DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/135763 filed 12/1/2022 and claims foreign priority to CN202210098907.0 filed 1/24/2022. This priority information should be added after the title under the heading “Cross-references to Related Applications”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract is more than 150 words. The abstract should be within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 5 recites “to connected to the first catheter section”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “to connected to the first catheter section” in line 5 of claim 8 with “to connect to the first catheter section”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1,
Line 6-7 recites “when the first pull wire is pulled, the first pull wire ring drives the first catheter section to bend”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the terms “is pulled” and “drives”. For examination purposes Examiner construes the first pull wire to not be positively required to be pulled and the first pull wire ring to not be positively required to drive the first catheter section to bend. Examiner suggests replacing “when the first pull wire is pulled, the first pull wire ring drives the first catheter section to bend” in line 6-7 of claim 1 with “wherein the first pull wire is configured to be pulled to cause the first pull wire ring to drive the first catheter section to bend”.
Line 12-13 recites “when the second pull wire is pulled, the second pull wire ring drives the second catheter section to bend”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the terms “is pulled” and “drives”. For examination purposes Examiner construes the second pull wire to not be positively required to be pulled and the second pull wire ring to not be positively required to drive the second catheter section to bend. Examiner suggests replacing “when the second pull wire is pulled, the second pull wire ring drives the second catheter section to bend” in line 12-13 of claim 1 with “wherein the second pull wire is configured to be pulled to cause the second pull wire ring to drive the second catheter section to bend”.
Examiner notes claims 2-13 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
In regard to claim 4,
Line 3-4 recites “an end of the first pull wire ring”. Line 1-2 of claim 4 also recites “an end of the first pull wire ring”. It is unclear if the end introduced in line 3-4 is the same end as the end of line 1-2 of claim 4 or if the end of line 3-4 is a second end of the first pull wire ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes the end in line 3-4 to be the same as the end in line 1-2. Examiner suggests replacing “an end of the first pull wire ring” in line 3-4 of claim 4 with “the end of the first pull wire ring”.
Line 4-5 recites “a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring”. Line 2-3 recites “a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring”. It is unclear if the portion introduced in line 4-5 is the same portion as the portion of line 2-3 of claim 4 or if the portion of line 4-5 is a second portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes the portion in line 4-5 to be the same as the portion in line 2-3. Examiner suggests replacing “a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring” in line 4-5 of claim 4 with “the portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring”.
Line 6 recites “the first wire pull ring”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. It is unclear if the first wire pull ring is intended to refer to the first pull wire ring or to a first wire pull ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the first wire pull ring” to be “the first pull wire ring”. Examiner suggests replacing “the first wire pull ring” in line 6 of claim 4 with “the first pull wire ring”.
Line 7 recites “the groove”. Line 2 and line 5 of claim 4 both introduce “a groove”. It is unclear which groove “the groove” of line 7 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the groove of line 7 to refer to either the groove of line 2 or the groove of line 5 of claim 4.
Line 7 recites “the protrusion”. Line 3 and line 4 of claim 4 both introduce “a protrusion ”. It is unclear which protrusion “the protrusion” of line 7 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the protrusion of line 7 to refer to either the protrusion of line 3 or the protrusion of line 4 of claim 4.
In regard to claim 5,
Line 3-4 recites “a proximal end of the second pull wire ring”. Line 1-2 recites “a proximal end of the second pull wire ring”. It is unclear if the proximal end introduced in line 3-4 is the same proximal end as the proximal end of line 1-2 of claim 5 or if the proximal end of line 3-4 is a second proximal end of the second pull wire ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes the proximal end in line 3-4 to be the same as the proximal end in line 1-2. Examiner suggests replacing “a proximal end of the second pull wire ring” in line 3-4 of claim 5 with “the proximal end of the second pull wire ring”.
Line 4-5 recites “a portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring”. Line 2-3 recites “a portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring”. It is unclear if the portion introduced in line 4-5 is the same portion as the portion of line 2-3 of claim 5 or if the portion of line 4-5 is a second portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes the portion in line 4-5 to be the same as the portion in line 2-3. Examiner suggests replacing “a portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring” in line 4-5 of claim 5 with “the portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring”.
Line 7 recites “the second wire pull ring”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. It is unclear if the second wire pull ring is intended to refer to the second pull wire ring or to a second wire pull ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the second wire pull ring” to be “the second pull wire ring”. Examiner suggests replacing “the second wire pull ring” in line 7 of claim 5 with “the second pull wire ring”.
Line 8 recites “the groove”. Line 2 and line 6 of claim 5 both introduce “a groove”. It is unclear which groove “the groove” of line 8 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the groove of line 8 to refer to either the groove of line 2 or the groove of line 6 of claim 5.
