DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed December 15, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-3 and 5-6 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (ONISHI – WO 9119083 A), in view of (MOSER – US 2019/0353067 A1) have been fully considered but they are unpersuasive as explained below.
Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited prior art fails to meet the limitations “…receive the ignition temperature value and compare it with the pre-set temperature value and control the temperature of the ceramic hot surface igniter according to the received control signal, the ignition temperature value and the pre-set temperature value….” as required in at least independent claim 1.
More specifically, Applicant respectfully asserts that {ONISHI does not teach this feature. Referring back to Figure 14, the temperature sensor (16) is in communication with the AD converter (40) which is in turn in communication with the input port (35). The drive circuit (43) does not receive a signal directly from the temperature sensor (16), and instead, only relays a signal from the output port (36) to the heating element (14). As such, the drive circuit of ONISHI is not an equivalent to the controller of the claimed invention, which receives an ignition temperature value from the temperature measurement thermocouple}.
The Examiner respectfully submits the following:
ONISHI (Figs. 1-17) already discloses a temperature sensor 16 for detecting the temperature of the heating surface 15, for example, a thermocouple is arranged. The temperature of the heating surface 15 is maintained at a temperature of 650: higher than the compression temperature by the output signal of the temperature sensor 16, for example, about 800 C. Instead of using the heating element 14, it is also possible to use a ceramic heater such as a positive characteristic. The temperature sensor 16 generates an output voltage that is proportional to the temperature T of the heating surface 15 and this output voltage is input to the input port 35 via the AD converter 40. The water temperature sensor 41 generates an output voltage proportional to the engine coolant temperature T W, and this output voltage is inputted to the input port 35 via the AD converter 42. On the other hand, the output port 36 is connected to the heating element 14 of the heating member 13 via the drive circuit 43. The relationship between the target temperature TD and the engine load L, the engine speed N and the engine cooling water temperature TW shown in FIG. 13 (D) is stored in advance in the form of a three-dimensional map in the ROM 33, so that the load sensor 37, Based on the output signals of the revolution number sensor 39 and the water temperature sensor 41, a target temperature TQ is desired. The temperature T of the heating surface 15 of the heating member 13 is detected by the temperature sensor 16, and the temperature T of the heating surface 15 reaches the target temperature T. The heating element 14 is controlled.
The pre-set temperature value is interpreted as “target temperature TD”. At least in claim 1, the language does not distinguish what type of pre-set temperature value is required, making the above interpretation proper.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (ONISHI – WO 9119083 A), in view of (MOSER – US 2019/0353067 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ONISHI (Figs. 1-17) discloses:
A hot surface combustion-supporting system of an engine (Internal Combustion Engine: Figs. 1-12), comprising:
a ceramic hot surface igniter (heating element 14 disposed in the heating member 13: Figs. 1-12 and [0009]: “A heating element 14 which is electrically heated is disposed in the heating member 13, and the heating surface 15 of the heating member 13 facing the nozzle roller 9 is heated by the heating element 14. In the heating member 13, a temperature sensor 16 for detecting the temperature of the heating surface 15, for example, a thermocouple is arranged. The temperature of the heating surface 15 is maintained at a temperature of 650: higher than the compression temperature by the output signal of the temperature sensor 16, for example, about 800 ° C. Instead of using the heating element 14, it {{{is also possible to use a ceramic heater such as a positive characteristic thermistor}}} as the whole of the heating member 13. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the heating surface 15 is formed of a flat surface substantially parallel to the cylinder head inner wall surface 3 a. However, the heating surface 15 may be formed of a convex curved surface or a concave curved surface having a relatively large radius of curvature”), configured to ignite fuel (Fuel injected from fuel injection valve 8: Figs. 1-12) of the engine (Internal Combustion Engine: Figs. 1-12);
a temperature measurement thermocouple (temperature sensor 16 for detecting the temperature of the heating surface 15, for example, {{{a thermocouple is arranged}}}: Figs. 1-12), which is used for measuring an ignition temperature value of the ceramic hot surface igniter (ONISHI Figs. 14-17 and [0009, 0020-0037]) and
a controller (drive circuit 43: Fig. 14), configured to:
control the ceramic hot surface igniter (heating element 14 disposed in the heating member 13: Figs. 1-12 and [0009]: “A heating element 14 which is electrically heated is disposed in the heating member 13, and the heating surface 15 of the heating member 13 facing the nozzle roller 9 is heated by the heating element 14. In the heating member 13, a temperature sensor 16 for detecting the temperature of the heating surface 15, for example, a thermocouple is arranged. The temperature of the heating surface 15 is maintained at a temperature of 650: higher than the compression temperature by the output signal of the temperature sensor 16, for example, about 800 ° C. Instead of using the heating element 14, it {{{is also possible to use a ceramic heater such as a positive characteristic thermistor}}} as the whole of the heating member 13. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the heating surface 15 is formed of a flat surface substantially parallel to the cylinder head inner wall surface 3 a. However, the heating surface 15 may be formed of a convex curved surface or a concave curved surface having a relatively large radius of curvature”),
communicate with an ECU (electronic control unit 30: Fig. 14) of the engine;
receive a control signal of the ECU (electronic control unit 30: Fig. 14) and a pre-set temperature value (target temperature: Figs. 15-17), and
control on or off of the ceramic hot surface igniter (heating element 14 disposed in the heating member 13: Figs. 1-12 and [0009]) according to the received control signal and the pre-set temperature value (target temperature: Figs. 15-17).
