DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 18, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
3. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant' s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Objection
4. Title objected to because of the following informalities: The scope of the claimed invention is too broadly titled. Appropriate correction is required to match the description of the claims to the title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 30, 33-34, 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi et al. (Provisional for WO 2023278414 A1 has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in view of Byun et al. (WO 2018164431 A1 / Translation has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in further view of Määttänen et al. (US 20230262590 A1).
8. Regarding claim 30, Talebi et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause a network node operating as a last serving radio access network node for a terminal device to, refer to paragraph [0141], (“A base station storing an RRC context for a UE or a last serving base station of the UE may be referred to as an anchor base station. An anchor base station may maintain an RRC context for the UE at least during a period of time that the UE stays in a RAN notification area of the anchor base station and/or during a period of time that the UE stays in RRC inactive 920”). The base station storing RRC context or the last serving base station is an anchor base station in the RAN notification area (e.g. RNA)
Following up with, also, refer to paragraph [0190], (“The base station 1320 may comprise a processing system 1321 and a memory 1322. The memory 1322 may comprise one or more computer-readable media, for example, one or more non-transitory computer readable media”). The base station is the apparatus that contains a processing system and a memory.
In further, (i) an overload condition of a network slice supported by a specific cell within a radio access network notification area, and, Talebi et al. teaches, refer to [Pg. 28 Paragraph 0140], (“RAN areas may be used to track the UE at the RAN level. For a UE in RRC inactive 920 state, the UE may be assigned a RAN notification area”). The RAN area used to track UE at RAN level where the UE is in RRC inactive will be assigned a radio access network notification area (e.g. RNA), teaching a specific cell within an RNA.
Following up with, also, refer to [Pg. 62-63 Paragraph 0266], (“In an example, if the Overload Start NSSAI List IE is included in the OVERLOAD START message, the NG-RAN node may:
- if the Slice Traffic Load Reduction Indication IE is present, reduce the signalling traffic by the indicated percentage for the UE(s) whose requested NSSAI only include SNSSAI(s) contained in the Overload Start NSSAI List IE, and the signalling traffic indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in the Slice Overload Response IE if the IE is present,
- otherwise ensure that only the signalling traffic from UE(s) whose requested NSSAI includes S-NSSAI(s) other than the ones contained in the Overload Start NSSAI List IE, or the signalling traffic not indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in the Slice Overload Response IE for the UE(s) if the requested NSSAI matched, is sent to the AMF”). If overload start NSSAI list IE is included in the START message the NG-RAN node reduces signal traffic teaching overload condition within NG-RAN node.
In further, (ii) an estimated duration of the overload condition of the network slice supported by the specific cell, Talebi et al. teaches, refer to [Pg. 61 Paragraph 0263], (“In an example, when the AMF receives notification of overload or congestion in the underlay network (e.g., from the AMF or a network node of the underlay network) and the notification comprises a time value for duration of the condition (such as barring time, back-off timer, mobility management backoff timer, session management back-off timer, and/or the like)”). The notification comprises a duration for the condition of the overload of the network.
Following up with, also refer to [Pg. 62 Paragraph 0266], (“In an example, if the Overload Start NSSAI List IE is included in the OVERLOAD START message, the NG-RAN node may:
- if the Slice Traffic Load Reduction Indication IE is present, reduce the signalling traffic by the indicated percentage for the UE(s) whose requested NSSAI only include SNSSAI(s) contained in the Overload Start NSSAI List IE, and the signalling traffic indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in the Slice Overload Response IE if the IE is present”). Teaches a network slice overload.
In further, determine, based on the received slice overload information and an existing packet data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device associated with the network slice, Talebi et al. teaches the slice overload information and existing packet data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device associated with the network slice, refer to [Pg. 62 Paragraph 0266], (“In an example, if the Overload Start NSSAI List IE is included in the OVERLOAD START message, the NG-RAN node may:
- if the Slice Traffic Load Reduction Indication IE is present, reduce the signalling traffic by the indicated percentage for the UE(s) whose requested NSSAI only include SNSSAI(s) contained in the Overload Start NSSAI List IE, and the signalling traffic indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in the Slice Overload Response IE if the IE is present”). The slice overload information is the overload start NSSAI list.
