DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 1/8/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7, 13-17, and 19 are pending.
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended.
Claims 6, 8-12, 18 and 20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the communication filed, applicant argues in substance that:
Teyeb fails to disclose or teach the limitation “determining the second security algorithm to use based on a rule” because Teyeb does not disclose the various action(s) involved in determining the security algorithm to use, a UE that notifies the network of a choice, “asks” the network for an algorithm, or “autonomously releases” a connection to resolve a conflict as cited in remarks, pg. 8-9.
In response to argument [a], Examiners respectfully disagrees.
The amendments merely require only one of the alternatives to be taught by the prior art to satisfy the limitation. With this interpretation, the limitation “determining the second security algorithm to use based on a rule” is explicitly taught by Teyeb. Teyeb discloses a rule-based determination of the second security algorithm (LTE algorithm) when the first (NR) algorithm lacks an equivalent, during inter-RAT RRC re-establishment from NR to LTE. Specifically [0080] “If the UE is changing the PDCP version from NR to LTE due to any of the previous embodiments, it also optionally performs a mapping from NR security algorithms for encryption and integrity protection to pre-defined LTE algorithms. Similar mapping can also be performed when changing from LTE PDCP to NR PDCP (mapping from LTE algorithm to NR algorithm). The mappings could be 1-to-1 for NR and LTE algorithms, which have similar properties. For new NR-only algorithms it is possible to map to a predefined (or default) LTE algorithm”
This discloses a rule for determining the second (LTE) algorithm (1) if the NR and LTE algorithms have similar properties, uses a 1-to-1 mapping; (2) if the NR algorithms is NR-only (no equivalent), map to a predefined default LTE algorithm. This occurs responsively during PDCP version change in RRC re-establishment (cross-referenced to [0037], [0051], where the UE re-establishes from NR-configured PDCP to LTE PDCP due to transition to a legacy LTE base station). The UE performs this determination based on the rule to enable secure communication using the second algorithm ([0085]: “the UE also maps a received NR encryption algorithm and/or an NR integrity protection algorithm to a pre-defined LTE algorithm. Accordingly, the UE is able to receive messages from the network node on the SRB and decode the messages using the LTE PDCP configuration and security configuration (such as the mapped pre-defined LTE algorithm) of the SRB”). Therefore, Teyeb discloses the limitation “determining the second security algorithm to use based on a rule”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 13-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teyeb et al. (US 2020/0229259).
Regarding claim 1, Teyeb discloses a method performed by a communication device configured with a packet data convergence protocol, PDCP, security algorithm associated with a first radio access technology, RAT, the method comprising:
responsive to the communication device being configured with a first PDCP security algorithm in the first RAT that does not have an equivalent security algorithm in a second RAT (Teyeb discloses a UE configured with NR PDCP security algorithm (first RAT: NR; first PDCP security algorithm; NR encryption/integrity algorithms) that may lack equivalents in LTE (second RAT), triggering handling during re-establishment (see [0055, 0080, 0097]; these are example responsive to detecting the mismatch when LTE is the master and NR is the secondary)),
determining a second security algorithm to use when performing radio resource control, RRC, reestablishment with the second RAT (Teyeb discloses the UE determining (via mapping) a second security algorithm (pre-defined LTE algorithm) for use in RRC re-establishment with LTE (second RAT) when NR algorithm lacks equivalents (see [0064-0065, 0080, 0085]; at step 106, the user equipment re-establishes the connection to the RAN, where the re-establishing includes applying a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) PDCP configuration to the SRB)), and
wherein determining the second security algorithm is use comprises at least one of:
determining the second security algorithm to use based on a rule (Teyeb uses rules for algorithm mapping in mismatches during reestablishment. Rules like property similarity or default fallback (see [0080]; ”The mappings could be 1-to-1 for NR and LTE algorithms, which have similar properties. For new NR-only algorithms it is possible to map to a predefined (or default) LTE algorithm”));
determining the second security algorithm based on an indication sent from the second RAT prior to the RRC reestablishment;
determining the second security algorithm based on an indication from a RAT node towards which the communication device reestablishes a connection to the second RAT;
deciding the second security algorithm to sue by the communication device and notifying the choice to the network;
transmitting a message to the second RAT to ask which security algorithm should be used as the second security algorithm and receiving a response message from the second RAT with an indication of the second security algorithm to use;
autonomously releasing an RRC connection and transiting to RRC IDLE, and triggering random access towards a same cell in order to initiate a new connection by sending an RRC setup request with an indication that the initiation of the new connection is due to a conflict in what security algorithm to choose upon RRC reestablishment; and/or
triggering a new re-selection procedure for selecting a new cell, and performing a random access towards the new cell with an indication that the communication device has a conflict in selecting a second security algorithm that does not have an equivalent in NR; and
using the second security algorithm when performing RRC reestablishment with the second RAT (Teyeb discloses the UE using the second (mapped LTE) algorithm during RRC re-establishment with LTE (see [0080]; “if the UE is changing the PDCP version from NR to LTE..., it also optionally performs a mapping from NR security algorithms for encryption and integrity protection to pre-defined LTE algorithms) The mapped LTE algorithm (second) is used to secure SRB1 during re-establishment, ensuring compatibility with legacy LTE).
