DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) of 3/11/2026, which enters the claims set filed 2/17/2026, following the Final Rejection of 11/18/2025. Claims 1-4, 8, 10 and 14-15 were amended. Claims 1-22 are currently pending with claims 11-13 and 15-22 withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to claim objections and claim rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. These objections/rejections of 11/18/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC § 102 and/or 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments made to the claims. The disclosure of Petersen (US 2025/0059780) can still anticipate the invention of claim 14 given the alternative required limitations.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, “The wind turbine equipped with” should likely read “[[The]] A wind turbine equipped with”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mounting means” in claim 1.
The corresponding structure recited in the instant specification is:
“The mounting means is as mentioned a central item of the blade. It is or comprises at least one frame-shaped or plate-shaped support segment surrounding the manhole at least partly. Such a frame- or plate-like support segment provides a sufficiently stable mounting interface for either mounting the ladder or the additional mounting equipment. This is especially true when the mounting means is detachably arranged at the base plate, as such a frame- or plate-like design allows for providing sufficient fixation elements for firmly attaching it to the base plate, with fixation elements in form of clamps or the like which are fixed to the base plate rim extending around the manhole” in pr. 48; “the mounting means may comprise two or more different mounting positions allocated at different positions of the support element. As mentioned, the blade may be positioned in different rotational positions depending on which area of the inner of the blade needs to be maintenance” in pr. 50; “a mounting means 38 comprising a built of a frame-like support segment 20 and optional some additional mounting equipment or elements, which mounting means 38 respectively support segment 20 has, in this example, a polygonal, here a rectangular shape. The mounting means respectively support segment (and maybe some additional fixation equipment or elements) is permanently attached to base plate” in pr. 91; and “A mounting means 38 comprising a support segment 20 is permanently attached to the first plate 41 facing to the open end of the root-like end section 8, to which mounting means 38 a first ladder 30 is attached. The mounting means comprised hooks 32, which may build a fixation means as described in regard of FIG. 9. As an additional, also permanent fixation equipment, a mounting section 35 comprising further hooks 36 is attached to the support segment 20. The mounting segment 35 extends through the manhole, i.e., both manhole openings, so that the hooks 35 are at the inner side of the second plate 42. A second ladder 34 is attached to the hooks 35. While the person can climb up to the manhole 14 via the first ladder 30, he can climb down to the maintenance area via the second ladder 34, and vice versa” in pr. 97 of the instant published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR101400201B1, herein referenced as Choi.
Figure 2 of Choi
Regarding Claim 14, Choi discloses the Wind turbine (see wind turbine generator 10 in figs. 1-2) equipped with at least one wind turbine blade according to claim 1, and/or at least one ladder support assembly (see connecting rods 412,450,462 which couple/support the ladders 410,430,460 on various portions of the wind turbine assembly in figs. 1-2).
Examiner Note: Given the alternative required limitations for claim 14, a separate rejection for claim 14 is also presented below for if claim 14 were to depend upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0056582, herein referenced as Schuring, in view of US 2462626, herein referenced as Forster.
Figure 6 of Schuring
Regarding Claim 1, Schuring discloses a wind turbine blade (5 fig. 2), comprising:
a hollow blade body (see hollow blade shell 10 fig. 2) with a blade root (6 fig. 2) and a base plate (see bulkhead unit 16 fig. 2 and bulkhead 17 in fig. 6) arranged at a root-side end section of the blade (shown in fig. 2), the base plate comprises a manhole (see opening(s) 22 in fig. 6) through which an interior of the blade is accessible (“bulkhead 17 comprises a first set of openings 22 configured for mounting a hatch (not shown) which provides access to the interior of the wind turbine blade 5” pr. 117).
However, Schuring fails to anticipate wherein mounting means is attached to the base plate at or close to the manhole such that the mounting means remains attached during a rotation of the wind turbine blade, and is configured to directly or indirectly mount at least one ladder at a side of the base plate facing away from the interior of the blade.
Schuring is analogous art since it relates to the field of endeavor of wind turbine blades. Forster is analogous art since it relates to the problem faced by Applicant of facilitating personnel access through an opening.
