DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to amendment filed on May 27, 2026 filed in this application Chen, U.S. Patent Application No. 18/694,585 (Filed March 22, 2024) claiming priority to PCT/CN2022/119661 (Filed 9/19/2022) claiming priority to CN202111126103.9 (filed 9/24/2021) and CN202111383611.5 (filed 11/19/2021). Claims 21 – 40 were pending. Claims 25 – 28, 38, and 39 are cancelled. Claims 21 – 24, 34 – 37, and 40 are amended. Claims 41 – 46 are new. Claims 21 – 24, 29 – 37, and 40 - 46 are pending.
Applicants' arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered and found not persuasive. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 7/24/2026 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. The references listed therein have been considered, and placed in the application file.
Response to Arguments
1. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 10 – 11 of the Applicant’s Remarks (“Remarks”) arguing the rejections made under Double Patenting should be withdrawn, examiner respectfully agrees in light of the claim amendments and abandonment of one of the references.
2. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 11 – 13 of the Remarks stating that Das fails to teach the newly amended limitations of claim 21 regarding logging in to an account, examiner respectfully disagrees, however, in the interests of compact prosecution prior art reference Ioveva is added which teaches these limitations. See infra § Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103 § Claim 21. Ioveva teaches using a parent’s device to login in to a child account for the child’s device in order to then be able to send authorization for the child device to obtain a download from an Appstore. Ioveva at ¶¶ 0111, 0123, & 0124, 0147 – 0149. Therefore, the current prior art references teach the limitations of logging in to an account.
3. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 13 – 14 of the Remarks stating that the current prior art reference Das fails to teach a server, examiner respectfully neither agrees nor disagrees. See infra § Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103 § Claim 1. It is unclear as to which limitations this argument applies as no limitations have been identified in the argument. It is noted that Das teaches both a server 620 and the IOT connectivity manager, which is itself a server that serves applications, communications between the application on the user’s device and the servers, as well as communications between the servers and the secondary device. Id. at ¶¶ 0053 - 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server 620 to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device). Therefore, Das teaches a server.
4. With respect to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 14 – 16 of the Remarks stating that the current prior art reference Das fails to teach forwarding a link from the server to the second device, examiner respectfully neither disagrees. See infra § Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103 § Claim 1. Das teaches both IOT connectivity manager, which is a server, may be requested to send the application to the vehicle as well as that such an application sent to the vehicle may be in the form of a link rather than an application installation package itself. Id. at ¶¶ 0033, 0053 - 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server 620 to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device). Therefore, Das teaches forwarding a link from the server to the second device.
Double Patenting
In light of Applicant’s amendments and the abandonment of one of the references over which a Double Patenting rejection was previously made, the rejections made under the doctrine of Double Patenting are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 21 – 24, 29 – 37, and 40 – 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0132294 (Published May 11, 2017, filed November 11, 2015) (“Cooper”) in view of Das et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0189044 (Published July 5, 2018, filed January 5, 2018) (“Das”) and Ioveva et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0348032 (Published December 3, 2015, filed September 30, 2014) (“Ioveva”).
Claims 21, 34, and 40
With respect to claims 21, 34, and 40, Cooper teaches the invention as claimed including a method, comprises: … displaying, by the first electronic device, a first interface of an application market program, {User can search for apps in an app store marketplace using an app name to download one or more apps from a server. Cooper at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 & 0034; id. at figs. 1 and 10.}
However, Cooper doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
obtaining, by the first electronic device, device information of the second electronic device from a server; … wherein the first interface comprises an icon of a first application and a first option corresponding to the first application; detecting, by the first electronic device, a first operation performed on the first option; in response to detecting the first operation, displaying, by the first electronic device, a second interface of the application market program, wherein the second interface comprises a second option identifying the first electronic device and a third option identifying the second electronic device, and the third option is generated based on the device information of the second electronic device that is obtained by the first electronic device from the server; detecting, by the first electronic device, a second operation; and in response to detecting the second operation, sending, by the first electronic device, a first request to the second electronic device, wherein the first request indicates to the second electronic device to install the first application, and wherein sending, by the first electronic device, the first request to the second electronic device comprises: sending, by the first electronic device, the first request to the second electronic device using the server, wherein the first request comprises information about the first application corresponding to the second electronic device, and wherein the information about the first application corresponding to the second electronic device is a download link of the first application. {Das does teach this limitation. Das teaches that the method for downloading apps from an appstore, as taught in Cooper, may include using a GUI of a mobile device to select icons of one or more other devices to specify installation of identified applications on the other devices, including a case where the applications are the same application for each selected device, and may initiate the installation of the applications to the other devices. Das at ¶¶ 0028, 0029, 0031-0034, 0047, 0048, 0050 - 0052; id. at fig. 1B; id. at ¶¶ 0053 - 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server 620 to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device); id. at ¶¶ 0033, 0057, 0080 (mobile device may identify available connected secondary devices and optionally use server and/or Internet of Things connectivity manager 614 for communication with secondary devices); id. at ¶ 0056 (selected apps for secondary devices may be a variant of the same app as installed on primary device).
