CTNF 18/693,236 CTNF 100849 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 10-11, 15-16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Deng et al. ( US 2024/0155876 A1; hereinafter Deng ) Regarding claim 1 , Deng teaches a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate ( Fig. 37A: base substrate 110 ); a first planarization layer ( Fig. 37A: planarization layer 180 ) provided on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ); a first passivation layer ( Fig. 37A: protective structure 270 ) provided on a side of the first planarization layer ( Fig. 37A #180 ) away from the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ); and an organic light-emitting layer ( Fig. 37A: light emitting functional layer 120; [0088] For example, a material of the pixel definition layer may include an organic material such as polyimide, acrylic, or polyethylene terephthalate ) and an organic common layer ( Fig. 37A: conductive sub-layer 129 ), wherein the organic light-emitting layer ( Fig. 37A #120 ) and the organic common layer ( Fig. 37A #129 ) are provided on a side of the first passivation layer ( Fig. 37A #270 ) away from the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ); and a plurality of sub-pixels ( Fig. 36A: plurality of sub-pixels 200 ), a partition structure ( Fig. 36B: partition structure 140 ) is provided between two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( as shown in Fig. 36B ), the partition structure ( Fig. 37A #140 ) comprises: a partition portion ( [0108] the partition structure 140 includes a plurality of first annular partition portions 141, each of the first annular partition portions 141 is disposed around one of the second-color sub-pixels 202, and each of the first annular partition portions 141 is in a closed ring shape ) in the first passivation layer ( Fig. 37A #270 ); and a first groove ( Fig. 13: groove 1401 ) in the first planarization layer ( Fig. 13 #180 ), and an orthographic projection of the partition portion ( [0198] As shown in FIG. 13, a partition structure 140 includes a groove 1401 and a shielding portion 1402 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ) partially overlaps ( [0199] the shielding portion 1402 projects into the groove 1401 ) with an orthographic projection of the first groove ( as shown in Fig. 38 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 38 #110 ), wherein at least one sub-pixel ( Fig. 36B #200 ) comprises an organic light-emitting device ( [0393] a sub-pixel 200 includes a light emitting element 210 ) , and the organic light-emitting device comprises a light-emitting portion ( light emitting element 210 ) in the organic light-emitting layer ( Fig. 37A #120 ) and a charge generation portion ( Fig. 37A #129 ) in the organic common layer ( [0283] common layers such as charge generation layers 129 in light emitting functional layers 120 of the two adjacent sub-pixels 200 may be connected or be a whole film layer ); wherein for two sub-pixels ( Fig. 36A first-color sub-pixels 201, second-color sub-pixels 202, and third-color sub-pixel 203 ) adjacent to each other ( as shown in Fig. 36A ) and the partition structure ( Fig. 36B #140 ) between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( as shown in Fig. 36B ), the charge generation portion ( Fig. 37A #129 ) of one sub-pixel comprises a first extension sub-portion ( [0134] a charge generation layer in a light emitting functional layer is not disconnected or completely disconnected at a position where the first sub-partition structure is located ) extending between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 5: first sub-partition structure 741 between two light emitting elements 210 ), and the charge generation portion ( Fig. 37A #129 ) of the other sub-pixel comprises a second extension sub-portion ( Fig. 5 #741 on the right side of figure ) extending between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( as shown in Fig. 5 ); and wherein one of the first extension sub-portion ( Fig. 5 #741 on left side of figure ) and the second extension sub-portion ( Fig. 5 #741 on right side of figure ) is on a side of the partition portion ( as shown in Fig. 5 ) away from the base substrate ( Fig. 5 #110 ), the other of the first extension sub-portion ( [0198] a partition structure 140 includes a groove 1401 ) and the second extension sub-portion ( [0197] the partition structure 140 further includes a plurality of L-shaped partition portions 146 disposed in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of third-color sub-pixels 203, and each L-shaped partition portion 146 is disposed around one third-color sub-pixel 203 ) is on a bottom wall of the first groove ( Fig. 13 #1401 ) and the first extension sub-portion ( Fig. 5 #741 on left side of figure ) and the second extension sub-portion ( Fig. 5 #741 on right side of figure ) are insulated ( [0296] a material of the first sub-partition structure 741 includes a material of a photoresist, a Polyimide (PI) resin, an acrylic resin, a silicon compound, or a polyacrylic resin ) and spaced apart from each other ( as shown in Fig. 5 ). Regarding claim 2 , Deng teaches the display substrate according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein the display substrate further comprises a first electrode layer ( Fig. 13: first electrode 131 ) on a side of the organic light-emitting layer ( Fig. 13 #120 ) proximate to the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ), a second electrode layer ( Fig. 13: second electrode 