DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-5 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. (JP 2018 145239, of which reference is made to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4, Ogawa teaches a rubber composition for a tire (abstract) comprising: 100 parts of a diene rubber which comprises 70 parts of natural rubber, which is an isoprene rubber, and 30 parts of a modified styrene-butadiene rubber having a glass transition temperature of -85 ºC (Table 1, Example 3, page 16 and Specific Copolymer 2, page 15); 40 parts silica (Table 1, Example 3); 2.4 parts silane coupling agent (Table 1, Example 3, and this correlates to 6% with respect to the amount of silica); 3 parts zinc oxide (Table 1, Example 3, and this correlates to 7.5% with respect to the amount of silica); and carbon black in an amount of 10% with respect 100 parts of diene rubber (Table 1, Example 3), and wherein the carbon black has a N2SA of 119 m2/g (page 16). Ogawa teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 2 and 4; therefore, Ogawa anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa in view of Yonemoto et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9765202).
Regarding claim 3, Ogawa anticipates claim 1, but fails to teach the inclusion of a glycerin fatty acid ester in an amount as claimed. However, Yonemoto teaches including glycerin fatty acid ester in rubber compositions that include silica (abstract) for use in tires (column 14, lines 32-44). Yonemoto further teaches that a glycerin fatty acid triester is present in 1.25% with respect to the silica in the rubber composition (see Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogawa’s rubber composition by including a glycerin fatty acid ester in the amount as claimed as disclosed by Yonemoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Yonemoto teaches that the inclusion of the glycerin fatty acid ester compounds provides a rubber composition with improved dispersibility of the silica and enhances processability, suppresses rubber yellow and inhibits shrinkage (column 4, lines 63-67).
3. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa in view of Koda et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0332090).
Regarding claim 5, Ogawa anticipates claim 1, but fails to teach the inclusion of a modified polybutadiene rubber in an amount as claimed. However, Koda teaches including a modified polybutadiene rubber in an amount of 6% with respect to 100% of the diene rubber which includes natural rubber (Table 2 and 0188-0189). Koda teaches these rubber compositions for use as heavy-duty tire rubber compositions (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogawa’s rubber composition by including a modified polybutadiene rubber in an amount as claimed as disclosed by Koda. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Koda teaches that the inclusion of this modified polybutadiene rubber provides improved low heat generation property to the rubber composition (0209).
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claims 1-5 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 13, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717