Line 8 recites “the protrusion”. Line 3 and line 4 of claim 5 both introduce “a protrusion ”. It is unclear which protrusion “the protrusion” of line 8 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the protrusion of line 8 to refer to either the protrusion of line 3 or the protrusion of line 4 of claim 5.
In regard to claim 6,
Line 3-4 recites “a distal end of the second pull wire ring”. Line 1-2 recites “a distal end of the second pull wire ring”. It is unclear if the distal end introduced in line 3-4 is the same distal end as the distal end of line 1-2 of claim 6 or if the distal end of line 3-4 is a second distal end of the second pull wire ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes the distal end in line 3-4 to be the same as the distal end in line 1-2. Examiner suggests replacing “a distal end of the second pull wire ring” in line 3-4 of claim 6 with “the distal end of the second pull wire ring”.
Line 4-5 recites “a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring”. Line 2-3 recites “a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring”. It is unclear if the portion introduced in line 4-5 is the same portion as the portion of line 2-3 of claim 6 or if the portion of line 4-5 is a second portion of first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes the portion in line 4-5 to be the same as the portion in line 2-3. Examiner suggests replacing “a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring” in line 4-5 of claim 6 with “the portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring”.
Line 7 recites “the second wire pull ring”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. It is unclear if the second wire pull ring is intended to refer to the second pull wire ring or to a second wire pull ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the second wire pull ring” to be “the second pull wire ring”. Examiner suggests replacing “the second wire pull ring” in line 7 of claim 6 with “the second pull wire ring”.
Line 8 recites “the groove”. Line 2 and line 6 of claim 6 both introduce “a groove”. It is unclear which groove “the groove” of line 8 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the groove of line 8 to refer to either the groove of line 2 or the groove of line 6 of claim 6.
Line 8 recites “the protrusion”. Line 3 and line 4 of claim 6 both introduce “a protrusion ”. It is unclear which protrusion “the protrusion” of line 8 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the protrusion of line 8 to refer to either the protrusion of line 3 or the protrusion of line 4 of claim 6.
In regard to claim 7,
Line 3-4 recites “the second wire pull ring”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. It is unclear if the second wire pull ring is intended to refer to the second pull wire ring or to a second wire pull ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the second wire pull ring” to be “the second pull wire ring”. Examiner suggests replacing “the second wire pull ring” in line 3-4 of claim 7 with “the second pull wire ring”.
In regard to claim 8,
Line 3 recites “thereof”. It is unclear what structure “thereof” refers to. It is unclear if thereof refers to of the first pull wire ring or the first pull wire or the first pull wire assembly or a different structure. For examination purposes Examiner construes “thereof” to be “of the first pull wire ring”. Examiner suggests replacing “thereof” in line 3 of claim 8 with “of the first pull wire ring”.
Line 3-4 recites “a further exclusive connection structure is provided on the second pull wire”. It is unclear if the further exclusive connection structure is provided on the second pull wire or provided on the second pull wire ring. Page 15, line 12-14 of the disclosure states “a further exclusive connection structure is provided on the second wire pull ring 41 along the circumferential direction thereof to connect to the first catheter section 10 or the second catheter section 20”. Based on the disclosure it appears the further exclusive connection structure is provided on the second pull wire ring. For examination purposes Examiner construes the further exclusive connection structure to be provided on the second pull wire ring. Examiner suggests replacing “a further exclusive connection structure is provided on the second pull wire” in line 3-4 of claim 8 with “a further exclusive connection structure is provided on the second pull wire ring”.
Line 4 recites “thereof”. It is unclear what structure “thereof” refers to. It is unclear if thereof refers to of the second pull wire or the second pull wire ring or the second pull wire assembly or a different structure. For examination purposes Examiner construes “thereof” to be “of the second pull wire”. Examiner suggests replacing “thereof” in line 4 of claim 8 with “of the second pull wire”.
In regard to claim 9,
Line 2-4 recites “the positioning marker is configured to determine a circumferential position of the first catheter section”. It is unclear what is meant by this. It is unclear how the positioning marker would be configured to determine a circumferential position of the first catheter section. Based on the disclosure, it appears the positioning marker is configured to indicate a circumferential position of the first catheter section. For examination purposes Examine construes “the positioning marker is configured to determine a circumferential position of the first catheter section” to be “the positioning marker is configured to indicate a circumferential position of the first catheter section”. Examiner suggests replacing “the positioning marker is configured to determine a circumferential position of the first catheter section” in line 2-4 of claim 9 with “the positioning marker is configured to indicate a circumferential position of the first catheter section”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dixon (U.S. PG publication 20210361428).