Following up with, also refer to [Pg. 63 Paragraph 0267], (“In an example, if access type action list IE is included in the overload start message, the NG-RAN node may:
- if an access type traffic load reduction indication IE is present, reduce the signalling traffic by the indicated percentage for the UE(s) whose access is for a PDU session to access the overlay network (PDU session with extended access type), and the signalling traffic indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in an access type Overload Response IE if the IE is present”). The UEs (e.g. terminal device) whose access is for a PDU session teaches existing PDU session of the terminal device.
In further, for which the network slice associated with the existing PDU session is overloaded, wherein the first information further includes the estimated duration of the overload condition; and, Talebi et al. teaches, refer to [Pg. 56 Paragraph 0246], (“In an example, in existing technologies when an overlay network is overloaded or congested, and transmission and reception of traffic may be suspended, an associated PDU session in the underlay network may be deactivated or release resources of the associated PDU session (e.g., the second PDU session)”). The network is overloaded and is associated with the PDU session in the underlay network.
Following up with, also, refer to [Pg. 61 Paragraph 0263], (“In an example, when the AMF receives notification of overload or congestion in the underlay network (e.g., from the AMF or a network node of the underlay network) and the notification comprises a time value for duration of the condition (such as barring time, back-off timer, mobility management backoff timer, session management back-off timer, and/or the like)”). The notification comprises a duration for the condition of the overload of the underlay network.
Following up with, also, refer to [Pg. 62 Paragraph 0266], (“In an example, if the Overload Start NSSAI List IE is included in the OVERLOAD START message, the NG-RAN node may:
- if the Slice Traffic Load Reduction Indication IE is present, reduce the signalling traffic by the indicated percentage for the UE(s) whose requested NSSAI only include SNSSAI(s) contained in the Overload Start NSSAI List IE, and the signalling traffic indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in the Slice Overload Response IE if the IE is present”). The slice overload information teaches the network slice.
Although Talebi et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause a network node operating as a last serving radio access network node for a terminal device to; (i) an overload condition of a network slice supported by a specific cell within a radio access network notification area; (ii) an estimated duration of the overload condition of the network slice supported by the specific cell; determine, based on the received slice overload information and an existing packet data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device associated with the network slice, Talebi et al. teaches the slice overload information and existing packet data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device associated with the network slice; for which the network slice associated with the existing PDU session is overloaded, wherein the first information further includes the estimated duration of the overload condition, Talebi et al. does not explicitly teach receive, from at least one peer network node via an inter-node interface, slice overload information characterizing; determine, based on the received slice overload information and an existing packet data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device associated with the network slice; generate first information identifying: (i) the specific cell, and; (ii) a frequency associated with the specific cell; transmit the first information to the terminal device within an RRC Release message that configures the radio access network notification area and suspends the terminal device into the RRC inactive state, wherein the first information is configured to cause the terminal device, while in the RRC inactive state, to deprioritize the identified cell or frequency during a subsequent cell selection or cell reselection procedure.
In the same field of endeavor of including receive, from at least one peer network node via an inter-node interface, slice overload information characterizing, Byun et al. teaches, refer to [Pg. 9 Paragraph 3], (“The gNBs 40 may be interconnected by Xn interface. Neighboring gNBs 40 may have a mesh network structure with an Xn interface. The gNBs 40 may be connected to the NGC by the NG interface”). The gNB may be interconnected by Xn interface teaching inter-node interface.
Following up with, also, refer to [Pg. 12 Paragraph 3], (“the first base station may transmit a load information message or a new message to the second base station. The load information message or new message may include a slice ID and load and interference coordination information per slice. The slice-by-slice load and interference coordination information includes UL Interference Overload Indication per slice, UL High Interference Information per slice, and relative narrow-band transmit power per slice”). The UL interference overload indication per slice teaches slice overload information. The first base station transmits load information to the second teaching receive from at least one peer network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Talebi et al. to include the Xn interface and slice-by-slice load and interference coordination information includes UL Interference Overload Indication per slice as taught by Byun et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be utilized for (“providing interference coordination information for each slice according to an embodiment of the present invention” [Pg. 12 Paragraph 2]).
