Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations “the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer within the edge subportions; or the second inorganic layer is disposed outside the edge subportions and the second inorganic layer is disposed between two edge subportions in the first direction” in Claim 1; “the first inorganic layer comprises a first subsegment disposed in the edge subportions, the second inorganic layer comprises a second subsegment disposed in the edge subportions, the first organic layer comprises a first organic subsegment disposed in the edge subportions” in Claim 2; “the first inorganic layer has a first end surface disposed within the edge subportions, and the second inorganic layer has a second end surface disposed within the edge subportions” in Claim 3; and “the first inorganic layer is disposed in the wiring subportions and the edge subportions of the bending portion, and the second inorganic layer is disposed only in the wiring subportions of the bending portion within the bending portion” in Claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rhe (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0129567).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 8 of Rhe discloses a display device comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a panel body, and the panel body has a main body portion (AA), a bonding portion (below BA) disposed on a backlight side of the main body portion, and a bending portion (BA) connected between the main body portion and the bonding portion, wherein the bending portion is connected to a first side of the main body portion, and the bending portion comprises at least one edge subportion (802), wherein the edge subportions are disposed at both ends of the bending portion in a first direction and the edge subportions are disposed on a side of the bending portion close to the main body portion, wherein the first direction is parallel to a direction of extension of the first side of the main body portion, and wherein the panel body comprises: a substrate [0098] disposed in the main body portion, the bending portion and the bonding portion (FIG. 9); a first inorganic layer (912) disposed on a side of the substrate; a second inorganic layer (914) disposed on a side of the first inorganic layer away from the substrate; and a first organic layer (913) disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer; wherein the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer; and the second inorganic layer is disposed outside the edge subportions and the second inorganic layer is disposed (801) between two edge subportions in the first direction.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 8 of Rhe discloses a display device comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a panel body, and the panel body has a main body portion (AA), a bonding portion (below BA) disposed on a backlight side of the main body portion, and a bending portion (BA) connected between the main body portion and the bonding portion, wherein the bending portion is connected to a first side of the main body portion, and the bending portion comprises at least one edge subportion (802), wherein the edge subportions are disposed at both ends of the bending portion in a first direction and the edge subportions are disposed on a side of the bending portion close to the main body portion, wherein the first direction is parallel to a direction of extension of the first side of the main body portion, and wherein the panel body comprises: a substrate [0098] disposed in the main body portion, the bending portion and the bonding portion (FIG. 9); a first inorganic layer (912) disposed on a side of the substrate; a second inorganic layer (914) disposed on a side of the first inorganic layer away from the substrate; and a first organic layer (913) disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer; wherein the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer; and the second inorganic layer is disposed outside the edge subportions and the second inorganic layer is disposed (801) between two edge subportions in the first direction.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1 and 15-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0325016), in view of Gwon (DE 102018127234, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 8 of Zhang discloses a display device comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a panel body, and the panel body has a main body portion (501), a bonding portion (603-606) disposed on a backlight side of the main body portion, and a bending portion (602) connected between the main body portion and the bonding portion, wherein the bending portion is connected to a first side of the main body portion, and the bending portion comprises at least one edge subportion (arc-shaped), wherein the edge subportions are disposed at both ends of the bending portion in a first direction and the edge subportions are disposed on a side of the bending portion close to the main body portion, wherein the first direction is parallel to a direction of extension of the first side of the main body portion, and wherein the panel body comprises: a substrate (100, FIG. 3) disposed in the main body portion, the bending portion and the bonding portion; a first inorganic layer (231) disposed on a side of the substrate; a second inorganic layer (233) disposed on a side of the first inorganic layer away from the substrate; and a first organic layer (232) disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer; wherein the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer.
Zhang is silent with respect to “the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer within the edge subportions; or the second inorganic layer is disposed outside the edge subportions and the second inorganic layer is disposed between two edge subportions in the first direction”.