132 ) on a side of the organic light-emitting layer ( Fig. 13 #120 ) away from the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ), and a pixel circuit layer ( Fig. 16: pixel drive circuit 250 ) on a side of the first planarization layer ( Fig. 16 #180 ) proximate to the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ); wherein the at least one sub-pixel further comprises a pixel circuit ( [0214] the pixel drive circuit 250 may be electrically connected with a first electrode 131 in a correspondingly disposed light emitting element 210 so as to drive the light emitting element 210 to emit light ), the organic light-emitting device further comprises a first electrode in the first electrode layer ( Fig. 13 #131 ) and a second electrode in the second electrode layer ( Fig. 13 #132 ), the first electrode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit ( as discussed above), and the second electrode is electrically connected to a first voltage terminal ( [0214] The first electrode 131 may be an anode, and a second electrode 132 may be a cathode ); wherein for two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 15 two adjacent sub-pixels 200 ) and the partition structure ( Fig. 13: partition structure 140 ) between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 15 #200 ), the second electrode ( Fig. 13 second electrode 132 ) of one sub-pixel comprises a third extension sub-portion ( [0224] a second electrode may be continuously disposed around the second-color sub-pixel ) extending between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 15 #200 ), and the second electrode ( Fig. 13 #132 ) of the other sub-pixel comprises a fourth extension sub-portion ( [ 0241] the second electrode is disconnected only once at the position where the partition structure is located outside the pixel definition layer ) extending between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 13 #200 ); and wherein the third extension sub-portion ( as discussed above) is on a side of the first extension sub-portion ( [0134] a charge generation layer in a light emitting functional layer is not disconnected or completely disconnected at a position where the first sub-partition structure is located ) away from the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ), the fourth extension sub-portion ( as discussed above) is on a side of the second extension sub-portion ( Fig. 5 #741 on right side of figure ) away from the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ), and the third extension sub-portion ( as discussed above ) and the fourth extension sub-portion ( as discussed above ) are insulated ( [0296] a material of the first sub-partition structure 741 includes a material of a photoresist, a Polyimide (PI) resin, an acrylic resin, a silicon compound, or a polyacrylic resin ) and spaced apart from each other ( as shown in Fig. 5 ). Regarding claim 3 , Deng teaches the display substrate according to claim 2 ( as discussed above ), wherein the at least one sub-pixel ( Fig. 15 sub-pixels 201) further comprises a first connecting portion ( Fig. 15 first pixel rows 310 ), and in a same sub-pixel ( Fig. 15 #201 ), the first electrode ( Fig. 15 first electrode 131 ) is electrically connected to the pixel circuit ( [0315] For example, the display substrate further includes a pixel circuit (i.e., a pixel drive circuit), and a first electrode 131 of an organic light emitting element 210 may be connected with one of a source electrode and a drain electrode of a thin film transistor in the pixel circuit through a via penetrating through a film layer such as an organic layer 180 ) through the first connecting portion ( Fig. 15 #310 ) ; and wherein the orthographic projection of the first groove ( Fig. 51 groove 1401 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 51 #110 ) does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the first connecting portion ( [0493] For example, the shielding portion 1402 can be made of a same material as the first electrodes 131 ), and is located on a same film layer as the first electrodes ( Fig. 15 #131 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 16 #110 ). Regarding claim 4 , Deng teaches the display substrate according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein the partition portion ( Fig. 13: partition structure 140 ) comprises a first partition sub-portion ( Fig. 13: shielding portion 1402 ) and a second partition sub-portion ( Fig. 13: second projection portion 1403 ); and wherein the first partition sub-portion ( Fig. 13 #1402 ) covers a surface of the first planarization layer ( Fig. 13: planarization layer 180 ) on a side away from the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ), the orthographic projection of the first groove ( Fig. 13 groove 1401 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ) covers an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 13 ) of the second partition sub-portion ( Fig. 13 #1403 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ), and an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 13 ) of the first partition sub-portion ( Fig. 13 #1402 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ) at least partially surrounds the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 13 ) of the second partition sub-portion ( Fig .13 #1403 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ). Regarding claim 5 , Deng teaches the display substrate according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein for two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 15 #200 ) and the partition structure between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 15 #140 ), in a direction from one sub-pixel to the other sub-pixel ( as shown in Fig. 15 ), a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 13 #1401 ) and one sub-pixel ( Fig. 13 shows #210 but refers to #200 in text ) is less than a spacing between the first groove and the other sub-pixel ( [0203] For example, the size of the second projection portion 1403 of the shielding portion 1402 projecting into the groove 1401 is not less than 0.1 micron. For example, the size of the second projection portion 1403 of the shielding portion 1402 projecting into the groove 1401 is not less than 0.2 micron ), wherein the first extension sub-portion ( Fig. 13 #1402 ) of the one sub-pixel ( Fig. 13 #210 ) having a less spacing ( left side of Fig. 13 ) from the first groove ( Fig. 13 #1401 ) than the other sub-pixel ( Fig. 13 right side of figure ) is on the side of the partition portion ( Fig. 13 #180 ) away from the base substrate ( Fig. 13 #110 ), and the second extension sub-portion ( Fig. 13 #1403 ) of the other sub-pixel ( right side of Fig. 13 ) having a greater spacing from the first groove ( Fig. #1401 ) than the one sub-pixel is on the bottom wall of the first groove ( as show in Fig. 13 ). Regarding claim 10 , Deng teaches the display substrate according to claim 2 ( as discussed above ), wherein for two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 13 adjacent #200 ) and the partition structure between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 15 #140 ), an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 16 ) of the first electrode ( Fig. 16 #131) of at least one sub-pixel on the base substrate ( Fig. 16 #110 ) does not overlap with the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 16 ) of the partition portion ( Fig. 16 #140 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 16 #110 ). Regarding claim 11 , Deng teaches the display substrate according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein a plurality of partition structures ( Fig. 15 #140 ) are provided between two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( Fig. 15 plurality of #200 ), and at least two of the plurality of partition structures have different areas ( Fig. 1 shows #140 with different areas ). Regarding claim 15 , Deng teaches the display substrate according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein the plurality of sub-pixels ( [0077] one first-color sub-pixel, at least one second-color sub-pixel, or at least one third-color sub-pixel, the partition structure may achieve partition of most adjacent sub-pixels ) comprise a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel ( as discussed above ), the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel have different colors ( as discussed above), and the second sub-pixel has the same color as the third sub-pixel ( as stated above third sub-pixel may be the same color as the second sub-pixel ); wherein for a first sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 first-color sub-pixel 201 ), a second sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 second-color sub-pixel 202 ) adjacent to ( as show in Fig. 1 ) the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #201 ), and the partition structure ( Fig. 1 #140 ) between the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #201 ) and the second sub-pixel ( Fif. 1 #202 ), in a direction ( as shown in Fig. 1 ) from the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #201 ) to the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #202 ), a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 13 #1401 ) and the first sub- pixel ( Fig. 13 pixel on left side of figure ) is less than a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 13 #1401 ) and the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 13 pixel on right side of figure ); and wherein for a first sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #201 ), a third sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #203 ) adjacent to the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #201 ), and the partition structure ( Fig. 1 #140 ) between the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #201 ) and the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #203 ), in a direction from ( as shown in Fig. 1 ) the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #201 ) to the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #203 ), a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 13 #1401 ) and the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 13 pixel on left side of figure ) is less than a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 13 #1401 ) and the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 13 pixel on the right side of figure; Fig. 12 shows that #140 is between sub-pixels #201, #202, and #203 ). Regarding claim 16 , Deng teaches the display substrate according to claim 15 ( as discussed above), wherein the orthographic projection of the partition structure ( Fig. 2 #140 ) adjacent to the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 2 pixel on left side of figure ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 2 #110 ) defines a third pattern ( as shown in Fig. 2 ) at least partially surrounding an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 2 ) of a pixel opening of