DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. 18694069 has claims 37-58 pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-40, 46-55 and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0014576 A1; hereinafter Cherian) in view of Min et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0091284 A1; hereinafter Min)
Regarding claims 37 and 56, Cherian disclose a wireless communication device for a wireless communication system, the wireless communication device comprising at least one processor and a memory containing program code executable by the at least one processor, whereby execution of the program code by the at least one processor (See ¶0161, in code executed by a processor, the functions of the multi-resource unit assignment module 1515, or its sub-components may be executed by a general-purpose processor) causes the wireless communication device to: configure a wireless channel defining multiple resource units by orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) on a plurality of subcarriers; (20200014576-See 0007, transmitting data to the receiving STA in at least a first resource unit of the set of resource units, and communicating with the receiving STA in at least a second resource unit of the set of resource units, where the communicating includes transmitting or receiving information that is different from the transmitted data of the first resource unit, and where at least a portion of data is transmitted simultaneously with transmitting or receiving a portion of the information communicated with the receiving STA; See 0006, ¶0080, as part of a MU mode, the transmitting STA may transmit or receive data concurrently from multiple receiving STAs over a channel (e.g., a 20 MHz channel, a 40 MH channel, etc.) using, for example, orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (OFDMA). In the MU mode, a channel may be divided (partitioned) into multiple resource units, where each resource unit comprises a respective subset of the tones (also referred to as subcarriers) of the channel)
However, Chen fails to disclose the wireless communication device sending a first wireless transmission on a first subset of the multiple resource units; and while sending the first wireless transmission, the wireless communication device receiving a second wireless transmission on a second subset of the multiple resource units, wherein the first subset of the multiple resource units and the second subset of the multiple resource units are at least in part non-overlapping.
Min discloses the wireless communication device sending a first wireless transmission on a first subset of the multiple resource units; (2018/091284-See 0057, The OFDMA transmission of the uplink data may be a multi-user OFDMA transmission; See 0058, The RUs may be allocated to the STAs 103 of the first group for the uplink data transmission in accordance with a first allocation that may be different from a second allocation of the RUs to the STAs 103 of the second group for the downlink data transmission.) and while sending the first wireless transmission, (See 0093, scheduling a full-duplex (FD) communication in which the AP is to use overlapping portions of the channel resources during overlapping time periods of the TXOP to receive the uplink data and to transmit downlink data to a second group of one or more STAs) the wireless communication device receiving a second wireless transmission on a second subset of the multiple resource units, (See 0057, The OFDMA transmission of the downlink data may be a multi-user OFDMA transmission; See 0058, The RUs may be allocated to the STAs 103 of the first group for the uplink data transmission in accordance with a first allocation that may be different from a second allocation of the RUs to the STAs 103 of the second group for the downlink data transmission.) wherein the first subset of the multiple resource units and the second subset of the multiple resource units are at least in part non-overlapping. (See 0057, he AP 102 may schedule a full-duplex (FD) communication in which the AP 102 is to use overlapping portions of the channel resources during overlapping time periods of the TXOP to receive the uplink data and to transmit the downlink data; See 0077, on the uplink data demands, resource units (RUs) of the channel resources to the STAs of the first group for an OFDMA transmission of uplink data. The processing circuitry may be further configured to schedule a full-duplex (FD) communication in which the AP is to use overlapping portions of the channel resources during overlapping time periods of the TXOP to receive the uplink data and to transmit downlink data to a second group of one or more STAs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource units on a plurality of subcarrier for full duplex to include resource units overlap when transmitting and receiving transmissions. The motivation to combine is the AP 705 may perform one or more self-interference cancellation (SIC) operations which may may reduce, mitigate and/or cancel the self-interference (See 0065).
Regarding claim 38, Cherian discloses OFDM symbols of the second wireless transmission are time-aligned at the wireless device with OFDM symbols of the first wireless transmission. (See 0067, s, OFDMA-based FD communication using Multi-User (MU) OFDMA uplink and downlink transmissions between half-duplex capable STAs 710-740 and a full-duplex capable AP 705 may be used so that the AP 705 may match the uplink and downlink transmission time and minimize spectrum waste.)