Regarding claim 2, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first RAT and the second RAT are in a same network or are in different networks (Teyeb discloses NR as the first RAT (with PDCP security algorithms lacking LTE equivalents) and LTE as the second RAT in EN-DC re-establishment (see [0015, 0051 0080]; “EN-DC: LTE-NR dual connectivity where LTE is the master and NR is the secondary” and “the legacy base station is not configured to operate using that protocol”and “If the UE is changing the PDCP version from NR to LTE… For new NR-only algorithms it is possible to map to a predefined (or default) LTE algorithm”)).
Regarding claim 3, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first RAT is a new radio, NR, RAT and the second RAT is a long-term evolution, LTE, RAT (Teyeb discloses both integrity and ciphering in PDCP security mappings (see [0080]; “mapping from NR security algorithms for encryption and integrity protection to pre-defined LTE algorithms”)).
Regarding claim 4, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second security algorithm to use comprises determining a default security algorithm to use (Teyeb discloses determining a default/predefined LTE algorithm received via signaling during initial NR setup (see [0080]; “The predefined (or default) LTE algorithm could either be signalled to the UE (e.g. when connected to NR, using NAS or RRC signalling) or it could be “hardcoded” in 3GPP specifications.” The “when connected to NR” implies first RRC setup. See [0049]; “UE is initially connected to a first (source) base station that is NR capable, SRB1 may be configured to operate using NR PDCP”)).
Regarding claim 5, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 4, wherein determining the default security algorithm to use comprises at least one of: receiving the default security algorithm in a first setup of the RRC reestablishment connection (Teyeb teaches receiving the default via signaling during the initial NR connection setup (see [0085]; “the UE also receives receiving a pre-defined LTE algorithm and/or NR integrity protection algorithm from the network node. At step 106, the user equipment re-establishes the connection to the RAN, where the re-establishing includes applying a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) PDCP configuration to the SRB”); determining a mandatory security algorithm that is mandatory to be supported; and determining a null algorithm to use.
Regarding claim(s) 13-17, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 1-6 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 1-6 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. (US 2020/0229259) in view of Li (US 2014/0051447).
Regarding claim 7, Teyeb discloses the invention substantially, however the prior art does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 6 wherein determining the second security algorithm based on the indication comprises obtaining the indication from system information.
Li in the field of the same endeavor discloses techniques for RRC connection reestablishment in LTE systems where, upon triggers like radio link faiure or handover faiure, the UE performs cell selection. In particular, Li teaches the following:
wherein determining the second security algorithm based on the indication comprises obtaining the indication from system information (Li teaches, during RRC reestablishment, the UE obtains an indication (base station ID) from SI (SIB1) to determine if to use the stored security algorithm (second, per stored context) for the procedure. If the indication matches, the UE reestablishes, leading to security reactivation using the context’s algorithm (see [0023]; “Step 101: A terminal searches for a target cell used for RRC connection reestablishment, and receives a system information block SIB1 message corresponding to the target cell”)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the prior art with the teaching of Li to incorporate techniques for RRC connection reestablishment in LTE systems. One would have been motivated because using system information as in Li to pre-verify cell compatibility before applying Teyeb’s signaling enhances efficiency, avoiding reestablishment attempts on mismatched cells. This yields predictable results and improved success rates and reduced signaling overhead.
Regarding claim(s) 19, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 7 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 19 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 7 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For the reason above, claims 1-5, 7, 13-17, and 19 have been rejected and remain pending.
JIMMY H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/JIMMY H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451