DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues that “nothing in the cited portions of Kim that discloses, "after receiving the request, sending towards the second network function a report comprising: ... [UE] type information indicating a type of UE and information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type." That is, Kim does not indicate that the report comprises a UE type indicating a type of UE, nor that the report comprises information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type”, with the corresponding teaching indicating the arguments and the arts references below, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kim discloses UE transmits a network access request message to the network (i.e., MME) (see paragraph [0005]). After receiving the request, the MME performing measures and determines whether or not type of UE at risk. The person skill in the art can derive the determining type of UE at risk is equivalent to “type information indicating a type of UE” (See paragraph [0074]; Fig. 3 and Fig. 7). The NAS traffic information including information about UE and information about a NAS message exchanged between the UE and network is equivalent to information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type as claimed. During patent examination, the claims must be given their broadly reasonable interpretation. See MPEP 2111. The term “information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type” is broadly claimed, therefore, it is broadly interpreted. In this case, the MME transmits the NAS Security mode complete message or has rejected the NAS security mode. The MME transmits a NAS Security Mode command message indicating the NAS ciphering algorithm. Theses all messages are equivalent to information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0046423; Cited in PTO-892 Part of Paper No. 20260402).
Regarding claims 1 and 24, Kim discloses a method and a first network function, the method comprising:
receiving a request for Non-Access Stratum (NAS) traffic information (paragraphs [0005], [0023]; e.g., non-access stratum (NAS) traffic between a user equipment (UE) and a mobility management node, identifying a ciphering algorithm supported by the UE from a network access request message transmitted from the UE to the mobility management node),
wherein the request was transmitted by a second network function (paragraphs [0005], [0023]; see access request message sent from UE to MME); and
after receiving the request, sending towards the second network function a report (Fig. 3 step S500; paragraphs [0074], [0103]; e.g., and a report on the determination and detection results may be generate) comprising: user equipment (UE) type information indicating a type of UE and information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type (paragraph [0023]; e.g., identifying the UE as a first type of terminal). It is noted that limitation a report including “a NAS message type identifier identifying a type of NAS message and information indicating a number of received NAS messages of the identified type” is omitted to address due to alternate claimed such as “and/or”.
Regarding claims 9 and 26, Kim discloses a method and a first network function, the method the method comprising:
transmitting towards a second network function a request for Non-Access Stratum (NAS) traffic information (paragraphs [0005], [0023]; e.g., non-access stratum (NAS) traffic between a user equipment (UE) and a mobility management node, identifying a ciphering algorithm supported by the UE from a network access request message transmitted from the UE to the mobility management node); and
after transmitting the request, receiving a report (Fig. 3 step S500; paragraphs [0074], [0103]; e.g., and a report on the determination and detection results may be generate) comprising: user equipment (UE) type information indicating a type of UE and information indicating a number of NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type (paragraph [0023]; e.g., identifying the UE as a first type of terminal), wherein the report was sent by the second network function (paragraphs [0014], [0074]; see the report is sent from MME to UE). It is noted that limitation a report including “a NAS message type identifier identifying a type of NAS message and information indicating a number of received NAS messages of the identified type” is omitted to address due to alternate claimed such as “and/or”.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the request for NAS traffic information is either a one-time request to provide the report once or a subscription request to provide a report periodically or upon an occurrence of a particular condition (paragraphs [0074], [0077]; see registration request).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the request for NAS traffic information comprises a UE identifier identifying a particular UE and/or a UE group identifier identifying a group of UEs (paragraphs [0060], [0077]; e.g., NAS traffic information may include information about a user equipment (UE) and information about a NAS message exchanged between the user equipment (UE) and a network. The information on the user equipment (UE) may include subscriber identifier information (such as IMSI, SUCI or SUPI) (hereinafter referred to as “IMSI”), MSISDN (e.g., a phone number)).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Kim discloses the method of claims 3 and 11, wherein the NAS messages of the identified type and/or the NAS messages transmitted by UEs of the indicated type comprise NAS messages transmitted by the identified UE and/or the identified group of UEs (paragraph [0023]; e.g., identifying the UE as a first type of terminal).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, the method further comprising: collecting historical and/or real time NAS traffic information associated with the identified UE and/or the identified group of UEs (paragraphs [0023], [0037]; e.g., detecting abnormal traffic may include a network interface for collecting non-access stratum (NAS) traffic between a user equipment (UE) and a mobility management node).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the identified type of NAS message is one of a UE registration request, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request, a PDU session modification request, or a remote UE report (paragraph [0074]; see registration request).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE type information comprises UE capability information, a UE model identifier, and/or a UE vendor identifier (paragraphs [0023], [0060]; e.g., The UE 10 may be equipped with or built-in a USIM card including subscriber identify information such as IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identify), SUPI (Subscription Permanent Identifier) or SUCI (Subscription Concealed Identifier) for subscriber identification).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Kim discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the report further comprises any one or a combination of: an AMF identifier identifying a particular AMF, a UE Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) identifier (ID), wherein the UE NGAP ID is a Radio Access Node UE NGAP ID or an AMF UE NGAP ID, a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI), or a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI) (paragraphs [0023], [0060]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648