Cooper and Das are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software installation, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to obtain apps.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine downloading apps from an appstore, as taught in Cooper, with downloading apps for secondary devices, as taught in Das. Das teaches that devices that are usable together may have similar applications for each device of which the user might be unaware. Das at ¶ 0003 & 0004. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine downloading apps from an appstore, as taught in Cooper, with downloading apps for secondary devices, as taught in Das, for the purpose of using a known secondary device app download method with an appstore that allows for downloading device apps.}
However, Cooper and Das doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
logging into, by a first electronic device, a first account, wherein the first account is associated with a second electronic device; {Ioveva does teach this limitation. Ioveva teaches that the method for downloading apps from an appstore, as taught in Cooper and Das, may include using a parent’s device to login in to a child account for the child’s device in order to then be able to send authorization for the child device to obtain a download from an Appstore. Ioveva at ¶¶ 0111, 0123, & 0124, 0147 – 0149.
Cooper, Das, and Ioveva are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software installation, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to obtain apps.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine downloading apps from an appstore, as taught in Cooper and Das, with entering a login for a second device on a first device, as taught in Ioveva. Das teaches that devices that are usable together may have similar. Das at ¶ 0003 & 0004. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine downloading apps from an appstore, as taught in Cooper and Das, with entering a login for a second device on a first device, as taught in Ioveva, for the purpose of using a known secondary device app download method with an appstore that allows for downloading device apps.}
Claims 22, 35, and 41
With respect to claims 22, 35, and 41, Cooper, Das, and Ioveva, teach the invention as claimed including:
before detecting, by the first electronic device, the second operation, detecting, by the first electronic device, an operation performed on the third option. {The GUI of a mobile device may be used to select icons of one or more other devices to specify installation of identified applications on the other devices, including a case where the applications are the same application for each selected device, and may initiate the installation of the applications to the other devices. Das at ¶¶ 0028, 0029, 0031-0034, 0047, 0048, 0050 - 0052; id. at fig. 1B; id. at ¶¶ 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device); id. at ¶¶ 0033, 0057, 0080 (mobile device may identify available connected secondary devices and optionally use server and/or Internet of Things connectivity manager 614 for communication with secondary devices); id. at ¶ 0056 (selected apps for secondary devices may be a variant of the same app as installed on primary device).}
Claims 23, 36, and 42
With respect to claims 23, 36, and 42, Cooper, Das, and Ioveva, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the second interface further comprises a fourth option identifying a third electronic device, the method further comprising: before detecting, by the first electronic device, the second operation: detecting, by the first electronic device, operations performed on the third option and the fourth option; and in response to the second operation, sending, by the first electronic device, a second request to the third electronic device, wherein the second request indicates to the third electronic device to install the first application. {The GUI of a mobile device may be used to select icons of one or more other devices to specify installation of identified applications on the other devices, including a case where the applications are the same application for each selected device, and may initiate the installation of the applications to the other devices. Das at ¶¶ 0028, 0029, 0031-0034, 0047, 0048, 0050 - 0052; id. at fig. 1B; id. at ¶¶ 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device); id. at ¶¶ 0033, 0057, 0080 (mobile device may identify available connected secondary devices and optionally use server and/or Internet of Things connectivity manager 614 for communication with secondary devices); id. at ¶ 0056 (selected apps for secondary devices may be a variant of the same app as installed on primary device).}
Claims 24, 37, and 43
With respect to claims 24, 37, and 43, Cooper, Das, and Ioveva, teach the invention as claimed including:
before displaying, by the first electronic device, the first interface of the application market program: obtaining, by the first electronic device, a keyword entered in an input operation; and searching for the first application based on the keyword. {User can search for apps in an app store marketplace using an app name to download one or more apps from a server. Cooper at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 & 0034; id. at figs. 1 and 10.}
Claims 29 and 44
With respect to claims 29 and 44, Cooper, Das, and Ioveva, teach the invention as claimed including:
before displaying, by the first electronic device, the second interface of the application market program: sending, by the first electronic device, a third request to the server, wherein the third request is used to obtain information about the first application from the server; and receiving, by the first electronic device, the information about the first application sent by the server, wherein the information about the first application comprises information about the first application corresponding to the first electronic device and the information about the first application corresponding to the second electronic device. {The GUI of a mobile device may be used to select icons of one or more other devices to specify installation of identified applications on the other devices, including a case where the applications are the same application for each selected device, and may initiate the installation of the applications to the other devices. Das at ¶¶ 0028, 0029, 0031-0034, 0047, 0048, 0050 - 0052; id. at fig. 1B; id. at ¶¶ 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device); id. at ¶¶ 0033, 0057, 0080 (mobile device may identify available connected secondary devices and optionally use server and/or Internet of Things connectivity manager 614 for communication with secondary devices); id. at ¶ 0056 (selected apps for secondary devices may be a variant of the same app as installed on primary device).}
Claims 30 and 45
With respect to claims 30 and 45, Cooper, Das, and Ioveva, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the third request comprises the device information of the second electronic device and device information of the first electronic device. {The GUI of a mobile device may be used to select icons of one or more other devices to specify installation of identified applications on the other devices, including a case where the applications are the same application for each selected device, and may initiate the installation of the applications to the other devices. Das at ¶¶ 0028, 0029, 0031-0034, 0047, 0048, 0050 - 0052; id. at fig. 1B; id. at ¶¶ 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device); id. at ¶¶ 0033, 0057, 0080 (mobile device may identify available connected secondary devices and optionally use server and/or Internet of Things connectivity manager 614 for communication with secondary devices); id. at ¶ 0056 (selected apps for secondary devices may be a variant of the same app as installed on primary device).}
Claims 31 and 46
With respect to claims 31 and 46, Cooper, Das, and Ioveva, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the second interface further comprises status information of the first application, and the status information of the first application comprises: indication information indicating that the first application is installed, or indication information indicating that the first application is not installed. {The GUI of a mobile device may be used to select icons of one or more other devices to specify installation of identified applications on the other devices, including a case where the applications are the same application for each selected device, and may initiate the installation of the applications to the other devices. Das at ¶¶ 0028, 0029, 0031-0034, 0047, 0048, 0050 - 0052; id. at fig. 1B; id. at ¶¶ 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device); id. at ¶¶ 0033, 0057, 0080 (mobile device may identify available connected secondary devices and optionally use server and/or Internet of Things connectivity manager 614 for communication with secondary devices); id. at ¶ 0056 (selected apps for secondary devices may be a variant of the same app as installed on primary device).}
Claim 32
With respect to claim 32, Cooper, Das, and Ioveva, teach the invention as claimed including:
receiving, by the first electronic device, a message that is sent by the second electronic device and that indicates that the first application is successfully installed; and displaying indication information indicating that the second electronic device successfully installed the first application. {Das at ¶ 0057.}
Claim 33
With respect to claim 33, Cooper, Das, and Ioveva, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the second interface further comprises installation progress information of the first application. {The GUI of a mobile device may be used to select icons of one or more other devices to specify installation of identified applications on the other devices, including a case where the applications are the same application for each selected device, and may initiate the installation of the applications to the other devices. Das at ¶¶ 0028, 0029, 0031-0034, 0047, 0048, 0050 - 0052; id. at fig. 1B; id. at ¶¶ 0057, 0060, 0080 (GUI details and installation may be from server to mobile device to selected other device[s] OR downloaded directly by the other device[s] via a link transmitted to the other device[s] by the mobile device); id. at ¶¶ 0033, 0057, 0080 (mobile device may identify available connected secondary devices and optionally use server and/or Internet of Things connectivity manager 614 for communication with secondary devices); id. at ¶ 0056 (selected apps for secondary devices may be a variant of the same app as installed on primary device).}
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.H./ September 22, 2026
Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199