Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed 07/01/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
processing device in claims 1 and 13,
dispersive or diffractive element in claims 1 and 13
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the wavelength ranges der projection device and the further projection device” in lines 4-5 should read “the wavelength ranges of the projection device and the further projection device” as recited on page 15, lines 8-9 of the instant application’s specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "or the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-12 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 5-9, 11, 13, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieser (US20120033066A1) in view of Ausschnitt (US20100103433A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wieser teaches an inspection system for analyzing defects in a product, in particular a printed circuit board product, a semiconductor wafer or the like (paragraph [0001] discloses the device is used to measure and tests a product, particularly a printed circuit board), the inspection system comprising a projection device (paragraph [0014] discloses a projector), an optical detection device (3, Fig. 1) and a processing device (paragraph [0033] discloses the optical detection device has a processor), the projection device having at least one spectrometer member (paragraph [0014] discloses the projector includes a spectrometer member; 2, Fig. 1) configured to split white light into its spectral components and project a multichromatic light beam thus formed from monochromatic light beams onto a product (see Fig. 1, which depicts the light going from the light source through the spectrometer member where is split and projected onto a product 5) at an angle of incidence β (paragraph [0075] discloses a varying angle of incidence, γ), the optical detection device having a detection unit comprising an area scan camera (paragraph [0028] discloses the camera may be a scan camera), the area scan camera being configured to detect the multichromatic light beam reflected on the product in a detection plane of the detection unit (paragraph [0028]), the detection plane being perpendicular to a product surface of the product (Fig. 1 depicts the camera, 3, being perpendicular to the product surface, 5), the reflected multichromatic light beam being projectable onto an image plane of the area scan camera (Wieser doesn't disclose an image plane, however it is the position of the examiner that the image would inherently have an image plane), the processing device being configured to derive a height information of the product surface from a spatial distribution of saturation values of the reflected multichromatic light beam in the image plane (paragraph [0033] discloses the camera includes a processor which can directly calculate height from hue; paragraph [0033] also discloses the camera can be calculated to use any of hue, saturation, or intensity to calculate height), a position of the optical detection unit relative to the product (paragraph [0045] discloses finding the height as the camera is scanned (the scanning motion would move the camera)) and the angle of incidence β (paragraph [0075] discloses varying the angle of incidence and finding height measurement).
Wieser fails to teach an objective, and a dispersive or diffractive element disposed between the objective and the product, the dispersive or diffractive element splitting the multichromatic beam reflected by the object.
However, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor metrology, Ausschnitt teaches a system (40, Fig. 4A) where multichromatic light (paragraphs [0092] and [0096] disclose the light source is multi-wavelength) reflects off an object (601, Fig. 4A) to a dispersive element (435, Fig. 4A) before entering an objective lens system (436, Fig. 4A; paragraph [0098] discloses this lens systems as imaging the object and as operating similarly to the lens system 430, which is described in paragraph [0092] as being an objective).
Wieser teaches the use of a spectrometer (paragraph [0014]). Ausschnitt discloses that the dispersive element which sends light to the objective allows for conventional spectroscopic applications which enables analysis such as film thickness and structure measurement (paragraph [0098]), as well as simultaneous measurements of the film thickness and structures (paragraph [0099]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the inspection system of Wieser with the dispersive element between an objective and object taught in Ausschnitt in order to enable needed spectroscopic applications and measure different characteristics simultaneously.
Regarding claim 2, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches the processing device is configured to capture line images from at least two sensor lines (Wieser: paragraph [0028]) of the area scan camera that have above-average saturation values (Wieser: paragraph [0028] discloses the lines are chosen based on the hue, however paragraph [0033] discloses the camera can be calculated to use any of hue, saturation, or intensity to calculate height).
Wieser fails to explicitly teach a maximum of five sensor lines being captured by the processing device.
However, Wieser teaches a range which completely encompasses two to five (paragraph [0028] teaches “at least two” sensor lines, with a sensor having a non-infinite maximum number of lines), and limiting the number of line images being captured is widely known in order to account for timing or efficiency constraints. A person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to impart the limitation of a maximum of five sensor lines captured in order to shorten the capture time while maintaining efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches height information of the product surface is derivable depending on a position of the spatial distribution of saturation values in the image plane of the area scan camera (Wieser: paragraph [0033] discloses the camera includes a processor which can directly calculate height from hue; paragraph [0033] also discloses the camera can be calculated to use any of hue, saturation, or intensity to calculate height).
Regarding claim 6, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, further teaches the processing device is configured to derive an analysis image of the product from a plurality of line images (Wieser: paragraph [0043] discloses an image is composed of all line images to analyze surface height).
Regarding claim 7, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, further teaches the objective is configured to project a line image from an object plane of the product surface onto the image plane of the area scan camera (Ausschnitt: paragraph [0098] discloses lens system 436 projects the light rays onto the detector to image the target), the area scan camera being disposed perpendicularly to a direction of movement of a product (Wieser: paragraph [0072] discloses the RGB camera scans the product, which moves in the x-axis direction; Fig. 1 depicts the camera capturing images in the z-direction, which is perpendicular to the x-direction).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the inspection system of Wieser with the dispersive element between an objective and object taught in Ausschnitt in order to enable needed spectroscopic applications.