In the same field of endeavor of including that the terminal device is to be transitioned from a radio resource control (RRC) connected state to an RRC inactive state, Määttänen et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [0013], (“The RRC release message is used for multiple purposes like when a UE is suspended to idle/inactive state or when the RRC connection is released and the UE is set to RRC idle mode” [0013]). The RRC release message used to suspend UE to idle/inactive state.
In further, (ii) a frequency associated with the specific cell, Määttänen et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [0019 TABLE-US-00002], (“TABLE-US-00002 RRCRelease-IEs field descriptions cnType Indicate that the UE is redirected to EPC or 5GC. deprioritisationReq Indicates whether the current frequency or RAT is to be de-prioritised”). The deprioritisationReq Indicates whether the current frequency or RAT is to be de-prioritised teaches the frequency associated with the specific cell.
In further, transmit the first information to the terminal device within an RRC Release message that configures the radio access network notification area and suspends the terminal device into the RRC inactive state, wherein the first information is configured to cause the terminal device, while in the RRC inactive state, to deprioritize the identified cell or frequency during a subsequent cell selection or cell reselection procedure, Määttänen et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [0013], (“The RRC release message is used for multiple purposes like when a UE is suspended to idle/inactive state or when the RRC connection is released and the UE is set to RRC idle mode”). The RRC release message is the first information used to suspend UE to idle/inactive state.
Following up with, also, refer to paragraph [0022], (“In some embodiments, new information is included in the RRCRelease message that informs the UE of the type of network it is redirected to and/or provides the UE with information that facilitates UE access to the network or carrier frequency it is redirected to, where in particular such information may indicate properties specific to NTNs. As another example, certain embodiments may include ways of deprioritizing carrier frequencies or networks, e.g., using extensions of the deprioritisationReq information element (IE) in the RRCRelease message”). RRCRelease message informs the UE to be redirected teaches cell selection or cell reselection procedure. The embodiments include deprioritizing carrier frequencies or networks. The RRCRelease message (e.g. first information) that informs the UE of the type of network it is redirected to teaches transmitting first information to the terminal device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Talebi et al. to include the deprioritisationReq and RRC release message to suspend the UE into idle/inactive state as taught by Määttänen et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be utilized to (“facilitate movement of a user equipment (UE) between carrier frequencies or networks involving NTN, in particular moving a UE from a terrestrial network (TN) to a NTN using RRCRelease with redirection.” [Määttänen et al. 0022]).
9. Regarding claim 33, Talebi et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 32, refer to paragraph [0141], (“A base station storing an RRC context for a UE or a last serving base station of the UE may be referred to as an anchor base station. An anchor base station may maintain an RRC context for the UE at least during a period of time that the UE stays in a RAN notification area of the anchor base station and/or during a period of time that the UE stays in RRC inactive 920”). The base station storing RRC context or the last serving base station is an anchor base station in the RAN notification area (e.g. RNA). The base station teaches the apparatus.
In further, slice identification information explicitly identifying the network slice associated with the existing PDU session that is overloaded for the specific cell, refer to [Pg. 62 Paragraph 0266], (“In an example, if the Overload Start NSSAI List IE is included in the OVERLOAD START message, the NG-RAN node may:
- if the Slice Traffic Load Reduction Indication IE is present, reduce the signalling traffic by the indicated percentage for the UE(s) whose requested NSSAI only include SNSSAI(s) contained in the Overload Start NSSAI List IE, and the signalling traffic indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in the Slice Overload Response IE if the IE is present”). The slice overload information is the overload start NSSAI list.
