DETAILED ACTION
for
ULTRASOUND METHOD FOR INSPECTING A PART AND ASSOCIATED APPARATUS
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2024 and 08/28/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 11/27/2017 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" for example, “at least one interface echo is not more than 10:1, for instance not more than 2:1.” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Karaffa (US 2018/0328896).
Regarding claim 1, Karaffa discloses a method of determining the time delay between echoes of an ultrasound pulse emitted by an ultrasound inspection device into an object (see abstract), the method comprising: with the ultrasound inspection device in engagement with a front-wall feature of an object at a point to be measured (¶0028 ,lines 1-4), taking an ultrasound measurement (¶0030, lines 1-4), which comprises the ultrasound inspection device emitting an ultrasound pulse (¶0030 ,lines 5-9) and recording an ultrasound measurement signal (¶0034 ,lines 1-9) comprising a front-wall echo and at least one interface echo reflected by an internal or back-wall feature of the object; (¶0042 ,lines 1-8)
and determining the time delay between the front-wall echo (¶0044- ¶0045)and the at least one interface echo via autocorrelation of at least a segment of the ultrasound measurement signal which comprises the front-wall echo and the at least one interface echo (¶0052 ,lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 2, Karaffa further discloses inverting the amplitude of one of (¶0027, lines 1-6): the part of the ultrasound measurement signal having the front-wall echo (¶0028, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 3, Karaffa further discloses the amplitude of the part of the ultrasound measurement signal having the at least one interface echo, so as to reduce the difference in the amplitudes therebetween (¶0028, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 5, Karaffa further discloses when multiple interface echoes are present between successive front-wall echoes (¶0034, lines 1-10), the method comprises discarding at least one of the interface echoes from the signal from the autocorrelation (¶0039, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 6, Karaffa further discloses determining from the time delay the thickness of material structure of within the object between the front-wall feature and the internal or back-wall feature, at the point of measurement (¶0054, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Karaffa further discloses the front-wall feature and the internal or back-wall feature are nominally parallel (Fig. 1A and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Karaffa further discloses the ultrasound inspection device comprises a single transducer (112) for emitting and detecting the ultrasound pulse (¶0054, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Karaffa further discloses a deformable coupling element for engaging the surface of an object to be inspected (¶0041, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 10, Karaffa further discloses the ultrasound inspection device is mounted on a positioning apparatus, for example a coordinate positioning apparatus (¶0025, lines 1-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karaffa.
Regarding claim 4, Karaffa further discloses amplitude of the front-wall echo to the amplitude of the at least one interface echo
Karaffa fails to explicitly disclose the scaling is configured such that the ratio of the amplitude of the front-wall echo to the amplitude of the at least one interface echo is not more than 10:1, for instance not more than 2:1.
The particular range/ size, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” range/size of the front wall echo used by Prior Art for the amplitude that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the type of measurements and or/ intended use, etc. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karaffa in view of Hall (US 2017/0276651)
Regarding claim 11, Karaffa further discloses which the positioning apparatus facilitates relative
Karaffa fails to explicitly disclose a translational motion of the ultrasound inspection device and object in at least two linear degrees of freedom, and facilitates relative rotational motion of the of the ultrasound inspection device and object about at least one axis of rotation.
Hall discloses a translational motion of the ultrasound inspection device and object in at least two linear degrees of freedom (¶0026), and facilitates relative rotational motion of the of the ultrasound inspection device and object about at least one axis of rotation (¶0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of determining the time delay between echoes of an ultrasound pulse emitted by an ultrasound inspection device into an object, to modify Karaffa, to include a translational motion of the ultrasound inspection device and object in at least two linear degrees of freedom, as taught by Hall, for the benefit of providing a device which can analyze the ultrasound signal received by the transducer and thereby determine if there is contact between the coupling element and the surface of an object.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855