UE 705, i.e. a relay UE 710, and a network entity 715 reads on: having a second terminal device as a relay towards the network node or a third terminal device, where per ¶0159 i.e. the network entity 715 may transmit, to the remote UE 705, i.e. an indication of the bearer identifier information i.e. per ¶0158 the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers) reads on: a first configuration.);
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
transmitting, to the second terminal device, a second configuration for the service flow or note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0158 See claim 72; ¶0162 See claim 72; ¶0163 See claim 72; FIG. 9 & ¶0172 See claim 72;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & reference number 760, the network entity 715 may transmit, to the relay UE 710, an indication of the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers) reads on: transmitting, to the second terminal device, a second configuration . Furthermore where per FIG. 9 & ¶0172 i.e. the relay UE 910 may transmit, to the network entity 915, the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel reads on: for a service or flow),
wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): a plurality of each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels(PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0158 See claim 65; ¶0159 See claim 65; ¶0162 See claim 65; ¶0163 See claim 65; FIG. 9 & ¶0169 See claim 65; ¶0170 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0169 where FIG. 9 incorporates steps of FIG. 7 and per ¶0170 i.e. The remote UE 905 may identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU i.e. identify a remote UE bearer identifier associated with the radio access radio bearer (e.g., based at least in part on the mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifier described above) associated with per ¶0159 i.e. the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs reads on: wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of: a plurality of mappings corresponding to features of claim 65 (see objections) which per ¶0158 is i.e. the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers). Furthermore, where per ¶0159 i.e. the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 i.e. as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs reads on: each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow, i.e. where The remote UE 905 may transfer the PDCP PDU (with the PC5 adaptation layer header i.e. for transmission to the relay UE 910 over the appropriate PC5 RLC channel reads on: and at least one of the one or more PC5-RLC channels),
from which the first terminal device selects at least one mapping for the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0159 See above ; FIG. 9 & ¶0169 See above; ¶0170 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0170 i.e. the appropriate PC5 RLC channel utilized is based on per ¶0170 i.e. identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU reads on: from which the first terminal device selects at least one mapping for the service or flow , where per ¶0170 the i.e. identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) correlates to per FIG. 7 & ¶0159 i.e. the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs or information comprising i.e. one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers sent to the remote UE 705),
in order to transmit one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow over the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0158 See claim 65; ¶0159 See claim 65; ¶0162 See claim 65 ; ¶0163 See claim 65; FIG. 9 & ¶0169 See claim 65; ¶0170 See claim 65;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0170 i.e. The remote UE 905 may identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU and i.e. The remote UE 905 may append the PC5 adaptation layer header to the PDCP PDU. The remote UE 905 may transfer the PDCP PDU (with the PC5 adaptation layer header) to lower layer(s) for transmission to the relay UE 910 over the appropriate PC5 RLC channel reads on: in order to transmit one or more Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Protocol Data Units (PDUs) carrying the service or flow. Furthermore per ¶0170 i.e. identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU, where i.e. remote UE 905 may transfer the PDCP PDU (with the PC5 adaptation layer header) to lower layer(s) for transmission to the relay UE 910 over the appropriate PC5 RLC channel reads on: over the at least one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel where per ¶0170 i.e. the appropriate PC5 RLC channel is based on per ¶0170 i.e. identify a radio access (e.g., Uu) radio bearer (e.g., an SRB identifier or a DRB identifier) associated with the PDCP PDU which correlated to FIG. 7 & ¶0159 i.e. the bearer identifier information to the remote UE 705 as part of a bearer configuration for the corresponding DRBs and SRBs reads on: in the selected at least one mapping),