the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 2 pixel on left side of figure ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 2 #110 ); wherein the orthographic projection of the partition structure ( Fig. 2 #140 ) adjacent to the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 2 pixel on right side of figure ) in the third direction on the base substrate ( Fig. 2 #110 ) defines a fourth pattern ( as shown in Fig. 2 ) at least partially surrounding an orthographic projection of a pixel opening of the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 2 pixel on right side of figure ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 2 #110 ); and/or wherein the orthographic projection of the partition structure ( Fig. 2 #140 ) adjacent to the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 1 #202 and Fig. 2 right side pixel ) in the fourth direction on the base substrate ( Fig. 2 #110 ) defines a fifth pattern ( as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 ) at least partially surrounding an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 ) of a pixel opening of the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 2 right side pixel ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 2 #110 ). Regarding claim 21 , Ding teaches a display panel ( [0400] FIG. 16, thus facilitating release of water and oxygen absorbed in the planarization layer 180 in a preparation process of the display substrate, reducing a damage of water and oxygen to a material of an emitting layer of a light emitting element, and prolonging life of a panel ) , comprising the display substrate ( Fig. 16: display substrate 100 ) according to claim 1 ( as discussed above). Regarding claim 22 , Ding teaches a display apparatus ( Fig. 18: display apparatus 500 ), comprising the display panel according to claim 21 ( as discussed above) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 6 and 12-14 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al.; US 2024/0155876 A1; 11/2022 in view of Jeong et al.; US 2017/0278867 A1; 03/2017 Claim 6: Deng discloses the display substrate according to claim 2 ( as discussed above ). Deng does not appear to disclose the at least one sub-pixel further comprises a first passivation portion in the first passivation layer, and in a same sub-pixel, an orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate; and wherein for two sub-pixels adjacent to each other and the partition structure between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other, the first passivation portion of one sub-pixel and the partition portion are formed as an integral structure. Jeong teaches the at least one sub-pixel ( Fig. 15 pixel area DA ) further comprises a first passivation portion ( [0022] The first passivation film may include a first passivation portion and a second passivation portion ) in the first passivation layer ( Fig. 15 passivation layer 220 ), and in a same sub-pixel ( Fig. 15 DA ), an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) of the first passivation portion ( Fig. 15 #220 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 15 substrate 100 ) covers an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) of the first electrode ( Fig. 15 first metal pattern layer 151 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 15 #100 ); and wherein for two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) and the partition structure ( Fig. 15 surrounding area SA ) between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other ( as shown in Fig. 15 ), the first passivation portion ( as discussed above) of one sub-pixel ( Fig. 15 DA ) and the partition portion ( Fig. 15 SA ) are formed as an integral structure ( [0133] According to such a process, the passivation film 221 may be formed not only in the pad area PA but also in the surrounding area SA excluding the pad area PA and the pixel area DA ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Jeong with Deng to implement at least one sub-pixel further comprises a first passivation portion in the first passivation layer, and in a same sub-pixel, an orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate; and wherein for two sub-pixels adjacent to each other and the partition structure between the two sub-pixels adjacent to each other, the first passivation portion of one sub-pixel and the partition portion are formed as an integral structure because a first passivation portion is important to provide electrical isolation and protection. Claim 12: Deng discloses the display substrate according to claim 6 ( as discussed above ), wherein the display substrate ( Fig. 15 display substrate 100 ) further comprises a second planarization layer ( [0403] the protective structure 270 and the second convex portion 182 are formed at the position where the first electrode is subsequently formed after etching ) between the first passivation layer ( Fig. 37A #270 ) and the first electrode layer ( Fig. 37A first electrode #131 ); wherein the at least one sub-pixel further comprises a first spacing portion ( as shown in Fig. 37A the length of #131 is smaller than #270 ) in the second planarization layer ( Fig. 37A #182 ); Deng does not appear to disclose in a same sub-pixel, the orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate, an overlap between the orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate defines a second pattern, and an orthographic projection of the first spacing portion on the base substrate covers the second pattern. However, Jeong