DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions & Status of Claims
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1-9, drawn to a high-strength cold-rolled steel sheet.
Group II, claims 10-13, drawn to a manufacturing method for a .
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a high-strength cold-rolled steel sheet, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of JP 2013-163827 A of Azuma and its English machine translation (JP’827).
JP’827 teaches “a high-strength cold-rolled steel sheet, a high-strength galvanized steel sheet, and a high-strength galvannealed steel sheet, and relates to a high-strength steel sheet having excellent bendability” thereby reading on the instant technical feature thereby making the instant technical feature not a special technical feature.
During a telephone conversation with HYUNSEOK PARK on 30 OCT 2025 a provisional election was made WITHOUT traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-9, drawn to a high-strength cold-rolled steel sheet. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains phrases which can be implied (see lines 1 and 4). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: The claim contains multiple sentences. (See lines 13, 17 and 19).
Claims 2, 8: The terms “including 0%” should not be in parentheses.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-9, the term “high-strength” in claims 1-5 and 7-9 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The aforementioned term is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As neither the specification nor the claims provide an explicit definition for the term, it is unclear what specific strength (types, ranges) would be required to meet the recited term and thereby the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
List 1
Element
Instant Claims
(mass%)
Prior Art
(mass%)
C
0.05 – 0.3
0.075 – 0.300
Si
0.01 – 2.0
0.30 – 2.50
Mn
1.5 -3.0
1.30 – 3.50
Al
0.01 – 0.1
0.001 – 1.500
P
0.001 – 0.015
0.001 – 0.050
S
0.001 – 0.01
0.0001 – 0.0100
N
0.001 – 0.01
0.0001 – 0.0100
Cr, Mo, B
Claim 8: one or more of Cr: 1.0 or less, Mo: 0.2 or less and B: 0.005 or less
Cr: 0.01 – 2.00
Fe + impurities
Balance
Balance
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013-163827 A of Azuma and its English machine translation (JP’827).
Regarding claims 1-9, JP 2013-163827 A of Azuma and its English machine translation (JP’827) teaches “a high-strength cold-rolled steel sheet, a high-strength galvanized steel sheet, and a high-strength galvannealed steel sheet, and relates to a high-strength steel sheet having excellent bendability” with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I. {JP’827 abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0013]-[0088], tables 3-1, 3-2, 3-3 claims 1-14}.
The prior art is silent regarding the recited [Relational Expression 1] and its range of instant claim 1. However, as the prior art discloses a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the various elements of the instant alloy overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown above, the ranges of the formulaic expression of the instant claims would also overlap or lie inside the values of the prior art resulting from the instant formulaic expressions. In addition, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
The prior art teaches that its steel sheet has “900 MPa or higher tensile maximum strength”, points out many examples above 1200 MPa in Tables 3-1 to 3-3 and also teaches “Those satisfying the conditions of the present invention have both a maximum tensile strength of 900 MPa or more and good bendability. The balance of strength (TS) -total elongation (El) (TS × El) was also as good as 18000 (MPa·%) or more.” thereby reading on the recited tensile strength range of instant claim 6 as well the range of the product of tensile strength and elongation of instant claim 7.
The prior art further teaches it steel sheet structure has 50% or more Bainite, 3-30% Residual Austenite, 47% or less Tempered Martensite and 15% or less Fresh Martensite thereby reading on the recited microstructure of the instant claims 1-5. Regarding the sum of bainite and martensite, the prior art allows the sum of bainite and martensite to as high as 97% (see the various phases, their minimum and maximum) thereby meeting the recited limitation of instant claim 1.
It is noted that the prior art is silent regarding its alloy having the properties of a) “an average number of surface defects satisfying one or more conditions of a depth of 100 μm or more and a short side length of 1 mm or more, is less than 10/m2” [claim 1], b) “a yield strength is 870 MPa or more” [claim 6] and c) “a difference in yield strength between both end portions and a center portion is 100 MPa or less, in a width direction of the cold-rolled steel sheet” [claim 9] as recited in the instant claims. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition (see compositional analysis above) and b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition (see microstructure analysis above). Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/693,983 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application recite a high-strength cold rolled steel sheet with substantially identical composition, microstructure and properties.
It is noted that there is a slight difference between the recited values of [Relational Expression 1] between the two applications. MPEP § 2144.05 I provides the guidance that Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner,778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). As both the instant claims and that of the reference application recites substantially identical properties such as the ranges of “surface defects”, “tensile strength”, “yield strength” as well as “difference in yield strength” between various portions, there is no there is no evidence on the record that the difference of the ranges such as “1.2” (lower limit of instant claim) vs “less than 1.2” (upper limit of reference application) for the [Relational Expression 1] would provide different distinguishable properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733