Regarding claim 8, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, further teaches wherein the area scan camera is formed by a RGB chip (Weiser: paragraph [0072]) perpendicular to a direction of movement of a product (Weiser: paragraph [0072] discloses the RGB camera scans the product, which moves in the x-axis direction; Fig. 1 depicts the camera capturing images in the z-direction, which is perpendicular to the x-direction).
Regarding claim 9, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, further teaches the projection device is configured to emit light of the wavelength ranges red, green, blue (RGB) (Wieser: paragraph [0007] discloses the light can be all colors), infrared (IR) and/or ultraviolet (UV) (Wieser: paragraph [0013] discloses the light can be UV to IR), and the area scan camera is configured to detect said light (Wieser: paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches the dispersive or diffractive element is a prism or a diffraction grating (Wieser: paragraph [0011] discloses a diffraction grating may be used)).
Regarding claim 13, Wieser teaches a method for analyzing defects in a product (paragraph [0001]), in particular a printed circuit board product, a semiconductor wafer or the like (paragraph [0001] discloses the method is used to measure and tests a product, particularly a printed circuit board), the method using an inspection system (15, Fig. 1), the inspection system comprising a projection device (paragraph [0014] discloses a projector) (3, Fig. 1) and a processing device (paragraph [0033] discloses the optical detection device has a processor), a spectrometer member of the projection device splitting (paragraph [0014] discloses the projector includes a spectrometer member; 2, Fig. 1) configured to split white light into its spectral components and project a multichromatic light beam thus formed from monochromatic light beams onto a product (see Fig. 1, which depicts the light going from the light source through the spectrometer member where is split and projected onto a product 5) at an angle of incidence β (paragraph [0077] discloses a varying angle of incidence, γ), the optical detection device having a detection unit comprising an area scan camera (paragraph [0028] discloses the camera may be an scan camera), a multichromatic light beam being reflected on the product in a detection plane of the detection unit (paragraph [0028]), the detection plane being perpendicular to a product surface of the product (Fig. 1 depicts the camera, 3, being perpendicular to the product surface, 5), the area scan camera detecting said multichromatic light beam (paragraph [0028]) the processing device deriving a height information of the product surface from a spatial distribution of saturation values of the reflected multichromatic light beam in the image plane (paragraph [0033] discloses the camera includes a processor which can directly calculate height from hue; paragraph [0033] also discloses the camera can be calculated to use any of hue, saturation, or intensity to calculate height), a position of the optical detection unit relative to the product (paragraph [0045] discloses finding the height as the camera is scanned (the scanning motion would move the camera)) and the angle of incidence β (paragraph [0075] discloses varying the angle of incidence and finding height measurement).
Wieser fails to teach an objective, and the dispersive or diffractive element of the detection unit disposed in the detection plane in the objective or between the objective and the product splits the multichromatic light beam reflected by the object and projects the reflected multichromatic light beam onto an image plane of the area scan camera.
However, Ausschnitt teaches a system (40, Fig. 4A) where multichromatic light (paragraphs [0092] and [0096] disclose the light source is multi-wavelength) reflects off an object (601, Fig. 4A) to a dispersive element (435, Fig. 4A) before entering an objective lens system (436, Fig. 4A; paragraph [0098] discloses this lens systems as imaging the object and as operating similarly to the lens system 430, which is described in paragraph [0092] as being an objective lens).
Wieser teaches the use of a spectrometer (paragraph [0014]). Ausschnitt discloses that the dispersive element which sends light to the objective allows for conventional spectroscopic applications which enables analysis such as film thickness and structure measurement (paragraph [0098]), as well as simultaneous measurements of the film thickness and structures (paragraph [0099]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the inspection system of Wieser with the dispersive element between an objective and object taught in Ausschnitt in order to enable needed spectroscopic applications.
Regarding claim 14, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 13, and further teaches the processing device simultaneously detects line images from at least three sensor lines of the area scan camera that have the highest saturation values (Wieser: paragraph [0028] discloses at least two sensor lines used based on the hue, however paragraph [0033] discloses the camera can be calculated to use any of hue, saturation, or intensity to calculate height).
Regarding claim 17, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 13, and further teaches the processing device analyses the image plane of the area scan camera for at least one of hue, brightness and saturation (Wieser: paragraph [0033] discloses the camera includes a processor which can uses any of hue, saturation, or intensity to analyze the image).
Regarding claim 18, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 13, and further teaches the processing device determines at least one of a material, a material property and a geometric structure of the product from the analysis image (Wieser: paragraph [0054] discloses the device does geometric testing).
Regarding claim 19, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 13, and further teaches the processing device combines at least two or more line images of a matching product surface by image processing (Wieser: paragraph [0043] discloses an image is composed of all line images to analyze surface height).
