DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on May 04, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending, with Claims 1 and 14 being amended.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed May 04, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed May 04, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-20 under Bradley, in view of Liu, Stefan have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Okuyama, in view of Bradley, Liu, and Stefan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9-12, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Publication No. 2021029652 A, to Okuyama, et al (hereinafter referred to as Okuyama; newly of record).
As per Claim 1, Okuyama discloses the features of a method performed by a virtual reality, VR, system for play of a virtual reality, VR, game, in a self-driving vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0010]-[0011], [0072], [0121]; where a game system (X) is installed in a game device (2) of a vehicle capable of automatic driving, and the game event occurs in a virtual space corresponding to the real space), the method comprising:
receiving a schedule of predicted acceleration for a future time period for the self- driving vehicle operating in a real world environment (e.g. Paragraphs [0007], [0011]; where the game system includes an event generating means for and adjusting the occurrence of the event according to a scheduled arrival time at the end of the route); and
responsive to the schedule of predicted acceleration, adjusting play of the VR game based on the schedule of predicted acceleration (e.g. Paragraphs [0062], [0107], [0122]; where the game program includes an acceleration posture means for acquiring vehicle acceleration and/or posture information, and the event generating means includes the acceleration information to change the event according to the posture information, so that acceleration and/or posture information of the game can be enhanced) by
controlling the motion of at least one virtual object in a virtual environment of the VR game to generate virtual acceleration of the at least one virtual object corresponding to the predicted acceleration in the schedule (e.g. Paragraphs [0087], [0089], [0091]; where the event generating means can change the event according to the acceleration information and/or attitude information, for example, when the vehicle is backing up, the event is generated in a direction in which a monster or an obstacle appears in front, and the event generating means gives a sense of urgency as if the vehicle was being chased by monsters, running water, rocks, etc., when the vehicle is accelerating or the posture of the vehicle is not horizontal, but on a sharp curve or slope (i.e., controls motion of the virtual object)).
As per Claim 14, Okuyama discloses the features of method performed by a vehicle system for providing an acceleration requested by a virtual reality, VR, game for play in an self-driving vehicle operating in a real world environment (e.g. Paragraphs [0010]-[0011], [0072], [0121]; where a game system (X) is installed in a game device (2) of a vehicle capable of automatic driving, and the game event occurs in a virtual space corresponding to the real space), the method comprising:
performing one of (i) communicating to a processor a schedule of predicted acceleration for a future time period for the self-driving vehicle operating in the real world environment; and (ii) receiving a request to generate a specified acceleration of the self-driving vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0007], [0011]; where the game system includes an event generating means for and adjusting the occurrence of the event according to a scheduled arrival time at the end of the route, and the game device comprises a computer that executes the game program, which connects to a server device to obtain game position settings based on the detection of the current position); and
communicating to the processor an indication that the specified acceleration is scheduled (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0036]-[0037]; where the travel route between the positions on the map is acquired, the current position is acquired, an in-game event is generated on the travel route, and the time of arrival is predicted, such that the progress of the game is adjusted so that the game ends at the scheduled end positions at the expected time; and where the game device receives the travel route from to the scheduled end positions, in order to start/advance the game), wherein
the specified acceleration is scheduled for use by the VR game to generate virtual acceleration corresponding to motion of the self-driving (e.g. Paragraphs [0087], [0089], [0091]; where the event generating means can change the event according to the acceleration information and/or attitude information, for example, when the vehicle is backing up, the event is generated in a direction in which a monster or an obstacle appears in front, and the event generating means gives a sense of urgency as if the vehicle was being chased by monsters, running water, rocks, etc., when the vehicle is accelerating or the posture of the vehicle is not horizontal, but on a sharp curve or slope (i.e., controls motion of the virtual object)), wherein
the specified acceleration is scheduled for use by the VR game to control motion of at least one virtual object in a virtual environment of the VR game to generate virtual acceleration of the at least one virtual object corresponding to the specified acceleration (e.g. Paragraphs [0087], [0089], [0091]; where the event generating means can change the event according to the acceleration information and/or attitude information, for example, when the vehicle is backing up, the event is generated in a direction in which a monster or an obstacle appears in front, and the event generating means gives a sense of urgency as if the vehicle was being chased by monsters, running water, rocks, etc., when the vehicle is accelerating or the posture of the vehicle is not horizontal, but on a sharp curve or slope (i.e., controls motion of the virtual object)).