In regard to claim 1,
[AltContent: textbox (First catheter section)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect]
Dixon discloses a delivery catheter (figure 40, item 1114), comprising a first catheter section (see figure 40 above), a second catheter section (figure 40, item 116), a first pull wire assembly (figure 40, item 135 and pull ring attached to item 135 positioned at actuation point 135a; paragraph [0157] and [0170]) and a second pull wire assembly (figure 40, item 136 and pull ring attached to item 136 positioned at actuation point 136a; paragraph [0157] and [0170]); wherein
the first pull wire assembly comprises a first pull wire and a first pull wire ring (see analysis above; figure 40, item 135 and pull ring attached to item 135 positioned at actuation point 135a), wherein the first pull wire ring is disposed at a distal end of the first catheter section (see figure 40 and paragraph [0157] and [0170] wherein the pull ring attached to item 135 is positioned at actuation point 135a), the first pull wire is connected to the first pull wire ring and extends toward a proximal end of the first catheter section (see figure 40 and paragraph [0157] and [0170]); when the first pull wire is pulled, the first pull wire ring drives the first catheter section to bend (paragraph [0157] and [0170]);
the second pull wire assembly comprises a second pull wire and a second pull wire ring (see analysis above; figure 40, item 136 and pull ring attached to item 136 positioned at actuation point 136a), wherein the second pull wire ring is disposed at a distal end of the second catheter section (see figure 40 wherein pull ring attached to item 136 is positioned at actuation point 136a) and connected to the proximal end of the first catheter section (see figure 40 wherein there pull wire ring is connected to the proximal end of the first catheter section via other components), the second pull wire is connected to the second pull wire ring and extends toward a proximal end of the second catheter section (see figure 40 and paragraph [0157] and [0170]); when the second pull wire is pulled, the second pull wire ring drives the second catheter section to bend (paragraph [0157] and [0170]);
an angle at which the first catheter section can bend is greater than an angle at which the second catheter section can bend (paragraph [0173] and [0090]).
In regard to claim 3,
[AltContent: textbox (Transition section)][AltContent: textbox (Bendable section)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (First catheter section)][AltContent: rect]
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1, wherein the first catheter section comprises a bendable section (See figure 40 above) and a transition section (See figure 40 above), and wherein the bendable section is connected to the transition section and is located distally to the transition section (See figure 40 above), and an angle at which the bendable section can bend is greater than an angle at which the transition section can bend (See figure 40 above; paragraph [0173]; Examiner notes an angle at which the bendable section can bend is greater than an angle at which the transition section can bend due to the slots in the bendable section).
In regard to claim 9,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1, wherein a positioning mark (slot 125 at distal end of the first catheter section) is provided at the proximal end or the distal end of the first catheter section (see slot 125), and the positioning mark is configured to determine a circumferential position of the first catheter section (see figure 40 wherein slot 125 is configured to determine a circumferential position of the first catheter section as the slot indicates the circumferential position of the first catheter section).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixon (U.S. PG publication 20210361428) further in view of Paprocki (U.S. Patent no 9782566).
In regard to claim 2,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1, wherein the first catheter section comprises a hypotube section (paragraph [0167]; see figure 40), and the second catheter section comprises a slotted section (figure 40, item 326).
Dixon is silent as to the second catheter section comprises a serpentine section.
Paprocki teaches the second catheter section (proximal portion of item 54 in figure 6) comprises a serpentine section (column 6, line 46-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dixon to substitute the serpentine slots of Paprocki in place of the slots of Dixon, as taught by Paprocki, because the substitution is a simple substitution that would yield the same predictable result of enabling bending (paragraph [0168] of Dixon and column 2, line 33-38 of Paprocki). Furthermore, paragraph [0263]-[0266] of Dixon discloses modifications can be made.
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixon (U.S. PG publication 20210361428).
In regard to claim 4,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1.
The first embodiment is silent as to wherein an end of the first pull wire ring is provided with a groove, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, or an end of the first pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the first wire pull ring and the distal end of the first catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion.
A second embodiment of Dixon teaches an end of the first pull wire ring (figure 50A, item 2037; paragraph [0195]) is provided with a groove (groove that receives tooth 1807; paragraph [0195]), and a portion of the first catheter section (figure 50A and 47A, item 1025) in connection with the first pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion (figure 47A, item 1807), or an end of the first pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the first wire pull ring and the distal end of the first catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion (paragraph [0195]; see figure 50A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Dixon to include wherein an end of the first pull wire ring is provided with a groove, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, or an end of the first pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the first pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the first wire pull ring and the distal end of the first catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion, as taught by the second embodiment of Dixon, for the purpose of effectively securing a section to a pull wire ring (paragraph [0195] of Dixon).