teaches in a same sub-pixel, the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) of the first electrode ( Fig. 15 #151 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 15 #100 ) overlaps with the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) of the first passivation portion ( Fig. 15 #221 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 15 #100 ), an overlap between the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) of the first electrode ( Fig. 15 #151 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 15 #100 ) and the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) of the first passivation portion ( Fig. 15 #221 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 15 #100 ) defines a second pattern, and an orthographic projection of the first spacing portion ( Fig. 15 #100 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 15 #100 ) covers the second pattern ( as shown in Fig. 15 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Jeong with Deng to implement in a same sub-pixel, the orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate, an overlap between the orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate defines a second pattern, and an orthographic projection of the first spacing portion on the base substrate covers the second pattern because orthographic projections are important to ensure alignment of components in the device and prevention of crosstalk and short circuits. Claim 13: Deng discloses the display substrate according to claim 12 ( as discussed above) Deng does not appear to disclose in a same sub-pixel, an orthographic projection of the pixel defining portion on the base substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate, an overlap between the orthographic projection of the pixel defining portion on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate defines a first pattern, and the orthographic projection of the first spacing portion on the base substrate covers the first pattern. However, Jeong teaches in a same sub-pixel, an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 4 ) of the pixel defining portion ( Fig. 4 pixel defining film 200 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 4 #100 ) overlaps with the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 4 ) of the first passivation portion ( [0022] The first passivation film may include a first passivation portion and a second passivation portion ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 4 #100 ), an overlap between the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 4 ) of the pixel defining portion ( Fig. 4 #200 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 4 #100 ) and the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 4 ) of the first passivation portion ( as discussed above ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 4 #100 ) defines a first pattern, and the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 4 ) of the first spacing portion ( Fig. 4 buffer layer 110 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 4 #100 ) covers the first pattern ( as shown in Fig. 4 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Jeong with Deng to implement in a same sub-pixel, an orthographic projection of the pixel defining portion on the base substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate, an overlap between the orthographic projection of the pixel defining portion on the base substrate and the orthographic projection of the first passivation portion on the base substrate defines a first pattern, and the orthographic projection of the first spacing portion on the base substrate covers the first pattern because precise orthographic projections ensure vertical alignment and reduce artifacts during manufacturing. Claim 14: Deng and Jeong disclose the display substrate according to claim 13 ( as discussed above ). Deng does not appear to disclose the at least one sub-pixel further comprises a first planarization portion in the first planarization layer; and wherein in a same sub-pixel, a thickness of the first spacing portion is less than or equal to a thickness of the first passivation portion, and the thickness of the first passivation portion is less than a thickness of the first planarization portion. However, Jeong teaches the at least one sub-pixel further comprises a first planarization portion ( Fig. 15 #110 shown but not labeled ) in the first planarization layer ( Fig. 4 planarization film 180 ); and wherein in a same sub-pixel, a thickness of the first spacing portion ( Fig. 4 #110 ) is less than or equal to a thickness of the first passivation portion ( Fig. 15 passivation film 221 ), and the thickness of the first passivation portion ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) is less than a thickness of the first planarization portion ( Fig. 15 #110 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Jeong with Deng to implement at least one sub-pixel further comprises a first planarization portion in the first planarization layer; and wherein in a same sub-pixel, a thickness of the first spacing portion is less than or equal to a thickness of the first passivation portion, and the thickness of the first passivation portion is less than a thickness of the first planarization portion because a planarization portion provides for improved surface smoothing and layer uniformity. Claims 7-9 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al.; US 2024/0155876 A1; 11/2022 in view of Jeong