DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4,6-7,20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zang et al (US Pub No. 20220020790), in view of Higashitani et al (US Pub No. 20190041559), Hirota (US Pub No. 20130286260), in view of Kanemura et al (US Pub No. 20220406849), in view of Chen et al (US Pub No. 20210203872).
With respect to claim 1, Zang et al discloses a solid-state image-capturing element (Fig.1), comprising: pixel group including pixels configured to receive light (Fig.1,Fig.4A, Fig.1 is general to all the embodiments), wherein the pixels are in an nxn array (Fig.,Fig.4A),and n is an integer which is equal to or greater than two (Fig.1) ; an on-chip lens (444) for each mxm array of the pixels in the color pixel group (Fig.1,Fig.4), wherein m is an integer which is equal to or smaller than n (Fig.1); and a sensitivity adjustment structure (414,416,418) with a configuration in which a dug portion (414) shallower than an element separating portion (436A, Fig.4A) for separating a photoelectric converting section (422,424) n in units of the pixels is on a light-incidence surface side of a semiconductor substrate (Abstract, Fig.4A) at a specific pixel of the pixels in the color pixel group (Fig.4A). However, Zang et al does not explicitly disclose in Fig.4A-B that wherein when the specific pixel is seen in a plan view, the dug portion has a cross shape in which a line extending in a vertical direction of the specific pixel crosses a line extending in a horizontal direction of the specific pixel at a middle. On the other hand, in Fig.3A, Zang et al discloses wherein when the specific pixel is seen in a plan view (fig.3A), the dug portion has a cross shape (314) in which a first line extending in a vertical direction of the specific pixel (vertical line in the middle,Fig.3A, this is in accordance with the applicant’s specification ) crosses a second line extending in a horizontal direction of the specific pixel at a middle of the first line and the second line (the horizontal line which makes a cross with the vertical line,Fig.3A) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Fig.3A according to the teachings of Fig.5C such that the dug portion has an L shape, in order to optimize the quantum efficiency of the device; furthermore, the first pixel (404A,Fig.4A)and the second pixel (404B) are adjacent pixels of the plurality of pixels (Fig.4A), a semiconductor substrate (para 97) including a plurality of photoelectric converting sections (photodiode) and at least one element separating portion (436A), wherein each of the plurality of photoelectric converting sections is configured to photoelectrically convert the light (Fig.4A), the plurality of photoelectric converting sections includes a first photoelectric converting section in the first pixel (Fig.4A) and a second photoelectric converting section in the second pixel (Fig.4A), and the at least one element separating portion is configured to separate the first photoelectric converting section and the second photoelectric converting section (Fig.4A);the light sensitivity adjustment structure is on light incident surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.4A); the sensitivity adjustment structure is at the first pixel (Fig.4A); the line extending in the vertical direction (Para 96) and the line extending in the horizontal direction (Fig.4A) are a trench of a specific depth (Fig.4A) shallower than the element separating portion (Fig.4A).
However, the arts Zang et al does not explicitly disclose and a same-color pixel group including pixels configured to receive light of a same color. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zang et al such that pixels configured to receive light of a same color, in order to use the pixel array for detecting infrared light as a design choice.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose a sensitivity of a first pixel of the plurality of pixels of the same-color pixel group is different from a sensitivity of a second pixel of the plurality of pixels of the same-color pixel group. On the other hand, Higashitani et al discloses a sensitivity of a first pixel (2H,Fig.4) of the plurality of pixels of the same-color pixel group (Fig.4) is different from a sensitivity of a second pixel of the plurality of pixels of the same-color pixel group (2L,Fig.4; para 71). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zang et al according to the teachings of Higashitani et al such that pixel sensitivity can be easily changed without changing spectral characteristic.
Furthermore, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose plurality of the plurality of pixels are in an nxn array, and n is an integer which is equal to or greater than four, which are the same color; furthermore, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose the dug portion with cross shape is at four locations in a middle 2x2 array in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the plurality of pixels. On the other hand, Hirota discloses of the plurality of pixels are in an nxn array (Fig.55C), and n is an integer which is equal to or greater than four (Fig.55C), which are the same color (Fig.55C), and Zang et al discloses the pixels having cross, therefore, Zang et al in view of Hirota et al discloses that he dug portion (Fig.3A) with cross shape is at four locations in a middle 2x2 array in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the plurality of pixels (Fig.55C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of Hirota such that same color filter are arranged in 4 by 4 pixels as a design choice, furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Zang et al in Fig.3A and Fig.55C of the Hirota et al so the dug portion with cross shape is at four locations in a middle 2x2 array in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the plurality of pixels, in order to increase the sensitivity of the pixels.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose on chip lens and a filter layer including a plurality of color filters, wherein each of the plurality of pixels in the same-color pixel group includes a color filter of the plurality of color filters, and the color filter includes a light-blocking portion on a side surface of the color filter. On the other hand, Kanemura et al in view of Hirota discloses on chip lens (250,Fig.2) a filter layer (230) including a plurality of color filters (233), wherein each of the plurality of pixel (101) in the same-color pixel group includes a color filter of the plurality of color filters (Fig.2), and the color filter includes a light-blocking portion on a side surface of the color filter (232). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Kanemura et al such that color filter and light blocking portion are formed on the corners of the color filter, in order to process the light effectively without any interference. However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of pixels in the same-color pixel group includes a color filter of the plurality of color filters. On the other hand, Chen et al discloses wherein each of the plurality of pixels in the same-color pixel group ( B or G,Fig.1) includes a color filter (106 for B or G) of the plurality of color filters (Fig.1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Chen et al such that the same-color pixel group includes a color filter of the plurality of color filters, in order to reduce the size of the device and make it less expensive.