FIG. 9 of Gwon discloses a similar display panel, wherein the first organic layer (320) is spaced between the first inorganic layer (310) and the second inorganic layer (330) within the edge subportions (BA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhang, as taught by Gwon. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhang in the above manner for purpose of preventing occurrence of arcing (Abstract of Gwon).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 10 of Zhang discloses the bending portion further comprises a cutting subportion (401) disposed on a side of the edge subportions of the bending portion away from the wiring subportions of the bending portion, and the substrate and the first inorganic layer are disposed within the cutting subportion.
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 9 of Gwon discloses the panel body comprises a thin film transistor layer (210) disposed between the substrate (111) and the first organic layer (320), wherein the thin film transistor layer comprises a gate layer (212), a source-drain layer disposed on a side of the gate layer away from the substrate, and the first inorganic layer; the first inorganic layer comprises a first inorganic sublayer (220) and a second inorganic sublayer (230), wherein the first inorganic sublayer is disposed between the gate layer and the substrate, and the second inorganic sublayer is disposed between the source-drain layer and the gate layer. FIG. 3 of Zhang the panel body further comprises a touch layer disposed on a side of the first organic layer away from the substrate, wherein the touch layer comprises a first touch metal layer (312), a second touch metal layer (314) disposed on a side of the first touch metal layer away from the substrate, the second inorganic layer spaced between the first touch metal layer and the second touch metal layer, and a second organic layer (315) disposed on a side of the second touch metal layer away from the substrate.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 9 of Gwon discloses the display panel further comprises a protection layer (410) disposed on a light-out side of the main body portion of the panel body, and the protection layer is adhered to the panel body, and a curvature of the protection layer at any point on a surface of a side away from the panel body is not 0.
Regarding Claim 18
Zhang as modified by Gwon discloses the edge subportions are adhered to the protection layer, and a curvature of the edge subportions at any point on a surface of a side close to the protection layer is not 0.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 8 of Zhang discloses a display device comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a panel body, and the panel body has a main body portion (501), a bonding portion (603-606) disposed on a backlight side of the main body portion, and a bending portion (602) connected between the main body portion and the bonding portion, wherein the bending portion is connected to a first side of the main body portion, and the bending portion comprises at least one edge subportion (arc-shaped), wherein the edge subportions are disposed at both ends of the bending portion in a first direction and the edge subportions are disposed on a side of the bending portion close to the main body portion, wherein the first direction is parallel to a direction of extension of the first side of the main body portion, and wherein the panel body comprises: a substrate (100, FIG. 3) disposed in the main body portion, the bending portion and the bonding portion; a first inorganic layer (231) disposed on a side of the substrate; a second inorganic layer (233) disposed on a side of the first inorganic layer away from the substrate; and a first organic layer (232) disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer; wherein the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer.
Zhang is silent with respect to “the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer within the edge subportions; or the second inorganic layer is disposed outside the edge subportions and the second inorganic layer is disposed between two edge subportions in the first direction”.
FIG. 9 of Gwon discloses a similar display panel, wherein the first organic layer (320) is spaced between the first inorganic layer (310) and the second inorganic layer (330) within the edge subportions (BA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhang, as taught by Gwon. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhang in the above manner for purpose of preventing occurrence of arcing (Abstract of Gwon).
Claims 1-3, 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senoo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0135159), in view of Choi (KR 20170127603, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 13 of Senoo discloses a display device comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a panel body, and the panel body has a main body portion (2), a bonding portion (4) disposed on a backlight side of the main body portion, and a bending portion (70) connected between the main body portion and the bonding portion, wherein the bending portion is connected to a first side of the main body portion, and the bending portion comprises at least one edge subportion, wherein the edge subportions are disposed at both ends of the bending portion in a first direction and the edge subportions are disposed on a side of the bending portion close to the main body portion, wherein the first direction is parallel to a direction of extension of the first side of the main body portion, and wherein the panel body comprises: a substrate (7) disposed in the main body portion, the bending portion and the bonding portion; a first inorganic layer (39) disposed on a side of the substrate; a second inorganic layer (41) disposed on a side of the first inorganic layer away from the substrate; and a first organic layer (40) disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer (FIG. 14).