As per Claim 5, and similarly for Claim 18, Okuyama discloses the features of Claims 1 and 14, respectively, and Okuyama further discloses the features of wherein the future time period comprises a period of time corresponding to a prediction of the self-driving vehicle of parameters for movement of the self-driving vehicle operating in the real world environment (e.g. Paragraphs [0007], [0037], [0051]; where the game device transmits data regarding game progress to the server device at the start of the game and at specific time of game progress, to synchronize data and advance the game; and the event generating means calculates the estimated time of arrival at the end position, and adjusts the occurrence of the event according to the time).
As per Claim 9, Okuyama discloses the features of Claim 1, and Okuyama further discloses the features of wherein the adjusting play comprises a generation of an acceleration in a virtual environment of the VR game that corresponds to a predicted acceleration in the schedule of predicted acceleration (e.g. Paragraphs [0087], [0089], [0091]; where the event generating means can change the event according to the acceleration information and/or attitude information, for example, when the vehicle is backing up, the event is generated in a direction in which a monster or an obstacle appears in front, and the event generating means gives a sense of urgency as if the vehicle was being chased by monsters, running water, rocks, etc., when the vehicle is accelerating or the posture of the vehicle is not horizontal, but on a sharp curve or slope (i.e., controls motion of the virtual object)).
As per Claim 10, Okuyama discloses the features of Claim 1, and Okuyama further discloses the features of communicating a request to the self-driving vehicle to generate a specified acceleration of the self-driving vehicle; and receiving a communication from the self-driving vehicle indicating the specified acceleration is scheduled (e e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0036]-[0037]; where the travel route between the positions on the map is acquired, the current position is acquired, an in-game event is generated on the travel route, and the time of arrival is predicted, such that the progress of the game is adjusted so that the game ends at the scheduled end positions at the expected time; and where the game device receives the travel route from to the scheduled end positions, in order to start/advance the game).
As per Claim 11, Okuyama discloses the features of Claim 10, and Okuyama further discloses the features of further comprising: executing play of the VR game based on the self-driving vehicle implementing the specified acceleration (e.g. e.g. Paragraphs [0087], [0089], [0091]; where the event generating means can change the event according to the acceleration information and/or attitude information, for example, when the vehicle is backing up, the event is generated in a direction in which a monster or an obstacle appears in front, and the event generating means gives a sense of urgency as if the vehicle was being chased by monsters, running water, rocks, etc., when the vehicle is accelerating or the posture of the vehicle is not horizontal, but on a sharp curve or slope (i.e., controls motion of the virtual object)).
As per Claim 12, Okuyama discloses the features of Claim 10, and Okuyama further teaches the features of wherein the self- driving vehicle operating in the real world environment comprises the self-driving vehicle operating in a dedicated gaming environment (e.g. Paragraphs [0007], [0011], [0096]; where the virtual space corresponds to the real space for executing a game program on the vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2021029652 A, to Okuyama, et al (hereinafter referred to as Okuyama; newly of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0130878 A1, to Bradley (hereinafter referred to as Bradley; previously of record).
As per Claim 2, and similarly for Claim 15, Okuyama discloses the features of Claims 1 and 14, respectively, but Okuyama fails to disclose every feature of wherein the schedule of predicted acceleration for the future time period comprises a time series of a three-dimensional vectors of predicted accelerations.
However, Bradley, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for presenting virtual content in a vehicle, where the user device (110) can obtain vehicle sensor data (118) combined with three-dimensional volumetric data, to render virtual displays; where the vehicle data is based on current and/or future vehicle heading, locations/ orientations of the vehicle route segments, vehicle position along the route and/or route segments, vehicle speed/velocity, vehicle acceleration, etc. (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0039], [0065], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the game program in the system of Okuyama, with the feature of determining three-dimensional acceleration vectors in the system of Bradley, in order to render virtual content for the user (see at least Paragraph [0076] of Bradley).
Claims 3-4, 6-8, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Okuyama, in view of Bradley, as applied to Claims 2 and 15 above, and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2021/155694 A1, to Liu (hereinafter referred to as Liu; previously of record).
As per Claim 3, and similarly for Claim 16, Okuyama, in view of Bradley, teaches the features of Claims 2 and 15, respectively, but the combination of Okuyama, in view of Bradley, fails to teach every feature of wherein a three-dimensional vector of predicted acceleration comprises a three tuple representing a data sample of the three-dimensional vector of predicted acceleration along three axes.
However, Liu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for driving in a virtual environment, where the acceleration sensor (1311) can detect the magnitude of acceleration on the three coordinate axes of the coordinate system, and can be used to detect the components of gravitational acceleration on three coordinate axes (e.g. Page 25, paragraph beginning with “The acceleration sensor 1311 can …”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the game program in the system of Okuyama, in view of Bradley, with the feature of using three-dimensional vectors in the system of Liu, in order to reduce the burden on the user when automatic driving is selected (see at least Page 17, Paragraph beginning with “In addition, in this embodiment …” of Liu).
