DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
No claim amendments are made in view of applicant’s response filed 12/30/2025. Claims 26-41 remain withdrawn from consideration. Therefore, claims 21-25 are currently under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. US 2019/0003029 (Oh).
Oh teaches a Al-Fe plated steel sheet for hot press forming, wherein the steel sheet as a composition that applies to the claimed steel sheet composition as follows:
Wt%
Instant claims
Oh ([0112], Table 1)
C
0.04-0.45
0.24
Si
1.5 or less, excluding 0
0.2
Mn
0.2-2.5
1.2
P
0.05
0.015 (broader range 0.001-0.05 [0011]
S
0.02 or less
0.003
Al
0.01-0.1
0.03
Cr
0.01-5.0
0.2
N
0.02 or less
0.0035
Residual Fe + inevitable Impurities
Residual Fe + inevitable Impurities
Residual Fe + inevitable Impurities
Additional elements
At least one of
Mo: 0.05 or less
Ni: 0.05 or less
Nb:0.1 or less
Ti: 0.1 or less
B: 0.01 or less
Ti; 0.03
B: 0.002
Regarding claims 21 and 24-25, Oh further teaches that the Al-Fe plated steel sheet is batch annealed at a 500-650°C for 5 hours and at a heating rate of 50°C/hr(Table 2, [0115]). Therefore, the process conditions as taught by Oh reads on the process conditions disclosed in the instant specification. Since the plated steel sheet of Oh is compositionally significantly similar to the claimed steel composition and undergoes a batch annealing process at the same conditions as disclosed by the instant specification, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious that plated steel sheet manufactured by the process of Oh to result in a product with significantly similar properties and microstructures, such as claimed carbon segregation results and the claimed microstructure containing significantly similar amounts of ferrite, pearlite, bainite and martensite, with the claimed resulting whiteness.
Regarding claims 22-23, the chemical composition of the steel sheet as taught by Oh is significant similar to the claimed steel sheet chemical composition, with C, Si, Mn, S, Al, Cr, N, Ti and B read on the claimed amounts of C, Si, Mn, S, Al, Cr, N, Ti and B. The amount of P in the steel sheet of Oh also encompasses the claimed P amount. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that Oh does not teach the carbon segregation index as defined by the claimed rational expression 1.
However, the examiner does not find applicant’s argument convincing because, as discussed in section 4 above, the steel sheet of Oh comprises an alloy composition that is significantly similar to the claimed alloy composition as recited in claims 22-23, including amounts of C, Si, Mn, S, Al, Cr, N, Ti and B that read on the claimed amounts of C, Si, Mn, S, Al, Cr, N, Ti and B. The broader scope of Oh also discloses a P amount of 0.001-0.05 wt%, which encompasses the claimed P amount of 0.05wt% as recited in claim 22. Furthermore, Oh’s method of making the steel sheet material includes a bath annealing step under process conditions, such as annealing temperature of 500-650°C, retention time of 5 hours and temperature increase velocity of 50°C/hr, that read on the annealing temperature, retention time and temperature increase velocity as taught in the instant specification and withdrawn claim 26. The examiner maintains that the process of Oh would have produced a steel sheet with significantly similar carbon segregation index as claimed, absent persuasive factual evidence to the contrary. Since applicant’s response has not included any factual evidence showing that the process of Oh would have resulted in a steel sheet with a different carbon segregation index, the examiner maintains that the rejection is proper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Castan et al. US 2024/0060160 teaches a tin plated steel sheet that is batch annealed to form a steel sheet having a ferritic microstructure, wherein the batch annealing temperature is 600-700°C with a heating rate of 10-50°C/hr for a soaking time of at least 1 hour.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733