In regard to claim 5,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1.
The first embodiment of Dixon is silent as to wherein a proximal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove, and a portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, or a proximal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the second wire pull ring and the distal end of the second catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion.
The second embodiment of Dixon teaches wherein a proximal end of the second pull wire ring (figure 50A, item 2038) is provided with a groove (groove that receives tooth 33 of item 1026; paragraph [0195]), and a portion of the second catheter section (figure 50A, item 1026) in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion (tooth 33; paragraph [0195]), or a proximal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the second wire pull ring and the distal end of the second catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion (paragraph [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Dixon to include wherein a proximal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove, and a portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, or a proximal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the second catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the second wire pull ring and the distal end of the second catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion, as taught by the second embodiment of Dixon, for the purpose of effectively securing a second to a pull wire ring (paragraph [0195] of Dixon).
In regard to claim 7,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1.
The first embodiment of Dixon is silent as to wherein a connection between the first pull wire ring and the first catheter section, a connection between the second pull wire ring and the first catheter section, or a connection between the second wire pull ring and the second catheter section, is formed by matching exclusive connection structures.
The second embodiment of Dixon teaches wherein a connection between the first pull wire ring (figure 50A, item 2037) and the first catheter section (figure 50A, item 1025), a connection between the second pull wire ring and the first catheter section, or a connection between the second wire pull ring (figure 50A, item 2038) and the second catheter section (figure 50A, item 1026), is formed by matching exclusive connection structures (groove of pull wire ring that receives a tooth; paragraph [0195]; see figure 50A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Dixon to include wherein a connection between the first pull wire ring and the first catheter section, a connection between the second pull wire ring and the first catheter section, or a connection between the second wire pull ring and the second catheter section, is formed by matching exclusive connection structures, as taught by the second embodiment of Dixon, for the purpose of effectively securing a section to a pull wire ring (paragraph [0195] of Dixon).
In regard to claim 8,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1.
The first embodiment of Dixon is silent as to wherein an exclusive connection structure is provided on the first pull wire ring along a circumferential direction thereof to connect to the first catheter section, and a further exclusive connection structure is provided on the second pull wire along a circumferential direction thereof to connected to the first catheter section or the second catheter section.
The second embodiment of Dixon teaches wherein an exclusive connection structure (groove of item 2037 which receives tooth 1807; paragraph [0195]; see figure 50A) is provided on the first pull wire ring (figure 50A, item 2037) along a circumferential direction thereof to connect to the first catheter section (figure 50A, item 1025), and a further exclusive connection structure (groove of item 2038 which receives tooth 33; paragraph [0195]; see figure 50A) is provided on the second pull wire (see 112 rejection above for claim interpretation wherein the second pull wire is construed to be the second pull wire ring; figure 50A, item 2038) along a circumferential direction thereof to connected to the first catheter section or the second catheter section (figure 50A, item 1026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Dixon to include wherein an exclusive connection structure is provided on the first pull wire ring along a circumferential direction thereof to connect to the first catheter section, and a further exclusive connection structure is provided on the second pull wire along a circumferential direction thereof to connected to the first catheter section or the second catheter section, as taught by the second embodiment of Dixon, for the purpose of effectively securing a section to a pull wire ring (paragraph [0195] of Dixon).
In regard to claim 11,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1.
The first embodiment of Dixon is silent as to wherein the delivery catheter further comprises a lining tube disposed inside the first catheter section and the second catheter section, and the first pull wire is disposed between the first catheter section, the second catheter section and the lining tube, and the second pull wire is disposed between the second catheter section and the lining tube.
A third embodiment of Dixon teaches wherein the delivery catheter (see all of figure 51) further comprises a lining tube (figure 51, item 2402) disposed inside the first catheter section and the second catheter section (paragraph [0205]: wherein the liner extends the full length of the primary lumen of the delivery catheter), and the first pull wire (figure 51, item 1135) is disposed between the first catheter section, the second catheter section and the lining tube (see figure 51-52B and 49A; paragraph [0205]), and the second pull wire (figure 51, item 1136) is disposed between the second catheter section and the lining tube (see figure 51-52B and 49A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Dixon to include wherein the delivery catheter further comprises a lining tube disposed inside the first catheter section and the second catheter section, and the first pull wire is disposed between the first catheter section, the second catheter section and the lining tube, and the second pull wire is disposed between the second catheter section and the lining tube, as taught by the third embodiment of Dixon, for the purpose of providing a desirable interior surface of the catheter lumen (paragraph [0205] of Dixon).