Regarding claim 39, Cherian disclose the first wireless transmission starts before the second wireless transmission and wherein the time alignment of the OFDM symbols of the second wireless transmission and the first wireless transmission is based on time-aligning the OFDM symbols of the second wireless transmission to the OFDM symbols of the first wireless transmission. (See ¶0271, For synchronous operation, the stations may have similar frame timing, and transmissions from different stations may be approximately aligned in time; Figure 9A, the first station transmits the data ppdu before the second station can transmit the acknowledgement; See ¶0086, The transmitting STA may transmit data (e.g., in a data channel 205) to the receiving STA in a first set of resource units, which may contain a single resource unit or multiple resource units, based on the assigned resources. Simultaneously, the transmitting STA may communicate with the receiving STA in a second set of resource units; its well known in the art that resource units is defined as SC-FDMA symbols)
Regarding claim 40, Cherian disclose the second wireless transmission starts before the first wireless transmission and wherein the time alignment of the OFDM symbols of the second wireless transmission and the first wireless transmission is based on time-aligning the OFDM symbols of the first wireless transmission to the OFDM symbols of the second wireless transmission. (See ¶0271, For synchronous operation, the stations may have similar frame timing, and transmissions from different stations may be approximately aligned in time; Figure 9A, the second station transmits the data ppdu before the first station can transmit the acknowledgement; See ¶0086, The transmitting STA may transmit data (e.g., in a data channel 205) to the receiving STA in a first set of resource units, which may contain a single resource unit or multiple resource units, based on the assigned resources. Simultaneously, the transmitting STA may communicate with the receiving STA in a second set of resource units; its well known in the art that resource units is defined as SC-FDMA symbols)
Regarding claim 46, Cherian disclose the wireless communication device sending an indication of a capability of the wireless communication device to perform said transmitting of the first wireless transmission while receiving the second wireless transmission, (See ¶0090, AP 105-b, a STA 115, or both may indicate whether the STA is capable of simultaneous transmission, reception, or communication) and in response to sending the indication, the wireless communication device performing said transmitting of the first wireless transmission while receiving the second wireless transmission. (See ¶0090, separate bits may be used to identify whether a STA may perform multiple transmissions simultaneously, receive multiple transmissions simultaneously, receive one or more transmissions while sending one or more transmissions simultaneously, etc.)
Regarding claim 47, Cherian disclose the wireless communication device receiving an further indication of a capability of a further wireless communication device to receive the first wireless transmission while sending the second wireless transmission, (See ¶0090, AP 105-b, a STA 115, or both may indicate whether the STA is capable of simultaneous transmission, reception, or communication) and in response to receiving the further indication, the wireless communication device performing said transmitting of the first wireless transmission to the further wireless communication device while receiving the second wireless transmission from the further wireless communication device. (See ¶0090, separate bits may be used to identify whether a STA may perform multiple transmissions simultaneously, receive multiple transmissions simultaneously, receive one or more transmissions while sending one or more transmissions simultaneously, etc.)
Regarding claim 48, Cherian disclosed the wireless communication device sending first control information to a recipient of the first wireless transmission, wherein the first control information indicates the first subset of the multiple resource units. (See ¶0089, by assigning multiple directed resource units 305 to a single receiving STA, AP 105-b may simultaneously transmit different information in directed resource units 305-a and 305-d to receiving STA 115-b)
Regarding claim 49, Cherian fails to disclose the wireless communication device receiving second control information from a recipient of the first wireless transmission, wherein the second control information indicates the first subset of the multiple resource units and/or the second subset of the multiple resource units.
Min discloses the wireless communication device receiving second control information from a recipient of the first wireless transmission, wherein the second control information indicates the first subset of the multiple resource units and/or the second subset of the multiple resource units. (20180091284-See 0093, probe response frames that include the uplink data demands, the probe response frames included in a multi-user orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) signal received from the first group of STAs during the TXOP; The method may further comprise allocating, based at least partly on the uplink data demands, resource units (RUs) of the channel resources to the STAs of the first group for an OFDMA transmission of uplink data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource units on a plurality of subcarrier for full duplex to include resource units overlap when transmitting and receiving transmissions. The motivation to combine is the AP 705 may perform one or more self-interference cancellation (SIC) operations which may may reduce, mitigate and/or cancel the self-interference (See 0065).
Regarding claim 50, the second control information controls timing of the first wireless transmission.