et al.; US 2017/0278867 A1; 03/2017 as it relates to claim 6 and further in view of Wang et al.; US 2025/0342801 A1; 08/2022 Claim 7: Deng and Jeong disclose the display substrate according to claim 6 ( as discussed above). Deng teaches the display substrate ( Fig. 1 display substrate 100 ) further comprises a first pixel defining layer (Fig. 2 pixel definition layer 150 on left side of figure ) on a side of the first electrode ( Fig. 2 first electrode 131 ) layer away from the base substrate ( Fig. 2 base substrate 110 ) and a second pixel defining layer ( Fig. 2 #150 on the right side of the figure ) between the first pixel defining layer ( Fig. 2 #150 on the left side of figure ) and the first passivation layer ( Fig. 37A #270 ); and the pixel defining portion ( Fig. 37A sub-pixels 200 ) is attached to the first passivation portion ( Fig. 37A protective structure 270 ) through the auxiliary attaching portion ( Fig. 37A #132 ), and a maximum thickness of the auxiliary attaching portion ( as shown in Fig. 37A ) is less than or equal to a maximum thickness of the pixel defining portion ( Fig. 37A #150 ). Deng does not appear to disclose a material of the first pixel defining layer comprises a black pixel defining material, and a material of the second pixel defining layer comprises a transparent pixel defining material; wherein the at least one sub-pixel further comprises a pixel defining portion in the first pixel defining layer and an auxiliary attaching portion in the second pixel defining layer; and wherein in a same sub-pixel, the pixel defining portion is configured to define an effective light-emitting region of the organic light-emitting device. However, Wang teaches a material of the first pixel defining layer ( Fig. 12: first pixel definition layer 514 ) comprises a black pixel defining material ( [0142] the first pixel definition layer may be made of a same black material ), and a material of the second pixel defining layer ( Fig. 12: second pixel defining layer 515 ) comprises a transparent pixel defining material ( [0142] The second pixel definition layer 515 may be transparent and continuous ); wherein the at least one sub-pixel ( Fig. 12: first light emitting elements 21 ) further comprises a pixel defining portion in the first pixel defining layer ( Fig. 12 #514 ) and an auxiliary attaching portion (Fig. 12 cathode layer 513 ) in the second pixel defining layer ( Fig. 12 #515 ) ; and wherein in a same sub-pixel, the pixel defining portion is configured to define an effective light-emitting region ( Fig. 12 organic emitting layer 512b ) of the organic light-emitting device ( Fig. 12 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Wang with Deng and Jeong to implement a material of the first pixel defining layer comprises a black pixel defining material, and a material of the second pixel defining layer comprises a transparent pixel defining material; wherein the at least one sub-pixel further comprises a pixel defining portion in the first pixel defining layer and an auxiliary attaching portion in the second pixel defining layer; and wherein in a same sub-pixel, the pixel defining portion is configured to define an effective light-emitting region of the organic light-emitting device because when the pixel defining layer is black it reduces ambient light reflections, and improves display contrast and visibility. Claim 8: Deng, Jeong, and Wang disclose the display substrate according to claim 7 ( as discussed above ). Deng teaches wherein in a same sub-pixel ( Fig. 37A: sub-pixel 200 ), an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 37A ) of the pixel defining portion ( Fig. 37A #200 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A: base substrate 110 ) overlaps with the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 37A ) of the first passivation portion ( Fig. 37A #270 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ), and an overlap between the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 37A ) of the pixel defining portion ( Fig. 37A #200 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ) and the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 37A ) of the first passivation portion ( Fig. 37A #270 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ) defines a first pattern; and wherein the first pattern comprises a middle region ( Fig. 37A middle of #200 region ) and an edge region outside the middle region ( Fig. 37A edges of the #200 region ), the orthographic projection of the first electrode ( Fig. 37A first electrode 131 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ) covers the middle region ( as shown in Fig. 37A ), and an orthographic projection of the auxiliary attaching portion ( Fig. 37A #132) on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ) covers the edge region ( as shown in Fig. 37A ). Claim 9: Deng, Jeong, and Wang disclose the display substrate according to claim 7 ( as discussed above ). Deng teaches in a same sub-pixel ( Fig. 37A #200 ), an orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 37A ) of the auxiliary attaching portion ( Fig. 37A #132 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ) surrounds the orthographic projection ( as shown in Fig. 37A ) of the first electrode ( Fig. 37A #131 ) on the base substrate ( Fig. 37A #110 ). Claim 17 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al.; US 2024/0155876 A1; 11/2022 in view of Park et al.; US 2025/0113685 A1; 01/2022 Claim 17: Deng discloses the display substrate according