wherein the second configuration comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): a plurality of mappings each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0158 See Claim 72 ; ¶0162 See Claim 72 ; ¶0163 See Claim 72; FIG. 9 & ¶0172 See Claim 72;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 & ¶0158 […] reference number 760, the network entity 715 may transmit, to the relay UE 710, an indication of the bearer identifier information (e.g., one or more remote UE bearer identifiers and mapping information for the remote UE bearer identifiers) reads on: wherein the second configuration comprises at least one of: a plurality of mappings. Furthermore, where per ¶0172 i.e. to identify a Uu RLC channel associated with the remote UE bearer identifier i.e. the relay UE 910 may use the bearer identifier information (e.g., the mapping of remote UE bearer identifiers to PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels) reads on: each between one or more PC5-RLC channels and at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels)
from which the second terminal device selects at least one mapping in the second configuration for the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0158 See Claim 72 ; ¶0162 See Claim 72 ; ¶0163 See Claim 72; FIG. 9 & ¶0170 See claim 65; ¶0172 See Claim 72;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0170 i.e. remote UE 905 may transfer the PDCP PDU (with the PC5 adaptation layer header) to lower layer(s) for transmission to the relay UE 910 over the appropriate PC5 RLC channel, and furthermore per FIG. 9 & ¶0172 i.e. the relay UE 910 may transmit, to the network entity 915, the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel i.e. the appropriate PC5 RLC channel is correlated to the appropriate Uu RLC channel by the relay to transmit the PDCP PDU reads on: from which the second terminal device selects at least one mapping in the second configuration for the service or flow i.e. ),
in order to transmit one or more PDCP PDUs of the first terminal device, carrying the service or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) flow over the at least one Uu/PC5- RLC channel in the selected at least one mapping (PALADUGU FIG. 7 & ¶0158 See claim 72; ¶0162 See claim 72; ¶0163 […] See claim 72; FIG. 9 & ¶0172 See claim 72; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0172 i.e. As shown by reference number 940, the relay UE 910 may transmit, to the network entity 915, the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel reads on: in order to transmit one or more PDCP PDUs of the first terminal device, carrying the service or flow . Furthermore per ¶0170 i.e. the appropriate PC5 RLC channel pertaining to the remote UE is correlated to per ¶0172 i.e. (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel to transmit the PDCP PDU reads on: over the at least one Uu/PC5- RLC channel where per ¶0172 i.e. the relay UE 910 may use the bearer identifier information (e.g., the mapping of remote UE bearer identifiers to PC5 RLC channels and Uu RLC channels) to identify a Uu RLC channel associated with the remote UE bearer identifier and furthermore per FIG. 9 & ¶0172 i.e. the relay UE 910 may transmit, to the network entity 915, the PDCP PDU (e.g., with the Uu adaptation layer header) on the appropriate Uu RLC channel reads on: in the selected at least one mapping )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG with teachings of PALADUGU, since PALADUGU provides signaling for configuration of the adaptation layer (e.g., the PC5 adaptation layer and/or the Uu adaptation layer), configuration of radio bearer mappings, privacy and security support, and traffic routing, as a result, a Layer 2 relay service is configured to handle QoS requirements, one or more remote UEs, various service coverage and connection states, and mappings of radio bearers, RLC channels, and in this way, efficiency of Layer 2 relaying is improved and conformance with QoS requirements and/or security requirements is improved (PALADUGU - ¶0139).
Regarding Claim 81. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 80,
(See the rejection of Claim 66, Claim 81 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 66, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 66 applies similarly to Claim 81. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the first configuration further comprises at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): one or more Uu-RLC channels(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), one or more QoS requirements or parameters and Layer-2 configurations for a second link between the first terminal device and the network node(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), and a plurality of mappings each between one or more radio bearers carrying the service or flow and at least one of the one or more Uu-RLC channels(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
(See the rejection of Claim 66, Claim 81 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 66, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 66 applies similarly to Claim 81. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 82. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 80,
Furthermore Wang teaches: wherein the first configuration is transmitted to the first terminal device via the second terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See claim 65; ¶0139 See claim 65; ¶0141 See claim 65; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 Relay UE depicted and per ¶0141 i.e. The preceding configuration information from the base station to the remote UE reads on: wherein the first configuration is sent through an RRC reconfiguration message i.e. and forwarded by the relay UE reads on: is transmitted to the first terminal device via the second terminal device).
