DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 March 2024 by the applicant has been considered and is included in the file.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 14A, B in both the original and replacement sheets include two "130C" indications, where the leftmost points to the optical component correctly and the rightmost appears to erroneously point to the package (120C) which is already labeled.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20200372665 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang anticipates a light source device comprising:
a light source ([0027] - [0031]; Figs. 1, 4; structured light projector (211) projects a structured-light pattern, such as an infrared laser pattern);
an optical element ([0027] - [0031]; Figs. 4, 8; optical element (202))
and a holding unit that holds the light source and the optical element, wherein the holding unit includes:
a package that accommodates the light source and has an opening on an optical path of light from the light source, the package being such that the optical element is attached on the package to cover the opening ([0027] - [0031]; Figs. 4, 8; where lens barrel (203) and collimating element (205) both allow passage of emitted light through the central opening, and where the optical element (202) sits along optical path adjacent to lens barrel (203));
and a cover that covers the optical element and the package and allows transmission of light emitted from the light source and has passed through the optical element ([0027] - [0031]; Figs. 4, 8; cover (201) additionally allows for transmission and sits adjacent to optical element (202)).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 1, wherein
the cover suppresses movement of the optical element to a position deviated from the optical path when the optical element is peeled off from the package ([0029], [0031] - [0034]; Figs. 6, 8; where optical element (202) is held in the space between protective cover (201) and lens barrel (203) and may further include protective sidewall (2011)).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 1, wherein
the optical element is disposed between the package and the cover,
or, wherein the optical element is sandwiched between the package and the cover ([0029], [0031] - [0034]; Figs. 6, 8; where optical element (202) is held in the space between protective cover (201) and lens barrel (203) and may further include protective sidewall (2011)).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 1, wherein
the cover includes a cover member that has an internal space that holds the optical element on the optical path when the optical element is peeled off from the package ([0029], [0031] - [0034]; Figs. 6, 8; where optical element (202) is held in the space between protective cover (201) and lens barrel (203) and may further include protective sidewall (2011)).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 1, wherein
the optical element is larger than the package (Figs. 4, 6, where optical element (202) is shown as two-dimensionally larger than the collimating element (205) which along with lens barrel (203) is part of the package).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 10, wherein
the cover member has conductivity ([0031]; where the cover (201) may be made of conductive material or incorporate conductive first electrode plate (2001) and second electrode plate (2002)).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 12, wherein
the holding unit further includes a substrate to which the package and the cover member are attached ([0028] - [0031]; Figs. 4, 6 where system includes substrate (204) which acts as a mounting base),
the light source device further comprising a detection system that detects detachment of the cover member from the substrate ([0030] - [0034]; where drop detection circuit (220) can determine if cover (201) or optical element (202) have become dislodged or fallen off).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 1, wherein
the cover includes a conductive cover member ([0031]; where the cover (201) may be made of conductive material or incorporate conductive first electrode plate (2001) and second electrode plate (2002)),
and the holding unit further includes a substrate to which the package and the resin cover member are attached ([0028] - [0031]; Figs. 4, 6 where system includes substrate (204) which acts as a mounting base),
the light source device further comprising a detection system that detects detachment of the resin cover member from the substrate ([0030] - [0034]; where drop detection circuit (220) can determine if cover (201) or optical element (202) have become dislodged or fallen off).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 14, wherein
the conductive cover member includes first and second electrode portions to be coupled to the substrate ([0030] - [0031]; Fig. 4, where the cover (201) may incorporate conductive first electrode plate (2001) and second electrode plate (2002) in connection to substrate via connection circuit (2124)),
and the detection system includes:
a power supply unit that applies a current between the first and second electrode portions;
and a voltage detection unit that detects a voltage between the first and second electrode portions ([0031], [0042]; where drop detection circuit (220) may include a detection device (2122) which detects a voltage U between the first and second plates, and where connection circuit (2124) is connected to first bus device (61) which may control power to peripheral devices such as the structured-light projector (211) or drop detection circuit (220)).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 14, further comprising:
a control system that controls the light source ([0027], [0038], [0040]; Fig. 1, data processing engine (30) which controls emission and detection, calculations, and other input/output),
wherein the control system stops driving of the light source when the detection system detects the detachment ([0031], [0033], [0034]; where the structured light projector (211) is directed to stop emission if the optical element (202) or protective cover is detected to be displaced).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang anticipates the light source device according to claim 1, wherein
the optical element includes a diffractive optical element ([0029]; where optical element (202) is diffractive).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang anticipates a distance measuring device comprising:
the light source device according to claim 1;
and a light receiving device that receives light emitted from the light source device and reflected by an object ([0026] - [0027]; Fig. 1 where main device includes structured-light image collector (212)).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang anticipates a device comprising the distance measuring device according to claim 19 ([0041]; where the main device may be a phone, tablet, or other wearable device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200372665 A1) in view of Fukui et al. (hereinafter Fukui, US 20190121154 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the light source device according to claim 1, however Zhang is silent on the cover member may be made of resin.