Figure 2 of Forster
Forster teaches wherein mounting means (see plate-like member which is permanently attached to window in figs. 2 and 4; appears to be labeled as 19 in fig. 4) is attached to the base plate (see wall that window/ingress/egress is provided on in figs. 1-2) at or close to the manhole (see window in fig. 1-2) such that the mounting means remains [fixed attached] (“For permanent installations the members 19 are permanently fixed on the window ledges, with the ladder and harness, together with other suitable equipment being stored in an accessible place” col. 3 lines 65-69), and is configured to directly or indirectly mount at least one ladder at a side of the base plate (see collapsible ladder that is mounted along an exterior side of the wall via pins 21 and 22 fitted in recesses 22 of member 19 fig. 4 in figs. 1-2 and 4). Forster further teaches that “my invention permits a person to stop at any floor when descending, or permits climbing to a higher floor, while at all times protecting the person from accidentally falling and against slips” in col. 1 lines 47-51 and that their invention provides “combined hand holds and steps providing efficient gripping means and non-slip steps” in col. 2 lines 18-20.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the bulkhead 17 and at least one of the openings 22 of Schuring with the ladder assembly disclosed by Forster so as to obtain the benefit of ‘descending/ascending while protecting a person from accidentally falling and against slips with combined hand holds and steps’ as taught by Forster. In the combination of Schuring and Forster, the mounting means remains attached to the baseplate during a rotation of the wind turbine blade since the mounting member 19 of Forster, as used to modify Schuring, is permanently attached to the window/ledge as disclosed in col. 2 lines 41-42 and col. 3 lines 65-69.
However, the combination of Schuring and Forster fails to explicitly teach that the mounting means is configured to directly/indirectly mount at least one ladder at a side of the base plate facing away from the interior of the blade.
In modifying Schuring with the teachings of Forster, there is a limited number of possibilities for sides of the base plate to provide the assembly taught by Forster on; it can be provided on the side facing toward the interior of the blade or on the side facing away from the interior of the blade. Due to the limited number of possibilities, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided/modified the ladder assembly of Forster, as used to modify Schuring, such that it would be on the side facing away from the interior of the blade, in Schuring modified by Forster. This modification would provide the advantage of easing access when entering the blade from the hub. See MPEP 2143 subsection I E “Obvious to try” for further details.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Schuring and Forster above comprises the wind turbine blade according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the mounting means are configured to directly or indirectly another ladder at a side of the base plate facing to the interior of the blade.
It has been held that “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. MPEP 2144.04 §VI: B “Duplication of Parts” citing In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Thus, it would have been similarly obvious to have modified combination of Schuring and Forster by a duplication of the recesses 22 or duplication of the entire member 19 in fig. 4 of Forster, as used to modify Schuring, such that mounting means would provide for a ladder on the opposite side of the base plate facing toward the interior of the blade. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this modification of the mounting means would improve ease of entrance/exit through the manhole. The duplication of parts providing would not be considered a new and unexpected result since it would merely be applying what is provided for one side of the wall/plate to the other side as well in the combination of Schuring and Forster as modified above.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Schuring and Forster above comprises the wind turbine blade according to claim 1, wherein the mounting means are inextricably arranged at the base plate, or that the mounting means are detachably arranged at the base plate (the plate-like member 19 is shown in figs. 2-4 of Forster to be permanently attached, bolts being shown, and is described as being permanently attached in the disclosure of Forster, as used to modify Schuring above).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Schuring and Forster above comprises the wind turbine blade according to claim 1, wherein the mounting means is or comprises at least one frame-shaped or plate-shaped support segment surrounding the manhole at least partly (the ladder attachment member 19 is shown to be plate shaped and surround the bottom perimeter the window/ledge in fig. 4 of Forster, as used to modify Schuring above).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Schuring and Forster above comprises the wind turbine blade according to claim 6, wherein a shape of the at least one support segment is U-shaped (see recesses 22 of member 19 which establishes it as U-shaped to accommodate pins 20,21 in fig. 4 of Forster, as used to modify Schuring), a circle, an oval, or polygonal.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Schuring and Forster above comprises the wind turbine blade according to claim 6, wherein the mounting means comprises two or more different mounting positions allocated in different positions of the support segment (see the recesses 22 which are provided on opposite sides of the member 19, and thus provide two different mounting positions in different positions of member 19, in fig. 4 of Forster, as used to modify Schuring above).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Schuring and Forster above comprises the wind turbine blade according to claim 8, wherein the different mounting positions are allocated in different circumferential positions (the two different mounting positions provided by the recesses 22 on opposite sides of member 19, in fig. 4 of Forster, as used to modify Schuring above, would be at different circumferential positions of the blade in the combination due to the locations of the manholes 22 on bulkhead 17 in fig. 6 of Schuring, as modified by Forster above).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Schuring and Forster comprises the wind turbine blade according claim 1, wherein the base plate is a single plate (see single plate bulkhead 17’ in fig. 3b of Schuring; “the bulkhead 17′ is here manufactured as a single plate shaped element” pr. 108 of Schuring), or that the base plate comprises a first plate having a first manhole opening and a second plate arranged in parallel to the first plate and comprising a second manhole opening, which manhole openings are flush with each other and build the manhole.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Schuring and Forster above comprises a wind turbine (see wind turbine 1 in fig. 1 of Schuring) equipped with at least one wind turbine blade according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above with the combination of Schuring and Forster), and/or least one ladder support assembly.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, DE102011083152A1, herein referenced as Zeller, in view of Forster.