But ONISHI does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) wherein the controller is separate from the ECU of the engine.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, MOSER discloses/teaches the following:
A preexisting ECU can be supplemented with appropriate sub-control means as in control unit CU and potentially also pump controller 84 in FIG. 7 (e.g., when a separate component from ECU and sub-control unit CU) which is able to determine through appropriate signal input as from modeling and/or usage of preexisting exhaust system sensors (e.g., see FIG. 4) as well as preferably additional standard engine control unit sensing data such as throttle open levels, and air inlet flows, engine rpm levels, etc.). Alternately, the control unit assembled as a part of the present method of manufacturing a CTA for use in an engine emission reduction system, can be a sub-controller (e.g., control unit CU), that is in communication with another of the common vehicle “controllers” (as in the noted ECU 44; and as configured to receive additional signal input associated with the ECU); or can be an independent controller that has its own (sensed and/or modeled) inputs and works independently of other controllers functioning on the vehicle. In one embodiment of the present invention the CU triggers the supplemental oxygen supply means solely based on modeled uf-HCT temperature, although in an alternate embodiment there is used actual temperature sensing to determine the status of the HCT (in which case this temperature can be relied upon alone by the CU (or as a comparison point with a modeled mode) ([0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the hot surface combustion-supporting system of ONISHI incorporating that the controller is separate from the ECU of the engine as taught by MOSER to be able to determine through appropriate signal input independent from the ECU of the engine and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 2, ONISHI as combined above discloses the hot surface combustion-supporting system according to claim 1, and further on ONISHI as combined above also discloses:
wherein the controller (drive circuit 43: Fig. 14) also receives the ignition temperature value and compares it with the pre-set temperature value (ONISHI Figs. 14-17 and [0009, 0020-0037]);
when it is determined by means of comparison that the ignition temperature value is lower than the pre-set temperature value, the controller controls the ceramic hot surface igniter to increase the ignition temperature (ONISHI Figs. 14-17 and [0009, 0020-0037]), and
when it is determined by means of comparison that the ignition temperature value is higher than the pre-set temperature value, the controller controls the ceramic hot surface igniter to decrease the ignition temperature (ONISHI Figs. 14-17 and [0009, 0020-0037]).
Regarding claim 3, ONISHI as combined above discloses the hot surface combustion-supporting system according to claim 2, and further on ONISHI as combined above also discloses:
wherein the temperature measurement thermocouple (temperature sensor 16 for detecting the temperature of the heating surface 15, for example, {{{a thermocouple is arranged}}}: Figs. 1-12) is located in the ceramic hot surface igniter (ONISHI Figs. 14-17 and [0009, 0020-0037]).
Regarding claim 5, ONISHI as combined above discloses the hot surface combustion-supporting system according to claim 2, and further on ONISHI as combined above also discloses:
wherein when it is determined by comparison that the ignition temperature value is lower than the pre- set temperature value, the controller controls a circuit of the ceramic hot surface igniter to increase a voltage (ONISHI Figs. 14-17 and [0009, 0020-0037]), and
when it is determined by comparison that the ignition temperature value is higher than the pre-set temperature value, the controller controls the circuit of the ceramic hot surface igniter to decrease the voltage (ONISHI Figs. 14-17 and [0009, 0020-0037]).
Regarding claim 6, ONISHI as combined above discloses the hot surface combustion-supporting system according to claim 5, and further on ONISHI as combined above also discloses:
wherein a voltage controller is provided in the circuit of the ceramic hot surface igniter, and is used for controlling increase and decrease of the voltage of the ceramic hot surface igniter (ONISHI Figs. 14-17 and [0009, 0020-0037]).
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747