Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-157912, filed on 2021-28-09.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendments to the claims and specifications filed on 2024-21-03 has been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim states “average value of atomic weights of the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi is 60 or less”. It is not clear in the claim statement how the average atomic weight is calculated. For the purpose of this application, the examiner assumes the formula stated in the specifications (
∑
A
i
.
C
i
[0022]).
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim states “atomic weight less than or equal to 29 (Cu)”. The atomic number of Copper (Cu) is 29, while the atomic weight is 63.5. For the purpose of this application, the examiner takes the atomic weight of Copper (63.5) as the upper limit of Claim 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirono et al. (JP2020053162A) using applicant provided original documents and translation.
Regarding Claim 1, Hirono et al. teaches:
A negative electrode active material for a secondary battery comprising: a composite material that has a silicide phase and a silicon phase [0014].
Wherein the silicide phase contains an intermetallic compound of a silicon element and a metal element Me other than the silicon element, the metal element Me includes N kinds or more constituent elements Mi, where i= 1 to N, and 5≤N (Table 1, Example 14, i=6. [0096]).
[AltContent: textbox (Table 1 [0096]- Hirono et al. Example 14 highlighted. )]
A condition represented by the following expression is satisfied: 1.5 < -Σ Ci * lnCi, where Ci represents a mole fraction of each of the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi. (Table 1, Example 14 has Metal elements Me that includes 6 constituent elements, where Cr= 6 atom%, Ti= 10 atom% and the following elements: V, Nb, Ni, Fe, Co, and Sn at 1 atom%. Using the formula of the claimed invention by separating out Si and then normalizing the mole fraction of the remaining elements we reach a value of 1.56 which is greater than 1.5 that is listed in the claimed invention. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 2, Hirono et al., teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the content of the silicon element in the composite material is greater than 50 atom% [0012].
Regarding Claim 3, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 3 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the average value of atomic weights of the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi is 60 or less (Table 1, Example 14, the average atomic weight of the constituents is 56 [0096]).
Regarding Claim 4, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 4 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
N kinds or more constituent elements Mi are contained in at least one of MiSi and MiSi2. [0034].
Regarding Claim 5, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 5 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the content of a simple substance of N kinds or more constituent elements Mi contained in the composite material is 1 mass% or less. [0041].
Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of [Sudo’s temperature range] that corresponds to the claimed range. In re Malagari, 184 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974).
MPEP 2131.03: Prior Art which teaches a range within, overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipates the claim if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with “sufficient specificity”.
Regarding Claim 6, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi are all elements that have an atomic weight less than or equal to atomic weights of elements included in the fourth period of the long-period periodic table. (If we take N to be at least 5, [0030] talks about an Si-based alloy comprising of Al, Cr, and Ti and element A, where A is selected from a group that includes V, Fe, and Ni amongst others. All of these have an atomic weight less than or equal to the atomic weights of elements included in the fourth period of the long-period periodic table).
Regarding Claim 7, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 7 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi are all elements that have an atomic weight less than or equal to 29 (Cu). (Taking atomic weight at 63.5 for Cu- listed elements in [0030], such as Mn, Fe, Cr, Al, Ti, and V all have atomic weights less than 63.5).
Regarding Claim 8, IHIrHirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 8 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi are all transition metals. (A combination of Cr and Ti along with elements from the list given such as V, Fe, and Ni will fulfill 5≤N and all these elements are transition metals [0030]).
Regarding Claim 9, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 9 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi are at least five elements selected from the group consisting of Al, Mg, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, and Mo [0030].
Regarding Claim 10, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 10 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi are at least five elements selected from the group consisting of Al, Mg, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, and Cu [0030].
Regarding Claim 11, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 11 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
Wherein the N kinds or more constituent elements Mi are at least five elements selected from the group consisting of Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, and Cu [0030].
Regarding Claim 12, Hirono et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 12 depends on. Hirono et al., further teaches:
A secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte, wherein the negative electrode contains the negative electrode active material for a secondary battery in accordance with claim 1 [0093, 0111].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure- Kuze et al. (JP201517667).
/S.K.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741