DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-15 are pending and presented for examination.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-10 of copending Application No. 18/692835 in view of Smith et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0251479).
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 of Application 18/692835 claim identical polyamide resin, processes and compositions except for utilizing 1,5-pentanediamine instead of 1,10-decanediamine. However, Smith teaches similar compositions wherein the amine can be selected from either 1,5-pentanediamine or 1,10-decanediamine (0040-0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute 1,10-decanediamine for 1,5-pentanediamine to arrive at the pending claims as one could have substituted one diamine for another with a reasonable expectation of success, as Smith teaches they are interchangeable for forming a polyamide, and a predictable result.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the resin derived from repeating units including A, B and C. However, it is impossible for these units to actually be present as repeating units in the polyamide as there is no free units for bonding. Additionally, claim 1 recites an amount based on a total molar percentage of diacid units. However, as noted above, there will be no diacid units present in the actual polyamide resin. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite. Claims 2-15 depend from claim 1 and are indefinite for the same reasons. It appears Applicant intends to claim that the resin includes repeating units that are derived from the monomers A, B and C and that based on a total molar percentage of repeating units derived from diacids that (A) accounts for 5-45 mol% of the repeating units derived from diacids. The claim will be interpreted this way for examination purposes.
Claims 7 and 11-15 recite “adding benzoic acid, sodium hypophosphite and deionized water”. However, the claims do not recite what these compounds are actually added to. The claims also recite the amount of sodium hypophosphite based on a weight of “other materials”. There is no antecedent basis for “other materials” and it is unclear what “other materials” are being referred to. The claims also recite the amount of water based on a weight of total materials, but it is unclear what “total materials” are being referred to. Additionally, the claim recites heating a reaction mixture. However, it is unclear as to what compounds are in the reaction mixture and how this reaction mixture correlates with the earlier recited reaction materials, benzoic acid, sodium hypophosphite and water. Finally, the claims recite drying “a prepolymer”. However, it is unclear what this prepolymer constitutes as the reaction mixture for generating it is undefined and the claims do not actually recite that this prepolymer is derived from heating the reaction mixture. Therefore, claims 7 and 11-15 are indefinite. As it is unclear as to how all the components are related and what is reacted in the process, it is impossible to search the claims with respect to prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0251479).
I. Regarding claims 1-3, Smith teaches a furan diacid-based polyamide resin (abstract) derived from monomers requiring 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid (abstract), an aliphatic diamine (abstract), which is selected from a group including 1,10-decanediamine (0042), and optionally aliphatic dicarboxylic acids, which is selected from a group including 1,4-cyclohexandicarboxylic acid (0035). Smith also teaches the 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid present in 15 mol%-80 mol% with respect to the total content of dicarboxylic acids (0032). Smith fails to teach an example including all of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid with 1,10-decanediamine and 1,4-cyclohexandicarboxylic acid, and wherein the content of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid units is 5-15 mol%.
First, Smith teaches the content of the furan monomer being in the range of 15-80 mol% with respect to the total dicarboxylic acid content (0032) which overlaps with the claimed range. Furthermore, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness.
Second, Smith fails to explicitly teach an example using the combination of monomers as claimed. However, Smith does teach that 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid is required. Additionally, Smith teaches that both 1,10-decanediamine and 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid can be used in combination with the 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid to generate the polyamide resin. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute these particular monomers for the ones used in Smith’s exemplary polyamide resin. One could have made this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success (particularly given that Smith teaches that these monomers may be selected and used together to generate a polyamide resin), and the predictable result of providing a polyamide resin.
II. Regarding claims 4-6, Smith teaches an essentially identical furan based polyamide with overlapping content based on the 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid monomer (see above). As the claimed polyamide and Smith’s polyamide are essentially identical then inherently the properties of both polyamides will be identical. Therefore, Smith’s polyamide will be expected to have the claimed viscosity, melting point, water absorption rate and a lateral/longitudinal shrinkage rate as claimed in claims 4-6.
4. Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Long et al. (U.S. PGUB No. 2017/0044353).
Regarding claims 8-10, Smith makes obvious the polyamide resin of claim 1 (see above). Smith further teaches a polyamide molding composition comprising the polyamide resin (0079) and a reinforcing filler (0089), preferably glass fibers (0092). Smith fails to explicitly teach the composition including a halogen-free flame retardant or the amounts of the components as claimed.
However, Long teaches a polyamide based molding composition comprising: 35-71 parts polyamide resin (abstract); 0-50 parts inorganic reinforcing filler (abstract), preferably glass fibers (0029); and 10-35 parts of a halogen-free flame retardant (abstract), wherein the flame retardant is selected from a group including aluminum dimethylphosphinate (Figure 1 and 0025-0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith’s composition by including a flame retardant as disclosed by Long and combining the components in the amounts as disclosed by Long. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Long teaches this combination of polyamide with filler and halogen-free flame retardant in the amounts as claimed yields compositions with improved heat stability, only releases a small amount of gas during production, and is less prone to forming mold dirt and can realize continuous production (see Long at 0032).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0002639) is cited for teaching what appears to be a similar process to the indefinite process claims for forming the polyamide resin (see 0128).
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 18, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717