Min discloses the second control information controls timing of the first wireless transmission. (See 0037, The probe response frames may be included in a multi-user orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) signal received from the STAs 103 of the first group during the TXOP. The AP 102 may allocate, based at least partly on the uplink data demands, resource units (RUs) of the channel resources to the STAs 103 of the first group for an OFDMA transmission of uplink data. The AP 102 may schedule a full-duplex (FD) communication in which the AP 102 is to use overlapping portions of the channel resources during overlapping time periods of the TXOP to receive the uplink data and to transmit downlink data to a second group of one or more STAs 103; interpreted by indicating the uplink demand is used schedule the uplink and downlink it overlapping in time periods)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource units on a plurality of subcarrier for full duplex to include resource units overlap when transmitting and receiving transmissions. The motivation to combine is the AP 705 may perform one or more self-interference cancellation (SIC) operations which may may reduce, mitigate and/or cancel the self-interference (See 0065).
Regarding claim 51, Cherian disclose the wireless communication device sending third control information to a sender of the second wireless transmission, wherein the third control information indicates the first subset of the multiple resource units and/or the second subset of the multiple resource units. (See ¶0089, by assigning multiple directed resource units 305 to a single receiving STA, AP 105-b may simultaneously transmit different information in directed resource units 305-a and 305-d to receiving STA 115-b; See ¶0091, The trigger frame may indicate the resource unit assignments for the STAs 115. The trigger frame may also include uplink power control information for STAs 115 to equalize the power that the AP 105-b may receive. The trigger frame may also indicate a time duration (i.e., length) and a start time of the uplink transmissions so that the transmissions by the STAs 115 are approximately aligned in time (e.g., STA 115-b, 115-c, and 115-d transmit data concurrently to the AP 105-b).)
Regarding claim 52, Cherian disclose the third control information controls timing of the second wireless transmission. (See ¶0091, The trigger frame may indicate the resource unit assignments for the STAs 115. The trigger frame may also include uplink power control information for STAs 115 to equalize the power that the AP 105-b may receive. The trigger frame may also indicate a time duration (i.e., length) and a start time of the uplink transmissions so that the transmissions by the STAs 115 are approximately aligned in time (e.g., STA 115-b, 115-c, and 115-d transmit data concurrently to the AP 105-b).)
Regarding claim 53, Cherian fails to disclose the wireless communication device receiving fourth control information from a sender of the second wireless transmission, wherein the fourth control information indicates the second subset of the multiple resource units.
Min discloses the wireless communication device receiving fourth control information from a sender of the second wireless transmission, wherein the fourth control information indicates the second subset of the multiple resource units. (20180091284-See 0093, probe response frames that include the uplink data demands, the probe response frames included in a multi-user orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) signal received from the first group of STAs during the TXOP; The method may further comprise allocating, based at least partly on the uplink data demands, resource units (RUs) of the channel resources to the STAs of the first group for an OFDMA transmission of uplink data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource units on a plurality of subcarrier for full duplex to include resource units overlap when transmitting and receiving transmissions. The motivation to combine is the AP 705 may perform one or more self-interference cancellation (SIC) operations which may may reduce, mitigate and/or cancel the self-interference (See 0065).
Regarding claim 54, Cherian fails to disclose (a) the wireless communication device sending multiple first wireless transmissions on the first subset of the multiple resource units and, while sending the multiple first wireless transmissions, the wireless communication device receiving the second wireless transmission on the second subset of the multiple resource units, or (b) while sending the first wireless transmission on the first subset of the multiple resource units, the wireless communication device receiving multiple second wireless transmissions on the second subset of the multiple resource units.
Min discloses (a) the wireless communication device sending multiple first wireless transmissions on the first subset of the multiple resource units and, while sending the multiple first wireless transmissions, the wireless communication device receiving the second wireless transmission on the second subset of the multiple resource units, (20180091284-See 0062, or the FD communication, one or more STAs 103 that are to transmit uplink data (uplink group of the STAs 103) and one or more STAs 103 that are to receive downlink data (downlink group of the STAs 103); the TF may indicate the allocation of the RUs to the first group for the transmission of the uplink data and may further indicate information related to the transmission of the downlink data to the second group (such as an allocation of the RUs to the STAs 103 of the second group).) or (b) while sending the first wireless transmission on the first subset of the multiple resource units, the wireless communication device receiving multiple second wireless transmissions on the second subset of the multiple resource units.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource units on a plurality of subcarrier for full duplex to include resource units overlap when transmitting and receiving transmissions. The motivation to combine is the AP 705 may perform one or more self-interference cancellation (SIC) operations which may may reduce, mitigate and/or cancel the self-interference (See 0065).
