DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24, 26, 28, 30, and 37-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schnieders et al. (EP 3 713 274 A1; Publication dated 09/23/2020).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 14, and 19, Schnieders discloses a method performed by an authentication server in a wireless communication network (Fig. 1 first authentication server 103), a method performed by an external authentication server external to the wireless communication network, and a method performed by a network node, the method performed by an authentication server comprising:
initiating primary authentication of a wireless communication device with an external authentication server that is external to the wireless communication network (paragraphs [0061], [0109]; e.g., the first authentication server 103 acts as master and is configured to propagate 113 an authentication status 106 of the UE 105 in the first communication network 101 to the second authentication server 104);
receiving signaling that indicates the primary authentication of the wireless communication device with the external authentication server succeeded (paragraphs [0061], [0109]; e.g., the second authentication server 104 is configure to grant the UE owner 105 rights 114 in the second communication network 102) and that includes an identifier asserted by the external authentication server as authentically identifying the wireless communication device (paragraphs [0059], [0065]; e.g., the SIM is authenticated, and the mobile equipment is granted access to the operator’s network Kc is used to encrypt all further communications between the mobile equipment and the network); and
authenticating the wireless communication device with the wireless communication network based on the identifier included in the received signaling (paragraphs [0061], [0064]; e.g., the second authentication server 104 establish secure channels between the UE 110 and services and or application s in the second communication network 102 based on a cryptographic key, Ki).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 15, and 20, Schnieders discloses the method of claims 1, 8, 14, and 19, wherein said initiating comprises initiating primary authentication of the wireless communication device with the external authentication server using an anonymous identifier that does not identify the wireless communication device, and wherein the identifier included in the received signaling is a non-anonymous identifier (paragraph [0058] see SIM cards are identified on their individual operator networks).
Regarding claims 3, 10-12, 16, and 21, Schnieders discloses the method of claims 2, 9, 15, and 20, wherein the anonymous identifier is an anonymous Subscription Permanent Identifier, SUPI, and wherein the non-anonymous identifier is a non-anonymous SUPI (paragraphs [0059], [0067]; see SUPI).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Schnieders discloses the method of claims 1 and 20, wherein said initiating comprises initiating primary authentication of the wireless communication device with the external authentication server using a presented identifier that the wireless communication device has presented as identifying the wireless communication device to the wireless communication network, and wherein authenticating the wireless communication device with the wireless communication network based on the identifier included in the received signaling comprises confirming that the presented identifier corresponds to the identifier included in the received signaling (paragraphs [0059], [0065]).
Regarding claim 5, Schnieders discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said confirming comprises transmitting the presented identifier to network equipment implementing a Unified Data Management, UDM, function, and performing said confirming based on a response received from the network equipment implementing the UDM function (paragraphs [0067], [0072]).
Regarding claim 6, Schnieders discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the primary authentication is initiated as part of a procedure for registering the wireless communication device with the wireless communication network (paragraph [0053]), and wherein the method further comprises registering the wireless communication device with the wireless communication network based on successful authentication of the wireless communication device with the wireless communication network (paragraphs [0040], [0053], [0095]).
Regarding claims 7, 13, 17, and 23, Schnieders discloses the method of claims 1, 8, 14, and 19, wherein the wireless communication network is a standalone non-public network (paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 18, Schnieders discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the authentication server implements an Authentication Server Function, AUSF, and wherein the network node implements a Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization Function, NSSAAF (paragraphs [0067], [0072], [0087]).
Regarding claims 24, 26, 28, and 30, Schnieders discloses an authentication server and an external authentication server external to configured for use in a wireless communication network, a network node, the authentication server comprising:
communication circuitry (Fig. 6); and
processing circuitry configured to:
initiate primary authentication of a wireless communication device with an external authentication server that is external to the wireless communication network (paragraphs [0061], [0109]; e.g., the first authentication server 103 acts as master and is configured to propagate 113 an authentication status 106 of the UE 105 in the first communication network 101 to the second authentication server 104);
receive signaling that indicates the primary authentication of the wireless communication device with the external authentication server succeeded (paragraphs [0061], [0109]; e.g., the second authentication server 104 is configure to grant the UE owner 105 rights 114 in the second communication network 102) and that includes an identifier asserted by the external authentication server as authentically identifying the wireless communication device (paragraphs [0059], [0065]; e.g., the SIM is authenticated, and the mobile equipment is granted access to the operator’s network Kc is used to encrypt all further communications between the mobile equipment and the network); and
authenticate the wireless communication device with the wireless communication network based on the identifier included in the received signaling (paragraphs [0061], [0064]; e.g., the second authentication server 104 establish secure channels between the UE 110 and services and or application s in the second communication network 102 based on a cryptographic key, Ki).
Claims 37, 43, 48, and 52 are rejected with the same reasons set forth to claim 2.
Claims 38, 44, 45, 49, and 53 are rejected with the same reasons set forth to claim 3.
Claim 39 and 54 are rejected with the same reasons set forth to claim 4.
Claims 40 and 46 is rejected with the same reasons set forth to claim 50
Claim 41 is rejected with the same reasons set forth to claim 6.
Claim 42, 47, 50, and 55 are rejected with the same reasons set forth to claim 7.
Claim 51 is rejected with the same reasons set forth to claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kunz et al. (US 2023/0231851) discloses a network node sends an authentication message to AAA and receiving a response message with a security key for authentication.
Ben Hena et al. (WO 2020/173863 A1) discloses sending a request message to authentication a UE to external authentication entity and receiving an authentication response including a master key then deriving security communication with the UE from the master key.
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648