Following up with, also refer to [Pg. 63 Paragraph 0267], (“In an example, if access type action list IE is included in the overload start message, the NG-RAN node may:
- if an access type traffic load reduction indication IE is present, reduce the signalling traffic by the indicated percentage for the UE(s) whose access is for a PDU session to access the overlay network (PDU session with extended access type), and the signalling traffic indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in an access type Overload Response IE if the IE is present”). The UEs (e.g. terminal device) whose access is for a PDU session teaches existing PDU session of the terminal device.
In further, wherein the first information, refer to paragraph [0340], (“a first message indicating start of an overload control for access of a wireless device via an underlay network. The first message may comprise an access type associated with access to the overlay network via the underlay network, an overload action information element (IE) comprising access control parameters associated with an establishment cause for the access type, and/or the like”). The first message teaches the first information.
10. Regarding claim 34, Talebi et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 33, refer to paragraph [0141], (“A base station storing an RRC context for a UE or a last serving base station of the UE may be referred to as an anchor base station. An anchor base station may maintain an RRC context for the UE at least during a period of time that the UE stays in a RAN notification area of the anchor base station and/or during a period of time that the UE stays in RRC inactive 920”). The base station storing RRC context or the last serving base station is an anchor base station in the RAN notification area (e.g. RNA).
In further, wherein the estimated duration of the overload condition is represented as a timer value corresponding to an anticipated minimum duration of the overload condition, refer to paragraph [0263], (“In an example, when the AMF receives notification of overload or congestion in the underlay network (e.g., from the AMF or a network node of the underlay network) and the notification comprises a time value for duration of the condition (such as barring time, back-off timer, mobility management back-off timer, session management back-off timer, and/or the like), if the time value is larger than the sum of the UE's periodic registration update timer and an implicit deregistration timer, the AMF may adjust the mobile reachable timer and/or the implicit deregistration timer such that the AMF does not implicitly deregister the UE while the underlay network is in overload state or the timer such as the mobility management back-off timer is running”). The overload or congestion notification comprises a time value for duration of the condition teaching the estimated duration of the overload condition represented with a timer value. The time value is larger than the sum teaches anticipated minimum duration of the overload condition.
11. Regarding claim 37, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. teaches, the apparatus of claim 36, wherein the radio access network notification area, refer to paragraph [0141], (“A base station storing an RRC context for a UE or a last serving base station of the UE may be referred to as an anchor base station. An anchor base station may maintain an RRC context for the UE at least during a period of time that the UE stays in a RAN notification area of the anchor base station and/or during a period of time that the UE stays in RRC inactive 920”). The base station is the apparatus and is associated with the RAN notification area.
Although Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 36, wherein the radio access network notification area Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. does not explicitly teach is configured in the RRC Release message using a suspend indication associated with the RRC inactive state.
In the same field of endeavor of including is configured in the RRC Release message using a suspend indication associated with the RRC inactive state, Määttänen et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [0013], (“The RRC release message is used for multiple purposes like when a UE is suspended to idle/inactive state or when the RRC connection is released and the UE is set to RRC idle mode” [0013]). The RRC release message used to suspend UE to idle/inactive state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Talebi et al. to include RRC release message to suspend UE to idle/inactive state as taught by Määttänen et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be utilized to (“facilitate movement of a user equipment (UE) between carrier frequencies or networks involving NTN, in particular moving a UE from a terrestrial network (TN) to a NTN using RRCRelease with redirection.” [Määttänen et al. 0022]).
12. Regarding claim 38, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 37, refer to paragraph [Talebi et al. 0141], (“A base station storing an RRC context for a UE or a last serving base station of the UE may be referred to as an anchor base station. An anchor base station may maintain an RRC context for the UE at least during a period of time that the UE stays in a RAN notification area of the anchor base station and/or during a period of time that the UE stays in RRC inactive 920”). The base station storing RRC context or the last serving base station is an anchor base station in the RAN notification area (e.g. RNA).
In further, in response to an update of the radio access network notification area, refer to paragraph [Talebi et al. 0140], (“If the UE moves, through cell reselection, to a cell not included in the RAN notification area assigned to the UE, the UE may perform a notification area update with the RAN to update the UE’s RAN notification area”). The UE performing a notification area update teaches an update of the radio access network notification area.