Regarding claim 55, Cherian fails to disclose the wireless communication device sending multiple first wireless transmissions on the first subset of the multiple resource units; andwhile sending the multiple first wireless transmissions, the wireless communication device receiving multiple second wireless transmissions on the second subset of the multiple resource units.
Min discloses the wireless communication device sending multiple first wireless transmissions on the first subset of the multiple resource units; andwhile sending the multiple first wireless transmissions, the wireless communication device receiving multiple second wireless transmissions on the second subset of the multiple resource units. (20180091284-See 0062, or the FD communication, one or more STAs 103 that are to transmit uplink data (uplink group of the STAs 103) and one or more STAs 103 that are to receive downlink data (downlink group of the STAs 103); the TF may indicate the allocation of the RUs to the first group for the transmission of the uplink data and may further indicate information related to the transmission of the downlink data to the second group (such as an allocation of the RUs to the STAs 103 of the second group).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource units on a plurality of subcarrier for full duplex to include resource units overlap when transmitting and receiving transmissions. The motivation to combine is the AP 705 may perform one or more self-interference cancellation (SIC) operations which may may reduce, mitigate and/or cancel the self-interference (See 0065).
Regarding claim 57, Cherian fails to disclose the first subset of the multiple resource units and the second subset of the multiple resource units are partially, but not completely, non- overlapping.
Min discloses the first subset of the multiple resource units and the second subset of the multiple resource units are partially, but not completely, non- overlapping. (See 0057, the AP 102 may schedule a full-duplex (FD) communication in which the AP 102 is to use overlapping portions of the channel resources during overlapping time periods of the TXOP to receive the uplink data and to transmit the downlink data. In some embodiments, as part of the FD communication, the reception of at least a portion of the uplink data and the transmission of at least a portion of the downlink data may be performed simultaneously in overlapping portions of the channel resources; See 0093, scheduling a full-duplex (FD) communication in which the AP is to use overlapping portions of the channel resources during overlapping time periods of the TXOP to receive the uplink data and to transmit downlink data to a second group of one or more STAs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource units on a plurality of subcarrier for full duplex to include resource units overlap when transmitting and receiving transmissions. The motivation to combine is the AP 705 may perform one or more self-interference cancellation (SIC) operations which may may reduce, mitigate and/or cancel the self-interference (See 0065).
Regarding claim 58, Cherian fails to disclose he first subset of the multiple resource units and the second subset of the multiple resource units are partially, but not completely, non-overlapping.
Min discloses the first subset of the multiple resource units and the second subset of the multiple resource units are partially, but not completely, non-overlapping. (See 0057, the AP 102 may schedule a full-duplex (FD) communication in which the AP 102 is to use overlapping portions of the channel resources during overlapping time periods of the TXOP to receive the uplink data and to transmit the downlink data. In some embodiments, as part of the FD communication, the reception of at least a portion of the uplink data and the transmission of at least a portion of the downlink data may be performed simultaneously in overlapping portions of the channel resources; See 0093, scheduling a full-duplex (FD) communication in which the AP is to use overlapping portions of the channel resources during overlapping time periods of the TXOP to receive the uplink data and to transmit downlink data to a second group of one or more STAs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource units on a plurality of subcarrier for full duplex to include resource units overlap when transmitting and receiving transmissions. The motivation to combine is the AP 705 may perform one or more self-interference cancellation (SIC) operations which may may reduce, mitigate and/or cancel the self-interference (See 0065).
Claim(s) 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Cherian and, further in view of Park et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0028897 A1)
Regarding claim 41, Cherian fails to disclose the first wireless transmission and the second wireless transmission each comprise a preamble part and a data part, and wherein the preamble part of the first wireless transmission and the preamble part of the second wireless transmission are at least in part non-overlapping in time.