Figure 4 of Zeller
Regarding Claim 1, Zeller discloses a wind turbine blade (14 fig. 1), comprising:
a hollow blade body (shown in fig. 1) with a blade root and a base plate arranged at a root-side end section of the blade (see end cap 26 arranged at the root 16 of the blade 14 in fig. 4) , the base plate comprising a manhole (see singular passage opening 24 in figs. 3a and 4) through which the interior of the blade is accessible (shown in fig. 4),
However, Zeller fails to anticipate wherein mounting means is attached to the base plate at or close to the manhole such that the mounting means remains attached during a rotation of the wind turbine blade, and is configured to directly or indirectly mount at least one ladder at a side of the base plate facing away from the interior of the blade.
Zeller is analogous art since it relates to the field of endeavor of wind turbine blades. Forster is analogous art since it relates to the problem faced by Applicant of facilitating personnel access through an opening.
Forster teaches wherein mounting means (see plate-like member which is permanently attached to window in figs. 2 and 4; appears to be labeled as 19 in fig. 4) is attached to the base plate (see wall that window/ingress/egress is provided on in figs. 1-2) at or close to the manhole (see window in fig. 1-2) such that the mounting means remains attached during a rotation of the wind turbine blade (“For permanent installations the members 19 are permanently fixed on the window ledges, with the ladder and harness, together with other suitable equipment being stored in an accessible place” col. 3 lines 65-69), and is configured to directly or indirectly mount at least one ladder at a side of the base plate (see collapsible ladder that is mounted along an exterior side of the wall via pins 21 and 22 fitted in recesses 22 of member 19 fig. 4 in figs. 1-2 and 4). Forster further teaches that “my invention permits a person to stop at any floor when descending, or permits climbing to a higher floor, while at all times protecting the person from accidentally falling and against slips” in col. 1 lines 47-51 and that their invention provides “combined hand holds and steps providing efficient gripping means and non-slip steps” in col. 2 lines 18-20.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the bulkhead 17 and one of the opening 24 of Zeller with the ladder assembly disclosed by Forster so as to obtain the benefit of ‘descending/ascending while protecting a person from accidentally falling and against slips with combined hand holds and steps’ as taught by Forster. In the combination of Zeller and Forster, the mounting means would remain attached to the baseplate during a rotation of the wind turbine blade since the mounting member 19 of Forster, as used to modify Zeller, is permanently attached to the window/ledge as disclosed in col. 2 lines 41-42 and col. 3 lines 65-69.
However, the combination of Zeller and Forster fails to explicitly teach that the mounting means is configured to directly/indirectly mount at least one ladder at a side of the base plate facing away from the interior of the blade.
In modifying Zeller with the teachings of Forster, there is a limited number of possibilities for sides of the base plate to provide the assembly taught by Forster on; it can be provided on the side facing toward the interior of the blade or on the side facing away from the interior of the blade. Due to the limited number of possibilities, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided/modified the ladder assembly of Forster, as used to modify Zeller, such that it would be on the side facing away from the interior of the blade, in Zeller modified by Forster. This modification would provide the advantage of easing access when entering the blade from the hub. See MPEP 2143 subsection I E “Obvious to try” for further details.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Zeller and Forster above comprises the wind turbine blade according to claim 1, wherein the base plate comprises only one single manhole (see singular opening 24 in figs. 3a and 4 of Zeller).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Zeller and Forster above comprises the wind turbine blade according to claim 1, wherein the manhole has a circular (see circular opening 24 in figs. 3a and 4 of Zeller) or oval shape.
Conclusion
/W.L.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745