Senoo is silent with respect to “the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer within the edge subportions; or the second inorganic layer is disposed outside the edge subportions and the second inorganic layer is disposed between two edge subportions in the first direction”.
FIG. 9 of Choi discloses a similar display panel, wherein the first organic layer (320) is spaced between the first inorganic layer (310) and the second inorganic layer (330) within the edge subportions (2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Senoo, as taught by Choi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Senoo in the above manner for purpose of ensuring a long lifespan of a display device (Abstract of Choi).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 9 of Choi discloses the first inorganic layer comprises a first subsegment disposed in the edge subportions, the second inorganic layer comprises a second subsegment disposed in the edge subportions, the first organic layer comprises a first organic subsegment disposed in the edge subportions, and the first organic subsegment is spaced between the first subsegment and the second subsegment.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 13 of Senoo discloses a plurality of wiring subportions disposed between two edge subportions, the first inorganic layer has a first end surface disposed within the edge subportions, and the second inorganic layer has a second end surface disposed within the edge subportions, wherein in a direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions, the second end surface of the second inorganic layer is disposed between the first end surface of the first inorganic layer and the wiring subportions.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 13 of Senoo discloses a display device comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a panel body, and the panel body has a main body portion (2), a bonding portion (4) disposed on a backlight side of the main body portion, and a bending portion (70) connected between the main body portion and the bonding portion, wherein the bending portion is connected to a first side of the main body portion, and the bending portion comprises at least one edge subportion, wherein the edge subportions are disposed at both ends of the bending portion in a first direction and the edge subportions are disposed on a side of the bending portion close to the main body portion, wherein the first direction is parallel to a direction of extension of the first side of the main body portion, and wherein the panel body comprises: a substrate (7) disposed in the main body portion, the bending portion and the bonding portion; a first inorganic layer (39) disposed on a side of the substrate; a second inorganic layer (41) disposed on a side of the first inorganic layer away from the substrate; and a first organic layer (40) disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer (FIG. 14).
Senoo is silent with respect to “the first organic layer is spaced between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer within the edge subportions; or the second inorganic layer is disposed outside the edge subportions and the second inorganic layer is disposed between two edge subportions in the first direction”.
FIG. 9 of Choi discloses a similar display panel, wherein the first organic layer (320) is spaced between the first inorganic layer (310) and the second inorganic layer (330) within the edge subportions (2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Senoo, as taught by Choi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Senoo in the above manner for purpose of ensuring a long lifespan of a display device (Abstract of Choi).
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 9 of Choi discloses the first inorganic layer comprises a first subsegment disposed in the edge subportions, the second inorganic layer comprises a second subsegment disposed in the edge subportions, the first organic layer comprises a first organic subsegment disposed in the edge subportions, and the first organic subsegment is spaced between the first subsegment and the second subsegment.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senoo and Choi, in view of Ohara (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0088390).
Regarding Claim 4
Senoo as modified by Choi discloses Claim 3, wherein the edge subportions comprise at least one first region along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions.
Senoo as modified by Choi is silent with respect to “the first subsegment comprises at least one first groove, the first groove is disposed within the first region of the edge subportions, the first groove extends in a second direction parallel to a direction of extension of a side of the edge subportions away from the wiring subportions”.
FIG. 5 of Ohara discloses a similar display panel, wherein the first subsegment comprises at least one first groove (102d), the first groove is disposed within the first region of the edge subportions, the first groove extends in a second direction parallel to a direction of extension of a side of the edge subportions away from the wiring subportions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Senoo, as taught by Ohara. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Senoo in the above manner for purpose of improving flexibility ([0077] of Ohara).
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senoo, Choi and Ohara, in view of Han (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0148312).
Regarding Claim 5
Senoo as modified by Choi and Ohara discloses Claim 4.