In regard to claim 13,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1.
The first embodiment of Dixon is silent as to further comprising a covering tube disposed outside the first catheter section and the second catheter section.
The third embodiment of Dixon teaches further comprising a covering tube (figure 51-52B, item 2301; paragraph [0205], outer most layer with braid 2401) disposed outside the first catheter section and the second catheter section (see figure 51-52B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Dixon to include further comprising a covering tube disposed outside the first catheter section and the second catheter section, as taught by the third embodiment of Dixon, for the purpose of providing additional support to the catheter without limiting the flexibility (paragraph [0205] of Dixon).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixon (U.S. PG publication 20210361428) further in view of Robert (U.S. PG publication 20160143633).
In regard to claim 6,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1.
Dixon is silent as to wherein a distal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, or a distal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the second wire pull ring and the proximal end of the first catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion.
Robert teaches wherein a distal end of the second pull wire ring (figure 4, item 24) is provided with a groove (see figure 1 and 10 wherein a protrusion of item 38 is received in the groove; paragraph [0074] and [0104]), and a portion (figure 1, item 38) of the first catheter section (figure 1, item 36) in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion (protrusion of item 38; paragraph [0074] and [0104]), or a distal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the second wire pull ring and the proximal end of the first catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion (see figure 1 and paragraph [0074] and [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dixon to include wherein a distal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, or a distal end of the second pull wire ring is provided with a protrusion, and a portion of the first catheter section in connection with the second pull wire ring is provided with a groove; wherein the second wire pull ring and the proximal end of the first catheter section are connected through matching of the groove and the protrusion, as taught by Robert, for the purpose of effectively securing a section to a pull wire ring (paragraph [0074] and [0104] of Robert).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixon (U.S. PG publication 20210361428) further in view of Benscoter (U.S. PG publication 20140194814) further in view of Honebrink (U.S. PG publication 20070005008).
In regard to claim 10,
Dixon discloses the delivery catheter according to claim 1.
Dixon is silent as to wherein the first pull wire ring or the second pull wire ring has a pull wire clamping groove in which the first pull wire or the second pull wire can be clamped.
Benscoter teaches wherein the first pull wire ring (figure 2, item 38; paragraph [0023] and [0025]: wherein the pull wire anchor is a pull ring) or the second pull wire ring has a pull wire groove (figure 5, item 40) in which the first pull wire (figure 2, item 24) or the second pull wire can be secured (see figure 2; paragraph [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first pull wire ring of Dixon to include a pull wire groove in which the first pull wire or the second pull wire can be secured, as taught by Benscoter, for the purpose of enhancing the strength between the pull wire and pull ring (paragraph [0007] of Benscoter).
Dixon in view of Benscoter is silent as to wherein the first pull wire ring or the second pull wire ring has a pull wire clamping groove in which the first pull wire or the second pull wire can be clamped.
Honebrink teaches wherein the first pull wire ring (figure 7, item 700; Examiner notes the skirt 700 is a pull wire anchor; paragraph [0007]) or the second pull wire ring has a pull wire clamping groove (opening of item 700) in which the first pull wire (figure 1, item 201) or the second pull wire can be clamped (paragraph [0073] and [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the groove of Dixon in view of Benscoter to be a pull wire clamping groove in which the first pull wire or the second pull wire can be clamped, as taught by Honebrink, for the purpose of preventing fracture of the pull wire (paragraph [0006] and [0014] of Honebrink).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixon (U.S. PG publication 20210361428) further in view of Benscoter (U.S. PG publication 20140194814).
In regard to claim 12,
Dixon teaches the delivery catheter according to claim 11.
Dixon is silent as to wherein a body of the first pull wire ring or the second pull wire ring has a hole into which the lining tube can expand outward so that a friction resistance between the lining tube and the first pull wire ring or the second pull wire ring is increased.
Benscoter teaches wherein a body of the first pull wire ring (figure 2, item 38; paragraph [0023] and [0025]: wherein the pull wire anchor is a pull ring) or the second pull wire ring has a hole (figure 2, item 42a-42c) into which the lining tube (figure 3, item 44) can expand outward so that a friction resistance between the lining tube and the first pull wire ring or the second pull wire ring is increased (paragraph [0027]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dixon to include wherein a body of the first pull wire ring or the second pull wire ring has a hole into which the lining tube can expand outward so that a friction resistance between the lining tube and the first pull wire ring or the second pull wire ring is increased, as taught by Benscoter, for the purpose of adding strength to the anchor mechanism (paragraph [0028] of Benscoter).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783