Although Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 37 and in response to an update of the radio access network notification area, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first information.
In the same field of endeavor of including the wherein the first information is transmitted, Määttänen et al. teaches refer to paragraph [0013], (“The RRC release message is used for multiple purposes like when a UE is suspended to idle/inactive state or when the RRC connection is released and the UE is set to RRC idle mode. In the latter case, the UE may be given redirection information in the release message that advises the UE on cell selection”). The RRC release message is the first information that advises the UE on cell selection teaching the first information is transmitted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. to include RRC release message to suspend UE to idle/inactive state as taught by Määttänen et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be utilized to (“facilitate movement of a user equipment (UE) between carrier frequencies or networks involving NTN, in particular moving a UE from a terrestrial network (TN) to a NTN using RRCRelease with redirection.” [Määttänen et al. 0022]).
13. Regarding claim 39, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. teaches, radio access network notification area that supports the same network slice, refer to [Talebi et al. 0140] (“RAN areas may be used to track the UE at the RAN level. For a UE in RRC inactive 920 state, the UE may be assigned a RAN notification area”). The RAN area is associated with a UE that is in an RNA.
Following up with, also, refer to [Talebi et al. 0266], (“In an example, if the Overload Start NSSAI List IE is included in the OVERLOAD START message, the NG-RAN node may:
- if the Slice Traffic Load Reduction Indication IE is present, reduce the signalling traffic by the indicated percentage for the UE(s) whose requested NSSAI only include SNSSAI(s) contained in the Overload Start NSSAI List IE, and the signalling traffic indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in the Slice Overload Response IE if the IE is present,
- otherwise ensure that only the signalling traffic from UE(s) whose requested NSSAI includes S-NSSAI(s) other than the ones contained in the Overload Start NSSAI List IE, or the signalling traffic not indicated as to be reduced by the Overload Action IE in the Slice Overload Response IE for the UE(s) if the requested NSSAI matched, is sent to the AMF”). The NSSAI teaches the network slice.
Although Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. teaches radio access network notification area that supports the same network slice, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first information is configured to cause the terminal device to deprioritize the identified cell or frequency relative to another cell in the; without an overload condition.
In the same field of endeavor of including wherein the first information is configured to cause the terminal device to deprioritize the identified cell or frequency relative to another cell in the; without an overload condition, Määttänen et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [0057], (“According to the 3GPP release 15 specifications, in the RRCRelease message, the network can indicate to the UE to deprioritize (with the deprioritisationReq IE) the current carrier frequency or the current RAT (e.g., NR) (with the deprioritisationType parameter the deprioritisationReq IE) for a certain time (with the deprioritisationTimer parameter the deprioritisationReq IE)”). The RRC release message is the first information that can indicate the UE to deprioritize the carrier frequency teaching deprioritize the frequency relative to another cell without overload condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. to include RRCRelease message that indicates the UE to deprioritize (with the deprioritisationReq IE) the current carrier frequency the as taught by Määttänen et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be utilized to would allow the (“The prioritization information may be associated with a cell different than the current cell” [0027]), the UE does not choose the deprioritized frequency.
14. Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi et al. (Provisional for WO 2023278414 A1 has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in view of Byun et al. (WO 2018164431 A1 / Translation has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in further view of Määttänen et al. (US 20230262590 A1) in further view of Pan (63/127884 provisional for US 20220210847 A1 has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence).
15. Regarding claim 31 Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. taught the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the slice overload information is received from the at least one peer network node via an Xn interface, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. teaches, refer to [Byun et al. Pg. 9 Paragraph 3], (“The gNBs 40 may be interconnected by Xn interface. Neighboring gNBs 40 may have a mesh network structure with an Xn interface. The gNBs 40 may be connected to the NGC by the NG interface”). The gNB may be interconnected by Xn interface teaching inter-node interface.