to claim 15 ( as discussed above ). Deng does not appear to disclose the plurality of sub-pixels further comprise a fourth sub-pixel, and the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel have different colors from each other; wherein for a third sub-pixel, a fourth sub-pixel adjacent to the third sub-pixel, and the partition structure between the third sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel, in a direction from the third sub-pixel to the fourth sub-pixel, a spacing between the first groove and the third sub-pixel is less than a spacing between the first groove and the fourth sub-pixel; and wherein for a second sub-pixel, a fourth sub-pixel adjacent to the second sub- pixel, and the partition structure between the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel, in a direction from the second sub-pixel to the fourth sub-pixel, a spacing between the first groove and the second sub-pixel is less than a spacing between the first groove and the fourth sub-pixel. However, Park teaches the plurality of sub-pixels further comprise a fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 fourth sub-pixel PX4 ), and the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 first sub-pixel PX1 ), the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 second sub-pixel PX2 ) and the fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 fourth sub-pixel PX4 ) have different colors from each other ( [0148] For example, the first semiconductor light-emitting device 391 may comprise a red semiconductor light-emitting device that generates red light. For example, the second semiconductor light-emitting device 392 may comprise a green semiconductor light-emitting device that generates green light. For example, the third semiconductor light-emitting device 393 may comprise a blue semiconductor light-emitting device that generates blue light ); wherein for a third sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 PX3 ), a fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 PX4 ) adjacent to the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 PX3 ), and the partition structure ( Fig. 17 partition wall 511 ) between the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 PX3 ) and the fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 PX4 ), in a direction from the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 PX3 ) to the fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 9 PX4 ), a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 17 #512 ) and the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 third semiconductor light-emitting device 533 ) is less than a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 17 #512 ) and the fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 fourth semiconductor light-emitting device 540 ); and wherein for a second sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 second semiconductor light-emitting device 532 ), a fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 #540 ) adjacent to the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 #532 ), and the partition structure ( Fig. 17 #511 ) between the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 #532 ) and the fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 #540 ), in a direction from the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 #532 ) to the fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 #540 ), a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 17 #512 ) and the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 #532 ) is less than a spacing between the first groove ( Fig. 17 #512 ) and the fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 17 #540 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Park with Deng to implement the plurality of sub-pixels further comprise a fourth sub-pixel, and the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel have different colors from each other; wherein for a third sub-pixel, a fourth sub-pixel adjacent to the third sub-pixel, and the partition structure between the third sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel, in a direction from the third sub-pixel to the fourth sub-pixel, a spacing between the first groove and the third sub-pixel is less than a spacing between the first groove and the fourth sub-pixel; and wherein for a second sub-pixel, a fourth sub-pixel adjacent to the second sub- pixel, and the partition structure between the second sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel, in a direction from the second sub-pixel to the fourth sub-pixel, a spacing between the first groove and the second sub-pixel is less than a spacing between the first groove and the fourth sub-pixel because adding a fourth pixel expands the color gamut and enhances brightness and power efficiency. Claim 18 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al.; US 2024/0155876 A1; 11/2022 in view of Zhang et al.; US 2024/0188391 A1; 08/2021 Claim 18: Deng discloses the display substrate according to claim 16 ( as discussed above ). Deng does not appear to disclose an area of an effective light-emitting region of the first sub-pixel is greater than an area of an effective light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel and is less than an area of an effective light-emitting region of the fourth sub-pixel, and the area of the effective light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel is substantially equal to the area of the effective light-emitting region of the third