Senoo as modified by Choi and Ohara is silent with respect to “at least one second region (114) disposed on a side of a first region close to the wiring subportions along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions, the first groove is disposed outside the second region, and the first subsegment is disposed within the first region and the second region”.
FIG. 5 of Han discloses a similar display panel, at least one second region (110) disposed on a side of a first region close to the wiring subportions along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions, the first groove is disposed outside the second region, and the first subsegment is disposed within the first region and the second region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Senoo, as taught by Han. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Senoo in the above manner for purpose of providing a reliable tape wiring substrate ([0005] of Han).
Claims 4-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senoo and Choi, in view of Ochi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0363275).
Regarding Claim 4
Senoo as modified by Choi discloses Claim 3, wherein the edge subportions comprise at least one first region along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions.
Senoo as modified by Choi is silent with respect to “the first subsegment comprises at least one first groove, the first groove is disposed within the first region of the edge subportions, the first groove extends in a second direction parallel to a direction of extension of a side of the edge subportions away from the wiring subportions”.
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses a similar display panel, wherein the first subsegment comprises at least one first groove [0197], the first groove is disposed within the first region of the edge subportions, the first groove extends in a second direction parallel to a direction of extension of a side of the edge subportions away from the wiring subportions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Senoo, as taught by Ochi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Senoo in the above manner for purpose of preventing infiltration of moisture/oxygen and improving reliability ([0113] of Ochi).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses at least one second region disposed on a side of a first region close to the wiring subportions along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions, the first groove is disposed outside the second region, and the first subsegment is disposed within the first region and the second region.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses the second end surface of the second inorganic layer (33) is disposed within the second region.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses at least one third region along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions, and the third region is disposed on a side of the second region of the edge subportions close to the wiring subportions; the first subsegment further comprises a plurality of second grooves, the second grooves are disposed within the third region, the second grooves extend along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions, and the plurality of the second grooves are sequentially arranged in the second direction.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses the first subsegment is further disposed within the third region and the second end surface of the second inorganic layer is disposed within the second region.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses the first subsegment is further disposed within the third region and the second end surface of the second inorganic layer is disposed within the third region.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses a plurality of the first grooves are sequentially arranged along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions within the first region.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses the edge subportions further comprise a third region along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions, and the third region is disposed on a side of the first region of the edge subportions close to the wiring subportions; and wherein the first subsegment further comprises a plurality of second grooves, the second grooves are disposed within the third region, the second grooves extend along the direction from the edge subportions to the wiring subportions, and the plurality of the second grooves are sequentially arranged in the second direction.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses the first subsegment is further disposed within the third region and the second end surface of the second inorganic layer (33) is disposed within the third region.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 8 of Ochi discloses the panel body further comprises a second organic layer (32) disposed on a side of the second inorganic layer (31) away from the substrate, and the second organic layer comprises a second organic subsegment disposed at the edge subportions; and wherein the first organic subsegment (17B) exposes a portion of the first subsegment, and the second organic subsegment covers the second subsegment and covers the first subsegment exposed by the first organic subsegment.
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senoo and Choi, in view of Wang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0244903).
Regarding Claim 14
Senoo as modified by Choi discloses Claim 1.
Senoo as modified by Choi is silent with respect to “the first inorganic layer is disposed in the wiring subportions and the edge subportions of the bending portion, and the second inorganic layer is disposed only in the wiring subportions of the bending portion within the bending portion”.
FIG. 5 of Wang discloses a similar display panel, wherein the first inorganic layer (3) is disposed in the wiring (2) subportions and the edge subportions of the bending portion, and the second inorganic layer (5) is disposed only in the wiring subportions of the bending portion within the bending portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Senoo, as taught by Wang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Senoo in the above manner for purpose of preventing multiple signal leads from water vapor ([0083] of Wang).
Pertinent Art
US 20160035812; Zheng (CN 109560088), Eun (CN 107887338), Sun (CN 109273505).
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897