DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 3/22/2024 is acknowledged. Claim 3 is amended. Claims 5-10 are cancelled. Claims 1-4 are pending and are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 5/31/2024 and 11/17/2025 have been considered. Signed copies are enclosed. The lined-through document was not considered because no English language translation was provided.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). See, for example, page 25.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more. The claims recite an enzyme agent comprising a collagenase consisting of the amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO:1. Despite being drawn to a composition of matter, the claim is directed a judicial exception because it encompasses a naturally occurring enzyme lacking markedly different characteristics from its natural counterpart. The claim does not recite any structural, functional, or genetic modification to the collagenase that would render it “markedly different” from naturally occurring collagenases. The claim does not impose meaningful limitations on the enzyme or integrate the exception into a practical application that is different than the functional characteristics of the natural enzyme.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 10-11, and 13-18 of copending Application No. 17915146 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The instant claims are drawn to an enzyme agent comprising a collagenase consisting of the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:1 or an amino acid sequence equivalent thereto.
The copending claims are drawn to an enzyme agent (and methods of using said agent) comprising a collagenase having an amino acid sequence with 90% or more identity to SEQ ID NO:1. Though the copending claims do not recite the physicochemical properties recited in instant claims 2 and 4, the collagenase has the same amino acid sequence and would therefore necessarily have the same properties.
Therefore, the copending claims anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant claims are drawn to an enzyme agent comprising a collagenase consisting of the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:1 or an amino acid sequence equivalent thereto. The specification states that an “equivalent” amino acid sequence has a different sequence but such difference does not substantially influence the function of the protein and the protein has an equivalent ability to produce Gly-Glu-Arg from beef bone gelatin or chicken cartilage degradation ability. Claim 2 requires the equivalent to have 90% sequence identity do SEQ ID NO:1 and have the ability to produce Gly-Glu-Arg from beef bone gelatin that is equivalent to that of the collagenase with the sequence of SEQ ID NO:1. Claim 4 does not require any specific structural features but recites a list of functional requirements for the collagenase.
The specification discloses collagenases from L. fusiformis with the sequences of SEQ ID NO:1 and 5. No information is provided regarding the functional characteristics of SEQ ID NO:5 so it is not known whether this polypeptide meets the requirements of the claims. SEQ ID NO:1 is the only polypeptide that is shown to meet the functional requirements of the claims. No other sequences are even disclosed, let alone shown to have the required functional characteristics.
The claims encompass a vast number of possible polypeptides that are linked only by required functional characteristics. Even where 90% sequence identity is required, there are more than 1x10130 possible polypeptides. For reference, that is a number that vastly exceeds the number of atoms in planet earth. Each of these must have specific functional requirements and the specification has provided no guidance as to what sequences meet these requirements. These peptides have no correlation between their structure and function. The claim requires that the peptide exhibit specific activity, but the specification provides no guidance regarding which variants are capable of the required function. Therefore, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that
"applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
With the exception of SEQ ID NO:1, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed polypeptides, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc. , 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli , 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2datl966.
Protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. Consequently, the effects of sequence dissimilarities upon protein structure and function cannot be predicted. Bowie et al. (Science, 1990, 247:1306-1310) teach that an amino acid sequence encodes a message that determines the shape and function of a protein and that it is the ability of these proteins to fold into unique three-dimensional structures that allows them to function and carry out the instructions of the genome and further teaches that the problem of predicting protein structure from sequence data and in turn utilizing predicted structural determinations to ascertain functional aspects of the protein is extremely complex (column 1, page 1306). Bowie et al. further teach that while it is known that many amino acid substitutions are possible in any given protein, the position within the protein's sequence where such amino acid substitutions can be made with a reasonable expectation of maintaining function are limited. Certain positions in the sequence are critical to the three dimensional structure/function relationship and these regions can tolerate only conservative substitutions or no substitutions at all (column 2, page 1306). The sensitivity of proteins to alterations of even a single amino acid in a sequence are exemplified by Burgess et al. (J. Cell Biol. 111:2129-2138, 1990) who teach that replacement of a single lysine reside at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by glutamic acid led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein and by Lazar et al. (Mol. Cell. Biol., 8:1247-1252, 1988) who teach that in transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen. These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of a protein. Clearly, it could not be predicted that polypeptide or a variant that shares only partial homology with a disclosed protein of a given SEQ ID NO. will function in a given manner.
Therefore, only SEQ ID NO:1, but not the full breadth of the claims, meet the written description provision of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. The species specifically disclosed are not representative of the genus because the genus is highly variant. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115).
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rendered indefinite by the phrases “optimal temperature” and “optimal pH”. The term “optimal” could mean various things and it is not clear how one would determine what constitutes “optimal”.
Claim 4 is also rendered indefinite by the term “around”. It is not clear where the metes and bounds of “around” lie.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamill et al (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0339078).
The instant claims are drawn to an enzyme agent comprising a collagenase consisting of the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:1 or an amino acid sequence equivalent thereto.
Hamill et al disclose formulations comprising a polypeptide with the sequence of SEQ ID NO:28818, which has 99.5% sequence identity with the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO:1 (see claim 13). Though the Hamill et al do not recite the physicochemical properties recited in instant claims 2, the polypeptide has the recited amino acid sequence and would therefore necessarily have the same properties.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/BRIAN GANGLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645