Fukui teaches a laser projection device, which incorporates a laser light source and various optical components for use in time of flight (TOF) systems, wherein
the cover includes a resin cover member ([0061]; where covers, housings and other optical components such as diffusion plates of optical devices may be made of appropriate materials which include both opaque and transparent resins).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Fukui to utilize a cover member which is made of resin with a reasonable expectation of success. Zhang teaches that the cover material may be made of a conductive material such as a polymer ([0031]). Fukui teaches that the housing and cover/optical element materials may be made of a metal, a resin, including polycarbonate and acrylic, and glass where the choice is dependent on the need of the system ([0061]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a choice of resin versus a polymer would be a simple substitution of materials for a TOF system’s housing, cover member or optical components.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang as modified above teaches the light source device according to claim 5, wherein
the cover further includes a conductive cover member that covers the resin cover member ([0031]; where the cover (201) may be made of conductive material or incorporate conductive first electrode plate (2001) and second electrode plate (2002)).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang as modified above teaches the light source device according to claim 5, wherein
the holding unit further includes a substrate to which the package and the conductive cover member are attached ([0028] - [0031]; Figs. 4, 6 where system includes substrate (204) which acts as a mounting base),
the light source device further comprising a detection system that detects detachment of the conductive cover member from the substrate ([0030] - [0034]; where drop detection circuit (220) can determine if cover (201) or optical element (202) have become dislodged or fallen off).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang as modified above teaches the light source device according to claim 5, wherein
the resin cover member has conductivity ([0031]; where the cover (201) may be made of conductive material or incorporate conductive first electrode plate (2001) and second electrode plate (2002)).
As Zhang as modified above teaches both a conductive cover member and a resin cover member, Claim 9 is similarly rejected to claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches the light source device according to claim 1, however Zhang is silent on the optical element including a diffusion plate.
Fukui teaches a laser projection device, which incorporates a laser light source and various optical components for use in time of flight (TOF) systems, wherein an optical element includes a diffusion plate ([0060] - [0062]; Fig. 1A where projection light device includes optical element diffusion plate (202)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Fukui to incorporate a diffusion plate as an optical element with a reasonable expectation of success. As Fukui notes that the purpose of optical components such as diffusion plates is to adjust beam diameter and intensity of laser light emitted for safety purposes ([0056]), which is the purpose of the diffractive element as taught by Zhang ([0031]), and as such use of either optical element would be a simple substitution of two elements with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bai et al. (US 20190265497 A1) teaches a laser projection module and depth camera which uses a laser emitter, collimation and diffraction elements and a detection component, where the system may determine if at least one of the collimation element and the diffraction element are abnormal.
He et al. (US 20210341702 A1) teaches a system which incorporates a light emission module and optical elements such as diffractive optical elements or diffusers, where a damage or fall-off status of the optical element needs to be monitored for safe operation.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645