sub-pixel; the display substrate further comprises a plurality of gate lines extending in a first direction and a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction; wherein first sub-pixels and second sub-pixels are alternately arranged in a third direction, the first sub-pixels and third sub-pixels are alternately arranged in a fourth direction, the third sub-pixels and fourth sub-pixels are alternately arranged in the third direction, and the second sub-pixels and the fourth sub-pixels are alternately arranged in the fourth direction; and wherein the first direction, the second direction, the third direction and the fourth direction intersect with one another. However, Zhang teaches an area of an effective light-emitting region of the first sub-pixel ( Fig. 7 P1 ) is greater than an area of an effective light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 7 P3 ) and is less than an area of an effective light-emitting region of the fourth sub-pixel ( Fig. 7 P2 ), and the area of the effective light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel ( Fig. 7 P3 ) is substantially equal to the area of the effective light-emitting region of the third sub-pixel ( Fig. 7 P4 ); the display substrate ( [0111] FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of a planar structure of a display substrate according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure ) further comprises a plurality of gate lines ( [0111] The pixel drive circuit is configured to receive a data voltage transmitted by the data signal line under control of the scanning signal line and the light emitting signal line, and output a corresponding current to the light emitting device ) extending in a first direction ( Fig. 1 scanning signal lines ) and a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction ( Fig. 1 data signal lines ); wherein first sub-pixels ( Fig. 8 P1 ) and second sub-pixels ( Fig. 8 P3 ) are alternately arranged in a third direction ( Fig. 8 X direction in this figure ), the first sub-pixels ( Fig. 8 P1 ) and third sub-pixels ( Fig. 8 P4 ) are alternately arranged in a fourth direction ( Fig. 8 Y direction in this figure ), the third sub-pixels ( Fig. 8 P4 ) and fourth sub-pixels ( Fig. 8 P2 ) are alternately arranged in the third direction ( as shown in Fig. 8 ), and the second sub-pixels ( Fig. 8 P3 ) and the fourth sub-pixels ( Fig. 8 P2 ) are alternately arranged in the fourth direction ( as shown in Fig. 8 ); and wherein the first direction ( Fig. 7 X direction ), the second direction ( Fig. 7 Y direction ), the third direction ( Fig. 8 X direction ) and the fourth direction ( Fig. 8 Y direction ) intersect with one another ( as shown in the figures ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Zhang with Deng to implement an area of an effective light-emitting region of the first sub-pixel is greater than an area of an effective light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel and is less than an area of an effective light-emitting region of the fourth sub-pixel, and the area of the effective light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel is substantially equal to the area of the effective light-emitting region of the third sub-pixel; the display substrate further comprises a plurality of gate lines extending in a first direction and a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction; wherein first sub-pixels and second sub-pixels are alternately arranged in a third direction, the first sub-pixels and third sub-pixels are alternately arranged in a fourth direction, the third sub-pixels and fourth sub-pixels are alternately arranged in the third direction, and the second sub-pixels and the fourth sub-pixels are alternately arranged in the fourth direction; and wherein the first direction, the second direction, the third direction and the fourth direction intersect with one another because this approach can optimize display performance and ensure consistent optical quality. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIMBERLY N FREY whose telephone number is (571)272-5068. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marlon Fletcher can be reached at (571)272-2063. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 4 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 5 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 6 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 7 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 8 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 9 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 10 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 11 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 12 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 13 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 14 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 15 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 16 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 17 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 18 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 19 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 20 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 21 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 22 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 23 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 24 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 25 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/693,236 Page 26 Art Unit: 2817