DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stephens (US 2022/0059894).
In re claim 1, Stephens discloses an energy storage floor assembly for a motor vehicle, comprising: a floor structure (24) comprising interconnected longitudinal and cross members as bearer elements; and an electrical energy store (20) arranged on an underside of the floor structure and connected to the floor structure (fig. 2), the energy store having a store housing with an upper housing part, by which at least one intermediate space between at least two of the bearer elements is overlapped downwardly in a vertical direction of the vehicle and thereby closed (fig. 2), and having prismatic storage cells (54) arranged in the store housing for storing electrical energy, wherein first ones of the prismatic storage cells are arranged successively along a first stacking direction while forming a first cell module, second ones of the prismatic storage cells are arranged successively along a second stacking direction, running parallel to the first stacking direction, while forming a second cell module, the first and second cell modules are arranged next to one another along a direction of arrangement running perpendicularly to the stacking directions and are joined to one another (fig. 3-5), and the first and second ones of the storage cells are joined to the upper housing part (fig. 9).
In re claim 20, Stephens further teaches the energy storage floor assembly as for use with a vehicle (par. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephens as provided above and further in view of Jiang (US 2022/0149458).
In re claim 12, Stephens differs in that it is silent as to the use of adhesives. Attention, however, is directed to Morishita which teaches the use of adhesives. Attention, however, is directed to Jiang which teaches the use of adhesives between battery cells and the case (par. 81). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate adhesives between the first ones of the storage cells and the second one of the storage cells to the upper housing part to properly seal the cells in a manner which assists in the rapid exchange of heat.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephens as provided above and further in view of Einoegg (US 2022/0149458).
In re claim 13, Stephens is silent as to the placement of the connection elements. Attention, however, is directed to Einoegg which teaches a similar apparatus wherein each respective storage cell has connection elements and a respective cell housing with a respective housing bottom, which connection elements are arranged on an upper side of the respective cell housing, opposite from the respective housing bottom, and by way of which electrical energy stored in the respective storage cell is provided. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate connection elements on the top of each cell housing, as taught by Einoegg in order to provide for the cells to be interconnected in an efficient manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EREZ GURARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615