With respect to claim 2, Zang et al discloses wherein the same-color pixel group includes a 4x4 array (left corner,Fig.1) of the pixels. However, Zang et al does not explicitly disclose and the on-chip lens is for each 2x2 array of the pixels. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zang et al such that the on-chip lens is for each 2x2 array of the four by four pixels, in order to use some the pixels for testing.
With respect to claim 4, Zang et al discloses wherein, when the specific pixel is seen in the plan view (Fig.3A), the dug portion has a first structure in which the line, the line extending in the vertical direction, and the line extending in the diagonal direction are at a middle portion of the specific pixel (fig.3A) or a structure in which both ends of each of the line extending in the horizontal direction, the line extending in the vertical direction, and the line extending in the diagonal direction linked with the element separating portion (optional language).
With respect to claim 5, Zang et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the dug portion with the cross shape is at four locations in a middle 2x2 array in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the pixels (anywhere in the fig.1, Fig.3A). On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zang et al such that the cross shape is at four locations in a middle 2x2 array in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the pixels, in order to use the rest of the pixels for testing
With respect to claim 6, Zang et al discloses, and the dug portion with the diagonal line shape has side surfaces along a longitudinal direction (in order to connect the end of the diagonal portion one needs two lines one vertical and one horizontal which make a 90 degrees wherein the vertical line faces directly the center of the dug) thereof that face a middle of the 4x4 array of the sixteen pixels (Fig.3A), and the dug portion with the diagonal line shape is at four corner locations in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the pixels (Fig.1,Fig.3A). However, Zang et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the dug portion with the diagonal line shape is at four corner locations in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the pixels. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zang et al such that the dug portion with the diagonal line shape is at four corner locations in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the pixels as a design choice, or to increase the quantum efficiency of the device.
With respect to claim 7, Zang et al discloses wherein the dug portion with the L-shape is at four corner locations in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the pixels (any 16 pixels in Fig.1,Fig.3A), and joined portions of the line extending in the vertical direction and the line extending in the horizontal direction of the dug portion with the L-shape are on a middle side of the 4x4 array of the sixteen pixels (Fig.1,Fig.3A.), the fourth line (the vertical line in the corner) extends in the vertical direction of the first pixel and the fifth line extends in the horizontal (the bottom line in the horizontal direction) direction of the first pixel . Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have such an arrangement as has been described in the claim 7, as a design choice, or to increase the quantum efficiency of the device.
With respect to claim 8, Zang et al discloses wherein the dug portion with the cross shape is at four locations on an upper side in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels (Fig.1,Fig.3A) of the pixels and at four locations on a lower side in the 4x4 array of the sixteen pixels (Fig.1,Fig.3A). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have such an arrangement as has been described in the claim 8, as a design choice, or to increase the quantum efficiency of the device.
With respect to claim 9, Zang et al discloses wherein the dug portion with the horizontal line shape is at eight locations in two middle rows in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the pixels (Fig.1,3A). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have such an arrangement as has been described in the claim 9, as a design choice, or to increase the quantum efficiency of the device.
With respect to claim 10, wherein the dug portion with the cross shape is at four locations on a left side in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels (Fig.1,Fig.3A) of the pixels and at four locations on a right side in the 4x4 array of the sixteen pixels (Fig.1,Fig.3A). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have such an arrangement as has been described in the claim 10, as a design choice, or to increase the quantum efficiency of the device.
With respect to claim 11, Zang et al discloses wherein the dug portion with the vertical line shape is at eight locations in two middle columns in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the pixels (anywhere in Fig.1, Fig.3A). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have such an arrangement as has been described in the claim 11, as a design choice, or to increase the quantum efficiency of the device.
With respect to claim 21, Zang et al discloses wherein the sensitivity adjustment structure is configured to scatter the light incident (applicant is claiming same structure as Zang has disclosed, therefore, the Zang has the same functionality as has been disclosed by the claim 21) on the first pixel to a set of third pixels (R2,first column and second column,Fig.1) of the plurality of pixels, and the first pixel and the set of third pixels are adjacent pixels of the plurality of pixels (Fig.1).