Regarding Claim 83. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 80,
(See the rejection of Claim 67, Claim 83 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 67, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 67 applies similarly to Claim 83. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the plurality of mappings in the first configuration comprise at least one of: a mapping between one radio bearer and one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel, a mapping between more than one radio bearer and one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel, or a mapping between one radio bearer and more than one PC5-RLC and/or Uu-RLC channel(See the rejection of Claim 67, Claim 83 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 67, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 67 applies similarly to Claim 81. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate),
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the plurality of mappings in the second configuration comprise(note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): a mapping between one PC5-RLC channel and one Uu/PC5-RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), a mapping between more than one PC5-RLC channel and one Uu/PC5-RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), or a mapping between one PC5-RLC channel and more than one Uu/PC5-RLC channel(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
(note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
(See the rejection of Claim 67, Claim 83 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 67, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 67 applies similarly to Claim 83. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 84. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 80,
Furthermore WANG teaches: further comprising: receiving, from the first terminal device(note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the second terminal device, information on the service or flow (WANG FIG. 5 & ¶0102 […] S210 a relay UE indicates relay communication auxiliary information to a base station; ¶0103 […] after receiving the layer 2 connection establishment request sent by the remote UE, the relay UE sends sidelink UE information (that is, relay communication auxiliary information) to the base station, indicating the base station that relay communication is performed and indicating the remote UE for service; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 2 & ¶0102 S210 i.e. a relay UE indicates relay communication auxiliary information to a base station reads on: further comprising: receiving, from the second terminal device, information , where furthermore per ¶0103 i.e. the relay UE sends sidelink UE information (that is, relay communication auxiliary information) to the base station, indicating the base station that relay communication is performed and indicating the remote UE for service reads on: information on the service or flow )
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
one or more other relayed or non-relayed services or flows (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
wherein
the first configuration (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the second configuration is determined based on the information (WANG ¶0102 See above ¶0104 […] S220, the relay UE receives relay communication configuration information sent by the base station and performs data transmission based on the relay communication configuration information; ¶0107 […] the relay communication configuration information includes at least one of the following: relay Uu BH bearer configuration, PC5 RLC bearer configuration, or a bearer mapping relationship;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0104 i.e. S220, the relay UE receives relay communication configuration information sent by the base station where per ¶0107 i.e. the relay communication configuration information includes at least one of the following: relay Uu BH bearer configuration, PC5 RLC bearer configuration, or a bearer mapping relationship reads on: the second configuration is determined per FIG. 2 & ¶0103 as a response to S210 reads on: based on the information ).
Regarding Claim 85. (New) WANG teaches: A first terminal device(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 […] process of establishing an air interface data forwarding bearer […] After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE and registers with the core network, the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process when the remote UE sends data or the network triggers the UE to initiate the establishment of a PDU session […] The base station performs data bearer configuration of the remote UE and air interface data forwarding bearer configuration of the relay UE;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. process of establishing an air interface data forwarding bearer where per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE initiates a PDU session establishment process i.e. the remote UE reads on: A first terminal device ),
comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (WANG FIG. 2, FIG. 7, FIG. 20 & ¶0268 […] a communication device. FIG. 20 is a structural diagram of a communication device according to the present application. As shown in FIG. 20, the communication device provided in the present application includes one or more processors 910 and a memory 920. One or more processors 910 may be provided in the communication device. In FIG. 20, one processor 910 is used as an example. The memory 920 is used for storing one or more programs. When executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication method applied to UE-to-Network relay communication or the sidelink relay communication method applied to UE-to-UE relay communication described in embodiments of the present application; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the remote UE of FIG. 7 the communication device applied to UE-to-Network relay communication where per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: comprising a transceiver for communications as in well known in prior art, where per ¶0268 i.e. the one or more processors 910, memory 920 reads on: a processor and a memory, and per ¶0268 i.e. The memory 920 is used for storing one or more programs. When executed by the one or more processors 910 reads on: the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor)
(See the rejection of Claim 65, Claim 85 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 65, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 65 applies similarly to Claim 85. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
whereby the first terminal device is operative to perform the method of claim 65 (See the rejection of Claim 65, Claim 85 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 65, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 65 applies similarly to Claim 85. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 86. (New) WANG teaches: A computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon, the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor(WANG FIG. 2, FIG. 7, FIG. 20 & ¶0268 See claim 85; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the remote UE of FIG. 7 the communication device applied to UE-to-Network relay communication where per ¶0268 The memory 920 is used for storing one or more programs reads on: A computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon; per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor )
