DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on March 19, 2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on March 19, 2024. Claims 1-16, 24, and 26 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0046423).
Regarding claims 1 and 24, Kim discloses a method and a first network function, the method comprising:
receiving a request for Non-Access Stratum (NAS) traffic information (paragraphs [0005], [0023]; e.g., non-access stratum (NAS) traffic between a user equipment (UE) and a mobility management node, identifying a ciphering algorithm supported by the UE from a network access request message transmitted from the UE to the mobility management node),
wherein the request was transmitted by a second network function (paragraphs [0005], [0023]; see access request message sent from UE to MME); and
after receiving the request, sending towards the second network function a report (Fig. 3 step S500; paragraphs [0074], [0103]; e.g., and a report on the determination and detection results may be generate) comprising: user equipment (UE) type information indicating a type of UE and information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type (paragraph [0023]; e.g., identifying the UE as a first type of terminal). It is noted that limitation a report including “a NAS message type identifier identifying a type of NAS message and information indicating a number of received NAS messages of the identified type” is omitted to address due to alternate claimed such as “and/or”.
Regarding claims 9 and 26, Kim discloses a method and a first network function, the method the method comprising:
transmitting towards a second network function a request for Non-Access Stratum (NAS) traffic information (paragraphs [0005], [0023]; e.g., non-access stratum (NAS) traffic between a user equipment (UE) and a mobility management node, identifying a ciphering algorithm supported by the UE from a network access request message transmitted from the UE to the mobility management node); and
after transmitting the request, receiving a report (Fig. 3 step S500; paragraphs [0074], [0103]; e.g., and a report on the determination and detection results may be generate) comprising: user equipment (UE) type information indicating a type of UE and information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type (paragraph [0023]; e.g., identifying the UE as a first type of terminal), wherein the report was sent by the second network function (paragraphs [0014], [0074]; see the report is sent from MME to UE). It is noted that limitation a report including “a NAS message type identifier identifying a type of NAS message and information indicating a number of received NAS messages of the identified type” is omitted to address due to alternate claimed such as “and/or”.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the request for NAS traffic information is either a one-time request to provide the report once or a subscription request to provide a report periodically or upon an occurrence of a particular condition (paragraphs [0074], [0077]; see registration request).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the request for NAS traffic information comprises a UE identifier identifying a particular UE and/or a UE group identifier identifying a group of UEs (paragraphs [0060], [0077]; e.g., NAS traffic information may include information about a user equipment (UE) and information about a NAS message exchanged between the user equipment (UE) and a network. The information on the user equipment (UE) may include subscriber identifier information (such as IMSI, SUCI or SUPI) (hereinafter referred to as “IMSI”), MSISDN (e.g., a phone number)).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Kim discloses the method of claims 3 and 11, wherein the NAS messages of the identified type and/or the NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type comprise NAS messages transmitted by the identified UE and/or the identified group of UEs (paragraph [0023]; e.g., identifying the UE as a first type of terminal).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, the method further comprising: collecting historical and/or real time NAS traffic information associated with the identified UE and/or the identified group of UEs (paragraphs [0023], [0037]; e.g., detecting abnormal traffic may include a network interface for collecting non-access stratum (NAS) traffic between a user equipment (UE) and a mobility management node).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the identified type of NAS message is one of a UE registration request, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request, a PDU session modification request, or a remote UE report (paragraph [0074]; see registration request).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE type information comprises UE capability information, a UE model identifier, and/or a UE vendor identifier (paragraphs [0023], [0060]; e.g., The UE 10 may be equipped with or built-in a USIM card including subscriber identify information such as IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identify), SUPI (Subscription Permanent Identifier) or SUCI (Subscription Concealed Identifier) for subscriber identification).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the report further comprises any one or a combination of: an AMF identifier identifying a particular AMF, a UE Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) identifier (ID), wherein the UE NGAP ID is a Radio Access Node UE NGAP ID or an AMF UE NGAP ID, a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI), or a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI) (paragraphs [0023], [0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2017/0318463) discloses a UE transmits a NAS connection request to a base station to establish a secure connection based on UE identifier.
Kawasaki et al. (US 2022/0015158) discloses a UE sends a NAS message request to AMF for registration procedure.
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648