DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/12/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 03/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedayatnia et al (Effect of different fat replacers and drying methods on thermal behaviour, morphology and sensory attributes of reduced-fat coffee creamer) in view of Booten et al (EP 0821885 A1) (see IDS of 03/21/2024), Merrill (US 20160374360 A1).
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
A non-fat creamer powder comprising:
5 to 15 wt% of hydrothermally treated long chain fibre inulin having a chain length of from 14 to 60;
5 to 20 wt% micellar casein, and the balance comprising one or more sweetening and/or bulking agents.
In regard to claim 1, Hedayatnia et al discloses reduced-fat coffee creamer comprising a fat replacer such as inulin and maltodextrin (Abstract). Hedayatnia et al discloses that “partial replacement of fat with 25% maltodextrin and 7.5% inulin resulted in the most acceptable instant coffee creamer comparable with the commercial product” (Abstract). Hedayatnia et al discloses preparation of creamer emulsion by addition of sodium caseinate (2.5% w/w), 7% by weight of skim milk powder, corn syrup solids and inulin (page 331 section 2.2 Preparation of creamer emulsion). In regard to the recitation of a non-fat creamer powder, Hedayatnia et al discloses that “homogenized creamer emulsion was dried by only spray dryer and/or spray dryer followed by fluidized bed dryer to prepare the regular and instant creamers, respectively” (page 331 section 2.2 Preparation of creamer emulsion).
It is noted that skim milk powder contains micellar casein. Therefore, by disclosing skim milk powder, Hedayatnia et al discloses micellar casein.
Hedayatnia et al does not disclose that inulin is hydrothermally treated and has a chain length of from 14 to 60. Hedayatnia et al discloses commercially available inulin obtained from Cosucra Inc. (Fibruline , Warcoing, Warcoing, Belgium) (page 331 col. 1 bottom paragraph).
Booten et al discloses fructan-containing dairy powders having improved mouthfeel, texture and taste (Abstract). Booten et al discloses that among commercial products of the inulin type suited to be used in the present invention is Raftilose ® of ORAFTI that contains mainly fructo-oligosaccharides produced by partial hydrolysis of chicory inulin (page 3). This product can be in the form of a syrup (qualities L30, L60, L85 and L95) or in the form of a powder (quality P95) (page 3). Booten et al discloses the preparation of a powder comprising 50/50 or 85/15 of skimmed milk/ Raftiline ® (Example 1). One of ordinary skill ion the art would have been motivated to modify Hedayatnia et al in view of Booten et al and to employ commercially available hydrothermally treated (hydrolyzed) inulin as a suitable fat replacer.
Hedayatnia et al does not disclose the concentration of micellar casein as claimed. Merrill discloses the use of micellar casein in coffee creamers to replace conventional casein salts ([0007]- [0015], [0034], [0060], [0060]) for providing improved whitening stability ([0098], [0099], Fig.1). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ micellar casein in combination with hydrothermally treated long chain inulin having as disclosed by Booten et al and Merrill in order to obtain non-fat creamer having desired whitening properties and improved whitening stability. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ inulin and micellar casein in 1:1 proportion as suggested by Booten et al.
Further in regard to the concentration recitations, it is noted that:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235(CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A).
Further, regarding the temperature ranges as examined above, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In regard to claim 2, Hedayatnia et al discloses that “[i]nulin is classified to three groups based on the degree of polymerization (DP): native, short-chain and long-chain inulin (Glibowski & Bukowska, 2011) (page 331).
In regard to claims 3 and 6, Hedayatnia et al discloses preparation of creamer emulsion by addition of sodium caseinate (2.5% w/w), 7% by weight of skim milk powder, corn syrup solids and inulin (page 331 section 2.2 Preparation of creamer emulsion).
In regard to claim 4, Booten et al discloses that among commercial products of the inulin type suited to be used in the present invention is Raftilose ® of ORAFTI that contains mainly fructo-oligosaccharides produced by partial hydrolysis of chicory inulin (page 3). This product can be in the form of a syrup (qualities L30, L60, L85 and L95) or in the form of a powder (quality P95) (page 3).
In regard to claim 5, Hedayatnia et al does not require the presence of colors, preservatives, stabilizers or added fructose, glucose or sucrose.
In regard to claim 7, Hedayatnia et al discloses reduced-fat coffee creamer comprising a fat replacer such as inulin and maltodextrin (Abstract). Hedayatnia et al discloses mixing creamer with hot coffee (page 331 section 2.2 Preparation of creamer emulsion).
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791