Following up with, also, refer to [Byun et al. Pg. 12 Paragraph 3], (“the first base station may transmit a load information message or a new message to the second base station. The load information message or new message may include a slice ID and load and interference coordination information per slice. The slice-by-slice load and interference coordination information includes UL Interference Overload Indication per slice, UL High Interference Information per slice, and relative narrow-band transmit power per slice”). The UL interference overload indication per slice teaches slice overload information. The first base station transmits load information to the second teaching receive from at least one peer network node.
Although Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. taught the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the slice overload information is received from the at least one peer network node via an Xn interface, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. did not explicitly teach using an Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) message.
In the same field of endeavor of including an Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) message, Pan teaches, refer to [Pg. 27 Paragraph 2 under 9.2.2.1 overview], (“If the last serving gNB receives DL data from the UPF or DL UE-associated signalling from the AMF (except the UE Context Release Command message) while the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE, it pages in the cells corresponding to the RNA and may send XnAP RAN Paging to neighbour gNB(s) if the RNA includes cells of neighbour gNB(s)”).
16. Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi et al. (Provisional for WO 2023278414 A1 has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in view of Byun et al. (WO 2018164431 A1 / Translation has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in further view of Määttänen et al. (US 20230262590 A1) in further view of Teyeb et al. (US 20230064410 A1).
17. Regarding claim 32, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 31, with the radio access network notification area, refer to paragraph [Talebi et al. 0141], (“A base station storing an RRC context for a UE or a last serving base station of the UE may be referred to as an anchor base station. An anchor base station may maintain an RRC context for the UE at least during a period of time that the UE stays in a RAN notification area of the anchor base station and/or during a period of time that the UE stays in RRC inactive 920”). The base station storing RRC context or the last serving base station is an anchor base station in the RAN notification area (e.g. RNA) teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In further, wherein the first information, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [0341], (“In an example, the first message may be the overload start message. In an example, the establishment cause may be for extended access or the underlay access (e.g., the EAEC). In an example, the establishment cause may be for N3GPP access (e.g., the N3AEC)”). The first message teaches the first information.
Although Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the first information and the radio access network notification area, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. does not explicitly teach the specific cell by a physical cell identifier (PCI).
In the same field of endeavor of including a physical cell identifier (PCI), Teyeb et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [0126], (“In response to the RRCReestablishmentRequest message 1530, the network node 400 identifies, at block 1532, what has happened, for example, by identifying that this UE is the one it tried to release based on the UE identity (PCI+C_RNTI) included in the RRCReestablishmentRequest message 1530”). The (PCI+C_RNTI) teaches the PCI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. to include the (PCI+C_RNTI) as taught by Teyeb et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would help (“the network node 400 identifies, at block 1532, what has happened, for example, by identifying that this UE is the one it tried to release based on the UE identity” [0126]).
18. Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi et al. (Provisional for WO 2023278414 A1 has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in view of Byun et al. (WO 2018164431 A1 / Translation has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in further view of Määttänen et al. (US 20230262590 A1) in further view of Ohlsson et al. (US 20200084634 A1).
19. Regarding claim 35, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. teaches, wherein the first information; when a load level of the network slice exceeds a predefined overload threshold, refer to paragraph [Talebi et al. 0263], (“In an example, when the AMF receives notification of overload or congestion in the underlay network (e.g., from the AMF or a network node of the underlay network) and the notification comprises a time value for duration of the condition (such as barring time, back-off timer, mobility management back-off timer, session management back-off timer, and/or the like), if the time value is larger than the sum of the UE's periodic registration update timer and an implicit deregistration timer, the AMF may adjust the mobile reachable timer and/or the implicit deregistration timer such that the AMF does not implicitly deregister the UE while the underlay network is in overload state or the timer such as the mobility management back-off timer is running”). The notification comprises a duration for the condition of the overload of the network.
Following up with, refer to paragraph [Talebi et al. 0340], (“In an example embodiment as depicted in FIG. 36, an interworking function node (e.g., N3GPP Interworking function, N3IWF) of the overlay network may receive from the AMF of the overlay network, a first message indicating start of an overload control for access of a wireless device via an underlay network”). The first message corresponds to the start of an overload control teaching the first information.