Park discloses the first wireless transmission and the second wireless transmission each comprise a preamble part and a data part, (Figure 15, each frame has preamble and data part) and wherein the preamble part of the first wireless transmission and the preamble part of the second wireless transmission are at least in part non-overlapping in time. (20210028897-Figure 15, shows the UL frame and DL Frame preambles are non-overlapping)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RU partially overlap for transmitting and receiving to include preamble is punctured for overlapping data. The motivation to combine is If part of the RUs are used, part of subcarriers at both ends of RUs to which a DL frame is allocated may be nulled for interference mitigation from packets of other STAs, after which a UL frame may be transmitted (See ¶0187).
Regarding claim 42, Cherian fails to disclose the first wireless transmission and the second wireless transmission each comprise a preamble part and a data part, and wherein the preamble part of the first wireless transmission is punctured according to a first puncturing pattern which depends on the second subset of the multiple resource units.
Park discloses the first wireless transmission and the second wireless transmission each comprise a preamble part and a data part, (Figure 15, each frame has preamble and data part) and wherein the preamble part of the first wireless transmission is punctured according to a first puncturing pattern (See ¶0227, That is, a punctured pattern may be informed, and 20/40/80/160/80+80 MHz may be simply indicated. A tone plan used in the FDR UL PPDU may be 20 MHz or 40 MHz according to the indicated punctured pattern.) which depends on the second subset of the multiple resource units. (See ¶0187, f MU OFDMA is used for STR, UL transmission may be performed by using RUs such as DL RUs allocated to each STA)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RU partially overlap for transmitting and receiving to include preamble is punctured for overlapping data. The motivation to combine is If part of the RUs are used, part of subcarriers at both ends of RUs to which a DL frame is allocated may be nulled for interference mitigation from packets of other STAs, after which a UL frame may be transmitted (See ¶0187).
Regarding claim 43, Cherian fails to disclose the first wireless transmission and the second wireless transmission each comprise a preamble part and a data part, and wherein the preamble part of the second wireless transmission is punctured according to a second puncturing pattern which depends on the first subset of the multiple resource units.
Park discloses the first wireless transmission and the second wireless transmission each comprise a preamble part and a data part, (20210028897-Figure 15, shows the UL frame and DL Frame preambles are non-overlapping) and wherein the preamble part of the second wireless transmission is punctured according to a second puncturing pattern (See ¶0227, That is, a punctured pattern may be informed, and 20/40/80/160/80+80 MHz may be simply indicated. A tone plan used in the FDR UL PPDU may be 20 MHz or 40 MHz according to the indicated punctured pattern.) which depends on the first subset of the multiple resource units. (See ¶0187, f MU OFDMA is used for STR, UL transmission may be performed by using RUs such as DL RUs allocated to each STA)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RU partially overlap for transmitting and receiving to include preamble is punctured for overlapping data. The motivation to combine is If part of the RUs are used, part of subcarriers at both ends of RUs to which a DL frame is allocated may be nulled for interference mitigation from packets of other STAs, after which a UL frame may be transmitted (See ¶0187).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 44-45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-11, filed July 23, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 37 and 56 under 102 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Min et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0091284 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abotabl et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0416867 A1)-See ¶0143, In one configuration, at 1014, the UE performs at least one of a RLM measurement or a RRM measurement based on monitoring the DL resources concurrently while transmitting the UL signal. For example, the UE may select at least one resource in the time domain that is overlapping between the UL resources and the DL resources; however, the UL resources may be adjacent to the DL resources in aspects in which the UE performs the at least one of RLM and/or RRM measurements (e.g., the UL resources may be separated from the DL resources by a guard band).
Choi et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0296609 A1)-See ¶0011, half duplex FDD uses two separate frequency bands for uplink 122 and downlink 120 transmissions, similar to full-duplex FDD, but uplink and downlink transmissions are non-overlapping in time. The main benefit of half duplex FDD compared to full-duplex FDD is that the FDD duplex filter can be replaced by a relatively simple switch for transmit/receive separation. Unfortunately, half-duplex FDD operation must be scheduled in the same manner as a time-divided (e.g., TDD) system. Furthermore, half-duplex FDD suffers from spectral inefficiency due to incomplete frequency band usage (only one of the uplink 122 or downlink 120 bands is active for a UE at any given point). However the advantages of half-duplex FDD operation, as viewed from an operational standpoint of the base station, include allowing multiple UEs to time-share uplink and. downlink resources. Accordingly, half-duplex FDD operation can be implemented on FDD networks for managing large groups of asymmetric data requirements, in a manner similar to TDD networks.
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472