in a first terminal device, causing (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See claim 85 ;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. the remote UE as applied to the Communication device of FIG. 20 where i.e. per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: in a first terminal device, causing)
(See the rejection of Claim 65, Claim 86 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 65, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 65 applies similarly to Claim 86. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) the first terminal device to perform the method of claim 65 (See the rejection of Claim 65, Claim 86 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 65, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 65 applies similarly to Claim 86. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 87. (New) WANG teaches: A second terminal device (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65; Claim 85;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station through the relay UE reads on: A second terminal device), comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (WANG FIG. 2, FIG. 7, FIG. 20 & ¶0268 See claim 85; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the relay UE of FIG. 7 the communication device applied to UE-to-Network relay communication where per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: comprising a transceiver for communications as in well known in prior art, where per ¶0268 i.e. the one or more processors 910, memory 920 reads on: a processor and a memory, and per ¶0268 i.e. The memory 920 is used for storing one or more programs. When executed by the one or more processors 910 reads on: the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor)
(See the rejection of Claim 72, Claim 87 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 72, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 72 applies similarly to Claim 87. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)whereby the second terminal device is operative to perform the method of claim 72(See the rejection of Claim 72, Claim 87 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 72, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 72 applies similarly to Claim 87. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 88. (New) WANG teaches: A computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon, the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor (WANG FIG. 2, FIG. 7, FIG. 20 & ¶0268 See claim 85; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the relay UE of FIG. 7 the communication device applied to UE-to-Network relay communication where per ¶0268 The memory 920 is used for storing one or more programs reads on: A computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon; per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor ) in a second terminal device, causing(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See claim 85 ;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. the relay UE as applied to the Communication device of FIG. 20 where i.e. per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: in a second terminal device, causing)
(See the rejection of Claim 72, Claim 86 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 72, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 72 applies similarly to Claim 86. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)the second terminal device to perform the method of claim 72(See the rejection of Claim 72, Claim 86 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 72, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 72 applies similarly to Claim 86. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 89. (New) WANG teaches: A network node or control device(WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See Claim 65; See Claim 85;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. After the remote UE establishes an RRC connection with the base station reads on: A network node or control device), comprising a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (WANG FIG. 2, FIG. 7, FIG. 20 & ¶0268 See claim 85; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the base station of FIG. 7 the communication device applied to UE-to-Network relay communication where per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: comprising a transceiver for communications as in well known in prior art, where per ¶0268 i.e. the one or more processors 910, memory 920 reads on: a processor and a memory, and per ¶0268 i.e. The memory 920 is used for storing one or more programs. When executed by the one or more processors 910 reads on: the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor)
(See the rejection of Claim 80, Claim 89 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 80, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 80 applies similarly to Claim 89. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)whereby the network node or control device is operative to perform the method of claim 80(See the rejection of Claim 80, Claim 89 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 80, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 80 applies similarly to Claim 89. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 90. (New) WANG teaches: A computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon, the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor(WANG FIG. 2, FIG. 7, FIG. 20 & ¶0268 See claim 85; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the Base station of FIG. 7 the communication device applied to UE-to-Network relay communication where per ¶0268 The memory 920 is used for storing one or more programs reads on: A computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon; per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: the computer program instructions, when executed by a processor ) in a network node or control device, causing (WANG – FIG. 7 & ¶0134 See claim 85 ;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0134 i.e. the base station of FIG. 7 as applied to the Communication device of FIG. 20 where i.e. per ¶0268 i.e. executed by the one or more processors 910, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors 910 to implement the sidelink relay communication reads on: in a network node or control device, causing)
(See the rejection of Claim 80, Claim 90 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 80, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 80 applies similarly to Claim 90. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) the network node or control device to perform the method of claim 80 (See the rejection of Claim 80, Claim 90 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 80, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 80 applies similarly to Claim 90. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
13. Claim 77 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG in view of PALADUGU, further in view of Rao et al. (US 20240187935 A1) i.e. “Rao”.