Although Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. teaches the first information and when a load level of the network slice exceeds a predefined overload threshold, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first information is generated only.
In the same field of endeavor of including wherein the first information is generated only, Ohlsson et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [0056], (“The network equipment 18 generates the control signaling 22 in this way based on a rule that a subset of possible wait times (e.g., relatively large wait times that exceed a threshold) must be indicated by integrity-protected control signaling”). Generating control signaled based on a rule of wait times that exceed a threshold teaches first information is generated only.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. to include the generation of control signaling based on a possible wait time that exceed a threshold as taught by Ohlsson et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would (“Limiting the range indicatable by non-integrity protected messages may for example mitigate DOS attacks that would otherwise exploit such signalling” [0005]).
20. Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi et al. (Provisional for WO 2023278414 A1 has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in view of Byun et al. (WO 2018164431 A1 / Translation has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence) in further view of Määttänen et al. (US 20230262590 A1) in further view of Fu et al. (WO 2022021004 A1 / A translation has been relied upon and is provided in this correspondence).
21. Regarding claim 36, the apparatus of claim 35, wherein the first information, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. teaches, refer to paragraph [Talebi et al. 0141], (“A base station storing an RRC context for a UE or a last serving base station of the UE may be referred to as an anchor base station. An anchor base station may maintain an RRC context for the UE at least during a period of time that the UE stays in a RAN notification area of the anchor base station and/or during a period of time that the UE stays in RRC inactive 920”). The base station is the apparatus.
Following up with, refer to paragraph [Talebi et al. 0340], (“In an example embodiment as depicted in FIG. 36, an interworking function node (e.g., N3GPP Interworking function, N3IWF) of the overlay network may receive from the AMF of the overlay network, a first message indicating start of an overload control for access of a wireless device via an underlay network”). The first message corresponds to the start of an overload control teaching the first information.
Although Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 35, wherein the first information, Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. does not explicit teach is transmitted selectively to a subset of terminal devices associated with the network slice rather than to all terminal devices served by the network node.
In the same field of endeavor of including is transmitted selectively to a subset of terminal devices associated with the network slice rather than to all terminal devices served by the network node, Fu et al. teaches, refer to [Pg. 9 Paragraph 2], (“Because the access network device can only determine the slice information required by the terminal device after receiving the message 5 (MSG5),and the slice information required by the terminal device may not be the slice supported by the requesting service access network device, or although it is a request A slice supported by the serving access network device but the slice is overloaded. In this case, the requesting serving access network device can only send an RRCrelease (RRCRlease) message to the terminal device after MSG5, so that the terminal device can reselect an appropriate cell”). The RRC release message (e.g. first information) can only be sent to the terminal after MSG5 teaching first information is transmitted to a terminal with the network slice rather than too all terminals served by the network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Talebi et al. in view of Byun et al. in further view of Määttänen et al. to include the sending RRC release message to the terminal after MSG5 as taught by Fu et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow (“multiple services with different requirements can provide lower latency, more targeted, more flexible and more scalable services” [Pg. 9 Paragraph 2]).
22. Claims 40-49 are rejected the same as claims 30-39.
Conclusion
23. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
24. The relevance of this prior art, “SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR ACCESS BARRING BASED ON SLICE INFORMATION” Document ID US 20220095159 A1; The invention utilizes 5G network and has the ability to perform network slicing to increase network efficiency and performance. The network can prevent overload by applying Unified Access Control.
25. The relevance of this prior art, “NETWORK RESELECTION DURING A DISASTER” Document ID WO 2021007447 A1; A public land mobile network (PLMN) will receive status information of the network function that comprises a network disaster indication. Status information may comprise of network overload indication, overloaded network location, and the like.
26. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAUL THANH TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-9841. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri Flex 8:00am-5:00pm.
/PAUL THANH TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
April 3, 2026
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, AU 2465B
3 April 2026