Regarding claim 20, Wieser in view of Cohen-Sabban teaches the invention as explained above in claim 8, and further teaches the area scan camera is formed by a RGB chip (Wieser: paragraph [0072]) perpendicular to a direction of movement of a product (Wieser: paragraph [0072] discloses the RGB camera scans the product, which moves in the x-axis direction; Fig. 1 depicts the camera capturing images in the z-direction, which is perpendicular to the x-direction).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieser (US20120033066A1) in view of Ausschnitt (US20100103433A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Terada (US20220207710A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 2, but fails to teach a center of gravity of a Gaussian distribution of the light in the image plane of the area scan camera corresponds to a full width at half maximum, 50 %, 60 %, 70 %, 80 % or 90 % of the distribution, the center of gravity covering at least one sensor line.
However, in the same field of endeavor as optical inspection, Terada teaches a system that calculates the center of gravity of the light distribution by applying a Gaussian fitting (paragraph [0060]).
Terada is silent as to whether the center of gravity corresponds to full width at half maximum, 50 %, 60 %, 70 %, 80 % or 90 % of the distribution. However, calculation of the center of gravity of a Gaussian is a well-known basic step and routine in the art. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to apply the known method of center of gravity determination taught in Terada and find the center of gravity for different percentages of the Gaussian distribution in order to include more or less of the area scanned.
The technique of determining points of interest of different areas of the area scanned is well-known in the art and allows for maintaining high detection and examination accuracy (Terada: paragraph [0012]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of Wieser as modified by Ausschnitt with the center of gravity determination taught in Terada in order to maintain high detection and examination accuracy.
Regarding claim 4, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt and Terada teaches the invention as explained above in claim 3, and further teaches the center of gravity for a first height information covers a first sensor line, a center of gravity for a second height information covering a second sensor line adjacent to the first sensor line (Terada: paragraph [0060] teaches a center of gravity that is calculated according to the scan lines; Figs. 7a and 7b).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of Wieser as modified by Ausschnitt with the center of gravity method taught in Terada as it maintains high detection and examination accuracy (Terada: paragraph [0012]).
Claims 10, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieser (US20120033066A1) in view of Ausschnitt (US20100103433A1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Cohen-Sabban (US20020075484A1).
Regarding claim 10, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach the inspection system has a further projection device, the further projection device emitting light in a different wavelength range than the projection device or in a matching wavelength range.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging of an object, Cohen-Saban teaches the inspection system has a further projection device, the further projection device emitting light in a different wavelength range than the projection device or in a matching wavelength range (Fig. 2 depicts a single projection device with a wavelength range λ1 to λi and λj to λn; paragraph [0029] also discloses the two separate ranges; the duplication of parts holds no patentable weight unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI). The device of Cohen-Sabban achieves the same result of imaging the object with a different wavelength range and capturing both wavelength ranges with the camera).
Cohen-Sabban discloses a broad range of wavelengths improves resolution of the images (paragraph [0029]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of Wieser as modified by Ausschnitt with the second wavelength range taught in Cohen-Sabban to improve resolution of the images.
Regarding claim 12, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach the objective is a telecentric objective having a diaphragm on the image side.
However, Cohen-Sabban teaches the objective is a telecentric objective having a diaphragm on the image side (Cohen-Sabban: 42, Fig. 1; paragraph [0026] discloses the objective may be telecentric).
Cohen-Sabban discloses that the telecentric objective ensures a constant magnification over the entire depth of field (paragraph [0026]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of Wieser as modified by Ausschnitt with the objective taught in Cohen-Sabban to ensure constant magnification and improve accuracy.
Regarding claim 15, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt teaches the invention as explained above in claim 13, but fails to teach a further projection device of the inspection system emits light in a different wavelength range than the projection device or in a matching wavelength range, the area scan camera simultaneously capturing line images in the wavelength ranges of the projection device and the further projection device.
However, Cohen-Saban teaches a further projection device of the inspection system emits light in a different wavelength range than the projection device or in a matching wavelength range, the area scan camera simultaneously capturing line images in the wavelength ranges der projection device and the further projection device (Fig. 2 depicts a single projection device with a wavelength range λ1 to λi and λj to λn; paragraph [0029] also discloses the two separate ranges; the duplication of parts holds no patentable weight unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI). The device of Cohen-Sabban achieves the same result of imaging the object with a different wavelength range and capturing both wavelength ranges with the camera.
Cohen-Sabban discloses a broad range of wavelengths improves resolution of the images (paragraph [0029]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Wieser as modified by Ausschnitt with the second wavelength range taught in Cohen-Sabban to improve resolution of the images.
Regarding claim 16, Wieser in view of Ausschnitt and Cohen-Saban teaches the invention as explained above in claim 15, and further teaches the processing device derives further height information of the product surface from a spatial distribution of saturation values of the reflected multichromatic light beam of the further projection device in the image plane (Wieser: paragraph [0033] discloses the camera includes a processor which can directly calculate height from hue; paragraph [0033] also discloses the camera can be calculated to use any of hue, saturation, or intensity to calculate height), a position of the optical detection unit relative to the product (Wieser: paragraph [0045] discloses finding the height as the camera is scanned (the scanning motion would move the camera)) and the angle of incidence β (Wieser: paragraph [0075] discloses varying the angle of incidence and finding height measurement).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRIA MENDOZA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877