Regarding Claim 77. (New) WANG in view of PALADUGU teaches: The method of claim 72,
WANG in view of PALADUGU does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions ): wherein at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels that is not included in the selected at least one mapping is suspended or deactivated;
Rao teaches wherein at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels that is not included in the selected at least one mapping is suspended or deactivated (Rao - ¶0136 […] the relay WTRU may send information on start/end timing and/or time duration with respect to a reference time slot for performing an action, as described in an earlier section, including the start/end of using a configuration or preconfiguration (e.g., LCH/MAC, adaptation layer mapping, egress RLC channel) at the relay WTRU […] the relay WTRU may send information on the start/end timing associated with suspending and/or resuming transmissions over one or more RLC channels on PC5 link; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0136 i.e. the relay WTRU may send information on start/end timing and/or time duration with respect to i.e. adaptation layer mapping, egress RLC channel reads on: wherein at least one of the one or more Uu/PC5-RLC channels , where furthermore per ¶0136 i.e. the relay WTRU may send information i.e. associated with suspending and/or resuming transmissions over one or more RLC channels on PC5 link reads on: that is not included in the selected at least one mapping , and furthermore where this information includes per ¶0136 i.e. the start/end timing associated with suspending reads on: is suspended or deactivated ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WANG in view of PALADUGU with teachings of Rao, since Rao enables adaptive QoS when mapping/multiplexing from one or more E2E radio bearers to one or more PC5 RLC channels, where adaptive QoS refers to the ability to flexibly change the configuration at one or more layers of the protocol stack including mapping at adaptation layer, LCH/MAC configuration and/or RLC channel configuration for ensuring QoS in different hops and/or E2E QoS (Rao ¶0141).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 70, 71, 76, 78, 79 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 70. (New) The method of claim 65, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the plurality of comprise a first mapping between a first radio bearer and a first PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel and a second mapping between the first radio bearer and a second PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel, the first PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel being dedicated for the service or flow and the second PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel being sharable between the service or flow and another non-relayed service or flow, and wherein said selecting comprises: selecting the first mapping or the second mapping based on a first priority of the first PC5- RLC or Uu-RLC channel and a second priority of the second PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel, wherein the first priority is higher than the second priority when a QoS of the service or flow is prioritized over power efficiency of the first terminal device, or the first priority is lower than the second priority when the power efficiency of the first terminal device is prioritized over the QoS of the service or flow”.
Regarding Claim 71. (New) The method of claim 65, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising, when a first mapping between a first radio bearer and a first PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel is selected, the first PC5-RLC or Uu- RLC channel being dedicated for the service or flow: reselecting, from the plurality of mappings, a second mapping between the first radio bearer and a second PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel, the second PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel being sharable between the service or flow and another non-relayed service or flow, or reselecting a third PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel to which the first radio bearer is to be mapped, the third PC5-RLC or Uu-RLC channel being included in none of the plurality of mappings and being sharable between the service or flow and another non-relayed service or flow”.
Regarding Claim 76. (New) The method of claim 72, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising: transmitting, to the network node or the control device, a mapping indication indicating the selected at least one mapping; and starting a timer when the mapping indication is transmitted, wherein the one or more PDCP PDUs of the first terminal device are transmitted after the timer expires”.
Regarding Claim 78. (New) The method of claim 72, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the plurality of mappings in the second configuration comprise a first mapping between a first PC5-RLC channel and a first Uu/PC5-RLC channel and a second mapping between the first PC5-RLC channel and a second Uu/PC5-RLC channel, the first Uu/PC5-RLC channel being dedicated for the service or flow and the second Uu/PC5-RLC channel being sharable between the service or flow and another non-relayed service or flow, and wherein said selecting comprises: selecting the first mapping or the second mapping based on a first priority of the first Uu/PC5-RLC channel and a second priority of the second Uu/PC5-RLC channel”.
Regarding Claim 79. (New) The method of claim 72, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising, when a first mapping between a first PC5-RLC channel and a first Uu/PC5-RLC channel is selected, the first Uu/PC5-RLC channel being dedicated for the service or flow: reselecting, from the plurality of mappings, a second mapping between the first PC5-RLC channel and a second Uu/PC5-RLC channel, the second Uu/PC5-RLC channel being sharable between the service or flow and another non-relayed service or flow, or reselecting a third Uu/PC5-RLC channel to which the first PC5-RLC channel is to be mapped, the third Uu/PC5-RLC channel being included in none of the plurality of mappings and being sharable between the service or flow and another non-relayed service or flow”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
04/10/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414