With respect to claim 20, Zang et al discloses a solid-state image-capturing element (Fig.1), includes: pixel group including pixels configured to receive light (Fig.1,Fig.4A, Fig.1 is general to all the embodiments), wherein the pixels are in an nxn array (Fig.,Fig.4A),and n is an integer which is equal to or greater than two (Fig.1) ; an on-chip lens (444) for each mxm array of the pixels in the color pixel group (Fig.1,Fig.4), wherein m is an integer which is equal to or smaller than n (Fig.1); and a sensitivity adjustment structure (414,416,418) with a configuration in which a dug portion (414) shallower than an element separating portion (436A) for separating a photoelectric converting section (422,424) n in units of the pixels is on a light-incidence surface side of a semiconductor substrate (Abstract, Fig.4A) at a specific pixel of the pixels in the color pixel group (Fig.4A). However, Zang et al does not explicitly disclose in Fig.4A-B that wherein when the specific pixel is seen in a plan view, the dug portion has a cross shape in which a line extending in a vertical direction of the specific pixel crosses a line extending in a horizontal direction of the specific pixel at a middle. On the other hand, in Fig.3A, Zang et al discloses wherein when the specific pixel is seen in a plan view (fig.3A), the dug portion has a cross shape (314) in which a line extending in a vertical direction of the specific pixel (vertical line in the middle,Fig.3A) crosses a line extending in a horizontal direction of the specific pixel at a middle (the horizontal line which makes a cross with the vertical line,Fig.3A) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Fig.3A according to the teachings of Fig.5C such that the dug portion has an L shape, in order to optimize the quantum efficiency of the device; furthermore, the first pixel (404A,Fig.4A)and the second pixel (404B) are adjacent pixels of the plurality of pixels (Fig.4A), a semiconductor substrate (para 97) including a plurality of photoelectric converting sections (photodiode) and at least one element separating portion (436A), wherein each of the plurality of photoelectric converting sections is configured to photoelectrically convert the light (Fig.4A), the plurality of photoelectric converting sections includes a first photoelectric converting section in the first pixel (Fig.4A) and a second photoelectric converting section in the second pixel (Fig.4A), and the at least one element separating portion is configured to separate the first photoelectric converting section and the second photoelectric converting section (Fig.4A);the light sensitivity adjustment structure is on light incident surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig.4A); the sensitivity adjustment structure is at the first pixel (Fig.4A); the line extending in the vertical direction (Para 96) and the line extending in the horizontal direction (Fig.4A) are a trench of a specific depth (Fig.4A) shallower than the element separating portion (Fig.4A).
However, the arts Zang et al does not explicitly disclose and a same-color pixel group including pixels configured to receive light of a same color. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zang et al such that pixels configured to receive light of a same color, in order to use the pixel array for detecting infrared light as a design choice.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose a sensitivity of a first pixel of the plurality of pixels of the same-color pixel group is different from a sensitivity of a second pixel of the plurality of pixels of the same-color pixel group. On the other hand, Higashitani et al discloses a sensitivity of a first pixel (2H,Fig.4) of the plurality of pixels of the same-color pixel group (Fig.4) is different from a sensitivity of a second pixel of the plurality of pixels of the same-color pixel group (2L,Fig.4; para 71). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zang et al according to the teachings of Higashitani et al such that pixel sensitivity can be easily changed without changing spectral characteristic.
Furthermore, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose plurality of the plurality of pixels are in an nxn array, and n is an integer which is equal to or greater than four, which are the same color; furthermore, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose the dug portion with cross shape is at four locations in a middle 2x2 array in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the plurality of pixels.
On the other hand, Hirota discloses of the plurality of pixels are in an nxn array (Fig.55C), and n is an integer which is equal to or greater than four (Fig.55C), which are the same color (Fig.55C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of Hirota such that same color filter are arranged in 4 by 4 pixels as a design choice. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Zang et al in Fig.3A and Fig.55C of the Hirota et al so the dug portion with cross shape is at four locations in a middle 2x2 array in a 4x4 array of sixteen pixels of the plurality of pixels, in order to increase the sensitivity of the pixels.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose on chip lens and a filter layer including a plurality of color filters, wherein each of the plurality of pixels in the same-color pixel group includes a color filter of the plurality of color filters, and the color filter includes a light-blocking portion on a side surface of the color filter. On the other hand, Kanemura et al in view of Hirota discloses on chip lens (250,Fig.2) a filter layer (230) including a plurality of color filters (233), wherein each of the plurality of pixel (101) in the same-color pixel group includes a color filter of the plurality of color filters (Fig.2), and the color filter includes a light-blocking portion on a side surface of the color filter (232). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Kanemura et al such that color filter and light blocking portion are formed on the corners of the color filter, in order to process the light effectively without any interference. However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of pixels in the same-color pixel group includes a color filter of the plurality of color filters. On the other hand, Chen et al discloses wherein each of the plurality of pixels in the same-color pixel group ( B or G,Fig.1) includes a color filter (106 for B or G) of the plurality of color filters (Fig.1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Chen et al such that the same-color pixel group includes a color filter of the plurality of color filters, in order to reduce the size of the device and make it less expensive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2,4,6-7,20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817