As per Claim 4, and similarly for Claim 17, Okuyama, in view of Bradley, and Liu, teaches the features of Claims 3 and 16, respectively, and Bradley further teaches the features of wherein the three axes correspond to a forward acceleration direction, a side acceleration direction, and a vertical acceleration direction of the self-driving vehicle
Bradley teaches a method for presenting virtual content in a vehicle, where the user device (110) can obtain vehicle sensor data (118) combined with three-dimensional volumetric data, to render virtual displays; where the vehicle data is based on current and/or future vehicle heading, locations/ orientations of the vehicle route segments, vehicle position along the route and/or route segments, vehicle speed/velocity, vehicle acceleration, etc. (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0039], [0065], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the game program in the system of Okuyama, with the feature of determining acceleration vectors in three directions in the system of Bradley, in order to render virtual content for the user (see at least Paragraph [0076] of Bradley).
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claim 19, Okuyama, in view of Bradely and Liu, teaches the features of Claims 3 and 16, respectively, and Bradley further teaches the features of wherein the number of data samples for the three tuples is based on at least one of a future time period and a frequency of sampling of data.
Bradley teaches a method for presenting virtual content in a vehicle, where the motion planning system (126) can generate new motion plan(s) (134) for the vehicle (104) (e.g., multiple times per second), and each motion plan can describe the motion of the vehicle (104) over the next several seconds (e.g., 5 seconds) (i.e. sampling frequency) (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0066], [0098]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the game program in the system of Okuyama, with the feature of determining the sampling frequency in the system of Bradley, in order to improve the efficiency of rendering and displaying the virtual content (see at least Paragraphs [0021]-[0022] of Bradley).
As per Claim 7, and similarly for Claim 20, Okuyama, in view of Bradley and Liu, teaches the features of Claims 6 and 16, respectively, and Bradley further teaches the features of wherein the frequency of sampling of data comprises a fixed frequency or an adjustable frequency based on different conditions of the real world environment for operation of the self-driving vehicle.
Bradley teaches a method for presenting virtual content in a vehicle, where the prediction data (132) can be created iteratively at a plurality of times steps such that the predicted movements of the objects can be updated, adjusted, conformed, etc., over time (i.e. based on environmental data), and the prediction data (132) can then be provided to the motion planning system (128) of the vehicle to update the motion plan; and where the data indicative of the motion trajectory can be updated in real-time as the vehicle route changes and/or the motion planning system iteratively determines the trajectory of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0064]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the game program in the system of Okuyama, with the feature of determining the sampling frequency in the system of Bradley, in order to improve the efficiency of rendering and displaying the virtual content (see at least Paragraphs [0021]-[0022] of Bradley).
As per Claim 8, Okuyama, in view of Bradely and Liu, teaches the features of Claim 7, and Bradley further teaches the features of wherein the different conditions comprise a type of road environment.
Bradley teaches a method for presenting virtual content in a vehicle, where the autonomy computing system (114) of the vehicle (104) can retrieve or obtain map data (120), which provides detailed information about the surrounding environment of the vehicle (104), including the identity and location of different roadways, road segments, buildings, etc., lanes within a particular roadway; and the vehicle computing system (102) can obtain perception information indicative of one or more states of objects within the environment, such as traffic, locations of roadwork and obstructions, and scheduled events (i.e. types of road environments) (e.g. Paragraph [0060], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the game program in the system of Okuyama, with the feature of determining road environments system of Bradley, in order to determine a motion plan for controlling the vehicle and render virtual content (see at least Paragraphs [0062], [0076] of Bradley).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2021029652 A, to Okuyama, et al (hereinafter referred to as Okuyama; newly of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0278920 A1, to Stefan (hereinafter referred to as Stefan; previously of record).
As per Claim 13, Okuyama discloses the features of Claim 10, but Okuyama fails to disclose every feature of further comprising: generating the specified acceleration and rotating a seat in the self-driving vehicle, wherein the specified acceleration generates a side acceleration of the user of the VR system located in the rotated seat.
However, Stefan, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an entertainment apparatus for a self-driving vehicle, where the image data reproduction module (26) is designed to coordinate a degree of movement of the seats (8a-d) with particular scenes of a film/computer game through a combination of vehicle movements (particular longitudinal/ traverse movement of the vehicle); and where the seats (8a-d) may include a seat adjusting device (42), a seat rotation device (44), and/or a seat acceleration device (46); and where a degree of seat movement is conducted to represent the degree of vehicle movement (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0050]; Claim 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the game program in the system of Okuyama, with the feature of providing seat movement in the system of Stefan, in order to improve the user experience (see at least Paragraphs [0022], [0047] of Stefan).
Conclusion
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663